IMG_1797

People

 Who's Who at LSE Sociology

The Sociology Hub opening hours are:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday Friday: 9.30am to 12.30pm & 2.00pm t0 4.30pm

Wednesday: 9.30am to 12.30pm

 

The Professional Services Team are working remotely and may not have access to their work telephones. Please contact them via email should you have any queries.

Academic staff

Mahvish-Ahmad-2020

Ahmad, Mahvish (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Human Rights and Politics
Dr Ahmad is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S108
020 7852 3513
m.ahmad14@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suki Ali

Ali, Suki (Dr)
Deputy Head of Department for Teaching
Associate Professor of Sociology
Dr Ali is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S307
020 7852 3781
s.c.ali@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Robin Archer

Archer, Robin (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Political Sociology
Room STC S114a
020 7955 7944
r.archer@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Chetan Bhatt 2018

Bhatt, Chetan (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Room STC S107
020 7955 6262
c.bhatt@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Ayca Cubukcu 2020

Çubukçu, Ayça (Dr)
Associate Professor of Human Rights, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S113
020 7955 6787
a.cubukcu@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Nigel Dodd

Dodd, Nigel (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
On research leave 2021/22

Room STC S106
020 7955 7571
n.b.dodd@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Rebecca Elliott

Elliott, Rebecca (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S211
020 7955 6951
r.elliott1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Janet Foster

Foster, Janet (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On research leave Michaelmas Term 21

j.a.foster@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sam Friedman 2018 (427x640)

Friedman, Sam (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Professor Friedman is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S102
s.e.friedman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Carrie Friese

Friese, Carrie (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On research leave 2020/21

Room STC S213
020 7955 7984
c.friese@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Ioanna-Gouseti 2018

Gouseti, Ioanna (Dr)
Leverhulme Fellow
Room STC S105a
020 7107 5560
i.gouseti1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Gender Neutral Silhouette

Guran, Gözde (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S103
g.guran@lse.ac.uk

Suzi_teaching_pic_2015

Hall, Suzanne (Dr)
Deputy Head of Department Teaching
Associate Professor of Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
On research leave Summer Term 2022
Dr Hall is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S212
020 7955 7056
s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
Cities Programme

Ursula Henz

Henz, Ursula (Dr)
Associate Professor of Social Research Methods
Room STC 100B
020 7955 6139
u.henz@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Gender Neutral Silhouette

Khan, Abeera (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Gender and Culture
a.khan42@lse.ac.uk

 

Monika Krause

Krause, Monika (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S207
020 7955 7283
m.krause@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

David Madden (1)

Madden, David (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
Room STC S209
020 7955 6593
d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
Cities Programme

Pat McGovern

McGovern, Patrick (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Sociology
On research leave Michaelmas Term 2021
Room STC S110
020 7955 6653
p.mcgovern@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Jana Reynolds

Melkumova-Reynolds, Jana (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Culture and Society
y.m.reynolds@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

 

Claire Moon_2018 200x200

Moon, Claire (Dr)
Associate Professor of Sociology
On research leave Lent and Summer Term 2022
Dr Moon is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
c.moon@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Annalena Oppel

Oppel, Annalena (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Inequalities and Social Science
Room STC S104
oppel.a@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Pinzur_David--jpg

Pinzur, David (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S217A
d.pinzur@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

olivia-rutazibwa

Rutazibwa, Olivia Umurerwa (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Human Rights and Politics
Room STC S216
o.u.rutazibwa@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sara Salem_200x200

Salem, Sara (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Room STC S218
020 7852 3712
s.salem3@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Mike Savage

Savage, Mike (Professor)
Martin White Professor of Sociology
Room STC S210 and CBG.4.03
020 7955 7356
m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Don Slater

Slater, Don (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) of Sociology
On research leave Lent Term 2022
Room STC S310
020 7849 4653
d.slater@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Kristin Surak

Surak, Kristin (Dr)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
On research leave Michaelmas Term 2021
Room STC 105
k.surak@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Fran Tonkiss colour_cropped 200x200

Tonkiss, Fran (Professor)
Head of Department and Professor of Sociology
Professor Tonkiss is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S205
020 7955 6601
f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Mai Taha

Taha, Mai (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Human Rights
Room STC S206
m.taha2@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Judy Wajcman 2016

Wajcman, Judy (Professor)
Anthony Giddens Professor of Sociology
Professor Wajcman is not taking on new doctoral students 2022/23
Room STC S203
j.wajcman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Research staff

Shereen Fernandez

Fernandez, Shereen (Dr)
ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow
s.fernandez3@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Maria Kramer200x200

Kramer, Maria (Dr)
ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow
Room STC S311
m.kramer@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Aimee Middlemiss NEW

Middlemiss, Aimee (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S308
a.l.Middlemiss@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Laura Tradii

Tradii, Laura (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S308
l.tradii@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Emeritus

Chris_Badcock

Badcock, Christopher (Dr)
c.badcock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

EBarker

Barker, Eileen (Professor) OBE, FBA
Room STC S115
e.barker@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Giddens

Giddens, Anthony (Professor Lord) 
ax.giddens@lse.ac.uk

Staff page 

Frances Heidensohn

Heidensohn, Frances (Professor)
Visiting Professor
Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Room STC S115
f.heidensohn@lse.ac.uk

Staff Page

Husbands

Husbands, Christopher (Reader) 
Room STC S115
c.husbands@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Bridget Hutter

Hutter, Bridget (Professor)
Room STC S115
b.m.hutter@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Rock

Rock, Paul (Professor)
Room STC S115
p.rock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Skaire 2.png

Sklair, Leslie (Professor)
Room STC S115
l.sklair@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Charis Thompson

Thompson, Charis (Professor)
c.m.thompson@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Centennial

Craig_Calhoun_2012_big

Calhoun, Craig (Professor) 
Centennial Professor
c.calhoun@lse.ac.uk

 

Professional services staff

Andy Christofferson

Christofferson, Andrew
Finance and Operations Officer
Room STC S119B
020 7107 5029
a.r.christofferson@lse.ac.uk

Maddie_Giles_New

Giles, Maddie
Communications and Events Officer
Room STC S116
020 7955 7309
sociology.media@lse.ac.uk

amy

Gordon, Amy
Student Engagement and Service Delivery Administrator
Room STC S116
020 7955 7288
a.gordon4@lse.ac.uk

Laura_Kemp_NEW

Kemp, Laura (Dr)
Department Research Manager
Room STC S116
020 7955 6361
l.j.kemp@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.phd@lse.ac.uk

Louisa_Lawrence_New_Image

Lawrence, Louisa
Department Manager
Room STC S119C
020 7849 4938
l.m.lawrence@lse.ac.uk

Clara Lyons (1)

Lyons, Clara
Deputy Department Manager (Teaching)
Room STC S116
020 7106 1426
c.lyons@lse.ac.uk

Jackie Martin

Martin, Jackie 
Assesments and Regulations Officer
Room STC S116 
020 7955 6848
j.e.martin3@lse.ac.uk

Kylie Lawrence_cropped 200x200

Patterson, Kylie
MSc Programme Manager: City Design and Social Science; Culture and Society; Sociology; Inequalities and Social Science
Kylie is currently on leave
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5112
k.b.patterson@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

yoshi-shungu

Shungu, Yoshi
MSc Programme Manager: City Design and Social Science; Culture and Society; Sociology; Inequalities and Social Science
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5234
y.shungu@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

Claire-Tomlinson-1

Tomlinson, Claire
Undergraduate Programme Manager
Room STC S116 
c.c.tomlinson@lse.ac.uk
020 7852 3719

For programme enquiries: sociology.ug@lse.ac.uk

Alex_Wright_Website_Photo (2)

Wright, Alexander
MSc Programme Manager: Economy, Risk and Society; Human Rights; Human Rights and Politics; Political Sociology
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5778
a.p.wright@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: sociology.msc@lse.ac.uk

Research students

Adereth, Maya
Coalitons for care: Trade Unions, Mutual Aid, and the Struggle for National Healthcare in the UK and US
m.adereth@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Akdag, Muhammed
Social Determinants of International Competitive Advantage: The Case of Turkish Contractors
m.akdag1@lse.ac.uk 

Aksakal, Özgün
Meanings and Legitimation of Violence in Situations of Political Contestation: The Case of the Turkish-Right
o.aksakal@lse.ac.uk
Profile

al-Maadeed, Eman
Another London: Walking Through Qatari Women’s Practices of Making the City
e.s.al-maadeed@lse.ac.uk
Profile               

Al Sudairy, Jawaher
Urban and social regeneration: The case of Makkah’s Redevelopment
j.al-sudairy@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Andrawos, Nader
Rights in Revolutionary Times: The Antinomies of Human Rights and the Egyptian Uprising 
n.o.andrawos@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Arenas, Nicolás
Mediating the Non-Rational: Branding Consultants and the Role of Emotions in Marketing
n.a.arenas-osorio@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Brown, Dan
The Contested Role of Human Rights in Anti-Systemic Resistance: A Case-Study of Human Rights Discourse and Practice in UK Kurdish Solidarity Networks
d.brown7@lse.ac.uk
Profile

 

Brundu-Gonzalez, Benjamin
Mixing and mingling in French liberal art colleges 
b.brundu-gonzalez@lse.ac.uk

Butt, Asif
Social mobility into elite occupations and micro-class reproduction in Germany
a.i.butt@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Donna Carmichael
Challenges and Opportunities in the British Private Equity Industry
d.carmichael@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Cirdan, Iulia-Clara
i.c.cirdan@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Círigo, Rodrigo
Suffering citizenship: a political sociology of victimhood in contemporary Mexico
r.a.cirigo-jimenez@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Davids, Sherelle
How do Widening Participation departments in England put policy that targets by ethnicity into practice?
s.davids@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Gray, Selena
Understanding girl’s perspectives on child sexual exploitation
s.gray1@lse.ac.uk

Gronwald, Victoria
Boundary work in international tax governance
v.gronwald@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Harpin, Julie
After the Act: Conditions of legitimacy and legibility. The significance of marriage for female same-sex couples
j.m.harpin@lse.ac.uk

Harris, Gaby
Gaby is interested in consumer culture and social class; her thesis focuses on teenage girls’ relationships with fashion.
g.j.harris@lse.ac.uk

Hilhorst, Sacha
The politics of left behind places: A political ethnography of two towns in the East Midlands
s.hilhorst@lse.ac.uk

John-Baptiste, Belinda
Understanding Young Children’s Racialisation of Deviance and Morality
b.john-baptiste@lse.ac.uk

Kampmann,David
Imagined futures of Artificial Intelligence 
d.kampmann@lse.ac.uk

Kendall, Will
Popular knowledge? The travel and transformation of Participatory Action Research
w.kendall@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Lally, Amraj
A study of SA MSM in HIV Prevention
a.lally@lse.ac.uk

Littlejohn, Naomi
A-level engagement and achievement in inner-city London 
n.m.littlejohn@lse.ac.uk

Loup, Sophie
How and why do governments pick specific partners to implement official development assistance?
s.i.loup@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Mallett, Victoria
Revising Democracy: A study of local election reforms in U.S. cities
v.f.mallett@lse.ac.uk

McGinn, Jack
Decentralised anti-hierarchical organising in the Syrian and Palestinian uprisings
j.mcginn@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Nahikian, Anaïde
a.l.najikian@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Pagnini, Marta 
m.pagnini@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Partyga, Dominika
“Society as an Experiment” - Reading Nietzsche on the Margins of Social Theory
d.partyga@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Reynolds, Matt

High-end domestic services in 21st century Britain
m.f.reynolds@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Pérez Aguilar, Daniela
Wage inequality in the Chilean labour market: Beyond human capital in a neoliberal economy
d.c.perez-aguilar@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Schwoerer, Lili
Inclusivity and feminist knowledges in the ‘global market for Higher Education’
l.n.schwoerer@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Twahirwa, Rémy-Paulin
On Ghostly Lives: Life Inside Immigration Detention Centre in the UK and Canada
r.twahirwa@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Warner, Neil
The road to no alternative: the failure of projects for the socialisation of investment in Western Europe, 1970-1991
n.warner@lse.ac.uk
Profile

White, Tim
Living in the flexible city: understanding the socioeconomic implications of corporate co-living 
t.white2@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Wilson, Hannah
A Bar of all and for all? Examining the financial and professional impacts of upward social mobility at the independent Bar.
h.wilson3@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Academic visitors

Brice, Jeremy (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
j.brice@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Bordonaro, Elettra (Dr)
Visiting Senior Fellow, Configuring Light project
e.bordonaro@lse.ac.uk
Configuring Light webpage

Glucksmann, Miriam (Professor)
Visiting Professor
m.a.glucksmann@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Klug, Francesca (Professor)
Visiting Professor, LSE Human Rights
f.m.klug@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Patel, Ian (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
i.patel4@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Robbins, Glyn (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
g.robbins@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Rossier, Thierry (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
t.rossier@lse.ac.uk
Profile

Affiliated Research Fellows

Meet our Affiliated Research Fellows and read about their research.