People

Find out who's who at LSE Cities

 Executive Group

Ricky Burdett

Ricky Burdett

Director
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

 

Philipp Rode

Philipp Rode

Executive Director
Associate Professorial Research Fellow, LSE
Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 
Jo Beall

Jo Beall

Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow 
j.beall@lse.ac.uk
@JoBeall1

 

CENTRE STAFF

Academic and Research

Jo Beall

Jo Beall

Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow
j.beall@lse.ac.uk
@JoBeall1

 

Ricky Burdett

 

Ricky Burdett

Director
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Nuno F da Cruz

Assistant Professorial Research Fellow
n.m.ferreira-da-cruz@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6546
@NFdaCruz

 

Rebecca-Flynn-200x200

Rebecca Flynn

Postgraduate Research Fellow for Urban Transport and Mobility
r.flynn1@lse.ac.uk



Alexandra Gomes

Alexandra Gomes

Research Officer
a.peca-amaral-gomes@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7390
@xpgomes3

 

Catarina Heeckt-200x200

Catarina Heeckt

Policy Fellow
c.l.heeckt@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5524
@CHeeckt
 

 

Charlie Hicks 200x200

Charlie Hicks

Researcher
C.B.Hicks1@lse.ac.uk 

 

Julia King

Julia King

Research Fellow
j.king7@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7107 5256
@atjuliaking

 

Philipp Rode

Philipp Rode

Executive Director
Associate Professorial Research Fellow, LSE

Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 

Savvas Verdis

 

Savvas Verdis

Senior Research Fellow
Deputy Director of the Executive MSc in Cities
s.verdis@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6313
@SavvasVerdis
 

Management and Operations

Katie Beck 200x200

Katie Beck

Urban95 Academy Manager
k.a.beck@lse.ac.uk

 

Emily Cruz

Emily Cruz

Outreach Manager
e.m.cruz@lse.ac.uk
 

 

Sarah Davis

Sarah Davis

Management Accounts Coordinator
s.j.davis@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5155

 

silhouette_200x200a

Lizzy Garlan

Communications and Outreach Assistant
E.Garlan@lse.ac.uk

 

jennifer-ho-200xx200

Jennifer Ho

Centre Administrator
j.ho8@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5232


Laurence Horstman

Laurence Horstman

Executive MSc Programme Administrator
l.horstman@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7326

 

Tayo Isa-Daniel 200x200

Tayo Isa-Daniel

Project Assistant
O.C.Isa-Daniel@lse.ac.uk



Tian Ji

Tian Macleod Ji

Senior Video Producer
T.M.Ji@lse.ac.uk

 

Jim Osborne

Jim Osborne

Executive MSc Programme Manager
j.osborne2@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6429

 

Current Visiting Staff

Herrmann_Andreas_20161205_Web-300x300

Andreas Herrmann

Visiting Professor, LSE
Director, Institute of Customer Insight, University of St.Gallen
Professor, University of St.Gallen

Andreas Herrmann is Professor of Marketing and Director of the Institute of Customer Insight at the University of St.Gallen, Switzerland. He studied Business Administration, Law and Economics, holds a Ph.D. in Marketing from the Koblenz School of Corporate Management, Germany and did his habilitation at the University of Mannheim, Germany. His main research interests are Marketing Management and Behavioral Economics. Andreas Herrmann is author of 15 books and more than 250 journal articles. His recent publication deals with Autonomous Driving (with W. Brenner and R. Stadtler).

 

Kasabalis-200x200

Kyriaki (Katie) Kasabalis

Visiting Senior Fellow, LSE Cities
Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture and Urban + Environmental Planning, University of Virginia

k.kasabalis@lse.ac.uk

Kyriaki (Katie) Kasabalis is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Architecture and Urban + Environmental Planning at the University of Virginia. She is the founding principal of Future Assemblies, an interdisciplinary design studio, and co-founder of Future Current, an experimental platform for creatives to connect and collaborate over food. Her current research investigates the role of “knowledge economy” on the form and the socio-economic organization of cities. With the support of the Druker Fellowship from Harvard University, Kasabalis is mapping the evolution of tech-districts in East Asia, Europe and the United States. Looking through a physical rather than an economic lens, the research aims to develop a repository of global strategies that can be used by both designers and policy makers to influence future city development.

Prior to joining the University of Virginia, Kasabalis worked as an architect at Foster + Partners, Richard Meier & Partners and Weiss/Manfredi in New York City. She has served as visiting faculty at Cornell University and as guest critic at Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Pratt, Syracuse and Northeastern Universities. Kasabalis received a Bachelor of Architecture from Cornell University, where she was awarded the Charles Goodwin Medal. She holds a Master of Architecture in Urban Design with distinction from Harvard University, where she received the award for Excellence in Urban Design.

 

Jean Louis Missika 200x200

Jean-Louis Missika

Visiting Senior Fellow, LSE Cities
From 2014 to 2020, Dr. Jean-Louis Missika was a Paris councilor and Deputy Mayor of Paris, in charge of urban planning, architecture, Greater Paris projects, economic development and attractiveness. From 2008 to 2014 he served as Deputy Mayor of Paris in charge of innovation, research and higher education.

Jean-Louis Missika is a media sociologist. He holds a PhD in management, a degree in philosophy and is graduated of Sciences Po Paris, where he has also taught media sociology. He was head of the Information and Dissemination Service of the Prime Minister Michel Rocard and director of BVA, before setting up a consulting firm. He also served as Vice President of Iliad.

