IMG_1797

People

 Who's Who at LSE Sociology

The Sociology Hub opening hours are:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday Friday: 9.30am to 12.30pm & 2.00pm t0 4.30pm

Wednesday: 9.30am to 12.30pm

 

The Professional Services Team are working remotely and may not have access to their work telephones. Please contact them via email should you have any queries.

Academic staff

Mahvish-Ahmad-2020

Ahmad, Mahvish (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Human Rights and Politics
On Leave Michaelmas Term 2022 and Lent Term 2023

Dr Ahmad is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S108
m.ahmad14@lse.ac.uk

 

Staff page

Suki Ali

Ali, Suki (Dr)
Deputy Head of Department for Teaching
Associate Professor of Sociology
Dr Ali is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S307
s.c.ali@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Robin Archer

Archer, Robin (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Political Sociology
Room STC S114a
r.archer@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Chetan Bhatt 2018

Bhatt, Chetan (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
On Leave Lent and Summer Terms 2023
Room STC S107
c.bhatt@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Ayca Cubukcu 2020

Çubukçu, Ayça (Dr)
Associate Professor of Human Rights, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S113
a.cubukcu@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Nigel Dodd

Dodd, Nigel (Professor)

Staff page

Rebecca Elliott

Elliott, Rebecca (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On Leave until November 2022
Room STC S211
r.elliott1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Janet Foster

Foster, Janet (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
j.a.foster@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sam Friedman 2018 (427x640)

Friedman, Sam (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Professor Friedman is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23

On Leave Michaelmas Term 2022 

Room STC S102
s.e.friedman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Carrie Friese

Friese, Carrie (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
Room STC S213
c.friese@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suzi_Hall_1_square

Hall, Suzanne (Professor)
Deputy Head of Department Teaching
Professor of Sociology
Dr Hall is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S212
s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
Cities Programme

Ursula Henz

Henz, Ursula (Dr)
Associate Professor of Social Research Methods
Room STC 100B
u.henz@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Monika Krause

Krause, Monika (Professor)
Professor of Sociology, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S207

On Leave Michaelmas Term 2022
m.krause@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

David Madden (1)

Madden, David (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology, Director of the Cities Programme
Room STC S209
d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

On Leave during the Academic Year 2022/23

Staff page
Cities Programme

Pat McGovern

McGovern, Patrick (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Sociology
Room STC S110
p.mcgovern@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Jana

Melkumova-Reynolds, Jana (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
y.m.reynolds@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

 

Claire Moon_2018 200x200

Moon, Claire (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On leave Michaelmas Term 2022
Dr Moon is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
c.moon@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Yazmin Motlet Corti_photo cropped

Morlet Corti, Yazmin (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Quantitative Social Methods 
Room STC S114
y.morlet-corti@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Annalena Oppel

Oppel, Annalena (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Inequalities and Social Science
Room STC S104
oppel.a@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Pinzur_David--jpg

Pinzur, David (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S217A
d.pinzur@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

olivia-rutazibwa

Rutazibwa, Olivia Umurerwa (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Human Rights and Politics
Room STC S216
o.u.rutazibwa@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sara Salem_200x200

Salem, Sara (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
Room STC S218

On Leave Michaelmas Term 2022
s.salem3@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Mike Savage

Savage, Mike (Professor)
Martin White Professor of Sociology
Room STC S210 and CBG.4.03

On Leave Lent Term 2023
m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Don Slater

Slater, Don (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Sociology
Room STC S310

On Leave Michaelmas Term 2022 and Lent Term 2023

d.slater@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Kristin Surak

Surak, Kristin (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
Room STC 105
k.surak@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Fran Tonkiss colour_cropped 200x200

Tonkiss, Fran (Professor)
Head of Department and Professor of Sociology
Professor Tonkiss is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S205
f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Mai Taha

Taha, Mai (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Human Rights
Room STC S206
m.taha2@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Research staff

Headshots_EBordonaro-CL-200x200

Bordonaro, Elettra (Dr)
Senior Policy Fellow (Architect) 
e.bordonaro@LSE.ac.uk 

Staff page

Shereen Fernandez

Fernandez, Shereen (Dr)
ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow
s.fernandez3@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Maria Kramer200x200

Kramer, Maria (Dr)
ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow
Room STC S311
m.kramer@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Aimee Middlemiss NEW

Middlemiss, Aimee (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S308
a.l.Middlemiss@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Laura Tradii

Tradii, Laura (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S308
l.tradii@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Emeritus

Chris_Badcock

Badcock, Christopher (Dr)
c.badcock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

EBarker

Barker, Eileen (Professor) OBE, FBA
Room STC S115
e.barker@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Giddens

Giddens, Anthony (Professor Lord) 
ax.giddens@lse.ac.uk

Staff page 

Frances Heidensohn

Heidensohn, Frances (Professor)
Visiting Professor
Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Room STC S115
f.heidensohn@lse.ac.uk

Staff Page

Husbands

Husbands, Christopher (Reader) 
Room STC S115
c.husbands@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Bridget Hutter

Hutter, Bridget (Professor)
Room STC S115
b.m.hutter@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Rock

Rock, Paul (Professor)
Room STC S115
p.rock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Skaire 2.png

Sklair, Leslie (Professor)
Room STC S115
l.sklair@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Charis Thompson

Thompson, Charis (Professor)
c.m.thompson@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Judy Wajcman 2016

Wajcman, Judy (Professor)
j.wajcman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Centennial

Craig_Calhoun_2012_big

Calhoun, Craig (Professor) 
Centennial Professor
c.calhoun@lse.ac.uk

 

Professional services staff

Andy Christofferson

Christofferson, Andrew
Finance and Operations Officer
Room STC S119B
020 7107 5029
a.r.christofferson@lse.ac.uk

Emilia Borowska

Borowska, Emilia
Department Research Manager
Room STC S119D
e.borowska@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.phd@lse.ac.uk

Gender Neutral Silhouette

Communications and Events Officer
Room STC S116

Louisa_Lawrence_New_Image

Lawrence, Louisa
Department Manager
Room STC S119C
020 7849 4938
l.m.lawrence@lse.ac.uk

Clara Lyons (1)

Lyons, Clara
Deputy Department Manager (Teaching)
Room STC S116
020 7106 1426
c.lyons@lse.ac.uk

Gender Neutral Silhouette


Assesments and Regulations Officer

 

 

Kylie Lawrence_cropped 200x200

Patterson, Kylie
MSc Programme Manager: City Design and Social Science; Culture and Society; Sociology; Inequalities and Social Science
Kylie is currently on leave
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5112
k.b.patterson@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

yoshi-shungu

Shungu, Yoshi
MSc Programme Manager: City Design and Social Science; Culture and Society; Sociology; Inequalities and Social Science
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5112
y.shungu@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

Claire-Tomlinson-1

Tomlinson, Claire
Undergraduate Programme Manager
Room STC S116 
c.c.tomlinson@lse.ac.uk
020 7852 3719

For programme enquiries: sociology.ug@lse.ac.uk

Gender Neutral Silhouette

MSc Programme Manager: Economy and Society; Human Rights; Human Rights and Politics; Political Sociology


For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

Monika Walker

Walker, Monika
Department Administrator
Room STC S116 
m.walker6@lse.ac.uk

Research students

Adereth, Maya
Coalitons for care: Trade Unions, Mutual Aid, and the Struggle for National Healthcare in the UK and US
m.adereth@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Akdag, Muhammed
Social Determinants of International Competitive Advantage: The Case of Turkish Contractors
m.akdag1@lse.ac.uk 

Aksakal, Özgün
Meanings and Legitimation of Violence in Situations of Political Contestation: The Case of the Turkish-Right
o.aksakal@lse.ac.uk
Profile

al-Maadeed, Eman
Another London: Walking Through Qatari Women’s Practices of Making the City
e.s.al-maadeed@lse.ac.uk
Profile               

Al Sudairy, Jawaher
Urban and social regeneration: The case of Makkah’s Redevelopment
j.al-sudairy@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Andrawos, Nader
Rights in Revolutionary Times: The Antinomies of Human Rights and the Egyptian Uprising 
n.o.andrawos@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Arenas, Nicolás
Mediating the Non-Rational: Branding Consultants and the Role of Emotions in Marketing
n.a.arenas-osorio@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Brown, Dan
The Contested Role of Human Rights in Anti-Systemic Resistance: A Case-Study of Human Rights Discourse and Practice in UK Kurdish Solidarity Networks
d.brown7@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Brundu-Gonzalez, Benjamin
Mixing and mingling in French liberal art colleges 
b.brundu-gonzalez@lse.ac.uk

Butt, Asif
Social mobility into elite occupations and micro-class reproduction in Germany
a.i.butt@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Donna Carmichael
Challenges and Opportunities in the British Private Equity Industry
d.carmichael@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Cirdan, Iulia-Clara
i.c.cirdan@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Círigo, Rodrigo
Suffering citizenship: a political sociology of victimhood in contemporary Mexico
r.a.cirigo-jimenez@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Davids, Sherelle
How do Widening Participation departments in England put policy that targets by ethnicity into practice?
s.davids@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Gray, Selena
Understanding girl’s perspectives on child sexual exploitation
s.gray1@lse.ac.uk

Gronwald, Victoria
Boundary work in international tax governance
v.gronwald@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Harpin, Julie
After the Act: Conditions of legitimacy and legibility. The significance of marriage for female same-sex couples
j.m.harpin@lse.ac.uk

Harris, Gaby
Gaby is interested in consumer culture and social class; her thesis focuses on teenage girls’ relationships with fashion.
g.j.harris@lse.ac.uk

Hilhorst, Sacha
The politics of left behind places: A political ethnography of two towns in the East Midlands
s.hilhorst@lse.ac.uk

Hollenhorst, Johannes
Hydrogen for Future
j.hollenhorst@lse.ac.uk
Profile

John-Baptiste, Belinda
Understanding Young Children’s Racialisation of Deviance and Morality
b.john-baptiste@lse.ac.uk

Kampmann,David
Imagined futures of Artificial Intelligence 
d.kampmann@lse.ac.uk

Kendall, Will
Popular knowledge? The travel and transformation of Participatory Action Research
w.kendall@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Lally, Amraj
A study of SA MSM in HIV Prevention
a.lally@lse.ac.uk

Littlejohn, Naomi
A-level engagement and achievement in inner-city London 
n.m.littlejohn@lse.ac.uk

Loup, Sophie
How and why do governments pick specific partners to implement official development assistance?
s.i.loup@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Mallett, Victoria
Revising Democracy: A study of local election reforms in U.S. cities
v.f.mallett@lse.ac.uk

May, Babette
living & labouring reproductive (in)justice: lifestories, histories, & fictions of epistemic disobedience
B.May1@lse.ac.uk
Profile

McGinn, Jack
Decentralised anti-hierarchical organising in the Syrian and Palestinian uprisings
j.mcginn@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Nahikian, Anaïde
a.l.najikian@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Pagnini, Marta 
m.pagnini@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Partyga, Dominika
“Society as an Experiment” - Reading Nietzsche on the Margins of Social Theory
d.partyga@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Reynolds, Matt

High-end domestic services in 21st century Britain
m.f.reynolds@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Pérez Aguilar, Daniela
Wage inequality in the Chilean labour market: Beyond human capital in a neoliberal economy
d.c.perez-aguilar@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Schwoerer, Lili
Inclusivity and feminist knowledges in the ‘global market for Higher Education’
l.n.schwoerer@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Twahirwa, Rémy-Paulin
On Ghostly Lives: Life Inside Immigration Detention Centre in the UK and Canada
r.twahirwa@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Warner, Neil
The road to no alternative: the failure of projects for the socialisation of investment in Western Europe, 1970-1991
n.warner@lse.ac.uk
Profile

White, Tim
Living in the flexible city: understanding the socioeconomic implications of corporate co-living 
t.white2@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Wilson, Hannah
A Bar of all and for all? Examining the financial and professional impacts of upward social mobility at the independent Bar.
h.wilson3@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Academic visitors

Brice, Jeremy (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
j.brice@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Bordonaro, Elettra (Dr)
Visiting Senior Fellow, Configuring Light project
e.bordonaro@lse.ac.uk
Configuring Light webpage

Ghaziani, Amin (Professor)
Visiting Professor
a.ghaziani@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Glucksmann, Miriam (Professor)
Visiting Professor
m.a.glucksmann@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Hughey, Matthew (Professor)
Visiting Professor
m.hughey@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Klug, Francesca (Professor)
Visiting Professor, LSE Human Rights
f.m.klug@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Oddsson, Gummi (Dr) 
Visiting Senior Fellow
G.A.Oddsson@lse.ac.uk 
Profile

Patel, Ian (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
i.patel4@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Robbins, Glyn (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
g.robbins@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Rossier, Thierry (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
t.rossier@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Vanderstraeton, Raf (Professor)
Visiting Professor 
r.vanderstraeten@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Affiliated Research Fellows

Meet our Affiliated Research Fellows and read about their research.