Group photo of Department of Government staff.

People

Meet our faculty, staff and research students

Key Contacts

Head of Department
Professor Chandran Kukathas
gov.hod@lse.ac.uk

Department Manager
Imran Iqbal
i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Deputy Department Manager
Catherine Robinson
c.robinson7@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7909

Faculty Enquiries
gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Undergraduate Enquiries
gov.ug@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6498

Postgraduate Enquiries
gov.msc@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6300

PhD Enquiries
gov.phd@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7929

Academic Staff

AB | C | D | EF | G | H | J | K | L | M | P | R | S | T | V | W | Y


A

David Axelsen (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 3.01 | +44 (0)207 955 6113 | d.axelsen@lse.ac.uk


B

Daniel Berliner (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 6.10 | +44 (0)207 955 5335 | d.berliner@lse.ac.uk

Catherine Boone (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CON 6.04 | +44 (0)207 107 5153 | c.boone@lse.ac.uk

Sumantra Bose (Prof)
Professor of International and Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.07 | +44 (0)207 955 7811 | s.bose@lse.ac.uk

William Bosworth (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.bosworth@lse.ac.uk

Michael Bruter (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and European Politics
Room CON 4.06 | +44 (0)207 955 6547 | m.bruter@lse.ac.uk


C

John Chalcraft (Prof)
Professor in Middle East History and Politics
Room CON 5.16 | +44 (0)207 955 6630 | j.t.chalcraft@lse.ac.uk


D

Luke J. Davies (Mr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6816 | l.j.davies@lse.ac.uk

Torun Dewan (Prof)
Professor of  Political Science
Room CON 6.07 | +44 (0)207 955 6406 | t.dewan@lse.ac.uk

Vesselin Dimitrov (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Eastern European Politics
Room CON 3.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7173 | v.t.dimitrov@lse.ac.uk

Patrick Dunleavy (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 5.19 | +44 (0)207 955 7178 | p.dunleavy@lse.ac.uk


E

Anastasia Ershova (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6557 | a.ershova@lse.ac.uk


F

Katrin Flikschuh (Prof)
Professor of Modern Political Theory
Room CON 6.08 | +44 (0)207 955 7210 | k.a.flikschuh@lse.ac.uk

Chase Foster
Fellow in Public Policy and Administration
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6984 | c.foster2@lse.ac.uk


G

Joe Greenwood (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6997 | j.greenwood3@lse.ac.uk

Signy Gutnick-Allen (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CON 3.01 | s.gutnick-allen@lse.ac.uk


H

Hanan Haber (Dr)
British Academy Research Fellow
Room CON 3.21 | +44 (0)207 852 3787 | h.y.haber@lse.ac.uk

Charlotte Haberstroh (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Public Policy / Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.20 | +44 (0)207 849 4679 | c.m.haberstroh@lse.ac.uk

Dominik Hangartner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
d.hangartner@lse.ac.uk

Steffen Hertog (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.01 | +44 (0)207 955 7196 | s.hertog@lse.ac.uk

Simon Hix (Prof)
Harold Laski Professor of Political Science
Room CON 3.07 | +44 (0)207 955 7657 | s.hix@lse.ac.uk

Sara Hobolt (Prof)
Sutherland Chair in European Institutions
Room CON 6.11 | +44 (0)207 955 6153 | s.b.hobolt@lse.ac.uk

Jonathan Hopkin (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CON 5.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6535 | j.r.hopkin@lse.ac.uk

Rafael Hortala-Vallve (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 4.16 | +44 (0)207 955 7176 | r.hortala-vallve@lse.ac.uk

James Hughes (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CON 5.05 | +44 (0)207 955 6898 | j.hughes@lse.ac.uk


J

Ryan Jablonski (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Science
Room CON 4.14 | +44 (0)207 852 3799 | r.s.jablonski@lse.ac.uk

Leigh Jenco (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CON 4.13 | +44 (0)207 107 5253 | l.k.jenco@lse.ac.uk

Chelsea Johnson (Dr)
Fellow of Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.20 | +44 (0)207 955 5385 | c.johnson14@lse.ac.uk


K

Paul Kelly (Prof)
Professor of Political Theory 
Room CON 3.02 | +44 (0)207 955 6113 | p.j.kelly@lse.ac.uk

Hwa Young Kim
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 106 1267 | h.y.kim@lse.ac.uk

Bill Kissane (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader)
Room CON 5.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7900 | b.kissane@lse.ac.uk

Mathias Koenig-Archibugi (Dr)
Associate Professor in Global Politics
Room CON 4.08 | +44 (0)207 955 7193 | m.koenig-archibugi@lse.ac.uk

Denisa Kostovicova (Dr)
Associate Professor in Global Politics
Room CON 4.15 | +44 (0)207 955 6916 | d.kostovicova@lse.ac.uk

Chandran Kukathas (Prof)
Chair in Political Theory and Head of Department
Room CON 5.04 | +44 (0)207 955 7910 | c.kukathas@lse.ac.uk


L

Valentino Larcinese (Prof)
Professor in Public Policy
Room CON 5.02 | +44 (0)207 955 7037 | v.larcinese@lse.ac.uk

Chun Lin (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CON 3.10 | +44 (0)207 955 7197 | c.lin@lse.ac.uk

Martin Lodge (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 3.08 | +44 (0)207 849 4627 | m.lodge@lse.ac.uk


M

Omar McDoom (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CON 6.09 | +44 (0)207 955 7557 | o.s.mcdoom@lse.ac.uk

Paul Mitchell (Dr)
Associate Professor in European Politics and Political Methodology
Room CON 5.14 | +44 (0)207 955 6340 | p.l.mitchell@lse.ac.uk


P

Ed Page (Prof)
Sidney and Beatrice Webb Professor in Public Policy
Room CON 3.05 | +44 (0)207 849 4629 | e.c.page@lse.ac.uk

Francisco Panizza (Prof)
Professor of Latin American and Comparative Politics
Room CON 5.12 | +44 (0)207 955 7681 | f.e.panizza@lse.ac.uk

Anne Phillips (Prof)
Graham Wallas Professor of Political Science
Room CON 5.07 | +44 (0)207 955 6979 | a.phillips@lse.ac.uk


R

Stephanie Rickard (Prof)
Professor of Political Science
Room CON 3.04 | +44 (0)207 849 4919 | s.rickard@lse.ac.uk


S

Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey (Prof)
Professor in Political Science
Room CON 6.05 | +44 (0)207 955 7187 | c.m.schonhardt-bailey@lse.ac.uk

Serena Sharma (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Global Politics
Room CON 3.16 | +44 (0)207 955 7805 | s.k.sharma1@lse.ac.uk

John Sidel (Prof)
Sir Patrick Gillam Chair in International and Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.02 | +44 (0)207 955 6032 | j.t.sidel@lse.ac.uk

David Soskice (Prof)
LSE School Professor of Political Science and Economics
Room CON 4.05 | +44 (0)207 852 3637 | d.w.soskice@lse.ac.uk

Kai Spiekermann (Dr)
Associate Professor of Political Philosophy
Room CON 5.17 | +44 (0)207 955 6516 | k.spiekermann@lse.ac.uk


T

Mark Thatcher (Prof)
Professor of Comparative and International Politics
Room CON 4.17 | +44 (0)207 955 6730 | m.thatcher@lse.ac.uk

Eiko Thielemann (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 3.14 | +44 (0)207 955 6012 | e.thielemann@lse.ac.uk

Wang Leung Ting (Mr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.l.ting@lse.ac.uk

Tony Travers (Prof)
Professor in Practice
Room CON 6.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7777 | a.travers@lse.ac.uk


V

Laura Valentini (Dr)
Associate Professor of Political Science
Room CON 4.04 | +44 (0)207 107 5407 | l.m.valentini@lse.ac.uk


W

Joachim Wehner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Public Policy
Room CON 4.10 | +44 (0)207 955 5408 | j.h.wehner@lse.ac.uk

Stephane Wolton (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CON 5.08 | +44 (0)207 107 5354 | s.wolton@lse.ac.uk

David Woodruff (Dr)
Associate Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CON 3.17 | +44 (0)207 955 7282 | d.woodruff@lse.ac.uk


Y

Lea Ypi (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
CON 3.19 | +44 (0)207 955 7066 | l.l.ypi@lse.ac.uk

Tinghua Yu (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 5.01 | +44 (0)207 955 5151 | t.yu5@lse.ac.uk

Professional Services Staff

Please note, our student desk is in CON 3.18 and our opening hours are weekdays, 10:00–12:30 and 13:30–16:00.


Portrait photo of Imran

Imran Iqbal (Mr)
Department Manager
Room CON 3.12 | +44 (0)207 955 7908 | i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Department Strategy | The Communications, Research and Resources Team | The Teaching Team


Education Team

Portrait photo of Catherine

Catherine Robinson (Ms)
Deputy Department Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7909 | c.robinson7@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: The Teaching Team | Teaching Policy | Teaching Resourcing


blank square

Carla Seesunkur (Ms)
Undergraduate Programmes Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6498 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | Course Choice | Programme Regulations | Exams & Assessment | Student Welfare


Portrait photo of Claire

Claire Tomlinson (Ms)
Undergraduate Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7251 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | UG Moodle & Reading Lists | UG Events | SSLC | UG Research Internships


Portrait photo of Natalie

Natalie Paris (Ms)
Undergraduate Adviser
Room CON 4.11 | +44 (0)207 107 5186 | n.paris2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: UG Student Welfare | Study Skills and Personal Development for UG Students


Portrait photo of Mark

Mark Bryceland (Mr)
MSc Programmes Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6300 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration | Postgraduate Admissions | Assessments & Exams


Portrait photo of Charlotte

Charlotte Griffin (Ms)
MSc Programme Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7651 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration


Portrait photo of Serena

Serena James (Ms)
MSc Programme Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6060 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration


Portrait photo of Emily

Emily Metcalf (Ms)
PhD and Teaching Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7929 | gov.phd@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MRes/PhD Programme


Faculty Affairs Team


Portrait photo of Karen

Karen Dickenson (Ms)
Finance Officer
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7748 | gov.finance@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Finance


Portrait photo of Abir

Abir El-Hendi (Ms)
Faculty Affairs Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 4970
gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs


blank square

Clair Harrison (Ms)
Faculty Affairs Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 4970
gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs


Portrait photo of Emma

Emma Hart (née Rees) (Ms)
Communications and Events Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7553 | gov.comms@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Events | Communications | GovBlog | Social Media


Portrait photo of James

James Robins (Mr)
Web and Digital Media Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)203 486 2617 | gov.website@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Website | Video & Multimedia Production | GovBlog | Social Media


Portrait photo of Shelly

Shelly Wilkley (Ms)
Research Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6751 | s.a.wilkley@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Research

Emeritus, Affiliated & Visiting Academic Staff

Emeritus | Affiliated | Visiting

 

Emeritus and Retired academic staff

Affiliated academic staff

Visiting academic staff

  • Tahir Abbas - Visiting Senior Fellow (until September 2019)

  • Erik Bucy - Visiting Senior Fellow (until December 2018)

  • Kate Jenkins - Visiting Professor (until August 2017)

  • Richard Mottram (Sir) - Visiting Professor (until September 2018)

  • Geoffrey Myers - Visiting Professor in Practice (until August 2020)

  • Vesna Popovski (Dr) - Visiting Lecturer

  • Jill Stuart - Visiting Fellow (until September 2017)

  • Janne Tukiainen - Visiting Professor (until August 2019)

  • Frank Vibert - Visiting Senior Fellow (until December 2017)

Research Staff

Research Students

A | B | C | D | EF | G | H | I | J | KL | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W


A

Johan Ahlback
j.m.ahlback@lse.ac.uk

Kate Alexander Shaw
k.i.alexander@lse.ac.uk


B

Jann Boeddeling
Thesis: 'Bending time and breaking structures: Events, spontaneity, and interaction in the 2010/11 Tunisian Uprising'
j.boeddeling@lse.ac.uk

Francesca Boldrini
f.boldrini@lse.ac.uk

Laura Bronner
Thesis: 'Representation and Rhetoric: Political speech in Britain from the Second Reform Act to the First World War'
l.bronner@lse.ac.uk


C

Elisa Cencig
Thesis: 'Lobbying across venues in EU financial regulation'
e.cencig@lse.ac.uk

Sarah Correia
Thesis: 'Nation-formation as a liminal process: an ethnographic study of the creation and development of Republika Srpska from a local perspective, focusing on the transformation of the town of Bijeljina'
s.m.correia@lse.ac.uk


D

Iman Dawood
i.s.dawood@lse.ac.uk

Maurice Dunaiski
m.r.dunaiski@lse.ac.uk


E

Thoraya El-Rayyes
t.el-rayyes@lse.ac.uk


F

Reuben Finighan
r.finighan@lse.ac.uk

Jared J Finnegan
Thesis: 'Low carbon for the long term: The comparative political economy of climate policy investment'
j.finnegan@lse.ac.uk


G

Fergus Green
Thesis: 'The political ethics of legal change: A critical-republican solution to the ‘legal transitions problem’'
r.f.green@lse.ac.uk

Hilke Gudel
h.gudel@lse.ac.uk


H

Omar Hammoud Gallego
Thesis: 'Understanding the Tide: A comparative analysis of policy responses to refugee inflows'
o.hammoud-gallego@lse.ac.uk

Astrid Hampe-Nathaniel
Thesis: 'Time Will Tell – On the Roots and Rectification of Historical Injustice'
a.hampe-nathaniel@lse.ac.uk

Michael Hayle
Thesis: 'Major Public Projects and the Promise of Executive Accountability'
m.p.hayle@lse.ac.uk

Selina Hofstetter
Thesis: 'Democracy As You Like It? – Disentangling the Effect of Preferences from Institutional Impact'
s.hofstetter1@lse.ac.uk


I

Federica Izzo
Thesis: 'Formal Models of Party Competition: Ideology and Experimentation'
f.izzo@lse.ac.uk


J

Ricardas Juskevicius
r.juskevicius@lse.ac.uk


K

Max Kiefel
m.kiefel@lse.ac.uk


L

Julia Leschke
j.leschke@lse.ac.uk

McDonald Lewanika
m.lewanika@lse.ac.uk

Giulio Lisi
g.lisi@lse.ac.uk

Antoine Louette
Thesis: 'Systemic Domination'
a.louette@lse.ac.uk


N

Miran Norderland
m.a.norderland@lse.ac.uk


O

Temi Ogunye
Thesis: 'What are individuals’ responsibilities in different conditions of (domestic) injustice?'
t.ogunye@lse.ac.uk

Takuya Onoda
Thesis: 'The politics of drug rationing in England and France'
t.onoda@lse.ac.uk


P

Ariel Perkins
a.a.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Ed Gareth Poole
Thesis: 'Essays on the Political Economy of Decentralization'
e.g.poole@lse.ac.uk

Diana Popescu
d.e.popescu@lse.ac.uk

Ivana Popovic
i.popovic1@lse.ac.uk

Kaveh Pourvand
k.f.pourvand@lse.ac.uk

Elena Pupaza
Thesis: 'Macro-level triggers of electoral behaviour in the United Kingdom'
e.c.pupaza@lse.ac.uk


R

Laura Robbins-Wright
l.i.robbins-wright@lse.ac.uk

Paola Romero
Thesis: 'Political Willing in Kant'
p.romero@lse.ac.uk


S

Robert Schuetze
r.schuetze@lse.ac.uk

Greg Chih-Hsin Sheen
Thesis: 'Media Politics in Democracies and Autocracies'
c.sheen@lse.ac.uk

Cain Shelley
c.b.shelley@lse.ac.uk

Jan Stuckatz
Thesis: 'Essays on Corporate Influence in Politics'
j.stuckatz@lse.ac.uk


T

Carol Thanki
c.thanki2@lse.ac.uk

Arduino Tomasi
Thesis: 'Essays on persuasion and strategic information transmission'
a.a.tomasi@lse.ac.uk


V

Robert Van Geffen
r.j.van-geffen@lse.ac.uk


W

Anahi Wiedenbrüg
a.e.wiedenbrug@lse.ac.uk

Marta Wojciechowska
Thesis: 'Democracy and the Mega-city'
m.wojciechowska@lse.ac.uk


Twitter

LSE Government LSEGovernment

New event for your 2019 diary! 'What Have We Learnt from the Financial Crisis' with speaker @vincecable on Wednesda… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

18 hours ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

LSE Government LSEGovernment

Interested in joining us here @LSEGovernment? Find out about the latest job vacancies in the Department by followin… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

2 days ago

Reply Retweet Favorite