Old Building entrance

People

Department staff

 Management team

PlattLucinda

Head of Department

Professor Lucinda Platt

Room OLD 2.25
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

 

UPDATED-Leonidas Chelitos

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Room OLD 2.51
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

 

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

 

Academic staff

**Please note that Advice and Feedback hours are held during term time only

 

FabioBattaglia

Dr Fabio Battaglia

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
f.battaglia@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 11.00am-1.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

LiamBeiserMcGrath

Dr Liam Beiser-McGrath

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.50
l.f.beiser-mcgrath@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 10.00am-11.00am
Thursdays 3.15pm-4.15pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

TomBIEGERT

Dr Thomas Biegert

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.54
t.biegert@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 11.00am-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

BurchardtTania

Dr Tania Burchardt

Associate Professor

Room 32L 3.30
t.burchardt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 9.30am-10.30am
Fridays 2.00pm-3.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

Chandra Shekhar

Dr Shekhar Chandra

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
c.shekhar@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 10.00am-12.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

UPDATED-Leonidas Chelitos

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.51
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

 



Shuang Chen

Dr Shuang Chen

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.55
s.chen114@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 3.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

DivyaDEEPTHI

Dr Divya Deepthi

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
d.deepthi@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 3.00pm-5.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

ExleySonia

Dr Sonia Exley

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.64
s.exley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 11.00am-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

Timo_Fleckenstein

Dr Timo Fleckenstein

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.60
t.fleckenstein@lse.ac.uk



TimothyHILDEBRANDT

Dr Timothy Hildebrandt

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.56
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 3.00pm-5.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

IshkanianArmine

Dr Armine Ishkanian

Associate Professor

a.ishkanian@lse.ac.uk

On secondment

 

 

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.29
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 4.00pm-5.30pm
Thursdays 5.45pm-6.45pm
Book via the Student Hub

(and other times by mutual agreement; email me)

 

JohannKOEHLER

Dr Johann Koehler

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.59
j.koehler@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 9.00am-11.00am
Book via the Student Hub

 

SunilKUMAR

Dr Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.62
s.kumar@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 1.00pm-3.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

LeGrandJulian

Professor Sir Julian Le Grand

Professor of Social Policy

j.legrand@lse.ac.uk



 

SamMOHUN_HIMMELWEIT

Dr Sam Mohun Himmelweit

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
s.f.mohun-himmelweit@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 2.00pm-4.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

TimNEWBURN

Professor Tim Newburn

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.40a
t.newburn@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 3.00pm-4.40pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

AdamOLIVER

Dr Adam Oliver

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.33
a.j.oliver@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 10.00am-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.32
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 5.00pm-6.40pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

PaileyRobtel

Dr Robtel Neajai Pailey

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.53
r.n.pailey@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 2.30pm-4.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

CorettaPHILLIPS

Professor Coretta Phillips

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.28
coretta.phillips@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 4.00pm-5.30pm
Thursdays 2.15pm-3.45pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology

Room OLD 2.25
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 3.00pm-4.00pm
Thursdays 12.00pm-1.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

SeckinelginHakan

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.27
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical for 2022-23 academic year

 



AlmudenaSEVILLA

Professor Almudena Sevilla

Professor in Economics and Public Policy

Room OLD 2.40
a.sevilla@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 1.30pm-3.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

SheelyAmanda

Dr Amanda Sheely

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.52
a.sheely@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical for the Michaelmas & Lent Term of the 2022-23 academic year

 

MikeSHINER

Dr Michael Shiner

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.34
m.shiner@lse.ac.uk

On Research Leave

 

IsabelSHUTES

Dr Isabel Shutes

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.58
i.h.shutes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 4.00pm-5.30pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

VicenteSILVA

Dr Vicente Silva

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
v.silva@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 3.00pm-5.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

KittySTEWART

Dr Kitty Stewart

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.36
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

On sabbatical for 2022-23 academic year

 

IvaTASSEVA

Dr Iva Tasseva

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.35
i.tasseva@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 10.00am-12.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

 

WestAnne

Professor Anne West

Professor of Education Policy

Room OLD 2.30
a.west@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 4.30pm-5.30pm
Thursdays 5.30pm-6.30pm
Available at other times by mutual agreement.
Book via email.  

 

 

 

Affiliated staff

FranciscoHGFerreira

Professor Francisco H. G. Ferreira

Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of LSE International Inequalities Institute

F.D.Ferreira@lse.ac.uk

Francisco H. G. Ferreira is the Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies and Director (designate) of the International Inequalities Institute at the London School of Economics. He is also affiliated with the Department of Social Policy at LSE.
Read more here.

 

 

Professional services staff

The Professional Services team supports students and faculty to deliver the School's teaching, research, and engagement initiatives.

More information about the Social Policy Programme Support teams and the Programme Support Office 

 

DamianROBERTS2

Damian Roberts
Department Manager

D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Responsible for: The Professional Services Team;
Human, Financial and Physical Resource Management;
Strategic Planning.


 

Sophie Gavriel

Sophie Gavriel
Undergraduate Administrator

s.h.gavriel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: BSc Administration:
assessments & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exceptional circumstances, exam boards.


 

ClareGorman

Clare Gorman
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

c.gorman@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study: 
student welfare, course choice, timetabling, exams and assessment and programme regulations.


 

Sevilay Erdogan

Sevilay Erdogan
Postgraduate Administrator, PhD and Research lead

s.erdogan1@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Postgraduate study, MPhil/PhD study and support, PhD welfare, Departmental Research support, Departmental spaces, GTA support. 


 

Abby Husselby

Abby Husselby
Postgraduate Administrator

a.husselby@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Postgraduate study, student opportunities and representation, course choice, student welfare and engagement, Moodle and reading lists, events.


 

KyliePatterson

Kylie Patterson
Academic and Professional Skills Officer

k.b.patterson@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Academic and Professional Skills programme, Alumni relations


 

 

MariaSCHLEGEL2

Maria Schlegel
Events and Communications Officer

m.s.schlegel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Departmental events and seminars, internal and external Department communications.


 

CraigSTEWART

Dr Craig Stewart
Teaching Operations Manager (Postgraduate)

c.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Postgraduate study, teaching support, PG student welfare, course choice, timetabling, programme regulations; Departmental workload planning.


 

CharlieTickle

Charlie Tickle
Postgraduate Administrator

c.b.tickle@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Administration:
assessment & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exam boards.


 

JakeWatkins

Jake Watkins
Undergraduate Administrator

j.watkins3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
Moodle, reading lists, events, SSLC, the student experience.


 

 

 

Research students

Research Staff and Clusters

Research Staff

Raegan Booth

Raegan Booth

Research Assistant

r.m.booth@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Pilar Cuevas Ruiz

Pilar Cuevas-Ruiz

Research Officer

p.cuevas-ruiz@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Francesca Foliano

Francesca Foliano

Research Officer

f.foliano@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Erin Hengel

Erin Hengel

Research Officer

e.m.hengel@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

VanesssaHUGHES

Dr Vanessa Hughes

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

v.hughes@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Youngcho Lee

Dr Youngcho Lee

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

y.lee28@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Margaux Suteau

Margaux Suteau

Research Officer

m.suteau@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Research Clusters

 

CASE

CASE

Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

More information here.

Visiting Researchers in CASE

Caroline Bryson
Visiting Senior Fellow

Kerris Cooper
Visiting Senior Fellow

Professor Leon Feinstein
Visiting Professor

Ludovica Gambaro
Visiting Senior Fellow

Professor Howard Glennerster
Visiting Professor

Professor Ian Gough
Visiting Professor

Professor Susan Harkness
Visiting Professor

Dr Bruce Katz
Visiting Professor in Practice

Professor Ruth Lupton
Visiting Professor

Professor Lindsay Macmillan
Visiting Professor

Fran McGinnity
Visiting Senior Fellow

Dr Polina Obelenskaya
Visiting Fellow

Professor David Piachaud
Visiting Professor

Elizabeth Richardson
Visiting Professor

Ellie Suh
Visiting Fellow

Professor Jane Waldfogel
Visiting Professor

Moira Wallace
Visiting Professor

 

Education Research Group

Education Research Group

Research in education policy and practice

More information here

International Inequalities Institute

International Inequalities Institute

Inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities

More information here

 

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Provides a multidisciplinrary forum for criminology

More information here

Visiting Researchers in Mannheim

Professor Jennifer Brown
Visiting Professor

Dr Marianne Colbran
Visiting Fellow

Gavin Hales
Visiting Fellow

Dr Suleman Lazarus
Visiting Fellow

Dr Maurice Punch
Visiting Professor

 

Population at LSE

Population at LSE

Population research on formal and social demography

More information here

 

 

 

 

Guest teachers

Guest teachers for the 2022/23 acacemic year 

 

Amal Ali

Amal Ali

a.a.ali2@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 4.00pm-5.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

BILBAO-GOYOAGA ZABALA

Eugenia Bilbao

E.M.Bilbao-Goyoaga-Zabala@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 5.30pm-6.30pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

GOGESCU

Fiona Gogescu

f.t.gogescu@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 11.00am-12.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

maria-karagiannidou

Maria Karagiannidou

m.karagiannidou@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 12.00pm-1.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

KISHORE

Diwakar Kishore

D.Kishore1@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 1.00pm-2.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

Youngcho Lee

Dr Youngcho Lee

y.lee28@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 2.00pm-3.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

Jorich Loubser

Jorich Johann Loubser

j.h.loubser@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 9.00am-10.00am in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

OBIAKORThelma

Thelma Obiakor

T.E.Obiakor@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 4.00pm-5.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

PINTER

Ilona Pinter

i.pinter@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 11.45am-12.45pm in 32L room 3.33
Book via the Student Hub

 

Alice Robinson

Alice Robinson

a.m.robinson@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 1.00pm-2.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

STRONGJoe

Joe Strong

j.strong3@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 10.00am-11.00am in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

Haile Zola

Haile Zola

h.zola@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 2.00pm-3.00pm in room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

 

 

Visiting Staff

 

Mike Brewer

Dr Mike Brewer

Visiting Professor

m.brewer@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

TymofiiBrik

Dr Tymofii Brik

Visiting Fellow

t.brik@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

PaulFrijters

Professor Paul Frijters

Visiting Professor

p.frijters@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

Visiting Senior Fellow

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

Heidi Mirza

Professor Heidi Safia Mirza

Visiting Professor

heidi.mirza@gold.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

Greta Morando

Dr Greta Morando

Visiting Fellow

g.morando@ucl.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

 

ChiaraORSINI

Dr Chiara Orsini

Visiting Fellow

c.orsini@lse.ac.uk

View profile


 

 

The Department of Social Policy welcomes applications for Visiting Appointments from individuals outside LSE. More information.

 

 

Emeritus

Emeritus

Dr David Billis
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
d.billis@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr John Carrier
Emeritus Researcher
j.carrier@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Hartley Dean
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.dean@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Downes
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.downes@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Howard Glennerster
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Jane Lewis
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
j.lewis@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Eileen Munro
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
e.munro@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Michael Murphy
Emeritus Professor of Demography
m.murphy@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Piachaud
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.piachaud@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Anne Power
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
anne.power@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Gail Wilson
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
g.wilson@lse.ac.uk