The Department photo 2017 featuring academic and PSS staff

People

Meet our faculty, staff and research students

Key Contacts

Head of Department
Professor Chandran Kukathas
gov.hod@lse.ac.uk

Department Manager
Shelly Wilkley
+44 (0)207 955 6751

Deputy Department Manager
Catherine Robinson
c.robinson7@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7909

General Enquiries
gov.office@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Undergraduate Enquiries
gov.ug@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6498

Postgraduate Enquiries
gov.msc@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6300

Research/PhD Enquiries
gov.research@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7929

Academic Staff

AB | C | D | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | P | R | S | T | V | W | Y


A

David Axelsen (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 5.22 | +44 (0)207 955 6882 | d.axelsen@lse.ac.uk


B

Sebastian Barfort (Dr)
Postdoctoral researcher
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6984 | s.barfort@lse.ac.uk

Daniel Berliner (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 6.10 | +44 (0)207 955 5335 | d.berliner@lse.ac.uk

Catherine Boone (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CON 6.04 | +44 (0)207 107 5153 | c.boone@lse.ac.uk

Sumantra Bose (Prof)
Professor of International and Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.07 | +44 (0)207 955 7811 | s.bose@lse.ac.uk

William Bosworth (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.bosworth@lse.ac.uk

Michael Bruter (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and European Politics
Room CON 4.06 | +44 (0)207 955 6547 | m.bruter@lse.ac.uk


C

John Chalcraft (Prof)
Professor in Middle East History and Politics
Room CON 5.16 | +44 (0)207 955 6630 | j.t.chalcraft@lse.ac.uk

Alexandra Cirone (Dr)
Postdoctoral Fellow in Political Economy
Room CON 5.01 | +44 (0)207 106 1266 | a.e.cirone@lse.ac.uk


D

Torun Dewan (Prof)
Professor of  Political Science
Room CON 6.07 | +44 (0)207 955 6406 | t.dewan@lse.ac.uk

Vesselin Dimitrov (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Eastern European Politics
Room CON 3.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7173 | v.t.dimitrov@lse.ac.uk

Flavia Donadelli (Ms)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 4.20 | +44 (0)207 955 5385 | f.m.donadelli@lse.ac.uk

Patrick Dunleavy (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 5.19 | +44 (0)207 955 7178 | p.dunleavy@lse.ac.uk


F

Katrin Flikschuh (Prof)
Professor of Modern Political Theory
Room CON 6.08 | +44 (0)207 955 7210 | k.a.flikschuh@lse.ac.uk


G

Marco Giani (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 5.01 | +44 (0)207 955 7186 | m.giani@lse.ac.uk

Signy Gutnick-Allen (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CON 7.03 | s.gutnick-allen@lse.ac.uk


H

Hanan Haber (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Public Policy and Administration
Room CON 3.21 | +44 (0)207 852 3787 | h.y.haber@lse.ac.uk

Dominik Hangartner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
d.hangartner@lse.ac.uk

Steffen Hertog (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.01 | +44 (0)207 955 7196 | s.hertog@lse.ac.uk

Simon Hix (Prof)
Harold Laski Professor of Political Science
Room CON 3.07 | +44 (0)207 955 7657 | s.hix@lse.ac.uk

Sara Hobolt (Prof)
Sutherland Chair in European Institutions
Room CON 6.11 | +44 (0)207 955 6153 | s.b.hobolt@lse.ac.uk

Jonathan Hopkin (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CON 5.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6535 | j.r.hopkin@lse.ac.uk

Rafael Hortala-Vallve (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 4.16 | +44 (0)207 955 7176 | r.hortala-vallve@lse.ac.uk

James Hughes (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CON 5.05 | +44 (0)207 955 6898 | j.hughes@lse.ac.uk

John Hutchinson (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Nationalism in Europe
Room CON 3.02 | +44 (0)207 955 6113 | j.hutchinson1@lse.ac.uk


J

Ryan Jablonski (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Science
Room CON 4.14 | +44 (0)207 852 3799 | r.s.jablonski@lse.ac.uk

Leigh Jenco (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CON 4.13 | +44 (0)207 107 5253 | l.k.jenco@lse.ac.uk

Chelsea Johnson (Dr)
Fellow of Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6557 | c.johnson14@lse.ac.uk


K

Paul Kelly (Prof)
Professor of Political Theory and Pro-Director (Teaching and Learning)
Room COL 1.01 | +44 (0)207 955 7190 | p.j.kelly@lse.ac.uk

Bill Kissane (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader)
Room CON 5.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7900 | b.kissane@lse.ac.uk

Brian Klaas (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Comparative Politics
Room CON 6.09 | +44 (0)207 955 7557 | b.klaas@lse.ac.uk

Mathias Koenig-Archibugi (Dr)
Associate Professor in Global Politics
Room CON 4.08 | +44 (0)207 955 7193 | m.koenig-archibugi@lse.ac.uk

