people-page-banner-1400x300-test-1

People

Meet our faculty, staff and research students

Key Contacts

Head of Department
Professor Paul Kelly
gov.hod@lse.ac.uk

Department Manager
Imran Iqbal
i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Deputy Department Manager
Kate Jessop
k.a.jessop@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7909

Faculty Enquiries
gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Undergraduate Enquiries
gov.ug@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6498

Postgraduate Enquiries
gov.msc@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6300

PhD Enquiries
gov.phd@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7929

Academic Staff

AB | C | D | EF | H | J | K | L | M | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | Y


A

Portrait photo of Paul Apostolidis

Paul Apostolidis (Prof)
Professorial Lecturer and Department Tutor
Room CBG 3.07 | +44 (0)207 955 6295 | p.apostolidis@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Emiel Awad

Emiel Awad (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.10 | e.awad@lse.ac.uk


B

blank square

Tom Bailey (Mr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.08 | t.j.bailey@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Paolo Belardinelli

Paolo Belardinelli (Dr)
Fellow in Public Policy and Administration
Room CBG 3.08 | p.belardinelli@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dan Berliner

Daniel Berliner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.15 | d.berliner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Catherine Boone

Catherine Boone (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CON 6.04 | c.boone@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Sarah Brierley

Sarah Brierley (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.37 | s.brierley@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Michael Bruter

Michael Bruter (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and European Politics
Room CBG 3.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6547 | m.bruter@lse.ac.uk


C

Portrait photo of Professor John Chalcraft

John Chalcraft (Prof)
Professor in Middle East History and Politics
Room CBG 4.19 | j.t.chalcraft@lse.ac.uk


D

Portrait photo of Luke Davies

Luke J. Davies (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.11 | l.j.davies@lse.ac.uk

Nicholas Devlin (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Government
Room CBG 3.08 | n.devlin@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Torun Dewan

Torun Dewan (Prof)
Professor of  Political Science
Room CBG 4.22 | t.dewan@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Dimitrov Vesselin

Vesselin Dimitrov (Dr)
Associate Professorial Lecturer in Eastern European Politics
Room CBG 4.38 | v.t.dimitrov@lse.ac.uk


E

Portrait photo of Mathilde Emeriau

Mathilde Emeriau (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Empirical Political Economy
Room CBG 4.29 | m.emeriau@lse.ac.uk


F

Portrait photo of Professor Katrin Flikschuh

Katrin Flikschuh (Prof)
Professor of Modern Political Theory
Room CBG 4.21 | k.a.flikschuh@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Florian Foos

Florian Foos (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Behaviour
Room CBG 3.25 | f.foos@lse.ac.uk

david-foster

David Foster (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.10 | d.foster@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Federico Fuchs

Federico Fuchs (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 4.14 | f.fuchs@lse.ac.uk


H

Portrait photo of Dr Steffen Hertog

Steffen Hertog (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.27 | s.hertog@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Sara Hobolt

Sara Hobolt (Prof)
Sutherland Chair in European Institutions
Room CBG 4.34 | s.b.hobolt@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Jonathan Hopkin

Jonathan Hopkin (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 6.01 | j.r.hopkin@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Rafael Hortala-Vallve

Rafael Hortala-Vallve (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 4.27 | r.hortala-vallve@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor James Hughes

James Hughes (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.33 | j.hughes@lse.ac.uk


J

Portrait photo of Ryan Jablonski

Ryan Jablonski (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.32 | r.s.jablonski@lse.ac.uk

Nirvikar Jassal

Nirvikar Jassal (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 4.14 | n.jassal@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Leigh Jenco

Leigh Jenco (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CBG 4.25 | l.k.jenco@lse.ac.uk


K

Portrait photo of Alexander Katsaitis

Alexander Katsaitis (Dr)
Fellow in Public Policy & Administration
Room CBG 3.12 | a.katsaitis@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Paul Kelly

Paul Kelly (Prof)
Professor of Political Theory and Head of Department
Room CBG 4.18 | p.j.kelly@lse.ac.uk

potrait photo of Hwa Young Kim

Hwa Young Kim
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 4.14 | h.y.kim@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Bill Kissane

Bill Kissane (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader)
Room CBG 3.39 | b.kissane@lse.ac.uk

Mathias KA

Mathias Koenig-Archibugi (Dr)
Associate Professor in Global Politics
Room CBG 3.38 | m.koenig-archibugi@lse.ac.uk


L

Portrait photo of Professor Valentino Larcinese

Valentino Larcinese (Prof)
Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 3.02 | v.larcinese@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Bruno Leipold

Bruno Leipold (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CBG 3.06 | b.leipold@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Michael Lerner

Michael Lerner (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 4.21 | m.h.lerner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Chun Lin

Chun Lin (Prof)
Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.20 | c.lin@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Martin Lodge

Martin Lodge (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.05 | m.lodge@lse.ac.uk


M

Portrait photo of Omar McDoom

Omar McDoom (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.36 | +44 (0)207 955 7557 | o.s.mcdoom@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Paul Mitchell

Paul Mitchell (Dr)
Associate Professor in European Politics and Political Methodology
Room CBG 3.30 | p.l.mitchell@lse.ac.uk

carl müller-crepon

Carl Müller-Crepon (Dr)
Assistant Professor 
Room CBG 3.28 | c.a.muller-crepon@lse.ac.uk


O

Portrait photo of George Ofosu

George Ofosu (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.04 | g.ofosu@lse.ac.uk


P

Portrait photo of Professor Ed Page

Ed Page (Prof)
Sidney and Beatrice Webb Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 4.30 | e.c.page@lse.ac.uk

zeynep pamuk

Zeynep Pamuk (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Political Theory
Room CBG 4.13 | z.pamuk@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Francisco Panizza

Francisco Panizza (Prof)
Professor of Latin American and Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.32 | f.e.panizza@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Mathias Poertner

Mathias Poertner (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Political Behaviour
Room CBG 3.34 | m.poertner@lse.ac.uk


R

Portrait photo of Stephanie Rickard

Stephanie Rickard (Prof)
Professor of Political Science
Room CBG 4.36 | s.rickard@lse.ac.uk


S

Portrait photo of Melissa Sands

Melissa Sands (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Politics and Data Science
Room CBG 4.37 | m.sands@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey

Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey (Prof)
Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.09 | +44 (0)207 955 7187 | c.m.schonhardt-bailey@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of John Sidel

John Sidel (Prof)
Sir Patrick Gillam Chair in International and Comparative Politics (Joint appointment with LSE International Relations)
Room CBG 3.35 | | j.t.sidel@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Kai Spiekermann

Kai Spiekermann (Prof)
Professor of Political Philosophy
Room CBG 4.26 | k.spiekermann@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Pavithra Suryanarayan

Pavithra Suryanarayan
Assistant Professor
Room CBG 4.31 | p.suryanarayan@lse.ac.uk


T

Portrait photo of Dr Eiko Thielemann

Eiko Thielemann (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
+44 (0)207 955 6012 | e.thielemann@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Tony Travers

Tony Travers (Prof)
Professor in Practice
+44 (0)207 955 7777 | a.travers@lse.ac.uk

tamara tubakovic

Tamara Tubakovic (Dr)
Fellow in Public Policy and Administration
Room CBG 3.11 | t.tubakovic@lse.ac.uk




W

Portrait photo of Joachim Wehner

Joachim Wehner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 3.22 | j.h.wehner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Stephane Wolton

Stephane Wolton (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.40 | s.wolton@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr David Woodruff

David Woodruff (Dr)
Associate Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.31 | d.woodruff@lse.ac.uk


Y

Portrait photo of Professor Lea Ypi

Lea Ypi (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CBG 4.33 | l.l.ypi@lse.ac.uk

Professional Services Staff

Please note, our student desk is at CBG 3.20 and our opening hours are weekdays, 10.00am to 12.30pm and 1.30pm to 4.00pm.


Portrait photo of Imran

Imran Iqbal (Mr)
Department Manager
Room CBG 3.01 | +44 (0)207 955 7908 | i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Department Strategy | The Communications, Research and Resources Team | The Teaching Team


Education Team

Portrait photo of Kate Jessop

Kate Jessop (Ms)
Deputy Department Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7909 | k.a.jessop@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: The Teaching Team | Teaching Policy | Teaching Resourcing


blank square

Carla Seesunkur (Mrs)
Undergraduate Programmes Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6498 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | Course Choice | Programme Regulations | Exams & Assessment | Student Welfare


Portrait photo of Natalie

Natalie Paris (Ms)
Undergraduate Adviser
Room CBG 3.21 | +44 (0)207 107 5186 | n.paris2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: UG Student Welfare | Study Skills and Personal Development for UG Students


Portrait photo of Mark

Mark Bryceland (Mr)
MSc Programmes Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6300 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration | Postgraduate Admissions | Assessments & Exams


Portrait photo of Claudia Pikali

Claudia Pikali (Mrs)
MSc Programme Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6060 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration | Postgraduate Admissions / Assessments & Exams


Portrait photo of Emily

Emily Metcalf (Ms)
PhD and Teaching Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7929 | gov.phd@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MRes/PhD Programme | Teaching administration/enquiries


Portrait photo of Anisa Morina

Anisa Morina (Ms)
Student Experience Officer
Room CBG 3.20 | a.morina@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Student Experience | Student Events | Social Activities


Faculty Affairs Team


Portrait photo of Karen

Karen Dickenson (Mrs)
Finance Officer
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7748 | gov.research@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Finance


Portrait photo of Maddie Giles

Maddie Giles (Ms)
Communications and Events Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7553 | gov.comms@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Events | Communications | Blog | Social Media


Portrait photo of Clair Harrison

Clair Harrison (Ms)
Faculty Affairs Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 849 4970 | gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs


Portrait photo of James

James Robins (Mr)
Web and Digital Media Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)203 486 2617 | gov.website@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Website | Video & Multimedia Production | Blog | Social Media


blank square

Kevin Shields (Mr)
Faculty Affairs Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)20 7106 1199 | gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs


Portrait photo of Shelly

Shelly Wilkley (Mrs)
Research Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | gov.research@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Research

Research Staff

Portrait photo of Adrian Arellano

Adrian Arellano (Dr)
Research Officer
Room CBG 3.27 | a.arellano2@lse.ac.uk


Portrait photo of Francisco Garcia-Gibson

Francisco Garcia-Gibson (Dr)
Research Fellow
Room CBG 4.35 | a.arellano2@lse.ac.uk


Portrait photo of Sarah Harrison

Sarah Harrison (Dr)
Associate Professorial Research Fellow (Electoral Psychology Observatory)
Room CBG 3.24 | s.l.harrison@lse.ac.uk


blank square

Adam Ozer
Research Officer (Electoral Psychology Observatory)

Research Students

A | B | C | D | EF | G | H | I | J | KL | MN | O | P | S | T | V | W | Y | Z


A

Max Afnan
m.a.afnan@lse.ac.uk

Meshal Alkhowaiter (MRes Student)
m.alkhowaiter@lse.ac.uk

Laurence Antao
l.a.antao@lse.ac.uk


B

Tom Bailey
t.j.bailey@lse.ac.uk

Luis Bosshart
Thesis: 'Essays in coming to terms with the past: Transitional justice and memory in postwar Germany'
l.s.bosshart@lse.ac.uk


C

Elisa Cencig
Thesis: 'Lobbying across venues in EU financial regulation'
e.cencig@lse.ac.uk

Vanessa Cheng-Matsuno
Thesis: 'Political Instability: Does it Disrupt the Bureaucracy?'
v.cheng-matsuno@lse.ac.uk

Asli Ceren Cinar
Thesis: 'The impact of physical characteristics on candidate evaluation'
a.cinar@lse.ac.uk


D

Maurice Dunaiski
m.r.dunaiski@lse.ac.uk


E

Thoraya El-Rayyes
t.el-rayyes@lse.ac.uk


F

Reuben Finighan
r.finighan@lse.ac.uk


G

Hilke Gudel
h.gudel@lse.ac.uk


H

Vincent Harting
Thesis: 'Marxian Constitutionalism and the Politics of Anti-Oligarchy'
v.a.harting@lse.ac.uk

Martin Haus
Thesis: 'Three Essays on Bureaucracy and Public Schools in Rural India'
m.haus@lse.ac.uk


I

Angga Indraswara (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'Beyond Numbers: A Comparative Analysis of Christian Minority Groups in Indonesia'
a.indraswara@lse.ac.uk


J

Sarah Jewett
s.jewett1@lse.ac.uk


K

Max Kiefel
Thesis: '‘For the Many, Not the Few’: the re-organisation of Social Democratic parties'
m.kiefel@lse.ac.uk

Musa Kpaka
h.m.kpaka@lse.ac.uk


L

Rune Wriedt Larsen
Thesis: 'Civil War, Statebuilding, and Types of Armed Organisations in Southeast Asia'
r.w.larsen@lse.ac.uk

Tiffany Lau (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'Trolling in the Deep: The US 2016 Elections, the Russian Internet Research Agency, and Affective Polarisation on Reddit'
t.t.lau@lse.ac.uk

Katharina Lawall
Thesis: 'The causes and consequences of negative partisanship in multi-party systems'
k.lawall@lse.ac.uk

Julia Leschke
Thesis: 'Populism in Parties, Politicians and Public Opinion'
j.leschke@lse.ac.uk

Nick Lewis
Thesis: 'Do social media create bias in democratic deliberation?'
n.lewis3@lse.ac.uk


M

Xufan (Nadia) Ma (MRes Student)
x.ma19@lse.ac.uk

Andrew McNeil
Thesis: 'Intergenerational social mobility and anti-system voting – The journey matters'
a.mcneil@lse.ac.uk

Frieder Mitsch
f.mitsch@lse.ac.uk


N

Miran Norderland
m.a.norderland@lse.ac.uk

Oscar Nowlan (MRes Student)
o.w.nowlan@lse.ac.uk


P

Alberto Parmigiani
Thesis: 'Essays on Economic and Political Inequalities'
a.parmigiani@lse.ac.uk

Michal Pasovsky (MRes Student)
Thesis: (TBD) 'Multitudes of Denial in a Settler-Colonial State'
m.pasovsky@lse.ac.uk

Ariel Perkins
a.a.perkins@lse.ac.uk


S

Diego Sazo
Thesis: 'Furious Democracies: Dismissive Governments and the Rise of Violent Dissent in South America, 2018-2020'
d.n.sazo-munoz@lse.ac.uk

Cain Shelley
Thesis: 'Class Consciousness and the Struggle for Economic Justice'
c.b.shelley@lse.ac.uk

Andreas-Johann Sorger
Thesis: 'An Exploration of Philosophical Racism'
a.j.sorger@lse.ac.uk


T

Carol Thanki
c.thanki2@lse.ac.uk

Arduino Tomasi
Thesis: 'Essays on the political economy of developing countries'
a.a.tomasi@lse.ac.uk


V

Lorenzo Vicari (MRes Student)
l.vicari@lse.ac.uk


W

Stephanie Wanga
Thesis: 'Freedom Propaganda: Art and Politics in Africa in the 20th and 21st Centuries'
s.s.wanga@lse.ac.uk

Felix Westerén (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'What can the values and goods lost to climate change tell us about climate policy?'
f.j.westeren@lse.ac.uk


Y

Alex Yeandle (MRes Student)
Thesis: 'Information and Electoral Accountability in Sub-Saharan Africa'
a.r.yeandle@lse.ac.uk


Z

Antoine Zerbini
Thesis: 'Essays in Informational Political Economy'
a.r.zerbini@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus, Affiliated & Visiting Academic Staff

Emeritus | Affiliated | Visiting

 

Emeritus and Retired academic staff

Affiliated academic staff

Visiting academic staff

Twitter

LSE Government LSEGovernment

RT @lea_ypi: In case you’re interested in my OTHER coming of age story, describing reason’s struggles against dogmatism & scepticism &the s…

39 minutes ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

LSE Government LSEGovernment

RT @LSEReviewBooks: New Book Review: Jake Scott reviews The Architectonic of Reason: Purposiveness and Systematic Unity in Kant’s Critique…

yesterday

Reply Retweet Favorite