People

Find out who's who at LSE Cities

 Executive Group

Ricky Burdett

Ricky Burdett

Director
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

 

Philipp Rode bw-2024-200x200

Philipp Rode

Executive Director
Associate Professor (Education), LSE
Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 
Jo Beall

Jo Beall

Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Policy Fellow 
j.beall@lse.ac.uk
@JoBeall1

 

CENTRE STAFF

Academic, Research and Policy


Jo Beall

Jo Beall

Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Policy Fellow
j.beall@lse.ac.uk
@JoBeall1



Ricky Burdett

 

Ricky Burdett

Director
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR


Josefa Clark 200x200

Josefa Errázuriz Clark

Researcher/Project Coordinator (Santiago Urban Task Force)
J.Errazuriz@lse.ac.uk






Imogen Hamilton Jones 200x200

Imogen Hamilton-Jones

Programme Manager (European Cities Programme)
I.Hamilton-Jones@lse.ac.uk 
@ImogenHJ


Catarina Heeckt-200x200

Catarina Heeckt

Policy Fellow
c.l.heeckt@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5524
@CHeeckt 





Philipp Rode bw-2024-200x200

Philipp Rode

Executive Director
Associate Professor (Education), LSE

Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode


Ben Rogers-2024-200x200

Ben Rogers

Bloomberg Distinguished Fellow in Government Innovation
B.Rogers1@lse.ac.uk
@ben_rog


Savvas-Verdis-200x200

Savvas Verdis

Senior Lecturer in Practice
Co-Director of the Executive MSc in Cities
s.verdis@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6313
@SavvasVerdis
 


Management and Operations

Nermin Abdulla_200x200

Nermin Abdulla

Executive MSc Programme Manager
N.Abdulla@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6429

 

Leena Badri_200x200

Leena Badri

Programmes Administrator
L.Badri1@lse.ac.uk

 

Emily Cruz

Emily Cruz

Communications and Engagement Manager
e.m.cruz@lse.ac.uk
 

 

Sarah Davis

Sarah Davis

Finance and Resourcing Coordinator
s.j.davis@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5155

 

jennifer-ho-200xx200

Jennifer Ho

Executive MSc Programme Administrator
and Centre Administrator
j.ho8@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5232


Current Visiting Staff

Kate Ascher 200x200

Kate Ascher 

Visiting Senior Fellow, LSE Cities
Kate Ascher currently serves as the Milstein Professor of Urban Development at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, where she teaches real estate, infrastructure and urban planning courses. She continues to practice as a sub-consultant to Buro Happold, a global engineering firm based in the UK, where she served as partner through 2019 and founded the “Cities” team – which today works on a variety of resilience, public space and economic development projects on behalf of government and private clients across the US and internationally.

Prior to joining Buro Happold, she served as Director of Development at Vornado Realty Trust, Executive Vice-President at the NYC Economic Development Corporation (under Mike Bloomberg), and Assistant Director of the Port at the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. In these capacities, she oversaw and delivered a variety of complex projects ranging from waterfront and park activation to transportation, real estate development and urban regeneration.  

Kate holds a BA from Brown University, and an M.Sc. and Ph.D. from the London School of Economics, and is the author of several books on urban infrastructure (The Works, The Heights and The Way to Go), as well as co-author of New York Rising, an illustrated anthology of New York City’s physical evolution. She serves on the Boards of the Greenpoint Manufacturing and Design Center in NYC and the Holcim Foundation, based in Zurich


Hamed_Bukhamseen_200x200

Hamed Bukhamseen

Visiting Associate, LSE Cities
Hamed is an architect and doctoral candidate at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD). His research is concerned with the developmental projects undertaken by sovereign wealth funds and their socio-political impact on their host nations. Previously, he had been an instructor at the Kuwait University – College of Architecture teaching design studios and seminars. Parallel to his time teaching, Hamed co-founded the architectural office Civil Architecture. The work of Civil has been shown in the Sharjah Architecture Triennial, Oslo Triennale, Seoul Biennale, Expo 2020, and most recently at the CAC in Cincinnati. Alongside Ali Ismail Karimi, he has curated the Kuwait Pavilion at the 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale titled Between East & West: A Gulf. In 2022, he had co-authored the book Foreign Architecture/Domestic Policy published by Humboldt Books.

Hamed is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and the Harvard GSD, earning degrees in the fine arts, architecture, and urban design. He has previously worked as an architect in Japan, Germany, and the US prior to the establishment of his practice.


Jannis Linke-200x200

Jannis Linke

PhD Student Visitor, LSE Cities
Jannis is a research associate and doctoral candidate at the Institute for Mobility at the University of St. Gallen, Switzerland.

Jannis is working with LSE Cities on the MyFairShare London Living Lab. After collecting field and interview data between October 2023 and February 2024, he will now dive into data analysis of the mobility app tracking data (>17.000 logs, 15 attributes each) and interviews with study participants from the studies Citizens Jury and comparison group.

