Old Building entrance

People

Department staff

 Management team

PlattLucinda

Head of Department

Professor Lucinda Platt

Room OLD 2.25
+44 (0)20 7955 6829
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

 

KittySTEWART

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Kitty Stewart

Room OLD 2.36
+44 (0)20 7955 7343
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

 

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
+44 (0)20 7955 7345
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

 

Academic staff

**Please note that Advice and Feedback hours are held during term time only

 

TomBIEGERT

Dr Thomas Biegert

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.54
+44 (0)20 7955 7476
t.biegert@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 9.00am-11.00am
Book via the Student Hub

BurchardtTania

Dr Tania Burchardt

Associate Professor

Room 32L 3.30
+44 (0)20 7955 6700
t.burchardt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 9.00am-10.00am and 5.00pm-6.00pm
Book via the Student Hub 

CheliotisLeonidas

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.51
+44 (0)20 7955 7698
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 10.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

DivyaDEEPTHI

Dr Divya Deepthi

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
+44 (0)20 7955 6169
d.deepthi@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 4.00pm-6.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

ExleySonia

Dr Sonia Exley

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.64
+44 (0)20 7955 7348
s.exley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On maternity leave

Timo_Fleckenstein

Dr Timo Fleckenstein

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.60
+44 (0)20 7955 6994
t.fleckenstein@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Advice and feedback hours for the 2020/21 academic year will be posted here in due course.

TimothyHILDEBRANDT

Dr Timothy Hildebrandt

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.56
+44 (0)20 7955 7344
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On sabbatical for 2020-21 academic year

 

Hills.John

Professor John Hills

Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy

Room OLD 2.62
+44 (0)20 7955 7419
j.hills@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Unavailable for the Michaelmas Term.

 

VanesssaHUGHES

Dr Vanessa Hughes

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
+44 (0)20 7955 6582
v.hughes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 3.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

IshkanianArmine

Dr Armine Ishkanian

Associate Professor

a.ishkanian@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On secondment

 

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.29
+44 (0)20 7955 6527
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours: 
Thursdays, 3.30pm-5.30pm.
Book via the Student Hub. 
Other times potentially available by mutual agreement (email me).

JohannKOEHLER

Dr Johann Koehler

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.59
+44 (0)20 7955 6184
j.koehler@lse.ac.uk

Advice and fedback hours: 
Fridays, 3.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub 

SunilKUMAR

Dr Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.55
+44 (0)20 7955 6195
s.kumar@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 12.00pm-1.00pm and 4.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

LeGrandJulian

Professor Sir Julian Le Grand

Professor of Social Policy

+44 (0)20 7107 7353
j.legrand@lse.ac.uk



LewisDavid

Professor David Lewis

Professor of Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.40
+44 (0)20 7955 6037
d.lewis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 9.00am-11.00am
Book via the Student Hub. 

MurphyMichael

Professor Michael Murphy

Professor of Demography

Room OLD 2.61
+44 (0)20 7955 7661
m.murphy@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 11.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

TimNEWBURN

Professor Tim Newburn

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.40a
+44 (0)20 7955 6220
t.newburn@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 10.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

AdamOLIVER

Dr Adam Oliver

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.35
+44 (0)20 7955 6471
a.j.oliver@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Email Dr Adam Oliver for an appointment.

BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.32
+44 (0)20 7955 6867
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 2.30pm-4.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

PaileyRobtel

Dr Robtel Neajai Pailey

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.53
+44 (0)20 7955 7744
r.n.pailey@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 12.00pm-2.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

AmeliaPETERSON

Dr Amelia Peterson

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
+44 (0) 7955 6754
a.peterson1@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 4.00pm-5.00pm
Fridays, 10.00am-11.00am
Book via the Student Hub

PhillipsCoretta

Professor Coretta Phillips

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.28
+44 (0)20 7955 7974
coretta.phillips@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Currently unavailable

 

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology

Room OLD 2.25
+44 (0)20 7955 6829
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 2.30pm-4.30pm.
Book via the Student Hub or otherwise by appointment.

SeckinelginHakan

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.27
+44 (0)20 7955 6038
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 9.30am-11.30am
Book via the Student Hub

SheelyAmanda

Dr Amanda Sheely

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.52
+44 (0)20 7955 7348
a.sheely@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 1.00pm-3.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

MikeSHINER

Dr Michael Shiner

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.34
+44 (0)20 7955 6355
m.shiner@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On sabbatical for 2020-21 academic year

IsabelSHUTES

Dr Isabel Shutes

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.58
+44 (0)20 7955 7364
i.h.shutes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 11.00am-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub.

KittySTEWART

Dr Kitty Stewart

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.36
+44 (0)20 7955 7343
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 9.00am-11.00am
Book via the Student Hub or otherwise by appointment.

WestAnne

Professor Anne West

Professor of Education Policy

Room OLD 2.30
+44 (0)20 7955 7269
a.west@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 11.00am-1.00pm
Students should book by email (meetings will normally be via Zoom). If the scheduled office hours aren’t convenient I’m happy to meet at another time by mutual agreement.

YifeiYAN

Dr Yifei Yan

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
+44 (0)20 3486 2908
y.yan10@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 3.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

Affiliated staff

FranciscoHGFerreira

Professor Francisco H. G. Ferreira

Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of LSE International Inequalities Institute

F.D.Ferreira@lse.ac.uk

Francisco H. G. Ferreira is the Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of the International Inequalities Institute at the London School of Economics. He is also affiliated with the Department of Social Policy at LSE.
Read more here.

 

 

Professional services staff

The Professional Services team supports students and faculty to deliver the School's teaching, research, and engagement initiatives.

More information about the Social Policy Programme Support teams and the Programme Support Office 

 

DamianROBERTS2

Damian Roberts
Department Manager

D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Responsible for: The Professional Services Team;
Human, Financial and Physical Resource Management;
Strategic Planning 


 

AbiBlack

Abi Black
PhD and Departmental Research Administrator

a.a.black@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: All aspects of PhD study in the Department, Department Blog, Department Working Paper Series, research related activity.


 

ClareGorman

Clare Gorman
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

c.gorman@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study: 
student welfare, course choice, timetabling, exams and assessment and programme regulations


 

RosieJONES

Rosie Jones
Student Engagement Officer

r.r.jones@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Alumni Mentoring, Summer Internship Programme, Academic and Professional Skills Development workshops and events


 

 

ChrisKENNEDY

Chris Kennedy
MSc Administrator

c.kennedy3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc study:
Moodle, reading lists, events and SSLC


 

MariaSCHLEGEL2

Maria Schlegel,
Events and Communications Officer

m.s.schlegel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Departmental events and seminars, internal and external Department communications


 

CraigSTEWART

Dr Craig Stewart,
Teaching Operations Manager (Postgraduate)

c.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc and PhD study:
student welfare, course choice, timetabling and programme regulations; Departmental workload planning


 

CharlieTickle

Charlie Tickle
MSc Administrator

c.b.tickle@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Administration:
assessment & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exam boards


 

JakeWatkins

Jake Watkins
Undergraduate Administrator

j.watkins3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
Moodle, reading lists, events, SSLC, exams and assessments


 

 

Research students

Research Staff and Clusters

Research Staff

Miranda Bevan updated

Dr Miranda Bevan

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

m.j.bevan@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

GUTIERREZGabrial

Dr Gabriel Gutiérrez

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

g.gutierrez3@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Research Clusters

CASElogo

CASE

Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

Who's Who

 

 

EducationResearchGroup

Education Research Group

Research in education policy and practice

Who's Who

 

 

III

International Inequalities Institute

Inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities

Who's Who

 

 

Mannheim

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Provides a multidisciplinrary forum for criminology

Who's Who

 

 

Pop@LSE

Population at LSE

Population research on formal and social demography

Who's Who

 

 

Guest teachers

**Please note that Advice and Feedback hours are held during term time only

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Mario Battaligni

m.battaglini@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Advice and feedback hours for the 2020/21 academic year will be posted here in due course.

 

BRYANT

Lucy Bryant

l.e.bryant@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 12.30pm-1.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

female-silhouette-200x200

Chiara De Poli

c.de-poli@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 2.00pm-3.00pm.
Book via the Student Hub

 

CarolinDieterle

Carolin Dieterle

c.m.dieterle@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours
Wednesdays, 4.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

DONNALOJA

Victoria Donnaloja

v.donnaloja@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Advice and feedback hours for the 2020/21 academic year will be posted here in due course.

 

DOYLE

Mary-Alice Doyle

m.s.doyle@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 12.30pm-1.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

GOGESCU

Fiona Gogescu

f.t.gogescu@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Advice and feedback hours for the 2020/21 academic year will be posted here in due course.

 

HockleyTonyUpdated

Dr Tony Hockley

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Advice and feedback hours for the 2020/21 academic year will be posted here in due course.

 

HRISTOVA

Ivelina Hristova

i.hristova@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 5.30pm-6.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

MOHUN HIMMELWEIT

Sam Mohun-Himmelweit

s.f.mohun-Himmelweit@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 2.00pm-3.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

SPASENOSKA

Dijana Spasenoska

d.spasenoska@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours: 
Thursdays, 12.30pm-1.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

MadeleineStevens

Madeleine Stevens

m.stevens@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 11.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

STRONGJoe

Joe Strong

j.strong3@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 9.00am-10.00am
Book via the Student Hub

 

TORRISI

Orsola Torrisi

o.torrisi@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Lent Term- Advice and feedback hours will be posted here in due course.

 


 

Visiting Staff

 

AltmannRos

Baroness Ros Altmann

Visiting Professor in Practice

altmannr@parliament.uk

View profile.

 


 

male-silhouette-200x200

Professor John Brennan

Visiting Professor

j.brennan3@lse.ac.uk

 


 

DavakiKonstantina

Dr Konstantina Davaki

Visiting Fellow

k.davaki@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

PaulFrijters

Professor Paul Frijters

Visiting Professor

p.frijters@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

Visiting Senior Fellow

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

JohnMacnicol

Professor John Macnicol

Visiting Professor

j.macnicol@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

male-silhouette-200x200

Michael Spurr

Visiting Professor in Practice

m.spurr@lse.ac.uk

 

 


 

NicholasTimmins

Nicholas Timmins

Visiting Professor in Practice

nicholas.timmins@gmail.com

 

 


 

 

The Department of Social Policy welcomes applications for Visiting Appointments from individuals outside LSE. More information.

Emeritus

Emeritus

Dr David Billis
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
d.billis@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr John Carrier
Emeritus Researcher
j.carrier@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Hartley Dean
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.dean@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Downes
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.downes@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Howard Glennerster
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Christopher Langford
Emeritus Reader in Demography
c.langford@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Jane Lewis
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
j.lewis@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Eileen Munro
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
e.munro@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Piachaud
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.piachaud@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Anne Power
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
anne.power@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Gail Wilson
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
g.wilson@lse.ac.uk