people-page-banner-1400x300-test-1

People

Meet our faculty, staff and research students

Key Contacts

Head of Department
Professor Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey
gov.hod@lse.ac.uk

Department Manager
Imran Iqbal
i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Deputy Department Manager
Kate Jessop
k.a.jessop@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7909

Faculty Enquiries
gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Undergraduate Enquiries
gov.ug@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6498

Postgraduate Enquiries
gov.msc@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6300

PhD Enquiries
gov.phd@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7929

Academic Staff

AB | C | D | EF | G | H | J | K | L | M | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | Y


A

Portrait photo of Paul Apostolidis

Paul Apostolidis (Dr)
Associate Professorial Lecturer and Deputy Head of Department for Education
Room CBG 3.07 | +44 (0)207 955 6295 | p.apostolidis@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Emiel Awad

Emiel Awad (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.10 | e.awad@lse.ac.uk


B

Portrait photo of Paolo Belardinelli

Paolo Belardinelli
Fellow in Public Policy and Administration
Room CBG 3.08 | +44 (0)207 955 5385 | p.belardinelli@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dan Berliner

Daniel Berliner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.15 | +44 (0)207 955 5335 | d.berliner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Catherine Boone

Catherine Boone (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
+44 (0)207 107 5153 | c.boone@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of William Bosworth

William Bosworth (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CBG 3.10 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.bosworth@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Sarah Brierley

Sarah Brierley (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.37 | +44 (0)207 955 5666 | s.brierley@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Michael Bruter

Michael Bruter (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and European Politics
Room CBG 3.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6547 | m.bruter@lse.ac.uk


C

Portrait photo of Professor John Chalcraft

John Chalcraft (Prof)
Professor in Middle East History and Politics
Room CBG 4.19 | +44 (0)207 955 6630 | j.t.chalcraft@lse.ac.uk


D

Portrait photo of Luke Davies

Luke J. Davies (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.11 | +44 (0)207 955 6816 | l.j.davies@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Torun Dewan

Torun Dewan (Prof)
Professor of  Political Science
Room CBG 4.22 | +44 (0)207 955 6406 | t.dewan@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Dimitrov Vesselin

Vesselin Dimitrov (Dr)
Associate Professorial Lecturer in Eastern European Politics
Room CBG 4.38 | +44 (0)207 955 7173 | v.t.dimitrov@lse.ac.uk


E

Portrait photo of Mathilde Emeriau

Mathilde Emeriau
Assistant Professor in Empirical Political Economy
Room CBG 4.29 | +44 (0)207 955 5667 | m.emeriau@lse.ac.uk


F

Portrait photo of Benjamin Faude

Benjamin Faude (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Global Politics (Joint appointment with International Relations)
Room CBG 3.08 | +44 (0)20 7955 7805 | b.faude@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Katrin Flikschuh

Katrin Flikschuh (Prof)
Professor of Modern Political Theory
Room CBG 4.21 | +44 (0)207 955 7210 | k.a.flikschuh@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Florian Foos

Florian Foos (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Behaviour
Room CBG 3.25 | f.foos@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Federico Fuchs

Federico Fuchs
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 4.14 | f.fuchs@lse.ac.uk


G

Portrait photo of Signy Gutnick-Allen

Signy Gutnick-Allen (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CBG 3.11 | s.gutnick-allen@lse.ac.uk


H

Portrait photo of Charlotte Haberstroh

Charlotte Haberstroh (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Public Policy / Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.13 | +44 (0)207 849 4679 | c.m.haberstroh@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dominik Hangartner

Dominik Hangartner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.17 | d.hangartner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Steffen Hertog

Steffen Hertog (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.27 | +44 (0)207 955 7196 | s.hertog@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Simon Hix

Simon Hix (Prof)
Harold Laski Professor of Political Science & LSE Pro-Director (Research)
LSE Directorate | +44 (0)20 7955 7100 | s.hix@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Sara Hobolt

Sara Hobolt (Prof)
Sutherland Chair in European Institutions
Room CBG 4.34 | +44 (0)207 955 6153 | s.b.hobolt@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Jonathan Hopkin

Jonathan Hopkin (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.34 | +44 (0)207 955 6535 | j.r.hopkin@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Rafael Hortala-Vallve

Rafael Hortala-Vallve (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.16 | +44 (0)207 955 7176 | r.hortala-vallve@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor James Hughes

James Hughes (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.33 | +44 (0)207 955 6898 | j.hughes@lse.ac.uk


J

Portrait photo of Ryan Jablonski

Ryan Jablonski (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.32 | +44 (0)207 852 3799 | r.s.jablonski@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Leigh Jenco

Leigh Jenco (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CBG 4.25 | +44 (0)207 107 5253 | l.k.jenco@lse.ac.uk


K

Portrait photo of Jan Kandiyali

Jan Kandiyali (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political theory
Room CBG 3.12 | j.kandiyali@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Alexander Katsaitis

Alexander Katsaitis (Dr)
Fellow in Public Policy & Administration
Room CBG 3.12 | a.katsaitis@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Paul Kelly

Paul Kelly (Prof)
Professor of Political Theory 
Room CBG 4.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6113 | p.j.kelly@lse.ac.uk

potrait photo of Hwa Young Kim

Hwa Young Kim
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 4.14 | +44 (0)207 106 1267 | h.y.kim@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Bill Kissane

Bill Kissane (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader)
Room CBG 3.39 | +44 (0)207 955 7900 | b.kissane@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Mathias Koenig-Archibugi

Mathias Koenig-Archibugi (Dr)
Associate Professor in Global Politics
Room CBG 3.38 | +44 (0)207 955 7193 | m.koenig-archibugi@lse.ac.uk


L

Portrait photo of Professor Valentino Larcinese

Valentino Larcinese (Prof)
Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 3.02 | +44 (0)207 955 7037 | v.larcinese@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Bruno Leipold

Bruno Leipold (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CBG 3.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7186 | b.leipold@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Chun Lin

Chun Lin (Prof)
Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7197 | c.lin@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Martin Lodge

Martin Lodge (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.05 | +44 (0)207 849 4627 | m.lodge@lse.ac.uk


M

Portrait photo of Omar McDoom

Omar McDoom (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.36 | +44 (0)207 955 7557 | o.s.mcdoom@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Paul Mitchell

Paul Mitchell (Dr)
Associate Professor in European Politics and Political Methodology
Room CBG 3.30 | +44 (0)207 955 6340 | p.l.mitchell@lse.ac.uk


O

Portrait photo of George Ofosu

George Ofosu (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.04 | +44 (0)207 955 5668 | g.ofosu@lse.ac.uk


P

Portrait photo of Professor Ed Page

Ed Page (Prof)
Sidney and Beatrice Webb Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 4.30 | +44 (0)207 849 4629 | e.c.page@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Francisco Panizza

Francisco Panizza (Prof)
Professor of Latin American and Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.32 | +44 (0)207 955 7681 | f.e.panizza@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Anne Phillips.

Anne Phillips (Prof)
Graham Wallas Professor of Political Science
Room CBG 3.28 | +44 (0)207 955 6979 | a.phillips@lse.ac.uk


R

Portrait photo of Stephanie Rickard

Stephanie Rickard (Prof)
Professor of Political Science
Room CBG 4.36 | +44 (0)207 849 4919 | s.rickard@lse.ac.uk


S

Portrait photo of Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey

Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey (Prof)
Professor in Political Science and Head of Department
Room CBG 3.09 | +44 (0)207 955 7187 | c.m.schonhardt-bailey@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of John Sidel

John Sidel (Prof)
Sir Patrick Gillam Chair in International and Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.35 | +44 (0)207 955 6032 | j.t.sidel@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor David Soskice

David Soskice (Prof)
LSE School Professor of Political Science and Economics
Room CBG 4.31 | +44 (0)207 852 3637 | d.w.soskice@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Kai Spiekermann

Kai Spiekermann (Prof)
Professor of Political Philosophy
Room CBG 4.26 | +44 (0)207 955 6516 | k.spiekermann@lse.ac.uk


T

Portrait photo of Dr Eiko Thielemann

Eiko Thielemann (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
+44 (0)207 955 6012 | e.thielemann@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Wang Leung Ting

Wang Leung Ting (Mr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.06 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.l.ting@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Tony Travers

Tony Travers (Prof)
Professor in Practice
+44 (0)207 955 7777 | a.travers@lse.ac.uk


W

Portrait photo of Joachim Wehner

Joachim Wehner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 3.22 | +44 (0)207 955 5408 | j.h.wehner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Christian Willmes

Christian Willmes
LSE Fellow in Regulation and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.24 | c.willmes@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Stephane Wolton

Stephane Wolton (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.40 | +44 (0)207 107 5354 | s.wolton@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr David Woodruff

David Woodruff (Dr)
Associate Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.31 | +44 (0)207 955 7282 | d.woodruff@lse.ac.uk


Y

Portrait photo of Professor Lea Ypi

Lea Ypi (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CBG 4.33 | +44 (0)207 955 7066 | l.l.ypi@lse.ac.uk

Professional Services Staff

Please note, our student desk is at CBG 3.20 and our opening hours are weekdays, 10:00–12:30 and 13:30–16:00.


Portrait photo of Imran

Imran Iqbal (Mr)
Department Manager
Room CBG 3.01 | +44 (0)207 955 7908 | i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Department Strategy | The Communications, Research and Resources Team | The Teaching Team


Education Team

Portrait photo of Kate Jessop

Kate Jessop (Ms)
Deputy Department Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7909 | k.a.jessop@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: The Teaching Team | Teaching Policy | Teaching Resourcing


blank square

Carla Seesunkur (Ms)
Undergraduate Programmes Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6498 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | Course Choice | Programme Regulations | Exams & Assessment | Student Welfare


blank square

Zoë Williamson (Ms)
Undergraduate Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7251 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | UG Moodle & Reading Lists | UG Events | SSLC | UG Research Internships


Portrait photo of Serena

Serena James (Ms)
Undergraduate Adviser
Room CBG 3.21 | +44 (0)207 107 5186 | s.james2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: UG Student Welfare | Study Skills and Personal Development for UG Students


Portrait photo of Mark

Mark Bryceland (Mr)
MSc Programmes Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6300 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration | Postgraduate Admissions | Assessments & Exams


blank square

Diva Wareing (Ms)
MSc Programme Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6060 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration


Portrait photo of Emily

Emily Metcalf (Ms)
PhD and Teaching Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7929 | gov.phd@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MRes/PhD Programme


Faculty Affairs Team


Portrait photo of Kirsty Conway

Kirsty Conway (Ms)
Communications and Events Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7553 | gov.comms@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Events | Communications | GovBlog | Social Media


Portrait photo of Karen

Karen Dickenson (Mrs)
Research Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7748 | gov.research@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Research


Portrait photo of Clair Harrison

Clair Harrison (Ms)
Faculty Affairs Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 849 4970 | gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs


blank square

Ridhwaan Hussain (Mr)
Finance Officer
Room CBG 3.20 | gov.finance@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Finance


Portrait photo of James

James Robins (Mr)
Web and Digital Media Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)203 486 2617 | gov.website@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Website | Video & Multimedia Production | GovBlog | Social Media


blank square

Kevin Shields (Mr)
Faculty Affairs Administrator

Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)20 7106 1199 | gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs

Research Staff


  • Sarah Harrison (Dr) - Associate Professorial Research Fellow (Electoral Psychology Observatory)
  • Stephan Kyburz (Dr) - Research Fellow (Spatial Inequalities in African Political Economy)
  • Adam Ozer - Research Officer (Electoral Psychology Observatory)

Research Students

A | B | C | D | EF | G | H | J | KL | MN | O | P | R | S | T | W | Z


A

Max Afnan
m.a.afnan@lse.ac.uk

Johan Ahlback
j.m.ahlback@lse.ac.uk

Laurence Antao
l.a.antao@lse.ac.uk


B

Tom Bailey
t.j.bailey@lse.ac.uk

Francesca Boldrini
f.boldrini@lse.ac.uk

Luis Bosshart
Thesis: 'Essays in coming to terms with the past: Transitional justice and memory in postwar Germany'
l.s.bosshart@lse.ac.uk

Toni Brunton-Douglas (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'Online Radicalisation and the Alt-Right'
t.brunton-douglas@lse.ac.uk


C

Elisa Cencig
Thesis: 'Lobbying across venues in EU financial regulation'
e.cencig@lse.ac.uk

Vanessa Cheng-Matsuno
Thesis: 'Political Instability: Does it Disrupt the Bureaucracy?'
v.cheng-matsuno@lse.ac.uk

Asli Ceren Cinar (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'The impact of physical characteristics on candidate evaluation'
a.cinar@lse.ac.uk


D

Iman Dawood
Thesis: 'Revisiting Salafism: A Critical Analysis of the Salafi Movement in London'
i.s.dawood@lse.ac.uk

Maurice Dunaiski
m.r.dunaiski@lse.ac.uk


E

Thoraya El-Rayyes
t.el-rayyes@lse.ac.uk


F

Reuben Finighan
r.finighan@lse.ac.uk


G

Hilke Gudel
h.gudel@lse.ac.uk


H

Omar Hammoud Gallego
Thesis: 'Understanding the Tide: A comparative analysis of policy responses to refugee inflows'
o.hammoud-gallego@lse.ac.uk

Astrid Hampe-Nathaniel
Thesis: 'Time Will Tell – On the Roots and Rectification of Historical Injustice'
a.hampe-nathaniel@lse.ac.uk

Vincent Harting
Thesis: 'Marxian Constitutionalism and the Politics of Democratic Socialism'
v.a.harting@lse.ac.uk

Martin Haus (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'Mid-level bureaucratic dynamics and the quality of education provision: Evidence from India’s Districts'
m.haus@lse.ac.uk

Selina Hofstetter
Thesis: 'Making Suffrage Work – The Case of Swiss Female Suffrage in the late 20th Century'
s.hofstetter1@lse.ac.uk


J

Sarah Jewett
s.jewett1@lse.ac.uk


K

Max Kiefel
Thesis: '‘For the Many, Not the Few’: the re-organisation of Social Democratic parties'
m.kiefel@lse.ac.uk

Musa Kpaka
h.m.kpaka@lse.ac.uk


L

Rune Wriedt Larsen
Thesis: 'Civil War, Statebuilding, and Types of Armed Organisations in Southeast Asia'
r.w.larsen@lse.ac.uk

Katharina Lawall
Thesis: 'The causes and consequences of negative partisanship in multi-party systems'
k.lawall@lse.ac.uk

Julia Leschke
j.leschke@lse.ac.uk

McDonald Lewanika
Thesis: 'Campaigning, coercion and clientelism: ZANU-PF’s strategies in Zimbabwe’s presidential elections (2008-13)'
m.lewanika@lse.ac.uk

Nick Lewis (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'Do social media create bias in democratic deliberation?'
n.lewis3@lse.ac.uk

Giulio Lisi
g.lisi@lse.ac.uk

Antoine Louette
Thesis: 'Segregated, Standardised, Repressed: Socialisation and The Entrenchment of Structural Domination'
a.louette@lse.ac.uk


M

Andrew McNeil
Thesis: 'Intergenerational social mobility and anti-system voting – The journey matters'
a.mcneil@lse.ac.uk

Frieder Mitsch
f.mitsch@lse.ac.uk


N

Miran Norderland
m.a.norderland@lse.ac.uk


O

Temi Ogunye
Thesis: 'By any means necessary? On the ethics of social justice activism' 
t.ogunye@lse.ac.uk


P

Alberto Parmigiani
Thesis: 'Essays on Economic and Political Inequalities'
a.parmigiani@lse.ac.uk

Ariel Perkins
a.a.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Ivana Popovic
i.popovic1@lse.ac.uk

Elena Pupaza
Thesis: 'Macro-level triggers of electoral behaviour in the United Kingdom'
e.c.pupaza@lse.ac.uk


R

Paola Romero
Thesis: 'Political Willing in Kant'
p.romero@lse.ac.uk


S

Diego Sazo (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'Conflict, polarization and the roots of collective violence in contemporary Chile'
d.n.sazo-munoz@lse.ac.uk

Cain Shelley
Thesis: 'Class Consciousness and the Struggle for Economic Justice'
c.b.shelley@lse.ac.uk

Andreas-Johann Sorger
Thesis: 'An Exploration of Philosophical Racism'
a.j.sorger@lse.ac.uk


T

Carol Thanki
c.thanki2@lse.ac.uk

Arduino Tomasi
Thesis: 'Essays on the political economy of developing countries'
a.a.tomasi@lse.ac.uk


W

Stephanie Wanga (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'The State in Art: Re-imagining African Statehood through the Arts'
s.s.wanga@lse.ac.uk

Marta Wojciechowska
Thesis: 'Democracy and the Mega-city'
m.wojciechowska@lse.ac.uk


Z

Antoine Zerbini
Thesis: 'Persuasion Under the Threat of Elections'
a.r.zerbini@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus, Affiliated & Visiting Academic Staff

Emeritus | Affiliated | Visiting

 

Emeritus and Retired academic staff

Affiliated academic staff

Visiting academic staff

  • Jann Boeddeling (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until October 2021)

  • Andrea Capussela (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until December 2020)

  • Antoni Rodon - Casarramona (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until October 2021)

  • Michael Hayle (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until October 2021)

  • John Hutchinson (Dr) - Senior Visiting Fellow (until September 2021)

  • Geoffrey Meyers (Prof) - Visiting Professor in Practice (until August 2023)

  • Richard Mottram (Sir) - Visiting Professor (until September 2021)

  • Javier Ortega (Prof) - Visiting Senior Fellow (until August 2020)

  • Vesna Popovski (Dr) - Visiting Lecturer

  • Kaveh Pourvand (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until October 2021)

  • Jill Stuart (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until January 2023) and Dissertation Support Supervisor

Twitter

LSE Government LSEGovernment

RT @HopeFTFuture: New blog launching today 👀 'Community engagement and climate action: LSE students research our impact' Have a read on…

2 days ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

LSE Government LSEGovernment

RT @LSEPublicPolicy: 🗣️ "They will either need bailouts into the longer-term or face significant service reductions." Talking to the @Tele…

3 days ago

Reply Retweet Favorite