People

People

Who's who in the Department of International History

2023/24

Permanent academic staff

Alvani

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

Other titles:
LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research interests:
Iran, US in the World, Global Cold War

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk


ashton1

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Teaching and Learning Coordinator, Coordinator of BA/BSc Dissertations (HY300)

Research interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk


Marc Baer 2022

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Head of Department, Academic Board Representative

Research interests:
Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk


Dr Antony Best

Professor Antony Best
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Masters Tutor

Research interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk


Anna Cant

Dr Anna Cant
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Mass communication; Modern Latin American History; Rural Development

Room: SAR.3.12
Email: a.cant1@lse.ac.uk


casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Deputy Head of Department

Research interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk


Gusejnova

Dr Dina Gusejnova
Associate Professor

Other titles: 
LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director

Research Interests:
Modern European History; Intellectual and Cultural History; History and Social Theory

Room: SAR.M.14
Email: d.gusejnova@lse.ac.uk


Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor

Other titles: MSc in History of International History Programme Director, Coordinator of International Partnerships and MA in History Programme Director

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.07
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk


hochstrasser

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Programmes Director

Research interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk


Ingleson

Dr Elizabeth Ingleson
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Alumni & Careers; Student Survey Coordinator

Research interests:
United States History; Chinese History; Trade; Labour; Diplomacy; Multinational Corporations

Room: SAR.2.06
Email: e.ingleson@lse.ac.uk


matthewjones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History
*LSE - Columbia university faculty exchange 2023-24*

Research interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk


keenan

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor

Other titles: 
First year Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk


Lewis1

Professor Joanna Lewis
Professor of International History

Other titles:
PhD Programme Director and Admissions Advisor; Research Student Seminars 1st year (HY501)

Research interests:
Modern African History

(Meetings by appointment)
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk


Professor Piers Ludlow

Professor N. Piers Ludlow
Professor of International History
*on Sabbatical leave 2023-24*

Research interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration; Cold War Transatlantic Relations; Britain in the EC/EU

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk


Mayhew200x200

Dr. Alex Mayhew
Assistant Professor

Research interests:
First World War; Modern Warfare; Morale; Crisis; Identity; Modern Britain

Room: SAR.M.11
Email: a.c.mayhew@lse.ac.uk


Motadel

Dr David Motadel
Associate Professor
*on Leave 2023-24*

Research interests:
Modern Europe; Europe’s Relations with the Wider World

Room: SAR.3.16
Email: d.motadel@lse.ac.uk


photiadou

Dr Artemis Photiadou
Assistant Professor

Research interests:

Britain and Europe; European Political Regimes; Intelligence History

Room: SAR.3.13
Email: a.photiadou@lse.ac.uk


Po2023

Dr Ronald C. Po
Associate Professor
*on Sabbatical leave 2023-24*

Research interests:
History of China; Hong Kong and Taiwan Studies; Maritime History; Sino-British Relations; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: SAR.2.18
Email: c.y.po@lse.ac.uk



preston

Professor Paul Preston
School Professor for the Department of International History

Research Interests:
Spanish History

Room: SAR.1.02.A
Email: p.preston@lse.ac.uk


Rajak1

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other titles: Masters Programmes Director (School liaison inquiries) - for Masters student programme queries please contact the Masters Tutor; Senior Fellow at LSE IDEAS and Second year Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: SAR.3.15
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk


ProfileMale

Dr Jake Subryan Richards
Assistant Professor

Other titles: Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (Deparmtent Representative)

Research interests:
African Diaspora, Legal History, West Africa, Latin America, Caribbean

Room: SAR.2.08
Email: j.richards@lse.ac.uk


SchulzeA

Dr Kirsten E. Schulze
Associate Professor

Other titles: 
Masters Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Arab-Israeli Conflict; Indonesian History; Militant Islam; Ethnic and Communal Conflict; Insurgency and Counter-Insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.2.12
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk


Sood

Dr Gagandeep S. Sood
Associate Professor

Other titles:  
Undergraduate Examinations Board Chair and Second year Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
The Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Colonialism in the Middle East and South Asia

Room: SAR.2.07
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk


Spohr1

Professor Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Professor of International History

Research leave 2023-24 (Fellow, Woodrow Wilson Center

Research interests:
Germany Post-1945; Summit Diplomacy; Global Cold War Exits; World Order & Strategy; Arctic Affairs

Room: SAR.2.17
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk


stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2023/24*

Research interests:
Intellectual and Cultural History; Long Eighteenth Century; Britain; Idea of Europe; Spatial History; History of Cartography; Travel and Tourism

Room: SAR.2.15
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk


Dr Imaobong Umoren

Dr Imaobong Umoren
Associate Professor
*on maternity leave 2023-2024*

Research interests:
Race and Gender in the Caribbean; 19th and 20th Century Wider African Diaspora

Room: SAR.G.04
Email: i.umoren@lse.ac.uk


yin

Dr Qingfei Yin
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
MSc International and Asian History Programme Director; Undergraduate Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Cold War; China; Vietnam; China-Southeast Asia Relations; Borderlands

Room: SAR.M.06
Email: q.yin@lse.ac.uk


Zubok

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Research Committee ChairHead of the Cold War Studies programme, REF Co-ordinator

Research interests:
Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.11
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

Professional services team

Ms Demetra Frini
Department Manager

Responsible for:

• Planning and management of departmental resources: human, financial and space
• Acting as the key interface between the Department and the School
• Responsible for quality assurance (reviews)
• Compliance responsibilities i.e. employment law, special education needs & disability, data protection, health and safety.
• First point of contact on contractual, resource and financial matters
• Responsible for the professional services team and its development

Office Hours:

  • In-person: Wednesday and Thursday afternoon. Other times by appointment.

Room: SAR.1.03B
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7548

Email

• ih.deptmanager@lse.ac.uk
- For enquiries on HR matters, compliance, opportunities for part-time teachers, contract quieries and applications for the teaching programme.  

• ih.finance@lse.ac.uk
- For enquiries about Departmental finance including: payments, claims, suppliers, invoices and budget enquiries. 

• d.frini@lse.ac.uk
- For all other enquiries


Mrs Jacquie Minter
Undergraduate Programmes Administrator and Office Manager

Responsible for all aspects of programme administration for the Department's Undergraduate Programmes:

• BA History
• BSc International Relations and History
• BSc History and Politics

• This includes: degree and course enquiries, course choice, induction, exams, language course reimbursement queries, essay submissions queries, student staff liaison committee enquiries and student surveys.

• Applications for undergraduate degrees are considered by Undergraduate Admissions, who make the decisions on whether to offer places. For admissions queries Contact Undergraduate Admissions.

• Department's Main Office and its facilities including post, fax, stationery; ordering and distribution of goods and services

• Estate-related requests e.g. maintenance issues and office requirements. Including the issuing of ID cards and fob keys to offices. 

Jacquie Minter has a certificate in Mental Health First Aid.

Office Hours:

  • Monday to Friday by appointment (appointments available in person or via Zoom)

Attend Jacquie Minter's office hours to discuss:

• general programme related queries
• exams
• essay submissions
• extension requests
• welfare and personal issues affecting studies

Room: SAR.1.03F
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6174
Emailih.ug.admin@lse.ac.uk for programme related enquires for Undergraduate BA/BSc programmes in International History

(j.minter@lse.ac.uk for all other queries)


Mrs Milada Fomina
MSc Programmes Administrator

Responsible for all aspects of programme administration for the:

• MSc History of International Relations
• MSc Theory and History of International Relations
• MSc Empires, Colonialism and Globalisation
• MSc International and Asian History
• MA Modern History

• This includes: degree and course enquiries, course choice, induction, exams, language course reimbursement queries, essay submissions queries, student staff liaison committee enquiries and student surveys.

