Old Building entrance

People

Department staff

 Management team

PlattLucinda

Head of Department

Professor Lucinda Platt

Room OLD 2.25
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

 

UPDATED-Leonidas Chelitos

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Room OLD 2.51
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

 

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

 

Academic staff

**Please note that Advice and Feedback hours are held during term time only

 

TomBIEGERT

Dr Thomas Biegert

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.54
t.biegert@lse.ac.uk




 

BurchardtTania

Dr Tania Burchardt

Associate Professor

Room 32L 3.30
t.burchardt@lse.ac.uk

 



UPDATED-Leonidas Chelitos

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.51
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

 



Shuang Chen

Dr Shuang Chen

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.55
s.chen114@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

DivyaDEEPTHI

Dr Divya Deepthi

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
d.deepthi@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

ExleySonia

Dr Sonia Exley

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.64
s.exley@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

Timo_Fleckenstein

Dr Timo Fleckenstein

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.60
t.fleckenstein@lse.ac.uk



TimothyHILDEBRANDT

Dr Timothy Hildebrandt

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.56
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

IshkanianArmine

Dr Armine Ishkanian

Associate Professor

a.ishkanian@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On secondment

 

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.29
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

 



JohannKOEHLER

Dr Johann Koehler

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.59
j.koehler@lse.ac.uk

 



SunilKUMAR

Dr Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.62
s.kumar@lse.ac.uk

 

 

LeGrandJulian

Professor Sir Julian Le Grand

Professor of Social Policy

j.legrand@lse.ac.uk



 

Christopher Maggio

Dr Christopher Maggio

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
c.maggio@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

SamMOHUN_HIMMELWEIT

Dr Sam Mohun Himmelweit

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
s.f.mohun-himmelweit@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

TimNEWBURN

Professor Tim Newburn

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.40a
t.newburn@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical leave for Lent Term of the 2021/22 academic year



AdamOLIVER

Dr Adam Oliver

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.35
a.j.oliver@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical leave for 2021/22 academic year



BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.32
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

 



PaileyRobtel

Dr Robtel Neajai Pailey

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.53
r.n.pailey@lse.ac.uk

 



CorettaPHILLIPS

Professor Coretta Phillips

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.28
coretta.phillips@lse.ac.uk

 

 

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology

Room OLD 2.25
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

 

.

SeckinelginHakan

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.27
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

 



AlmudenaSEVILLA

Professor Almudena Sevilla

Professor in Economics and Public Policy

Room OLD 2.40
m.a.sevilla-sanz@lse.ac.uk

 

 

SheelyAmanda

Dr Amanda Sheely

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.52
a.sheely@lse.ac.uk

 



MikeSHINER

Dr Michael Shiner

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.34
m.shiner@lse.ac.uk

 



IsabelSHUTES

Dr Isabel Shutes

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.58
i.h.shutes@lse.ac.uk

 



VicenteSILVA

Dr Vicente Silva

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
v.silva@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

KittySTEWART

Dr Kitty Stewart

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.36
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

 



IvaTASSEVA

Dr Iva Tasseva

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
i.tasseva@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

WestAnne

Professor Anne West

Professor of Education Policy

Room OLD 2.30
a.west@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical leave for 2021/22 academic year



YifeiYAN

Dr Yifei Yan

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
y.yan10@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

Affiliated staff

FranciscoHGFerreira

Professor Francisco H. G. Ferreira

Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of LSE International Inequalities Institute

F.D.Ferreira@lse.ac.uk

Francisco H. G. Ferreira is the Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of the International Inequalities Institute at the London School of Economics. He is also affiliated with the Department of Social Policy at LSE.
Read more here.

 

 

Professional services staff

The Professional Services team supports students and faculty to deliver the School's teaching, research, and engagement initiatives.

More information about the Social Policy Programme Support teams and the Programme Support Office 

 

DamianROBERTS2

Damian Roberts
Department Manager

D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Responsible for: The Professional Services Team;
Human, Financial and Physical Resource Management;
Strategic Planning.


 

Sophie Gavriel

Sophie Gavriel
Undergraduate Administrator

s.h.gavriel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: BSc Administration:
assessments & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exceptional circumstances, exam boards.


 

ClareGorman

Clare Gorman
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

c.gorman@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study: 
student welfare, course choice, timetabling, exams and assessment and programme regulations.