Jean-Louis Missika has written several books, notably on media and politics: "La Folle du logis. television in Democratic Societies", with Dominique Wolton (Gallimard, 1983), "La Fin de la television" (Le Seuil/La République des idées, 2006), “Parler pour gagner, sémiotique des discours de la campagne présidentielle de 2007”, with Denis Bertrand and Alexandre Dézé (Presses de Sciences Po, 2007) and “Des robots dans la Ville”, with Pierre Musseau (Taillandier Essais 2018).

 

Ben Rogers 200x200

Ben Rogers

Bloomberg Fellow in Government Innovation, London School of Economics
Professor of Practice - London at the University of London

B.Rogers1@lse.ac.uk

Ben Rogers is an urbanist with a particular interest in the history of urbanism, citizenship, public space, public service reform, transport and the built environment.

Ben was founding Director of Centre for London from 2011-2021, which he built into a leading UK and urban think tank.  Previously Ben was an Associate Director of IPPR for five years and subsequently led strategy teams at Haringey Council, the Department for Local Government and Communities and the Prime Minister’s Strategy Unit, where he wrote the government’s strategy on ‘Quality of Place’.

Ben is the author of several acclaimed books on philosophy, history and democracy, and an experienced journalist and broadcaster. He has been a Contributing Editor to Prospect Magazine, a visiting fellow at the Royal Society of Arts and a member of the London Finance Commission, chaired by Professor Tony Travers. He has written widely for newspapers including the Financial Times and Guardian. Ben is also a trustee of The Yard Theatre and Design South East.

 

Associates

Suzanne Hall

Suzanne Hall

Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, LSE

s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

 

Alasdair Jones

Alasdair Jones

Associate Professor, Department of Methodology, LSE
Visiting Lecturer, School of Architecture, RCA

a.jones@lse.ac.uk

 

David Madden

David Madden

Assistant Professor in Sociology, LSE

d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

 

Kathleen Scanlon

Kathleen Scanlon

Research Fellow, LSE London, LSE

k.j.scanlon@lse.ac.uk

 

Don Slater

Don Slater

Reader in Sociology, LSE Cities, LSE

d.slater@lse.ac.uk

 

Fran Tonkiss

Fran Tonkiss

Professor, Department of Sociology, LSE

f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

 

Christine Whitehead

Christine Whitehead

Emeritus Professor of Housing Economics, Department of Economics, LSE

c.m.e.whitehead@lse.ac.uk

 

Austin Zeiderman

Austin Zeiderman

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

 

 


CENTRE GOVERNANCE

Governing Board

Jo Beall
Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow LSE cities

Ricky Burdett
Professor of Urban Studies; Director, LSE Cities

Laura Dawson
Chief Information Officer, LSE

Philipp Rode
Associate Professorial Research Fellow; Executive Director, LSE Cities

Nicholas Stern (Chair)
IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government, LSE; Chair, Grantham Research Institute

Andrés Velasco
Dean, School of Public Policy, LSE

Management Group

Gabriel-Ahlfeldt

Gabriel Ahlfeldt

Professor of Urban Economics and Land Development
Development, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

 

GharadBryan

Gharad Bryan

Lecturer in Economics, Department of Economics, LSE
Cities Research Programme Co-Director, International Growth Centre, LSE
Associate, Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD), LSE

g.t.bryan@lse.ac.uk

 

Ricky Burdett

Ricky Burdett

Director, LSE Cities
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

 

Nigel-Dodd

Nigel Dodd

Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE
Professor of Sociology, LSE

n.b.dodd@lse.ac.uk

 

Sam-Fankhauser

Samuel Fankhauser

Visiting Professor and former Director, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change

Professor of Climate Change Economics and Policy, University of Oxford

s.fankhauser@lse.ac.uk

 

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Assistant Professorial Research Fellow, LSE Cities

n.m.ferreira-da-cruz@lse.ac
@NFdaCruz

 

Suzanne Hall

Suzanne Hall

Co-Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, LSE

s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk
@SuzanneHall12

 

Henderson-Vernon

Vernon Henderson

School Professor of Economic Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

 

JonathanLeape

Jonathan Leape

Associate Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, LSE
Executive Director, International Growth Centre, LSE

j.leape@lse.ac.uk

 

David-Madden

David Madden

Co-Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor in Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

 

Anne-Power

Anne Power

Emeritus Professor of Social Policy, Department of Social Policy, LSE
Head, LSE Housing & Communities, LSE

anne.power@lse.ac.uk

 

Philipp Rode

Philipp Rode

Executive Director, LSE Cities
Associate Professorial Research Fellow, LSE
Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 

Mike-Savage

Mike Savage

Martin White Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

 

profile-photo_kscanlon

Kath Scanlon

Distinguished Policy Fellow, LSE London, LSE
Deputy Director, LSE London

k.j.scanlon@lse.ac.uk

 

Fran Tonkiss

Fran Tonkiss

Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE
Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Tony-Travers_web

Tony Travers

Associate Dean of the School of Public Policy
Director, LSE London
Professor in Practice, Department of Government, LSE

a.travers@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Savvas Verdis

Savvas Verdis

Senior Research Fellow,  LSE Cities
Deputy Director of the Executive MSc in Cities

s.verdis@lse.ac.uk
@SavvasVerdis 

 

Austin Zeiderman

Austin Zeiderman

Associate Professor of Urban Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk