People

People

Teaching faculty

2021/22

Permanent academic staff

Alvandi3

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

Research interests:
Iran, US in the World, Global Cold War

Other titles:
Coordinator of BA/BSc Dissertations (HY300)

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk



Ashton

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Coordinator of Teaching and Learning

Research interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk



Professor Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Masters Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk



Dr Antony Best

Professor Antony Best
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Masters Tutor

Research interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk



Anna Cant

Dr Anna Cant
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research interests:
Mass communication; Modern Latin American History; Rural Development

Room: SAR.3.12
Email: a.cant1@lse.ac.uk



casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2021/22*

Research interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk



Gusejnova

Dr Dina Gusejnova
Assistant Professor
*on research leave 2021/22*

Research Interests:
Modern European History; Intellectual and Cultural History; History and Social Theory

Room: SAR.M.14
Email: d.gusejnova@lse.ac.uk



Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor

Other titles:
PhD Programme Director and Admissions Advisor

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk



hochstrasser

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Programmes Director

Research interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk



Ingleson

Dr Elizabeth Ingleson
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Alumni & Careers; Student Survey Coordinator

Research interests:
United States History; Chinese History; Trade; Labour; Diplomacy; Multinational Corporations

Room: SAR.2.06
Email: e.ingleson@lse.ac.uk



matthewjones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2021/22*

Research interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk



keenan

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2021/22*

Research interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk



Lewis1

Dr Joanna Lewis
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Modern African History

Room: SAR.G.02
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk



Professor Piers Ludlow

Professor N. Piers Ludlow
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Head of Department; Coordinator of International Partnerships

Research interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration; Cold War Transatlantic Relations; Britain in the EC/EU

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk



Motadel

Dr David Motadel
Associate Professor

Other titles:
LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director; Coordinator of LSE-Columbia University Double Degree Dissertations (HY458)

Research interests:
Modern Europe; Europe’s Relations with the Wider World

Room: SAR.3.16
Email: d.motadel@lse.ac.uk



Ronald C. Po

Dr Ronald C. Po
Associate Professor
*on research leave*

Research interests:
History of China; Hong Kong and Taiwan Studies; Maritime History; Sino-British Relations; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: SAR.2.18
Email: c.y.po@lse.ac.uk



Prazmowska

Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk



preston

Professor Paul Preston
School Professor for the Department of International History

Research Interests:
Spanish History

Room: SAR.1.02.A
Email: p.preston@lse.ac.uk



Rajak1

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Director; MA in Modern History Programme Director; Senior Fellow at LSE IDEAS

Research interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: SAR.3.15
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk



ProfileMale

Dr Jake Subryan Richards
Assistant Professor
*on research leave 2021/22*

Research interests:
African Diaspora, Legal History, West Africa, Latin America, Caribbean

Room: SAR.2.08
Email: j.richards@lse.ac.uk



SchulzeA

Dr Kirsten E. Schulze
Associate Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2021/22*

Other titles:
LSE-NUS Double MA in Asian and International History Programme Director (starting soon)

Research interests:
Arab-Israeli Conflict; Indonesian History; Militant Islam; Ethnic and Communal Conflict; Insurgency and Counter-Insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.2.12
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk



sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Deputy Head of Department

Research interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk



Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood
Associate Professor

Other titles:
MSc International and Asian History Programme Director; Coordinator of MSc Dissertation with an Asian Focus (HY4A4)

Research interests:
The Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Colonialism in the Middle East and South Asia

Room: SAR.2.07
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk



Spohr1

Professor Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Undergraduate Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Germany Post-1945; Summit Diplomacy; Global Cold War Exits; World Order & Strategy; Arctic Affairs

Room: SAR.2.17
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk



stevenson

Professor David Stevenson
Stevenson Professor of International History

Other titles:
REF Coordinator

Research interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: SAR.3.11
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk



stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor

Other titles: 
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Chair

Other titles:
Cumberland Lodge Weekend Event Organiser; Academic Board Representative

Research interests:
Intellectual and Cultural History; Long Eighteenth Century; Britain; Idea of Europe; Spatial History; History of Cartography; Travel and Tourism

Room: SAR.2.15
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk



Dr Imaobong Umoren

Dr Imaobong Umoren
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Coordinator of MSc Dissertations (HY498/HY499)

Research interests:
Race and Gender in the Caribbean; 19th and 20th Century Wider African Diaspora

Room: SAR.G.04
Email: i.umoren@lse.ac.uk



yin

Dr Qingfei Yin
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Cumberland Lodge Weekend Event Organiser; Undergraduate Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Cold War; China; Vietnam; China-Southeast Asia Relations; Borderlands

Room: SAR.M.06
Email: q.yin@lse.ac.uk



Zubok1

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Research Committee Chair

Research interests:
Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

Teaching fellows and visiting staff

Ellis

Dr Thomas Ellis
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
US Foreign Policy; US-Russian Relations; Cold War; Aerospace History; Cultural History; Utopianism

