Group photo of Department of Government staff.

People

Meet our faculty, staff and research students

Key Contacts

Head of Department
Professor Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey
gov.hod@lse.ac.uk

Department Manager
Imran Iqbal
i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Deputy Department Manager
Catherine Robinson
c.robinson7@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7909

Faculty Enquiries
gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7908

Undergraduate Enquiries
gov.ug@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6498

Postgraduate Enquiries
gov.msc@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 6300

PhD Enquiries
gov.phd@lse.ac.uk | +44 (0)207 955 7929

Academic Staff

AB | C | D | EF | G | H | J | K | L | M | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | Y


A

Portrait photo of Paul Apostolidis

Paul Apostolidis (Dr)
Associate Professorial Lecturer and Deputy Head of Department for Education
Room CBG 3.07 | +44 (0)207 955 6295 | p.apostolidis@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Emiel Awad

Emiel Awad (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.10 | e.awad@lse.ac.uk


B

blank square

Paolo Belardinelli
Fellow in Public Policy and Administration
Room CBG 3.08 | +44 (0)207 955 5385 | p.belardinelli@lse.ac.uk

blank square

Daniel Berliner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.15 | +44 (0)207 955 5335 | d.berliner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Catherine Boone

Catherine Boone (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
+44 (0)207 107 5153 | c.boone@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Sumantra Bose

Sumantra Bose (Prof)
Professor of International and Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.28 | +44 (0)207 955 7811 | s.bose@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of William Bosworth

William Bosworth (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CBG 3.10 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.bosworth@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Sarah Brierley

Sarah Brierley (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.37 | +44 (0)207 955 5666 | s.brierley@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Michael Bruter

Michael Bruter (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and European Politics
Room CBG 3.03 | +44 (0)207 955 6547 | m.bruter@lse.ac.uk


C

Portrait photo of Professor John Chalcraft

John Chalcraft (Prof)
Professor in Middle East History and Politics
Room CBG 4.19 | +44 (0)207 955 6630 | j.t.chalcraft@lse.ac.uk


D

Portrait photo of Luke Davies

Luke J. Davies (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.11 | +44 (0)207 955 6816 | l.j.davies@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Torun Dewan

Torun Dewan (Prof)
Professor of  Political Science
Room CBG 4.22 | +44 (0)207 955 6406 | t.dewan@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Dimitrov Vesselin

Vesselin Dimitrov (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Eastern European Politics
Room CBG 4.38 | +44 (0)207 955 7173 | v.t.dimitrov@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Patrick Dunleavy

Patrick Dunleavy (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.29 | +44 (0)207 955 7178 | p.dunleavy@lse.ac.uk


E

blank square

Mathilde Emeriau
Assistant Professor in Empirical Political Economy
Room CBG 4.29 | +44 (0)207 955 5667 | m.emeriau@lse.ac.uk

portrait photo of Anastasia Ershova

Anastasia Ershova (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.12 | +44 (0)207 955 6557 | a.ershova@lse.ac.uk


F

Portrait photo of Benjamin Faude

Benjamin Faude (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Global Politics (Joint appointment with International Relations)
Room CBG 3.08 | +44 (0)20 7955 7805 | b.faude@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Katrin Flikschuh

Katrin Flikschuh (Prof)
Professor of Modern Political Theory
Room CBG 4.21 | +44 (0)207 955 7210 | k.a.flikschuh@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Florian Foos

Florian Foos (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Behaviour
Room CBG 3.25 | f.foos@lse.ac.uk


G

Portrait photo of Joe Greenwood

Joe Greenwood (Dr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 4.13 | +44 (0)207 955 6997 | j.greenwood3@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Signy Gutnick-Allen

Signy Gutnick-Allen (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CBG 3.11 | s.gutnick-allen@lse.ac.uk


H

Portrait photo of Charlotte Haberstroh

Charlotte Haberstroh (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Public Policy / Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.13 | +44 (0)207 849 4679 | c.m.haberstroh@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dominik Hangartner

Dominik Hangartner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.17 | d.hangartner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Steffen Hertog

Steffen Hertog (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.27 | +44 (0)207 955 7196 | s.hertog@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Simon Hix

Simon Hix (Prof)
Harold Laski Professor of Political Science
Room COL 1.00 | +44 (0)207 955 7657 | s.hix@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Sara Hobolt

Sara Hobolt (Prof)
Sutherland Chair in European Institutions
Room CBG 4.34 | +44 (0)207 955 6153 | s.b.hobolt@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Jonathan Hopkin

Jonathan Hopkin (Dr)
Associate Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.34 | +44 (0)207 955 6535 | j.r.hopkin@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Rafael Hortala-Vallve

Rafael Hortala-Vallve (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.16 | +44 (0)207 955 7176 | r.hortala-vallve@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor James Hughes

James Hughes (Prof)
Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.33 | +44 (0)207 955 6898 | j.hughes@lse.ac.uk


J

Portrait photo of Ryan Jablonski

Ryan Jablonski (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.32 | +44 (0)207 852 3799 | r.s.jablonski@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Leigh Jenco

Leigh Jenco (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CBG 4.25 | +44 (0)207 107 5253 | l.k.jenco@lse.ac.uk


K

blank square

Jan Kandiyali (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political theory
Room CBG 3.12 | j.kandiyali@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Paul Kelly

Paul Kelly (Prof)
Professor of Political Theory 
Room CBG 4.18 | +44 (0)207 955 6113 | p.j.kelly@lse.ac.uk

potrait photo of Hwa Young Kim

Hwa Young Kim
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 4.14 | +44 (0)207 106 1267 | h.y.kim@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Bill Kissane

Bill Kissane (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader)
Room CBG 3.39 | +44 (0)207 955 7900 | b.kissane@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Mathias Koenig-Archibugi

Mathias Koenig-Archibugi (Dr)
Associate Professor in Global Politics
Room CBG 3.38 | +44 (0)207 955 7193 | m.koenig-archibugi@lse.ac.uk


L

Portrait photo of Professor Valentino Larcinese

Valentino Larcinese (Prof)
Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 3.02 | +44 (0)207 955 7037 | v.larcinese@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Bruno Leipold

Bruno Leipold (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Political Theory
Room CBG 3.06 | +44 (0)207 955 7186 | b.leipold@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Chun Lin

Chun Lin (Prof)
Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7197 | c.lin@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Martin Lodge

Martin Lodge (Prof)
Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
Room CBG 3.05 | +44 (0)207 849 4627 | m.lodge@lse.ac.uk


M

Portrait photo of Omar McDoom

Omar McDoom (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.36 | +44 (0)207 955 7557 | o.s.mcdoom@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr Paul Mitchell

Paul Mitchell (Dr)
Associate Professor in European Politics and Political Methodology
Room CBG 3.30 | +44 (0)207 955 6340 | p.l.mitchell@lse.ac.uk


O

Portrait photo of George Ofosu

George Ofosu (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.04 | +44 (0)207 955 5668 | g.ofosu@lse.ac.uk


P

Portrait photo of Professor Ed Page

Ed Page (Prof)
Sidney and Beatrice Webb Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 4.30 | +44 (0)207 849 4629 | e.c.page@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Francisco Panizza

Francisco Panizza (Prof)
Professor of Latin American and Comparative Politics
Room CBG 4.32 | +44 (0)207 955 7681 | f.e.panizza@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Anne Phillips.

Anne Phillips (Prof)
Graham Wallas Professor of Political Science
Room CBG 3.28 | +44 (0)207 955 6979 | a.phillips@lse.ac.uk


R

Portrait photo of Stephanie Rickard

Stephanie Rickard (Prof)
Professor of Political Science
Room CBG 4.36 | +44 (0)207 849 4919 | s.rickard@lse.ac.uk


S

Portrait photo of Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey

Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey (Prof)
Professor in Political Science and Head of Department
Room CBG 3.09 | +44 (0)207 955 7187 | c.m.schonhardt-bailey@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of John Sidel

John Sidel (Prof)
Sir Patrick Gillam Chair in International and Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.35 | +44 (0)207 955 6032 | j.t.sidel@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor David Soskice

David Soskice (Prof)
LSE School Professor of Political Science and Economics
Room CBG 4.31 | +44 (0)207 852 3637 | d.w.soskice@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Kai Spiekermann

Kai Spiekermann (Prof)
Professor of Political Philosophy
Room CBG 4.26 | +44 (0)207 955 6516 | k.spiekermann@lse.ac.uk


T

Portrait photo of Dr Eiko Thielemann

Eiko Thielemann (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science and Public Policy
+44 (0)207 955 6012 | e.thielemann@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Wang Leung Ting

Wang Leung Ting (Mr)
LSE Fellow
Room CBG 3.06 | +44 (0)207 849 4602 | w.l.ting@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Professor Tony Travers

Tony Travers (Prof)
Professor in Practice
+44 (0)207 955 7777 | a.travers@lse.ac.uk


V

Portrait photo of Dr Laura Valentini

Laura Valentini (Dr)
Associate Professor of Political Science
Room CBG 4.23 | +44 (0)207 107 5407 | l.m.valentini@lse.ac.uk


W

Portrait photo of Joachim Wehner

Joachim Wehner (Dr)
Associate Professor in Public Policy
Room CBG 3.22 | +44 (0)207 955 5408 | j.h.wehner@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Stephane Wolton

Stephane Wolton (Dr)
Associate Professor in Political Science
Room CBG 3.40 | +44 (0)207 107 5354 | s.wolton@lse.ac.uk

Portrait photo of Dr David Woodruff

David Woodruff (Dr)
Associate Professor of Comparative Politics
Room CBG 3.31 | +44 (0)207 955 7282 | d.woodruff@lse.ac.uk


Y

Portrait photo of Professor Lea Ypi

Lea Ypi (Prof)
Professor in Political Theory
Room CBG 4.33 | +44 (0)207 955 7066 | l.l.ypi@lse.ac.uk

Professional Services Staff

Please note, our student desk is at CBG 3.20 and our opening hours are weekdays, 10:00–12:30 and 13:30–16:00.


Portrait photo of Imran

Imran Iqbal (Mr)
Department Manager
Room CBG 3.01 | +44 (0)207 955 7908 | i.iqbal2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Department Strategy | The Communications, Research and Resources Team | The Teaching Team


Education Team

Portrait photo of Catherine

Catherine Robinson (Ms)
Deputy Department Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7909 | c.robinson7@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: The Teaching Team | Teaching Policy | Teaching Resourcing


blank square

Carla Seesunkur (Ms)
Undergraduate Programmes Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6498 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | Course Choice | Programme Regulations | Exams & Assessment | Student Welfare


Portrait photo of Claire

Claire Tomlinson (Ms)
Undergraduate Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7251 | gov.ug@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate Study | UG Moodle & Reading Lists | UG Events | SSLC | UG Research Internships


Portrait photo of Natalie

Natalie Paris (Ms)
Undergraduate Adviser
Room CBG 3.21 | +44 (0)207 107 5186 | n.paris2@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: UG Student Welfare | Study Skills and Personal Development for UG Students


Portrait photo of Mark

Mark Bryceland (Mr)
MSc Programmes Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6300 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration | Postgraduate Admissions | Assessments & Exams


Portrait photo of Serena

Serena James (Ms)
MSc Programme Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6060 | gov.msc@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Programme Administration


Portrait photo of Emily

Emily Metcalf (Ms)
PhD and Teaching Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7929 | gov.phd@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MRes/PhD Programme


Faculty Affairs Team


Portrait photo of Kirsty Conway

Kirsty Conway (Ms)
Communications and Events Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7553 | gov.comms@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Events | Communications | GovBlog | Social Media


Portrait photo of Karen

Karen Dickenson (Mrs)
Finance Officer
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 7748 | gov.finance@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Finance


Portrait photo of Clair Harrison

Clair Harrison (Ms)
Faculty Affairs Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 849 4970 | gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs


blank square


Faculty Affairs Administrator
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)20 7106 1199 | gov.faculty@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Faculty Affairs


Portrait photo of James

James Robins (Mr)
Web and Digital Media Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)203 486 2617 | gov.website@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Website | Video & Multimedia Production | GovBlog | Social Media


Portrait photo of Shelly

Shelly Wilkley (Ms)
Research Manager
Room CBG 3.20 | +44 (0)207 955 6751 | s.a.wilkley@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Research

Research Staff

Research Students

A | B | C | D | EF | G | H | I | J | KL | MN | O | P | R | S | T | V | W


A

Max Afnan
m.a.afnan@lse.ac.uk

Johan Ahlback
j.m.ahlback@lse.ac.uk

Kate Alexander Shaw
k.i.alexander@lse.ac.uk


B

Tom Bailey
t.j.bailey@lse.ac.uk

Jann Boeddeling
Thesis: 'Bending time and breaking structures: Events, spontaneity, and interaction in the 2010/11 Tunisian Uprising'
j.boeddeling@lse.ac.uk

Francesca Boldrini
f.boldrini@lse.ac.uk


C

Elisa Cencig
Thesis: 'Lobbying across venues in EU financial regulation'
e.cencig@lse.ac.uk

Vanessa Cheng-Matsuno
Thesis: 'Political Instability: Does it Disrupt the Bureaucracy?'
v.cheng-matsuno@lse.ac.uk

Sarah Correia
Thesis: 'Nation-formation as a liminal process: an ethnographic study of the creation and development of Republika Srpska from a local perspective, focusing on the transformation of the town of Bijeljina'
s.m.correia@lse.ac.uk


D

Iman Dawood
i.s.dawood@lse.ac.uk

Maurice Dunaiski
m.r.dunaiski@lse.ac.uk


E

Thoraya El-Rayyes
t.el-rayyes@lse.ac.uk


F

Reuben Finighan
r.finighan@lse.ac.uk

Jared J Finnegan
Thesis: 'Low carbon for the long term: The comparative political economy of climate policy investment'
j.finnegan@lse.ac.uk


G

Fergus Green
Thesis: 'The political ethics of legal change: A critical-republican solution to the ‘legal transitions problem’'
r.f.green@lse.ac.uk

Hilke Gudel
h.gudel@lse.ac.uk


H

Omar Hammoud Gallego
Thesis: 'Understanding the Tide: A comparative analysis of policy responses to refugee inflows'
o.hammoud-gallego@lse.ac.uk

Astrid Hampe-Nathaniel
Thesis: 'Time Will Tell – On the Roots and Rectification of Historical Injustice'
a.hampe-nathaniel@lse.ac.uk

Michael Hayle
Thesis: 'Major Public Projects and the Promise of Executive Accountability'
m.p.hayle@lse.ac.uk

Selina Hofstetter
Thesis: 'Making Suffrage Work – The Case of Swiss Female Suffrage in the late 20th Century'
s.hofstetter1@lse.ac.uk


I

Federica Izzo
Thesis: 'Formal Models of Party Competition: Ideology and Experimentation'
f.izzo@lse.ac.uk


J

Sarah Jewett
s.jewett1@lse.ac.uk


K

Max Kiefel
Thesis: '‘For the Many, Not the Few’: the re-organisation of Social Democratic parties'
m.kiefel@lse.ac.uk

Musa Kpaka
h.m.kpaka@lse.ac.uk


L

Katharina Lawall
Thesis: '“Don’t you know that you’re toxic?”: Party mainstreaming strategies and their effects on voters'
k.lawall@lse.ac.uk

Julia Leschke
j.leschke@lse.ac.uk

McDonald Lewanika
Thesis: 'Campaigning, coercion and clientelism: ZANU-PF’s strategies in Zimbabwe’s presidential elections (2008-13)'
m.lewanika@lse.ac.uk

Giulio Lisi
g.lisi@lse.ac.uk

Antoine Louette
Thesis: 'Systemic Domination'
a.louette@lse.ac.uk


 

M

Andrew McNeil

Frieder Mitsch


N

Miran Norderland
m.a.norderland@lse.ac.uk


O

Temi Ogunye
Thesis: 'What are individuals’ responsibilities in different conditions of (domestic) injustice?'
t.ogunye@lse.ac.uk

Takuya Onoda
Thesis: 'The politics of drug rationing in England and France'
t.onoda@lse.ac.uk


P

Alberto Parmigiani
a.parmigiani@lse.ac.uk

Ariel Perkins
a.a.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Ivana Popovic
i.popovic1@lse.ac.uk

Kaveh Pourvand
k.f.pourvand@lse.ac.uk

Elena Pupaza
Thesis: 'Macro-level triggers of electoral behaviour in the United Kingdom'
e.c.pupaza@lse.ac.uk


R

Laura Robbins-Wright
l.i.robbins-wright@lse.ac.uk

Paola Romero
Thesis: 'Political Willing in Kant'
p.romero@lse.ac.uk


S

Robert Schuetze
r.schuetze@lse.ac.uk

Greg Chih-Hsin Sheen
Thesis: 'Media Politics in Democracies and Autocracies'
c.sheen@lse.ac.uk

Cain Shelley
c.b.shelley@lse.ac.uk

Jan Stuckatz
Thesis: 'Essays on Corporate Influence in Politics'
j.stuckatz@lse.ac.uk


T

Carol Thanki
c.thanki2@lse.ac.uk

Arduino Tomasi
Thesis: 'Essays on persuasion and strategic information transmission'
a.a.tomasi@lse.ac.uk


V

Robert Van Geffen
r.j.van-geffen@lse.ac.uk


W

Marta Wojciechowska
Thesis: 'Democracy and the Mega-city'
m.wojciechowska@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus, Affiliated & Visiting Academic Staff

Emeritus | Affiliated | Visiting

 

Emeritus and Retired academic staff

Affiliated academic staff

Visiting academic staff

  • Michael Bennet (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until December 2019)

  • Filip Bialy (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until September 2019)

  • Andrea Capussela (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until December 2020)

  • Jane Hayward (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until February 2020)

  • John Hutchinson (Dr) - Senior Visiting Fellow (until September 2021)

  • Geoffrey Meyers (Prof) - Visiting Professor in Practice (until August 2020)

  • Richard Mottram (Sir) - Visiting Professor (until September 2021)

  • Javier Ortega (Prof) - Visiting Senior Fellow (until August 2020)

  • Sandra Palermo (Dr) - Visiting Fellow (until November 2019)

  • Vesna Popovski (Dr) - Visiting Lecturer

  • Jill Stuart (Dr) - Visiting Fellow and Dissertation Support Supervisor (until 2023)

  • Frank Vibert - Visiting Senior Fellow (until December 2019)

Twitter

LSE Government LSEGovernment

“This crisis has no parallel since WWII and it’s intriguing to note that the government are using the language of w… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

1 hour ago

Reply Retweet Favorite