 

Sevilay Erdogan

Sevilay Erdogan
Postgraduate Administrator, PhD and Research lead

s.erdogan1@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Postgraduate study, MPhil/PhD study and support, PhD welfare, Departmental Research support, Departmental spaces, GTA support. 


 

Abby Husselby

Abby Husselby
Postgraduate Administrator

a.husselby@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Postgraduate study, student opportunities and representation, course choice, student welfare and engagement, Moodle and reading lists, events.


 

MariaSCHLEGEL2

Maria Schlegel
Events and Communications Officer

m.s.schlegel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Departmental events and seminars, internal and external Department communications.


 

CraigSTEWART

Dr Craig Stewart
Teaching Operations Manager (Postgraduate)

c.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Postgraduate study, teaching support, PG student welfare, course choice, timetabling, programme regulations; Departmental workload planning.


 

CharlieTickle

Charlie Tickle
Postgraduate Administrator

c.b.tickle@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Administration:
assessment & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exam boards.


 

JakeWatkins

Jake Watkins
Undergraduate Administrator

j.watkins3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
Moodle, reading lists, events, SSLC, the student experience.


 

 

 

Research students

Research Staff and Clusters

Research Staff

VanesssaHUGHES

Dr Vanessa Hughes

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

v.hughes@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Research Clusters

CASElogo

CASE

Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

Who's Who

 

 

EducationResearchGroup

Education Research Group

Research in education policy and practice

Who's Who

 

 

III

International Inequalities Institute

Inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities

Who's Who

 

 

Mannheim

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Provides a multidisciplinrary forum for criminology

Who's Who

 

 

Pop@LSE

Population at LSE

Population research on formal and social demography

Who's Who

 

 

Guest teachers

Guest teachers for the 2022/23 acacemic year will be added here in due course

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Visiting Staff

 

Mike Brewer

Dr Mike Brewer

Visiting Professor

m.brewer@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

TymofiiBrik

Dr Tymofii Brik

Visiting Fellow

tbrik@kse.org.uk

View profile


 

 

JesperEriksen

Dr Jesper Eriksen

Visiting Fellow

j.eriksen1@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

PaulFrijters

Professor Paul Frijters

Visiting Professor

p.frijters@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

Visiting Senior Fellow

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

Heidi Mirza

Professor Heidi Safia Mirza

Visiting Professor

heidi.mirza@gold.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

ChiaraORSINI

Dr Chiara Orsini

Visiting Fellow

c.orsini@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

The Department of Social Policy welcomes applications for Visiting Appointments from individuals outside LSE. More information.

Meet Visiting Researchers in our affiliated Research Centres:

CASE

Caroline Bryson
Visiting Senior Fellow

Kerris Cooper
Visiting Senior Fellow

Professor Leon Feinstein
Visiting Professor

Ludovica Gambaro
Visiting Senior Fellow

Professor Howard Glennerster
Visiting Professor

Professor Ian Gough
Visiting Professor

Professor Susan Harkness
Visiting Professor

Dr Bruce Katz
Visiting Professor in Practice

Professor Ruth Lupton
Visiting Professor

Professor Lindsay Macmillan
Visiting Professor

Fran McGinnity
Visiting Senior Fellow

Dr Polina Obelenskaya
Visiting Fellow

Professor David Piachaud
Visiting Professor

Elizabeth Richardson
Visiting Professor

Ellie Suh
Visiting Fellow

Professor Jane Waldfogel
Visiting Professor

Moira Wallace
Visiting Professor

 

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Professor Jennifer Brown
Visiting Professor

Dr Marianne Colbran
Visiting Fellow

Gavin Hales
Visiting Fellow

Dr Suleman Lazarus
Visiting Fellow

Dr Maurice Punch
Visiting Professor

 

 

 

 

Emeritus

Emeritus

Dr David Billis
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
d.billis@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr John Carrier
Emeritus Researcher
j.carrier@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Hartley Dean
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.dean@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Downes
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.downes@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Howard Glennerster
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Jane Lewis
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
j.lewis@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Eileen Munro
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
e.munro@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Michael Murphy
Emeritus Professor of Demography
m.murphy@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Piachaud
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.piachaud@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Anne Power
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
anne.power@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Gail Wilson
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
g.wilson@lse.ac.uk