Room: SAR M.13
Email: t.ellis@lse.ac.uk



harder

Dr Anton Harder
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
International History; Chinese History; Indian History; Sino-Indian Relations; Cold War

Room: SAR.2.14
Email: a.harder@lse.ac.uk



lieven

Professor Dominic Lieven
Visiting Professor and Chair of The Paulsen Programme at LSE

Research interests:
Russian History

Room: SAR.1.03G
Email: d.lieven@lse.ac.uk



nutzenadel

Professor Alexander Nützenadel
2021/22 Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor

Research interests:
European History; Comparative Fascism; Economic Populism and Financial History

Room: SAR.2.16
Email: a.nutzenadel@lse.ac.uk



perez-de-arcos

Dr Marina Pérez de Arcos
Visiting Research Fellow

Research interest
Spain, NATO, US-Spain Relations, Cold War, EEC, EU

Room TBC
Email:
m.perez-de-arcos@lse.ac.uk



phillips1

Dr Victoria Phillips
Visiting Fellow

Other titles:
Co-cordinator of LSE-Columbia University Double Degree Dissertations (HY458)

Research interests:
Cold War, Cultural Diplomacy; International Relations; Gender and Biography

Room: SAR.1.02.A
Email: v.phillips2@lse.ac.uk



Shah

Dr Zahra Shah
British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interests:
South Asia, Early Modern South Asia, Colonial India; Cultural History

Room: TBC
Email
: Z.Shah@lse.ac.uk



ProfileFemale

Dr Nailya Shamgunova
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
TBC

Room: TBC
Email
: TBC

Graduate teaching assistants and guest teachers

ProfileMale

Dr Aaron Ackerley
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: TBC
Email:
TBC



alqaiwani

Dr Sara al-Qaiwani
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY328 -The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Room: TBC
Email:
s.j.alqaiwani@lse.ac.uk



Katherine Arnold

Katherine Arnold
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room : TBC
Email:
k.e.arnold@lse.ac.uk



Avery

Molly Avery
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY239 - People, Power and Protest in Latin America, c.1895 to the present day

Room: TBC
Email:
m.avery@lse.ac.uk



coffey

Dr Rosalind Coffey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: TBC
Email
: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk



ProfileFemale

Mairead Costello
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: TBC
Email
: l.costello@lse.ac.uk



ProfileFemale

Laura Channing
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY333 - Enslavement, commerce, and political formations in West Africa, c. 1550-1836

Room: TBC
Email: TBC



ProfileMale

Dr Alexandre Dab
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War
HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Room: TBC
Email:
a.dab@lse.ac.uk



Fried

Dr Marvin Fried
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY226 - The Great War, 1914-1918

Room: TBC
Email
: m.b.fried@lse.ac.uk



Giannakopoulos

Dr Georgios Giannakopoulos
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace 1914-2003

Room: TBC
Email: g.giannakopoulos@lse.ac.uk



gohel

Dr Sajjan Gohel
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY435 - Political Islam: From Ibn Taymiyya to ISIS

Room: TBC
Email
: s.m.gohel@lse.ac.uk



golu

Grant Golub
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War
HY245 - The United States and the World since 1776

Room TBC
Email:
g.golub@lse.ac.uk



ProfileMale

Milo Gough
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room TBC
Email:
m.w.gough@lse.ac.uk



Graglia

Dr Giovanni Graglia
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: TBC
Email
: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk



janega

Dr Eleanor Janega
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: TBC
Email
: e.janega@lse.ac.uk



khalil

Muhammad Faisal Khalil
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: TBC
Email
: m.khalil@lse.ac.uk



king

Dr William King
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: TBC
Email: w.king1@lse.ac.uk



Raghav Kishore

Dr Raghav Kishore
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: TBC
Email: r.kishore@lse.ac.uk



kozdra

Jan Kozdra
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890
HY242 - The Soviet Union: Domestic, International and Intellectual History

Room: SAR.G.05
Email
: j.r.kozdra@lse.ac.uk



ProfileFemale

Chloe Mayoux
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: TBC
Email
: c.m.mayoux@lse.ac.uk



William Mitchell

William Mitchell
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: TBC
Email
: w.h.mitchell@lse.ac.uk



ProfileFemale

Odile Panetta 
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: TBC
Email
: TBC



photiadou

Dr Artemis Photiadou
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace 1914-2003

Room: TBC
Email
: a.photiadou@lse.ac.uk



ProfileMale

Ben Sayle
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching :
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: TBC
Email
: b.sayle1@lse.ac.uk



ProfileMale

Jonathan Slater
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: TBC
Email
: TBC



ProfileMale

Edoardo Vaccari
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching :
HY116 - International History since 1890

RoomTBC
Email
: e.vaccari1@lse.ac.uk



Thomas WIlkinson

Tom Wilkinson
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching :
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: TBC
Email
: t.wilkinson@lse.ac.uk