Denisa Kostovicova (Dr)
Associate Professor in Global Politics
Room CON 4.15 | +44 (0)207 955 6916 | d.kostovicova@lse.ac.uk

Chandran Kukathas (Prof)
Chair in Political Theory and Head of Department
Room CON 5.04 | +44 (0)207 955 7910 | c.kukathas@lse.ac.uk


L

Valentino Larcinese (Prof)
Professor in Public Policy
Room CON 5.02 | +44 (0)207 955 7037 | v.larcinese@lse.ac.uk

Thomas Leeper (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Behaviour
CON 4.11 | +44 (0)207 955 7191 | t.leeper@lse.ac.uk

Chun Lin (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CON 3.10 | +44 (0)207 955 7197 | c.lin@lse.ac.uk

Christian List (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Philosophy
Room CON 4.04 | +44 (0)207 955 6785 | c.list@lse.ac.uk

Martin Lodge (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 3.08 | +44 (0)207 849 4627 | m.lodge@lse.ac.uk


M

Alexandru Marcoci (Mr)
LSE Fellow in Government
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6997 | a.marcoci@lse.ac.uk

Omar McDoom (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics
o.s.mcdoom@lse.ac.uk

Brett Meyer (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 107 5151 | b.meyer2@lse.ac.uk

Paul Mitchell (Dr)
Associate Professor in European Politics and Political Methodology
Room CON 5.14 | +44 (0)207 955 6340 | p.l.mitchell@lse.ac.uk


P

Ed Page (Prof)
Sidney and Beatrice Webb Professor in Public Policy
Room CON 3.05 | +44 (0)207 849 4629 | e.c.page@lse.ac.uk

Francisco Panizza (Prof)
Professor of Latin American and Comparative Politics
Room CON 5.12 | +44 (0)207 955 7681 | f.e.panizza@lse.ac.uk

Anne Phillips (Prof)
Graham Wallas Professor of Political Science
Room CON 5.07 | +44 (0)207 955 6979 | a.phillips@lse.ac.uk

Vesna Popovski (Dr)
Visiting Lecturer
+44 (0)207 849 4602 | v.popovski@lse.ac.uk


R

Stephanie Rickard (Dr)
Associate Professor  in Political Science
Room CON 3.04 | +44 (0)207 849 4919 | s.rickard@lse.ac.uk

Laura Robbins-Wright (Ms)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6557 | l.i.robbins-wright@lse.ac.uk

Lucia Rubinelli
LSE Fellow
Room CON 3.19 | +44 (0)207 955 7066 | l.l.rubinelli@lse.ac.uk


S

Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey (Prof)
Professor in Political Science
Room CON 6.05 | +44 (0)207 955 7187 | c.m.schonhardt-bailey@lse.ac.uk

Livia Schubiger (Dr.des.)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics (Conflict and Peace Research)
Room CON 5.10 | +44 (0)207 955 7043 | l.i.schubiger@lse.ac.uk

Serena Sharma (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Global Politics
Room CON 3.16 | +44 (0)207 955 7805 | s.k.sharma1@lse.ac.uk

John Sidel (Prof)
Sir Patrick Gillam Chair in International and Comparative Politics
Room CON 4.02 | +44 (0)207 955 6032 | j.t.sidel@lse.ac.uk

David Soskice (Prof)
LSE School Professor of Political Science and Economics
Room CON 4.05 | +44 (0)207 852 3637 | d.w.soskice@lse.ac.uk

Kai Spiekermann (Dr)
Associate Professor of Political Philosophy
Room CON 5.17 | +44 (0)207 955 6516 | k.spiekermann@lse.ac.uk


T

Mark Thatcher (Prof)
Professor of Comparative and International Politics
Room CON 4.17 | +44 (0)207 955 6730 | m.thatcher@lse.ac.uk

Eiko Thielemann (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CON 3.14 | +44 (0)207 955 6012 | e.thielemann@lse.ac.uk

Wang Leung Ting (Mr)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 7.03 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.l.ting@lse.ac.uk

Tony Travers (Prof)
Professor in Practice
Room CON 6.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7777 | a.travers@lse.ac.uk


V

Laura Valentini (Dr)
Associate Professor of Political Science
Room CON 4.04 | +44 (0)207 107 5407 | l.m.valentini@lse.ac.uk


W

Joachim Wehner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Public Policy
Room CON 4.10 | +44 (0)207 955 5408 | j.h.wehner@lse.ac.uk

Stephane Wolton (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Science
Room CON 5.08 | +44 (0)207 107 5354 | s.wolton@lse.ac.uk

David Woodruff (Dr)
Associate Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CON 3.17 | +44 (0)207 955 7282 | d.woodruff@lse.ac.uk


Y

Lea Ypi (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
l.l.ypi@lse.ac.uk

Tinghua Yu (Ms)
LSE Fellow
Room CON 5.01 | +44 (0)207 955 5151 | t.yu5@lse.ac.uk

Professional Services Staff

Meliz Ahmet (Ms)
MSc Programme Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7651 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration


Mark Bryceland (Mr)
MSc Programmes Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6300 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration | Postgraduate Admissions | Assessments & Exams


Karen Dickenson (Ms)
Finance Officer
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7748 | gov.finance@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Finance


Alexandra Gregory-Hobbs (Ms)
MSc Programme Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 4970 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration


Nina Pasquali (Ms)
Research and Teaching Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7929 | gov.research@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Postgraduate Research | MRes/PhD Programme


Emma Rees (Ms)
Communications and Events Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7553 | gov.comms@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Events | Communications | GovBlog | Social Media


James Robins (Mr)
Web and Digital Media Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)203 486 2617 | gov.website@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Website | GovBlog | Social Media | Video & Multimedia Production


Catherine Robinson (Ms)
Deputy Department Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7909 | c.robinson7@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: The Teaching Team | Teaching Policy | Teaching Resourcing


Carla Seesunkur (Ms)
Undergraduate Programmes Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6498 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | Course Choice | Programme Regulations | Exams & Assessment | Student Welfare


Sue Sharkey (Ms)
Research & Office Manager
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7908 | gov.office@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about:


Claire Tomlinson (Ms)
Undergraduate Administrator
Room CON 3.18 | +44 (0)207 955 7251 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | UG Moodle & Reading Lists | UG Events | SSLC | UG Research Internships


Shelly Wilkley (Ms)
Department Manager
Room CON 3.12 | +44 (0)207 955 6751 | s.a.wilkley@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Department Strategy | The Communications, Research and Resources Team | The Teaching Team

Emeritus, Affiliated & Visiting Academic Staff

Emeritus | Affiliated | Visiting

 

Emeritus and Retired academic staff

Affiliated academic staff

Visiting academic staff

  • Tahir Abbas - Visiting Senior Fellow (until September 2019)
  • Kate Jenkins - Visiting Professor (until August 2017)
  • Richard Mottram (Sir) - Visiting Professor (until September 2018)
  • Geoffrey Myers - Visiting Professor in Practice (until August 2020)
  • Jill Stuart - Visiting Fellow (until September 2017)
  • Janne Tukiainen - Visiting Associate Professor (until September 2018)
  • Frank Vibert - Visiting Senior Fellow (until December 2017)

Research staff

  • Jonathan Chappell - Research Officer
  • Sarah Harrison (Dr) - Associate Professorial Research Fellow
  • Ivor Sokolić (Dr) - Research Officer

Research Students

A | B | C | D | F | G | H | I | J | L | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | Y


A

Johan Ahlback

Kate Alexander Shaw
k.i.alexander@lse.ac.uk


B

Jann Boeddeling
Thesis: 'Creative Practice and Hegemonised Thought - a Critical Mobilisation Studies Perspective on the 2011 Egyptian Revolution'
j.boeddeling@lse.ac.uk

Francesca Boldrini

Laura Bronner
Thesis: 'Two steps forward, one step back: Europe’s piecemeal democratization'
l.bronner@lse.ac.uk


C

Sara Maria Correia
s.m.correia@lse.ac.uk


D

Iman Dawood


F

Jared J Finnegan
Thesis: 'The political economy of climate change policy'
j.finnegan@lse.ac.uk


G

Maud Gauthier-Chung

Fergus Green
Thesis: 'The political ethics of legal change: A critical-republican solution to the ‘legal transitions problem’'
r.f.green@lse.ac.uk

Rohan Green


H

Michael Hayle

Selina HofStetter
Thesis: 'Can Preferences Off-Set Institutional Impact?'
s.hofstetter1@lse.ac.uk


I

Federica Izzo


J

Ricardas Juskevicius


L

McDonald Lewanika

Giulio Lisi

Antoine Louette


N

Miran Norderland


O

Temi Ogunye

Takuya Onoda


P

Ariel Perkins

Ed Gareth Poole
Thesis: 'Essays on the Political Economy of Decentralization'
e.g.poole@lse.ac.uk

Diana Popescu

Ivana Popovic

Kaveh Pourvand

Elena Pupaza


R

Laura Robbins-Wright

Paola Romero
Thesis: 'Reason and Politics in Kant: Can Practical Reason be Political?'
p.romero@lse.ac.uk


S

Moritz Schmoll
Thesis: 'A State of Distrust – Egyptian Tax Collection from Historical and Ethnographic Perspective'
m.schmoll@lse.ac.uk

Robert Schuetze
r.schuetze@lse.ac.uk

Desiree Shayer-McLeod

Greg Chih-Hsin Sheen
Thesis: 'Information Transmission in Democracy and Autocracy'
c.sheen@lse.ac.uk

Jan Stuckatz


T

Carol Thanki

Arduino Tomasi Adams


V

Robert Van Geffen


W

Anahi Wiedenbrüg

Marta Wojciechowska


Y

James Yarde