Join us on 13 January 2021 for this free workshop on the future and the challenges of open access publishing in philosophy, organised by the Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science and BSPS Open.

Publications that are Open Access are freely downloadable as a PDF, under a Creative Commons Licence, often with an option to pay for print copies on demand. Making a publication Open Access is well-known to increase its impact, accessibility, and citation numbers. The problem is, typical publishers will only allow Open Access for authors who can pay large fees, making Open Access inaccessible to many.

What are the best strategies to make Open Access options widely available in philosophy? This workshop brings together philosophers and experts involved in open access publishing to share and debate their experience. All are welcome, and publishers in particular should get in touch with the organisers if they would like to participate.



Wednesday, 13 January 2021 via Zoom

Times are in British (UTC) time.

16:00–16:30 Keynote Speakers: Sabina Leonelli (Exeter) and John D. Norton (Pittsburgh)
16:30–17:20 Flash Talks: Stavros Ioannidis (αnalytica), Julien Dutant (DialecticaAlastair Wilson (Ergo), Marina Uzunova (Erasmus Journal for Philosophy of Economics), Alexandre Guay (Lato Sensu), Kristin Hoffmann (Locke Studies), David Velleman (Philosopher’s imprint), Yann Benétreau (PLOS ONERamón Feenstra (Recerca), Tony Bruce (Routledge), Ties Nijssen (Springer), Javier González de Prado (Theoria).
17:20–17:50 Debate (Open)
17:50–18:00 Concluding Remarks: Helen Beebee (Manchester)
18:00-18:30 Social Reception on (Password to be announced at conference)

Please note that all stated times are UK time (GMT).



This event will take place online via Zoom, with a social reception afterwards via Gather.

Everyone is welcome to join using a computer with access to the internet and Zoom. To take part just follow these instructions:

Please note that this event will be recorded.



Bryan W Roberts (LSE CPNSS, Philosophy) and David Teira (UNED, Spain), Co-Editors in Chief of BSPS Open.