Room: SAR.1.03E
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7331

Email: 

• ih.pgadmin@lse.ac.uk
- For enquiries about the MA/MSc Programmes in International History

• m.fomina@lse.ac.uk 
- For all other enquiries


Mrs Nayna Bhatti
Double Degree Programmes Manager

Responsible for all aspects of programme administration for the Department's Double Degree Programmes:

• LSE-PKU Double Degree MSc in International Affairs
• LSE-Columbia Double Degree MA in International and World History
• LSE-NUS Double Degree MA in Asian and Global History

• Deputises for Department Manager in times of absence 

• This includes: degree and course enquiries, course choice, induction, exams, language course reimbursement queries, essay submissions queries, student staff liaison committee enquiries and student surveys.

Office Hours:

  • In-person: Tuesday and Wednesday, 10am to 11.30am; other times by appointment.

Room: SAR.1.03C
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7126

Email: 
• Ih.Doubledegrees@lse.ac.uk
- For enquiries about the three double degree programmes 

• ih.deptmanager@lse.ac.uk
- For enquiries when deputising for Department Manager 

• n.bhatti@lse.ac.uk
- For all other enquiries 


Mr Mathew Betts
Teaching Committee and Research Committee Officer

Responsible for:

• Secretary to the Department's Teaching and Research Committees, and Teaching and Exams Meeting
• Student, welfare and pastoral matters, Assistant to the Tutor for 3rd year undergraduates 
• Departmental business on  the CAPIS course management system
• Departmental representative for the course selection improvement project
• Departmental administration for the Research Excellence Framework (REF)
• Administration for Visiting Academics, primarily during the application and welcome stages
• PSS representative on the department’s EDI Committee in 2022/23 

Office Hours:

  • Tuesday, 2.30pm to 3.30pm.

Room: SAR.1.03D
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5409
Email: m.betts1@lse.ac.uk


Dr Edlira Gjonca
Project Administrative Officer

Responsible for:

• Programme Administration for MPhil/PhD International History in the Department
•This includes admission enquiries, induction, student staff liaison committee enquiries and LSE PhD Studentships
• Alumni relations and careers programmes and their activities in the Department

Room: SAR.1.03d
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7543

Email:
• ih.phdadmin@lse.ac.uk
- For enquiries about the MPhil/PhD Programme in International History

• e.gjonca@lse.ac.uk 
- For all other enquiries

Office Hours:

  •  In-person: Monday and Wednesday, 10:30am to 12:30pm

Ms Laila Yousofi
Web and Digital Resource Editor

Responsible for:

• Day-to-day managing of the department’s social media channels (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Instagram) and department's presence in the School’s app, the LSE Student Hub
• Developing and producing multi-media, graphic and written content for all online channels
• Promoting departmental events and news
• Digital marketing of degree programmes
• Managing the department’s blog (LSE International History Blog)
• Assisting in the production and promoting the department's podcasts and video
• First point of contact on all website, social media, LSE Student Hub, blog and podcast matters relating to the department
• All aspects of our department's virtual learning environment, Moodle and reading list software, Leganto.

Office Hours:

  • Thursday, 3:30pm to 4:30pm

Room: SAR 103G
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789 

Email:
• ih.socialnetworks@lse.ac.uk 
- For enquiries about our social media platforms and webpages

• ih.projectadmin@lse.ac.uk 
- For enquiries about Moodle and Lenagto

• l.yousofi@lse.ac.uk 
- For all other enquiries


Mr Maximilian (Max) Smith
Student Experience, Events & Communications Officer

Responsible for:

• Leading in the PSS team and advising faculty on Department’s planning and focus for the student experience
• The design and organisation of student events within the Department
• Management of internal and external communications in relation to the student experience within the Department and the School.
• Booking and organising all meetings within the department and managing the Department Diary
• Key contact for initiatives on the diversification of assessment as it relates to the Student experience

Office Hours:

  • Monday to Friday, 10am – 4pm by appointment (appointments via Zoom or in-person)

Room: SAR 103G
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789 

Email:
• ih.events@lse.ac.uk
For enquiries about events in the department

• m.smith18@lse.ac.uk 
- For all other enquiries

Graduate teaching assistants and guest teachers

ahmed

Maliha Ahmed
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: SAR.M.15
Email: 
m.ahmed15@lse.ac.uk


alqaiwani

Dr Sara Al-Qaiwani
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.G.03
Email: s.j.alqaiwani@lse.ac.uk


Azlira

Armand Azra Bin Azlira
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.M.15
Email: a.azra-bin-azlira@lse.ac.uk


Bhattacharya-1x1

Medha Bhattacharya
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: SAR.M.15
Email: 
M.Bhattacharya1@lse.ac.uk


Rachel Chua

Rachel Chua
Guest Teacher

Teaching: 
HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Room: SAR.M.15
Email: r.a.chua@lse.ac.uk


coffey

Dr Rosalind Coffey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.2.05
Email
: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk


Pedro Correa Martin-Arroyo

Pedro Correa Martin-Arroyo
Guest Teacher 

Teaching:
HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

RoomSAR.2.05
Email
p.correa-martin-arroyo1@lse.ac.uk


Dab

Dr Alexandre Dab
Guest Teacher

Teaching: 
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War
HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Room: SAR.G.03
Email:
a.dab@lse.ac.uk


eaton

Charlotte Eaton

Teaching:
HY239 - People, Power and Protest in Latin America, c. 1895 to the present day

Room: SAR.2.05
Email: c.eaton@lse.ac.uk


franco

Jonathan Franco
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.2.05
Emailj.franco3@lse.ac.uk


gohel

Dr Sajjan Gohel
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY435 - Political Islam: From Ibn Taymiyya to ISIS

Room: SAR 2.12
Email
: s.m.gohel@lse.ac.uk


Graglia

Dr Giovanni Graglia
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War

Room: SAR.G.03
Email
: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk


harder

Dr Anton Harder
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century
HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840
HY461 - East Asia in the Age of Imperialism, 1839-1945

Room: SAR.G.03
Email: a.harder@lse.ac.uk


Hawn

Jeff Hawn
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY242 - The Soviet Union: Domestic, International and intellectual History

Room: SAR.G.03
Email
j.s.hawn@lse.ac.uk



Sandip Kana

Sandip Kana
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.G.05
Email: s.t.kana@lse.ac.uk


mainprize

Ronan Mainprize
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War
HY245 - The United States and the World since 1776

Room: SAR.G.05
Email: r.p.mainprize@lse.ac.uk


mehdi

Amir Mehdi
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - Empire and Independence: World History in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.G.05
Email: a.mehdi@lse.ac.uk


mitchell

Dr William Mitchell
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: SAR.2.05
Email
: w.h.mitchell@lse.ac.uk


ohara

Fionntan O'Hara 
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY239 - People, Power and Protest in Latin America, c. 1895 to the present day

Room: SAR.G.05
Email: f.ohara@lse.ac.uk


ProfileMale

Michele Pajero
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching: 
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War 

Room: SAR G.05
Email: m.pajero@lse.ac.uk


Palmer

Daniele Giuseppe Palmer
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: SAR.2.05
Email
d.g.palmer@lse.ac.uk


papageorgiou

Dr Agis Papageorgiou 
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY245 - The United States and the World since 1776
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace 1914-2003

Room: SAR.M.15
Email
a.papageorgiou1@lse.ac.uk


ProfileMale

Dr Ben Sayle
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching :
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War

Room:SAR.2.05
Email
: b.sayle1@lse.ac.uk


Sergeant

Gray Sergeant
Guest Teacher

Teaching: 
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War

Room: SAR.G.05
Email: g.sergeant@lse.ac.uk