People

People

Teaching faculty

2020/21

Permanent academic staff

Alvandi3

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

Research interests:
Iran; Modern Middle East; Cold War

Other titles:
LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director; Co-cordinator of LSE-Columbia University Double Degree Dissertations (HY458); Director of the LSE IDEAS Cold War Studies Project.

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk



Ashton

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Coordinator of Teaching and Learning

Research interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk



Professor Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2020/21*

Research interests:

Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7849 4975
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk



Dr Antony Best

Dr Antony Best
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Tutor

Research interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk



Anna Cant

Dr Anna Cant
Assistant Professor
*on maternity leave 2020/21*

Research interests:
Mass communication; Modern Latin American History; Rural Development

Room: SAR.3.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7724
Email: a.cant1@lse.ac.uk



casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Research Committee Chair

Research interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7543
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk



Gusejnova

Dr Dina Gusejnova
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Tutor; Coordinator of International Partnerships; Cumberland Lodge Weekend Event Organiser; Student Experience Enhancement Coordinator

Research Interests:
Modern European History; Intellectual and Cultural History; History and Social Theory

Room: SAR.M.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7119
Email: d.gusejnova@lse.ac.uk



Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor

Other titles:
PhD Programme Director and Admissions Advisor

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5401
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk



hochstrasser

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Programmes Director; TEF Coordinator

Research interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7092
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk



matthewjones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2020/21*

Research interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3791
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk



keenan

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor

Other titles: 
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Chair; Student Survey Coordinator

Research interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6654
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk



Lewis1

Dr Joanna Lewis
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Modern African History

Room: SAR.G.02
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7924
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk



Professor Piers Ludlow

Professor N. Piers Ludlow
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Head of Department

Research interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration; Cold War Transatlantic Relations; Britain in the EC/EU

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk



Motadel

Dr David Motadel
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Coordinator of BA/BSc Dissertations (HY300)

Research interests:
Modern Europe; Europe’s Relations with the Wider World

Room: SAR.3.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7112
Email: d.motadel@lse.ac.uk



Ronald C. Po

Dr Ronald C. Po
 Associate Professor

Other titles:
LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research interests:
History of China; Maritime Studies; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: SAR.2.18
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5378
Email: c.y.po@lse.ac.uk



Prazmowska

Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History

Research interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk



preston

Professor Paul Preston
School Professor for the Department of International History

Research Interests:
Spanish History

Email: p.preston@lse.ac.uk



Dr Svetozar Rajak

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Director; Senior Fellow, LSE IDEAS Centre

Research interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: SAR.3.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6404
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk



ProfileMale

Dr Jake Subryan Richards
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
African Diaspora, Legal History, West Africa, Latin America, Caribbean

Room: SAR.2.08
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6121
Email: j.richards@lse.ac.uk



SchulzeA

Dr Kirsten E. Schulze
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Examinations Board Chair; MSc International and Asian History Programme Director; Coordinator of MSc Dissertation with an Asian Focus (HY4A4)

Research interests:
Arab-Israeli Conflict; Indonesian History; Militant Islam; Ethnic and Communal Conflict; Insurgency and Counter-Insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.2.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk



sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Deputy Head of Department

Research interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk



Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood
Assistant Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2020/21*

Research interests:
The Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Colonialism in the Middle East and South Asia

Room: SAR.2.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6025
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk



Spohr1

Professor Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Undergraduate Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Germany after 1945; Cold War Summitry; the Global Ending of the Cold War; Theory and Practice of Contemporary History

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk



stevenson

Professor David Stevenson
Stevenson Professor of International History

Other titles:
REF Coordinator; Academic Board Representative

Research interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: SAR.3.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7115
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk



stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Academic Board Representative

Research interests:
Intellectual and Cultural History; Long Eighteenth Century; Britain; Idea of Europe; Spatial History; History of Cartography; Travel and Tourism

Room: SAR.2.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6039
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk



Dr Imaobong Umoren

Dr Imaobong Umoren
Assistant Professor
*on research leave 2020/21*

Research interests:
Race and Gender in the Caribbean; 19th and 20th Century Wider African Diaspora

Room: SAR.G.04
Tel: +44 (0)20 7849 4974
Email: i.umoren@lse.ac.uk



Zubok1

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Coordinator of MSc Dissertations (HY498/HY499)

Research interests:
Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5370
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

Teaching fellows and visiting staff

Ellis

Dr Thomas Ellis
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
US Foreign Policy; US-Russian Relations; Cold War; Aerospace History; Cultural History; Utopianism

Room: SAR M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5382
Email: t.ellis@lse.ac.uk



harder

Dr Anton Harder
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
International History; Chinese History; Indian History; Sino-Indian Relations; Cold War

Room: TBC
Tel: TBC
Email: a.harder@lse.ac.uk



kessel

Professor Martina Kessel
2020/21 Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor

Research interests:
Modern German History; Cultural and Gender history

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Emailm.kessel@lse.ac.uk



Raghav Kishore

Dr Raghav Kishore
LSE Teaching Fellow

Other titles:
MSc Empires, Colonialism and Globalisation Programme Director

Research interests:
Modern South Asian History; Histories of Empire; Colonial Urbanism; Health and Environmental Histories; Planning Histories

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5382
Email: r.kishore@lse.ac.uk



lieven

Professor Dominic Lieven
Visiting Professor and Chair of The Paulsen Programme at LSE

Research interests:
Russian History

Room: SAR.1.03G
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5006
Email: d.lieven@lse.ac.uk



phillips1

Dr Victoria Phillips
Visiting Fellow

Other titles:
Co-cordinator of LSE-Columbia University Double Degree Dissertations (HY458)

Research interests:
Cold War, Cultural Diplomacy, International Relations, Gender and Biography

Room: TBC
Tel: TBC
Email: v.phillips2@lse.ac.uk



Webber

Dr Oscar Webber
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Environmental History; Caribbean History; The British Empire; Nature-Induced Disasters

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5382
Email: o.webber@lse.ac.uk

Graduate teaching assistants and guest teachers

Coming soon