Jannis has an MSc in transport engineering (transport modelling/simulation and urban planning) and is now conducting his PhD in the area of individual mobility choice behaviour. He especially focuses on factors influencing choice behaviour in the context of new mobility services. Before doing his PhD he was a manager for strategic projects at the Swiss Federal Railways (SBB).


Jean Louis Missika 200x200

Jean-Louis Missika

Visiting Senior Fellow, LSE Cities
From 2014 to 2020, Dr. Jean-Louis Missika was a Paris councilor and Deputy Mayor of Paris, in charge of urban planning, architecture, Greater Paris projects, economic development and attractiveness. From 2008 to 2014 he served as Deputy Mayor of Paris in charge of innovation, research and higher education.

Jean-Louis Missika is a media sociologist. He holds a PhD in management, a degree in philosophy and is graduated of Sciences Po Paris, where he has also taught media sociology. He was head of the Information and Dissemination Service of the Prime Minister Michel Rocard and director of BVA, before setting up a consulting firm. He also served as Vice President of Iliad.

Jean-Louis Missika has written several books, notably on media and politics: "La Folle du logis. television in Democratic Societies", with Dominique Wolton (Gallimard, 1983), "La Fin de la television" (Le Seuil/La République des idées, 2006), “Parler pour gagner, sémiotique des discours de la campagne présidentielle de 2007”, with Denis Bertrand and Alexandre Dézé (Presses de Sciences Po, 2007) and “Des robots dans la Ville”, with Pierre Musseau (Taillandier Essais 2018).

 

Associates

Suzanne Hall

Suzanne Hall

Professor in Sociology and Deputy Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE

s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

Kate Laffan 200x200

Kate Laffen

Assistant Professor in Behavioural Science, Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science

k.m.laffan@lse.ac.uk 

 

David Madden

David Madden

Assistant Professor in Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

 

Kathleen Scanlon

Kathleen Scanlon

Distinguished Policy Fellow and Deputy Director, LSE London, LSE

k.j.scanlon@lse.ac.uk

 

Fran Tonkiss

Fran Tonkiss

Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE

f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

 

Christine Whitehead

Christine Whitehead

Emeritus Professor of Housing Economics, Department of Economics, LSE

c.m.e.whitehead@lse.ac.uk 

 

Austin Zeiderman

Austin Zeiderman

Associate Professor of Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 


CENTRE GOVERNANCE

Governing Board

Jo Beall
Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow LSE cities

Ricky Burdett
Professor of Urban Studies; Director, LSE Cities

Laura Dawson
Consultant, Trustee and Non-exec Director

Philipp Rode
Associate Professor (Education); Executive Director, LSE Cities

Nicholas Stern (Chair)
IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government, LSE; Chair, Grantham Research Institute

Andrés Velasco
Dean, School of Public Policy, LSE

Management Group

Gabriel-Ahlfeldt

Gabriel Ahlfeldt

Professor of Urban Economics and Land Development
Development, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

 

GharadBryan

Gharad Bryan

Lecturer in Economics, Department of Economics, LSE
Cities Research Programme Co-Director, International Growth Centre, LSE
Associate, Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD), LSE

g.t.bryan@lse.ac.uk

 

Ricky Burdett

Ricky Burdett

Director, LSE Cities
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

 

Nigel-Dodd

Nigel Dodd

Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE
Professor of Sociology, LSE

n.b.dodd@lse.ac.uk

 

Sam-Fankhauser

Samuel Fankhauser

Visiting Professor and former Director, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change

Professor of Climate Change Economics and Policy, University of Oxford

s.fankhauser@lse.ac.uk

 

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Senior Associate, LSE Cities

n.m.ferreira-da-cruz@lse.ac
@NFdaCruz

 

Suzanne Hall

Suzanne Hall

Co-Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, LSE

s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk
@SuzanneHall12

 

Henderson-Vernon

Vernon Henderson

School Professor of Economic Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

 

JonathanLeape

Jonathan Leape

Associate Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, LSE
Executive Director, International Growth Centre, LSE

j.leape@lse.ac.uk

 

David-Madden

David Madden

Co-Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor in Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

 

Anne-Power

Anne Power

Emeritus Professor of Social Policy, Department of Social Policy, LSE
Head, LSE Housing & Communities, LSE

anne.power@lse.ac.uk

 

Philipp Rode

Philipp Rode

Executive Director, LSE Cities
Associate Professorial Research Fellow, LSE
Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 

Mike-Savage

Mike Savage

Martin White Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

 

profile-photo_kscanlon

Kath Scanlon

Distinguished Policy Fellow, LSE London, LSE
Deputy Director, LSE London

k.j.scanlon@lse.ac.uk

 

Fran Tonkiss

Fran Tonkiss

Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE
Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Tony-Travers_web

Tony Travers

Associate Dean of the School of Public Policy
Director, LSE London
Professor in Practice, Department of Government, LSE

a.travers@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Savvas Verdis

Savvas Verdis

Senior Research Fellow,  LSE Cities
Deputy Director of the Executive MSc in Cities

s.verdis@lse.ac.uk
@SavvasVerdis 

 

Austin Zeiderman

Austin Zeiderman

Associate Professor of Urban Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk