People

Find out who's who at LSE Cities

 Executive Group

Ricky Burdett

Ricky Burdett

Director
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

 

Philipp Rode

Philipp Rode

Executive Director
Associate Professorial Lecturer, LSE
Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 
Jo Beall

Jo Beall

Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow 
j.beall@lse.ac.uk
@JoBeall1

 

CENTRE STAFF

Academic, Research and Policy

Jo Beall

Jo Beall

Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow
j.beall@lse.ac.uk
@JoBeall1

 

Ricky Burdett

 

Ricky Burdett

Director
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Nuno F da Cruz

Assistant Professorial Research Fellow
n.m.ferreira-da-cruz@lse.ac.uk
@NFdaCruz

 

Cataline Duarte 200x200

Catalina Duarte

Policy Officer 
C.Duarte-Sanchez@lse.ac.uk

 

Catarina Heeckt-200x200

Catarina Heeckt

Policy Fellow
c.l.heeckt@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5524
@CHeeckt
 

 

Tayo Isa-Daniel 200x200

Tayo Isa-Daniel

Researcher
O.C.Isa-Daniel@lse.ac.uk

 

Ben Plowden BW_200x200

Ben Plowden

Senior Associate
B.Plowden@lse.ac.uk

 

Philipp Rode

Philipp Rode

Executive Director
Associate Professorial Lecturer, LSE
Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 

Ben Rogers 200x200

Ben Rogers

Bloomberg Distinguished Fellow in Government Innovation
B.Rogers1@lse.ac.uk
@ben_rog

 

Olivia Theocharides-Feldman 200x200

Olivia Theocharides-Feldman

Researcher
O.Theocharides-Feldman@lse.ac.uk

 

Savvas Verdis

 

Savvas Verdis

Senior Research Fellow
Deputy Director of the Executive MSc in Cities
s.verdis@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6313
@SavvasVerdis
 

Management and Operations

Nermin Abdulla bw_200x200

Nermin Abdulla

Executive MSc Programme Manager
N.Abdulla@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6429

 

Katie Beck 200x200

Katie Beck

Urban95 Academy Manager
k.a.beck@lse.ac.uk

 

Emily Cruz

Emily Cruz

Communications and Engagement Manager
e.m.cruz@lse.ac.uk
 

 

Sarah Davis

Sarah Davis

Finance and Resourcing Coordinator
s.j.davis@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5155

 

jennifer-ho-200xx200

Jennifer Ho

Centre Administrator
j.ho8@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5232


Laurence Horstman

Laurence Horstman

Executive MSc Programme Administrator
l.horstman@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7326

 

Sara Mahdi_200x200

Sara Mahdi

Digital Communications Officer
S.Mahdi@lse.ac.uk

 

Marie Kaune 200x200

Marie Kaune

Urban95 Academy Administrator
M.S.Kaune@lse.ac.uk

Current Visiting Staff

Jean Louis Missika 200x200

Jean-Louis Missika

Visiting Senior Fellow, LSE Cities
From 2014 to 2020, Dr. Jean-Louis Missika was a Paris councilor and Deputy Mayor of Paris, in charge of urban planning, architecture, Greater Paris projects, economic development and attractiveness. From 2008 to 2014 he served as Deputy Mayor of Paris in charge of innovation, research and higher education.

Jean-Louis Missika is a media sociologist. He holds a PhD in management, a degree in philosophy and is graduated of Sciences Po Paris, where he has also taught media sociology. He was head of the Information and Dissemination Service of the Prime Minister Michel Rocard and director of BVA, before setting up a consulting firm. He also served as Vice President of Iliad.

Jean-Louis Missika has written several books, notably on media and politics: "La Folle du logis. television in Democratic Societies", with Dominique Wolton (Gallimard, 1983), "La Fin de la television" (Le Seuil/La République des idées, 2006), “Parler pour gagner, sémiotique des discours de la campagne présidentielle de 2007”, with Denis Bertrand and Alexandre Dézé (Presses de Sciences Po, 2007) and “Des robots dans la Ville”, with Pierre Musseau (Taillandier Essais 2018).

 

Associates

Suzanne Hall

Suzanne Hall

Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, LSE

s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

 

David Madden

David Madden

Assistant Professor in Sociology, LSE

d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

 

Kathleen Scanlon

Kathleen Scanlon

Research Fellow, LSE London, LSE

k.j.scanlon@lse.ac.uk

 

Don Slater

Don Slater

Reader in Sociology, LSE Cities, LSE

d.slater@lse.ac.uk

 

Fran Tonkiss

Fran Tonkiss

Professor, Department of Sociology, LSE

f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

 

Christine Whitehead

Christine Whitehead

Emeritus Professor of Housing Economics, Department of Economics, LSE

c.m.e.whitehead@lse.ac.uk

 

Austin Zeiderman

Austin Zeiderman

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

 

 


CENTRE GOVERNANCE

Governing Board

Jo Beall
Emeritus Professor and Distinguished Research Fellow LSE cities

Ricky Burdett
Professor of Urban Studies; Director, LSE Cities

Laura Dawson
Consultant, Trustee and Non-exec Director

Philipp Rode
Associate Professorial Research Fellow; Executive Director, LSE Cities

Nicholas Stern (Chair)
IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government, LSE; Chair, Grantham Research Institute

Andrés Velasco
Dean, School of Public Policy, LSE

Management Group

Gabriel-Ahlfeldt

Gabriel Ahlfeldt

Professor of Urban Economics and Land Development
Development, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

 

GharadBryan

Gharad Bryan

Lecturer in Economics, Department of Economics, LSE
Cities Research Programme Co-Director, International Growth Centre, LSE
Associate, Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD), LSE

g.t.bryan@lse.ac.uk

 

Ricky Burdett

Ricky Burdett

Director, LSE Cities
Professor of Urban Studies, LSE
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk
@BURDETTR

 

Nigel-Dodd

Nigel Dodd

Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE
Professor of Sociology, LSE

n.b.dodd@lse.ac.uk

 

Sam-Fankhauser

Samuel Fankhauser

Visiting Professor and former Director, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change

Professor of Climate Change Economics and Policy, University of Oxford

s.fankhauser@lse.ac.uk

 

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Nuno Ferreira da Cruz

Assistant Professorial Research Fellow, LSE Cities

n.m.ferreira-da-cruz@lse.ac
@NFdaCruz

 

Suzanne Hall

Suzanne Hall

Co-Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, LSE

s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk
@SuzanneHall12

 

Henderson-Vernon

Vernon Henderson

School Professor of Economic Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

 

JonathanLeape

Jonathan Leape

Associate Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, LSE
Executive Director, International Growth Centre, LSE

j.leape@lse.ac.uk

 

David-Madden

David Madden

Co-Director, Cities Programme
Associate Professor in Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

 

Anne-Power

Anne Power

Emeritus Professor of Social Policy, Department of Social Policy, LSE
Head, LSE Housing & Communities, LSE

anne.power@lse.ac.uk

 

Philipp Rode

Philipp Rode

Executive Director, LSE Cities
Associate Professorial Research Fellow, LSE
Co-Director, Executive MSc in Cities, LSE
p.rode@lse.ac.uk
@PhilippRode

 

Mike-Savage

Mike Savage

Martin White Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

 

profile-photo_kscanlon

Kath Scanlon

Distinguished Policy Fellow, LSE London, LSE
Deputy Director, LSE London

k.j.scanlon@lse.ac.uk

 

Fran Tonkiss

Fran Tonkiss

Head of Department, Department of Sociology, LSE
Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, LSE

f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Tony-Travers_web

Tony Travers

Associate Dean of the School of Public Policy
Director, LSE London
Professor in Practice, Department of Government, LSE

a.travers@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Savvas Verdis

Savvas Verdis

Senior Research Fellow,  LSE Cities
Deputy Director of the Executive MSc in Cities

s.verdis@lse.ac.uk
@SavvasVerdis 

 

Austin Zeiderman

Austin Zeiderman

Associate Professor of Urban Geography, Department of Geography and Environment, LSE

a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk