Old Building entrance

People

Department staff

 Management team

PlattLucinda

Head of Department

Professor Lucinda Platt

Room OLD 2.25
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

 

LeonidasCHELIOTIS

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Room OLD 2.51
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

 

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

 

Academic staff

**Please note that Advice and Feedback hours are held during term time only

 

TomBIEGERT

Dr Thomas Biegert

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.54
t.biegert@lse.ac.uk




BurchardtTania

Dr Tania Burchardt

Associate Professor

Room 32L 3.30
t.burchardt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 9.00am-10.00am by zoom
Fridays, 2.00pm-3.00pm in person
Book via the Student Hub



LeonidasCHELIOTIS

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.51
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 11.00am-1.00pm 
Book via the Student Hub



Shuang Chen

Dr Shuang Chen

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.55
s.chen114@lse.ac.uk

 

 

DivyaDEEPTHI

Dr Divya Deepthi

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
d.deepthi@lse.ac.uk

 

 

ExleySonia

Dr Sonia Exley

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.64
s.exley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 12.00pm-1.00pm
Thursdays, 2.30pm-3.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

Timo_Fleckenstein

Dr Timo Fleckenstein

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.60
t.fleckenstein@lse.ac.uk



TimothyHILDEBRANDT

Dr Timothy Hildebrandt

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.56
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 9.30am-11.30am 
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

IshkanianArmine

Dr Armine Ishkanian

Associate Professor

a.ishkanian@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On secondment

 

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.29
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 4.45pm-5.45pm
Tuesdays, 9.30am-10.30am
Thursdays, 5.45pm-6.45pm
Book via the Student Hub



JohannKOEHLER

Dr Johann Koehler

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.59
j.koehler@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 11.00am-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub



SunilKUMAR

Dr Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.62
s.kumar@lse.ac.uk

 

 

LewisDavid

Professor David Lewis

Professor David Lewis has moved to the Department of International Development.

View his profile here.



Christopher Maggio

Dr Christopher Maggio

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
c.maggio@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 1.00pm-2.00pm
Fridays, 12.00pm-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

SamMOHUN_HIMMELWEIT

Dr Sam Mohun Himmelweit

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
s.f.mohun-himmelweit@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 11.00am-1.00pm in OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

TimNEWBURN

Professor Tim Newburn

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.40a
t.newburn@lse.ac.uk



AdamOLIVER

Dr Adam Oliver

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.35
a.j.oliver@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical leave for 2021/22 academic year



BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.32
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical leave for Michaelmas Term of the 2021/22 academic year.



PaileyRobtel

Dr Robtel Neajai Pailey

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.53
r.n.pailey@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 11.30am-1.30pm
Book via the Student Hub



CorettaPHILLIPS

Professor Coretta Phillips

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.28
coretta.phillips@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 11.00am-12.30pm (by zoom)
Thursdays. 4.45pm-5.45pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology

Room OLD 2.25
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 3.00pm-4.00pm
Thursdays, 9.00am-10.00am
Book via the Student Hub

.

SeckinelginHakan

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.27
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 2.00pm-3.00pm
Wednesdays, 11.30am-12.30pm
Book via the Student Hub



SheelyAmanda

Dr Amanda Sheely

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.52
a.sheely@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 1.30pm-3.30pm
Book via the Student Hub



MikeSHINER

Dr Michael Shiner

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.34
m.shiner@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 3.30pm-5.30pm
Book via the Student Hub



IsabelSHUTES

Dr Isabel Shutes

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.58
i.h.shutes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 1.30pm-3.30pm
Book via the Student Hub



VicenteSILVA

Vicente Silva

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
v.silva@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 10.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

KittySTEWART

Dr Kitty Stewart

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.36
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 2.00pm-3.30pm
Book via the Student Hub



IvaTASSEVA

Dr Iva Tasseva

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
i.tasseva@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 10.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

WestAnne

Professor Anne West

Professor of Education Policy

Room OLD 2.30
a.west@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical leave for 2021/22 academic year



YifeiYAN

Dr Yifei Yan

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
y.yan10@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 12.00pm-1.00pm
Fridays. 1.30pm-2.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

Affiliated staff

FranciscoHGFerreira

Professor Francisco H. G. Ferreira

Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of LSE International Inequalities Institute

F.D.Ferreira@lse.ac.uk

Francisco H. G. Ferreira is the Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of the International Inequalities Institute at the London School of Economics. He is also affiliated with the Department of Social Policy at LSE.
Read more here.

 

 

Professional services staff

The Professional Services team supports students and faculty to deliver the School's teaching, research, and engagement initiatives.

More information about the Social Policy Programme Support teams and the Programme Support Office 

 

DamianROBERTS2

Damian Roberts
Department Manager

D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Responsible for: The Professional Services Team;
Human, Financial and Physical Resource Management;
Strategic Planning.


 

AbiBlack

Abi Black
PhD and Departmental Research Administrator- Currently on secondment

a.a.black@lse.ac.uk

 


 

ClareGorman

Clare Gorman
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

c.gorman@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study: 
student welfare, course choice, timetabling, exams and assessment and programme regulations.


 

Sophie Gavriel

Sophie Gavriel
Undergraduate Administrator

s.h.gavriel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: BSc Administration:
assessments & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exceptional circumstances, exam boards.


 

 

RosieJONES

Rosie Jones
Student Engagement Officer

r.r.jones@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Alumni Mentoring, Summer Internship Programme, Academic and Professional Skills Development workshops and events.


 

ChrisKENNEDY

Chris Kennedy
MSc Administrator and interim PhD  Administrator

c.kennedy3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc study:
Moodle, reading lists, events and SSLC.
All aspects of PhD study in the Department.


 

MariaSCHLEGEL2

Maria Schlegel,
Events and Communications Officer

m.s.schlegel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Departmental events and seminars, internal and external Department communications.


 

CraigSTEWART

Dr Craig Stewart,
Teaching Operations Manager (Postgraduate)

c.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc and PhD study:
student welfare, course choice, timetabling and programme regulations; Departmental workload planning.


 

CharlieTickle

Charlie Tickle
MSc Administrator

c.b.tickle@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Administration:
assessment & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exam boards.


 

JakeWatkins

Jake Watkins
Undergraduate Administrator

j.watkins3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
Moodle, reading lists, events, SSLC, the student experience.


 

 

Research students

Research Staff and Clusters

Research Staff

VanesssaHUGHES

Dr Vanessa Hughes

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

v.hughes@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Research Clusters

CASElogo

CASE

Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

Who's Who

 

 

EducationResearchGroup

Education Research Group

Research in education policy and practice

Who's Who

 

 

III

International Inequalities Institute

Inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities

Who's Who

 

 

Mannheim

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Provides a multidisciplinrary forum for criminology

Who's Who

 

 

Pop@LSE

Population at LSE

Population research on formal and social demography

Who's Who

 

 

Guest teachers

Guest teachers for the 2021/22 acacemic year

 

 

Charlotte Brown

c.brown8@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours (MT only):
Mondays, 10.00am-11.00am 
Book via the Student Hub

 

BRYANT

Lucy Bryant

l.e.bryant@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 3.00pm-4.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 Chiara De Poli

Chiara De-Poli

c.de-poli@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 10.00am-11.00am
Book via the Student Hub

 

Carolin_Dieterle

Carolin Dieterle

c.m.dieterle@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 4.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

KISHORE

Diwakar Kishore

d.kishore1@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 2.00pm-3.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

Songyin Liu

Songyin Liu

s.liu58@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours (LT only):
Thursdays, 1.00pm-2.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

Dr Mansoor Mir

m.mir2@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 2.00pm-3.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

PRASAD

Pupul Prasad

p.d.prasad@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 12.00pm-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

Madeleine STEVENS.

Dr Madeleine Stevens

m.stevens@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 11.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

 

 


 

Visiting Staff

 

Mike Brewer

Dr Mike Brewer

Visiting Professor

m.brewer@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

Dr Sandra Constantin

Visiting Fellow

s.constantin@lse.ac.uk

Profile coming soon


 

 

GeorgesFELOUZIS

Professor Georges Felouzis

Visiting Professor

g.felouzis@lse.ac.uk

View Profile 


 

 

PaulFrijters

Professor Paul Frijters

Visiting Professor

p.frijters@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

Visiting Senior Fellow

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

Heidi Mirza

Professor Heidi Safia Mirza

Visiting Professor

heidi.mirza@gold.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

ChiaraORSINI

Dr Chiara Orsini

Visiting Fellow

c.orsini@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

The Department of Social Policy welcomes applications for Visiting Appointments from individuals outside LSE. More information.

Emeritus

Emeritus

Dr David Billis
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
d.billis@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr John Carrier
Emeritus Researcher
j.carrier@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Hartley Dean
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.dean@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Downes
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.downes@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Howard Glennerster
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Christopher Langford
Emeritus Reader in Demography
c.langford@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Jane Lewis
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
j.lewis@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Eileen Munro
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
e.munro@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Michael Murphy
Emeritus Professor of Demography
m.murphy@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Piachaud
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.piachaud@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Anne Power
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
anne.power@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Gail Wilson
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
g.wilson@lse.ac.uk