People walking

People

 Who's Who at LSE Sociology

Sociology Hub Office Hours

The Sociology Hub (STC.S116) is open during term time to students. The Hub opening hours are: Monday, Tuesdays and Thursdays 10am – 3pm. 

The maximum capacity in the Hub reception area is one person so that social distancing of 2m can be maintained. To keep you and us safe, we would advise you to only drop in to the Hub if you have a quick question. 

The Professional Services Team are working remotely and may not have access to their work telephones. Please contact them via email should you have any queries.

Academic staff

Mahvish-Ahmad-2020

Ahmad, Mahvish (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Human Rights and Politics
Room STC S108
020 7852 3513
m.ahmad14@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suki Ali

Ali, Suki (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On research leave Michaelmas Term 2020
Room STC S307
020 7852 3781
s.c.ali@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Robin Archer

Archer, Robin (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Political Sociology
Room STC S114a
020 7955 7944
r.archer@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Tina Basi

Basi, Tina (Dr)
Guest Teacher (LT 2020)
t.basi@lse.ac.uk

Staff page


Chetan Bhatt 2018

Bhatt, Chetan (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Room STC S107
020 7955 6262
c.bhatt@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

R_Burdett1 200x200(1)

Burdett, Ricky (Professor)
Professor of Urban Studies, Director of LSE Cities and Urban Age
Room FAW 8.01J (formerly Tower 2)
020 7955 7706
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Cities

Ayca Cubukcu 2020

Çubukçu, Ayça (Dr)
Associate Professor of Human Rights, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S113
020 7955 6787
a.cubukcu@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Nigel Dodd

Dodd, Nigel (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
On research leave 2020/21

Room STC S106
020 7955 7571
n.b.dodd@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Rebecca Elliott

Elliott, Rebecca (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S211
020 7955 6951
r.elliott1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Janet Foster

Foster, Janet (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On research leave 2020/21

j.a.foster@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sam Friedman 2018 (427x640)

Friedman, Sam (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
Dr Friedman is not taking on new doctoral students 2021/2.
Room STC S216
020 7955 6969
s.e.friedman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Carrie Friese

Friese, Carrie (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On research leave 2020/21

Room STC S213
020 7955 7984
c.friese@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Ioanna-Gouseti 2018

Gouseti, Ioanna (Dr)
Course Tutor
Room STC S105a
020 7107 5560
i.gouseti1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suzi_teaching_pic_2015

Hall, Suzanne (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
Dr Hall is not taking on new doctoral students 2021/2.
Room STC S212
020 7955 7056 
s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
Cities Programme

Ursula Henz

Henz, Ursula (Dr)
Associate Professor of Social Research Methods
Room STC 100B
020 7955 6139
u.henz@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Tarquin Holmes (530x640)

Holmes, Tarquin (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S108
t.holmes1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Billy Holzberg

Holzberg, Billy (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Gender
Room STC S103
b.v.holzberg@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Monika Krause

Krause, Monika (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S207
020 7955 7283
m.krause@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

David Madden (1)

Madden, David (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
Room STC S209
020 7955 6593
d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
Cities Programme

Pat McGovern

McGovern, Patrick (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Sociology
Room STC S110
020 7955 6653
p.mcgovern@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Claire Moon_2018 200x200

Moon, Claire (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology

c.moon@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Gender Neutral Silhouette

Paidipaty, Poornima (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Inequalities
STC 313
p.paidipaty@lse.ac.uk

 

Ian Patel

Patel, Ian (Dr)
BJS LSE Fellow in Human Rights
Room STC S114
020 7955 7964
i.patel4@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Pinzur_David--jpg

Pinzur, David (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S217A
d.pinzur@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sara Salem_200x200

Salem, Sara (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S218
020 7852 3712
s.salem3@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Mike Savage

Savage, Mike (Professor)
Martin White Professor of Sociology
Room STC S210 and CBG.4.03
020 7955 7356
m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Don Slater

Slater, Don (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Sociology
Room STC S310
020 7849 4653
d.slater@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Burak Somnez

Sonmez, Burak (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Quantitative Social Research Methods 
Room STC 206
b.sonmez@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Kristin Surak

Surak, Kristin (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC 105
k.surak@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Charis Thompson

Thompson, Charis (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
On leave 2020/21
Professor Thompson is not taking on new doctoral students 2021/2.

Room STC S102
020 7955 6729
c.m.thompson@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Fran Tonkiss colour_cropped 200x200

Tonkiss, Fran (Professor)
Head of Department and Professor of Sociology
Room STC S205
020 7955 6601
f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Judy Wajcman 2016

Wajcman, Judy (Professor)
Anthony Giddens Professor of Sociology
Professor Wajcman is not taking on new doctoral students 2021/2.
Room STC S203
j.wajcman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Emeritus

Chris_Badcock

Badcock, Christopher (Dr)
c.badcock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

EBarker

Barker, Eileen (Professor) OBE, FBA
Room STC S115
e.barker@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Giddens

Giddens, Anthony (Professor Lord) 
ax.giddens@lse.ac.uk

Staff page 

Frances Heidensohn

Heidensohn, Frances (Professor)
Visiting Professor
Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Room STC S115
f.heidensohn@lse.ac.uk

Staff Page

Husbands

Husbands, Christopher (Reader) 
c.husbands@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Bridget Hutter

Hutter, Bridget (Professor)
Chair of Risk Regulation at LSE
020 7955 7287
b.m.hutter@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Rock

Rock, Paul (Professor)
Room STC S115
p.rock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Skaire 2.png

Sklair, Leslie (Professor)
Room STC S115
l.sklair@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Centennial

Craig_Calhoun_2012_big

Calhoun, Craig (Professor) 
Centennial Professor
c.calhoun@lse.ac.uk

 

Professional services staff

Andy Christofferson

Christofferson, Andrew
Finance and Operations Officer
Room STC S119B
020 7107 5029
a.r.christofferson@lse.ac.uk

Maddie200x200

Giles, Maddie
Communications and Events Officer
Room STC S116
020 7955 7309
m.giles1@lse.ac.uk

Amy Gordon

Gordon, Amy
Acting Student Engagement and Experience Coordinator
Room STC S116
020 7955 7288
a.gordon4@lse.ac.uk

Laura_Kemp

Kemp, Laura (Dr)
Department Research Manager
Room STC S116
020 7955 6361
l.j.kemp@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.phd@lse.ac.uk

Louisa_Lawrence_New_Image

Lawrence, Louisa
Department Manager
Room STC S119C
020 7849 4938
l.m.lawrence@lse.ac.uk

Clara Lyons (1)

Lyons, Clara
Deputy Department Manager (Teaching)
Room STC S116
020 7106 1426
c.lyons@lse.ac.uk

Kylie Lawrence_cropped 200x200

Patterson, Kylie
MSc Programme Manager: City Design and Social Science; Culture and Society; Sociology; Inequalities and Social Science
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5112
k.b.patterson@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

Claire-Tomlinson-1

Tomlinson, Claire
Undergraduate Programme Manager
Room STC S116 
c.c.tomlinson@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.ug@lse.ac.uk

Alex_Wright_Website_Photo (2)

Wright, Alexander
MSc Programme Manager: Economy, Risk and Society; Human Rights; Human Rights and Politics; Political Sociology
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5778
a.p.wright@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

Research students

Adereth, Maya
Coalitons for care: Trade Unions, Mutual Aid, and the Struggle for National Healthcare in the UK and US
m.adereth@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Akdag, Muhammed
Social Determinants of International Competitive Advantage: The Case of Turkish Contractors
m.akdag1@lse.ac.uk 

Aksakal, Özgün
Meanings and Legitimation of Violence in Situations of Political Contestation: The Case of the Turkish-Right
o.aksakal@lse.ac.uk
Profile

al-Maadeed, Eman
Another London: Walking Through Qatari Women’s Practices of Making the City
e.s.al-maadeed@lse.ac.uk
Profile               

Al Sudairy, Jawaher
Urban and social regeneration: The case of Makkah’s Redevelopment
j.al-sudairy@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Amini, Babak
The Development of 'Council Communist' Movements in Germany and Italy in the World War I Era: Towards a Strategic-Relational Approach to Revolutionary Contentions
b.amini@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Andrawos, Nader
Rights in Revolutionary Times: The Antinomies of Human Rights and the Egyptian Uprising 
n.o.andrawos@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Arenas, Nicolás
Mediating the Non-Rational: Branding Consultants and the Role of Emotions in Marketing
n.a.arenas-osorio@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Baliga, Anitra
Negotiating the urban land market: How developers overcome uncertainties to (not) produce new real estate in Mumbai
a.baliga@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Beecham, Nell
A Suitable Match: A study of Cultural Production in Silicon Valley
e.beecham@lse.ac.uk

Brundu-Gonzalez, Benjamin
Mixing and mingling in French liberal art colleges 
B.Brundu-Gonzalez@lse.ac.uk

Carmichael, Donna
Challenges and Opportunities in the British Private Equity Industry
d.carmichael@lse.ac.uk 

Cirdan, Iulia-Clara
i.c.cirdan@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Círigo, Rodrigo
Suffering citizenship: a political sociology of victimhood in contemporary Mexico
r.a.cirigo-jimenez@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Davids, Sherelle
How do Widening Participation departments in England put policy that targets by ethnicity into practice?
s.davids@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Ergün-Hamaz, Mutlu
Dominance & Resistance: Racialisation and Empowerment in Germany
m.ergun@lse.ac.uk

Fercovic Cerda, Malik
Between success and dislocation. The experience of long-range upward mobility in contemporary Chile
m.fercovic-cerda@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Gray, Selena
Understanding girl’s perspectives on child sexual exploitation
s.gray1@lse.ac.uk

Gronwald, Victoria
The development of international tax law
v.gronwald@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Harpin, Julie
After the Act: Conditions of legitimacy and legibility. The significance of marriage for female same-sex couples
j.m.harpin@lse.ac.uk

Harris, Gaby
Using brands to create distinction. A critical exploration of young people’s embodied experiences of class, race and gender through clothing brands
g.j.harris@lse.ac.uk

Hayes, Niamh
Trouble Seeing: Researching the production of visual knowledge and racial knowledge in ‘new’ and ‘old’ archive
n.hayes1@lse.ac.uk

Hilhorst, Sacha
Place, politics and populism: A qualitative investigation into the appeal of populist narratives in the East Midlands in England
s.hilhorst@lse.ac.uk

John-Baptiste, Belinda
Understanding Young Children’s Racialisation of Deviance and Morality
b.john-baptiste@lse.ac.uk

Kampmann,David
Imagined futures of Artificial Intelligence 
d.kampmann@lse.ac.uk

Lally, Amraj
A study of SA MSM in HIV Prevention
a.lally@lse.ac.uk

Lieutaud, Marion
Gender through Migration, Migration through Gender
m.lieutaud@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Littlejohn, Naomi
A-level engagement and achievement in inner-city London 
n.m.littlejohn@lse.ac.uk

Loup, Sophie
How and why do governments pick specific partners to implement official development assistance?
s.i.loup@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Mallett, Victoria
Revising Democracy: A study of local election reforms in U.S. cities
v.f.mallett@lse.ac.uk

McGinn, Jack
Decentralised anti-hierarchical organising in the Syrian and Palestinian uprisings
j.mcginn@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Monteath, Timothy
Elites, Capital and the City: Exploring the High End of London’s Housing Market
t.monteath@lse.ac.uk

Pagnini, Marta
A Sociological Analysis of Global Elites and Transnational Social Capital 
m.pagnini@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Partyga, Dominika
“Society as an Experiment” - Reading Nietzsche on the Margins of Social Theory
d.partyga@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Pedersen, Linda Lund
On the Ambiguity of Attachment: The Danish Alien Act and Family Migration in a Time of Anti-Immigration Politics
l.l.pedersen@lse.ac.uk

Pérez Aguilar, Daniela
Wage inequality in the Chilean labour market: Beyond human capital in a neoliberal economy
d.c.perez-aguilar@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Schwoerer, Lili
Inclusivity and feminist knowledges in the ‘global market for Higher Education’
l.n.schwoerer@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Thornbury, Paul
The Social Construction of Boundaries in Military Private Security
p.c.thornbury@lse.ac.uk

Tsang, Ling Tung
Identity and Sport in Late Modern China: Collectivism vs. Individualism 
l.tsang@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Vogkli, Maria-Christina
Homelessness, Urban Space and Care in a time of limited resources: A comparative ethnography of Athens and London
m.vogkli@lse.ac.uk
Profile

White, Tim
Living in the flexible city: understanding the socioeconomic implications of corporate co-living 
t.white3@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Academic visitors

Ahmed, Rafida
Visiting Fellow, LSE Human Rights
r.ahmed8@lse.ac.uk

Akgul, Filiz (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
f.akgul@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Beerli, Monique (Dr)
Visiting Fellow, LSE Human Rights
m.j.beerli@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Brice, Jeremy (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
j.brice@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Bordonaro, Elettra (Dr)
Visiting Fellow, Configuring Light project
e.bordonaro@lse.ac.uk
Configuring Light webpage

Buehler, Martin (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
m.buehler1@lse.ac.uk

Christiensen, Alice (Dr)
Visiting Fellow

Dobeson, Alexander (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
a.dobeson@lse.ac.uk

Edelmann, Achim (Dr)
Visiting Fellow

Glucksmann, Miriam (Professor)
Visiting Professor
m.a.glucksmann@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Klug, Francesca (Professor)
Visiting Professor, LSE Human Rights
f.m.klug@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Manby, Bronwen (Dr)
Visiting Senior Fellow, LSE Human Rights
b.manby@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Pasha, Suraina (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
s.pasha1@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Reay, Diene (Professor)
Visiting Professor

Robbins, Glyn (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
g.robbins@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Roberts, Ronald Suresh
Visiting Senior Fellow
r.roberts4@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Rossier, Thierry (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
Profile

Saldarriaga, Andrea 
Visiting Fellow, LSE Human Rights
a.saldarriaga@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Shemberg, Andrea 
Visiting Fellow, LSE Human Rights
a.r.shemberg@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Shwed, Uri (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
u.shwed@lse.ac.uk

Vanderstraeten, Raf (Professor)
Visiting Professor
Profile

Affiliated Research Fellows

Meet our Affiliated Research Fellows and read about their research.