LondonWestminsterBridge

People

Who's who

Senior Management Team

christian-hilber-2022

Deputy Head of Department (Teaching)

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

claire mercer

Deputy Head of Department (Research)

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Simon Dietz

Head of Environment Cluster

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

nancy holman 2020

Head of Urbanisation, Planning and Development Cluster

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk 

Silva_new

Head of Economic Geography Cluster

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

SamColegate Cropped

Departmental Manager

Sam Colegate
s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Academic staff

A-Z

laura antona 2023 (1) Cropped

Dr Laura Antona
l.f.antona@lse.ac.uk 

Assistant Professor (Education) in Human Geography 
Deputy Director for BA Geography

ignacio aravena 2024

Ignacio Aravena González
i.a.aravena-gonzalez@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance
Deputy Director for MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

aretousa_bloom

Dr Aretousa Bloom
a.a.bloom@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Urban Geography

filippo boeri

Dr Filippo Boeri
f.boeri@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Geography and Economics 

Felipe Carozzi

Dr Felipe Carozzi
f.carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Economics and Economic Geography
Programme Director for PhD Economic Geography 

ryan centner 2019 Cropped

Dr Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Geography  

anomitro chatterjee 2023

Dr Anomitro Chatterjee
a.chatterjee6@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

paul-cheshire-2022

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

julia corwin 2019 Cropped

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Geography
Deputy Director for MSc Environment and Development

RiccardoCrescenzi2

Prof Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography
Academic Director for MSc Local Economic Development

muna dajani

Dr Muna Dajani
m.d.dajani@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment 

Simon Dietz

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy
Programme Director for PhD Environmental Economics

Eugenie Dugoua (1) Cropped

Dr Eugenie Dugoua
e.dugoua@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Economics

pooya 2022 (1)

Dr Pooya Ghoddousi 
p.ghoddousi@lse.ac.uk 

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

steve gibbons 2022

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography
Deputy Director MSc Geographic Data Science

ian gordon Cropped

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

School Professor of Economic Geography

christian-hilber-2022

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography
Deputy Head of Department (Teaching)

carolin hulke 1

Dr Carolin Hulke
c.hulke@lse.ac.uk 

Assistant Professor in Economic Geography

stephen jarvis

Dr Stephen Jarvis
s.jarvis@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Resource Economics

David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography

NLee

Prof Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography
Programme Director for BSc Geography with Economics

murray low 2019 Cropped

Dr Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Human Geography

alan mace 2022

Dr Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning Studies
Undergraduate Exam Board Chair

mason 2023 (1) Cropped

Prof Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Geography
Departmental Tutor, Undergraduate Programmes
Programme Director for PhD Environmental Policy and Development

tanya matthan

Dr Tanya Matthan 
t.r.matthan@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment

claire mercer

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography
Deputy Head of Department (Research)
Programme Director for PhD programmes 

susana mourato July 2018

Prof Susana Mourato
s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment and Development

Henry Overman

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

jeff pagel (1)

Dr Jeffrey Pagel
j.pagel@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

charlie palmer 2019 Cropped

Prof Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment and Development Economics 

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor (Education) of Local Economic Development and Planning 
Programme Director for MSc Local Economic Development

kasia paprocki 2023

Dr Kasia Paprocki
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor in Environment
Programme Director for MSc Environment and Development

richard perkins (1) (1)

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

elena renzullo

Elena Renzullo 
e.renzullo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography 

davide rigo 2022

Dr Davide Rigo
d.rigo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

andresrodriguez-pose 2019 Cropped

Prof Andrés Rodríguez-Pose
a.rodriguez-pose@lse.ac.uk

Princesa de Asturias Chair and Professor of Economic Geography

sefi roth 2019 Cropped

Dr Sefi Roth
s.j.roth@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics
Deputy Director for MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change

Romola Sanyal (1) Cropped

Dr Romola Sanyal
r.sanyal@lse.ac.uk 

Associate Professor of Urban Geography
Programme Director for PhD Regional and Urban Planning Studies

rodolfo sejas portillo 2022 Cropped

Dr Rodolfo Sejas-Portillo
r.sejas-portillo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance

hyun bang shin 24 Cropped (1)

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Geography and Urban Studies
Head of Department

Silva_new

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Real Estate Economics and Finance
Deputy Director of PhD programmes

Thomas-Smith 2019 Cropped

Dr Thomas Smith
T.E.L.Smith@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor (Education) in Environmental Geography 

Programme Director for BSc Environment and Development and BSc Environmental Policy with Economics 

jessie speer 2022

Dr Jessie Speer
j.s.speer@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Human Geography
Programme Director for BA Geography

michael storper 2022 Cropped

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

ana veral verala

Dr Ana Varela Varela
a.varela-varela@lse.ac.uk 

Assistant Professor in Geographic Data Science
Programme Director for MSc Geographic Data Science

meredtih 2020

Dr Meredith Whitten
M.Whitten@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment

hendrik-wolff

Prof Hendrik Wolff
h.wolff@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics 
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change

austin zeiderman 2022

Dr Austin Zeiderman
a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Geography
Programme Director for PhD Human Geography and Urban Studies

 

Economic Geography

ignacio aravena 2024

Ignacio Aravena González
i.a.aravena-gonzalez@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance

filippo boeri

Dr Filippo Boeri
f.boeri@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Geography and Economics

Felipe Carozzi

Dr Felipe Carozzi
f.carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Economics and Economic Geography

paul-cheshire-2022

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

RiccardoCrescenzi2

Prof Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

steve gibbons 2022

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

School Professor of Economic Geography

christian-hilber-2022

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

carolin hulke 1

Dr Carolin Hulke
c.hulke@lse.ac.uk 

Assistant Professor in Economic Geography

NLee

Prof Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Prof Vassilis Monastiriotis
v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Professor of Political Economy

Henry Overman

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor (Education) of Local Economic Development and Planning

elena renzullo
Elena Renzullo 
e.renzullo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography 
davide rigo 2022

Dr Davide Rigo
d.rigo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

andresrodriguez-pose 2019 Cropped

Prof Andrés Rodríguez-Pose
a.rodriguez-pose@lse.ac.uk

Princesa de Asturias Chair and Professor of Economic Geography

rodolfo sejas portillo 2022 Cropped

Dr Rodolfo Sejas-Portillo
r.sejas-portillo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance 

Olmo Silva

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Real Estate Economics & Finance

michael storper 2022 Cropped

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

ana veral verala

Dr Ana Varela Varela 
a.varela-varela@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Geographic Data Science

c whitehad

Prof Christine Whitehead
c.m.e.whitehead@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Housing Economics

 

Environment

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

anomitro chatterjee 2023

Dr Anomitro Chatterjee
a.chatterjee6@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

julia corwin 2019 Cropped

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Geography

muna dajani

Dr. Muna Dajani
m.d.dajani@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment 

Simon Dietz

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

Eugenie Dugoua (1) Cropped

Dr Eugenie Dugoua
e.dugoua@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Economics

Matteo-Galizzi-8961-cropped

Dr Matteo M Galizzi
m.m.galizzi@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Associate Professor of Behavioural Science

nancy holman 2020

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning

stephen jarvis

Dr Stephen Jarvis
s.jarvis@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Resource Economics

David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography

mason 2023 (1) Cropped

Prof Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Geography

tanya matthan

Dr Tanya Matthan 
t.r.matthan@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment 

 

susana mourato July 2018

Prof Susana Mourato

s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development

jeff pagel (1)

Dr Jeffrey Pagel
j.pagel@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

charlie palmer 2019 Cropped

Prof Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment and Development Economics 

kasia paprocki 2023

Dr Kasia Paprocki
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor in Environment

richard perkins (1) (1)

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

sefi roth 2019 Cropped

Dr Sefi Roth
s.j.roth@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics

Ganga Shreedhar new

Dr Ganga Shreedhar
G.S.Shreedhar@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Assistant Professor in Behavioural Science

Thomas-Smith 2019 Cropped

Dr Thomas Smith
T.E.L.Smith@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor (Education) in Environmental Geography 

meredtih 2020

Dr Meredith Whitten
M.Whitten@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment

hendrik-wolff

Prof Hendrik Wolff
H.Wolff@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Urbanisation, Planning and Development 

laura antona 2023 (1) Cropped

Dr Laura Antona
l.f.antona@lse.ac.uk 

Assistant Professor (Education) in Human Geography

aretousa_bloom

Aretousa Bloom
a.a.bloom@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Urban Geography 

ryan centner 2019 Cropped

Dr Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Geography

julia corwin 2019 Cropped

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Geography
Deputy Director for MSc Environment and Development

pooya 2022 (1)

Pooya Ghoddousi 
p.ghoddousi@lse.ac.uk 

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

ian gordon Cropped

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography

nancy holman 2020

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning

gareth jones 2023

Prof Gareth A. Jones
g.a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Geography 

murray low 2019 Cropped

Dr Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Human Geography


alan mace 2022

Dr Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning Studies

claire mercer

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Local Economic Development and Planning

Romola Sanyal (1) Cropped

Dr Romola Sanyal
r.sanyal@lse.ac.uk 

Associate Professor of Urban Geography

kath Cropped

Kath Scanlon
K.J.Scanlon@lse.ac.uk

Distinguished Policy Fellow at LSE London

hyun bang shin 24 Cropped (1)

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Geography and Urban Studies

jessie speer 2022

Dr Jessie Speer
j.s.speer@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Human Geography

austin zeiderman 2022

Dr Austin Zeiderman
a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Geography

  

Teaching staff

Graduate Teaching Assistants and Guest Teachers/Lecturers A-Z

antonio

Antonio Avila-Uribe

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

emmanuel awohouedji Cropped (1)

Emmanuel Awohouedji

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

 

bevilacqua

Ivana Bevilacqua

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

NAB building

Erica Borg

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

brandily

Paul Brandily

Guest Teacher

NAB building

Álvaro Carbonell Rodríguez

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

 

amrita dasgupta

Amrita DasGupta 

Guest Teacher

magdalena dominguez

Dr Magdalena Dominguez

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

 

tea gamtkitsulashvili 2023 (1)

Tea Gamtkitsulashvili 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

ali glisson 22

Ali Glisson

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

hastreiter

Nikolaus Hastreiter 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

HERRERA

Andrea Herrera

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Hopper (1)

Merrill Hopper 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Lasdun

Violet Lasdun 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

woong-ki

Woong Ki Lee

Graduate Teaching Assistant

Kokbudak

Ali Kokbudak

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Meissner

Till Meisssner

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Jonathan Mille

Jonathan Mille

Guest Teacher

william mitchell

William Mitchell 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

olive-carmellini

Morgan Olive-Carmellini

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

shaonlee patranabis 2022

Shaonlee Patranbis 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

relisieux

Line Relisieux 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

riom

Capucine Riom

Graduate Teaching Assistant

rotolo

Martina Rotolo 

Guest Teacher 

hanadi samhan

Hanadi Samhan

Guest Teacher

 

Sircar (1)

Sraman Sircar

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Siddall

Tom Siddall

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Smith Anna

Anna Smith

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

romano tarsia 2022

Romano Tarsia

Graduate Teaching Assistant

hanh-an trinh (1) Cropped

Hanh-An Trinh

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

 

Wei

Ran Wei

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

 

Yadav (1)

Kapil Yadav

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

jingyuan zeng

Jingyuan Zeng

Graduate Teaching Assistant

Zhang

Ailin Zhang

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

 

   

PhD students

A-Z


  

Professional Services Staff

Our Professional Services Teams

 

Operations Team

SamColegate Cropped

Sam Colegate
Departmental Manager

Room: CKK 3.29
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6089
Email: s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

Ivanilza Da Mata

Ivanilza Da Mata 
Office Co-ordinator

Room: CKK 3.27
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3636
Email: I.Da-Mata@lse.ac.uk

lee mager 2022

Lee Mager 
Head of Digital Transformation Projects and Education Delivery

Room: CKK 3.29
Email: a.l.mager@lse.ac.uk

andrea sze (1) Cropped

Andrea Sze 
Departmental Senior Student Advisor 

Email: a.sze@lse.ac.uk 

 

 

Programme Teams

Undergraduate

For all undergraduate programme enquiries please contact geog.ug@lse.ac.uk.

maya king Cropped

Maya King
Undergraduate Programmes Coordinator

Room: CKK 3.27
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6847
Email: m.king6@lse.ac.uk 

For UG enquiries: geog.ug@lse.ac.uk

amy cox

Amy Cox
Undergraduate Programmes Coordinator

Room: CKK 3.27
Email: A.Cox@lse.ac.uk

For UG enquiries: geog.ug@lse.ac.uk

 

Master's

nab red ball

Ruby Bennett
Graduate Programmes Coordinator for:

MSc Environment and Development
MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change
MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

For programme enquiries: geog.env@lse.ac.uk

jodie bispham

Jodie Bispham
Graduate Programmes Coordinator for:

MSc Human Geography and Urban Studies (Research)
MSc Local Economic Development
MSc Urbanisation & Development

Room: CKK 3.25
Email: J.Bispham@lse.ac.uk

For MSc HGUS enquiries: geog.hgus@lse.ac.uk
For MSc LED enquiries: geog.led@lse.ac.uk
For MSc U&D enquiries: geog.ud@lse.ac.uk

hanna wolodzko

Hanna Wolodzko

Graduate Programmes Coordinator for:

MSc Geographic Data Science
MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance
MSc Regional and Urban Planning Studies 

For MSc GDS enquiries: geog.gds@lse.ac.uk 
For MSc REEF enquiries: geog.reef@lse.ac.uk
For MSc RUPS enquiries: geog.rups@lse.ac.uk

PhD

tom jones Cropped

Tom Jones
Research Manager

Room: CKK 3.28
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5689
Email: T.Jones5@lse.ac.uk

For MPhil/PhD programme enquiries, please visit our MPhil/PhD frequently asked questions page first.

If you cannot find an answer to your question via this page, please contact geog.phd@lse.ac.uk.

zia simpson

Zia Simpson
Research Coordinator

Room: CKK 3.28
Email: z.simpson@lse.ac.uk

For MPhil/PhD programme enquiries, please visit our MPhil/PhD frequently asked questions page first.

If you cannot find an answer to your question via this page, please contact geog.phd@lse.ac.uk.

 

 

Communications and Events Team

catherine mitchell Cropped

Catherine Mitchell
Communications and Events Manager

Room: CKK 3.24
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5656
Email: C.Mitchell1@lse.ac.uk 

For communications enquiries: geog.comms@lse.ac.uk

Isobel_Jones2019

Isobel Jones
Communications and Events Officer

Room: CKK 3.24
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6453
Email: I.P.Jones1@lse.ac.uk

For communications enquiries: geog.comms@lse.ac.uk

emily douglas

Emily Douglas
Student Engagement and Community Administrator - part time

Email: E.Douglas1@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Affiliate staff

A-Z

Matteo-Galizzi-8961-cropped

Dr Matteo M Galizzi
m.m.galizzi@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Behavioural Science

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis
v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Political Economy

kerstin-schaefer

Dr Kerstin J. Schaefer
k.schaefer@lse.ac.uk

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow

Ganga Shreedhar new

Dr Ganga Shreedhar
G.S.Shreedhar@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Behavioural Science

monika-streule

Monika Streule
m.streule@lse.ac.uk

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow

 

 

Visiting staff

A-Z

 

Job opportunities

No opportunities at present.