PeopleBanner1

People

Teaching faculty

2017-18

Permanent academic staff

Alvandi3

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
Iran; Modern Middle East; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk



Ashton

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

Other titles:
AHRC Review Co-Ordinator

Research interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk



Professor Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other titles:
MSc Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7849 4975
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk



Dr Antony Best

Dr Antony Best
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Coordinator of BA/BSc Dissertations (HY300)

Research interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk



Dr Megan Black

Dr Megan Black
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Cumberland Lodge Weekent Event Organiser

Research interests:
US and the World; Environmental History; Political Economy; Nineteenth and Twentieth Century US History

Room: SAR.3.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7906
Email: m.a.black@lse.ac.uk



casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2017-2018*

Research interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7543
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk



Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2017-2018*

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5401
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk



Professor Janet Hartley

Professor Janet Hartley
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave until September 2019*

Research Interests:
18th- and 19th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.M.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7119
Email: j.m.hartley@lse.ac.uk



hochstrasser

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7092
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk



jones

Dr Heather Jones
Associate Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2017-2018*

Research interests:
First World War; History of Prisoner of War Treatment; Weimar Germany; Irish Politics

Room: SAR.3.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7724
Email: h.s.jones@lse.ac.uk



matthewjones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Head of Department

Research interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3791
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk



keenan

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor

Other titles: 
Coordinator of Teaching and Learning; ASC Review Coordinator; Student Survey Coordinator

Research interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6654
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk



Lewis

Dr Joanna Lewis
Associate Professor
*on research leave 2017-2018*

Research interests:
Modern African History

Room: SAR.3.03
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7924
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk



Professor Piers Ludlow

Professor N. Piers Ludlow
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Deputy Head of Department and Director of Teaching Programmes

Research interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk



Motadel

Dr David Motadel
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Coordinator of MSc Dissertations (HY498/9)

Research interests:
Modern Europe; Europe’s Relations with the Wider World

Room: SAR.3.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7112
Email: d.motadel@lse.ac.uk



Dr Ronald C. Po

Dr Ronald C. Po
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research interests:
History of China; Maritime Studies; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: SAR.2.18
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5378
Email: c.y.po@lse.ac.uk



Prazmowska

Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History
*on research leave 2017-2018*

Research interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk



rajak

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Senior Fellow, LSE IDEAS Centre; Masters Tutor

Research interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: SAR.3.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6404
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk



Scanlan

Dr Padraic X. Scanlan
Assistant Professor
*on reseach leave until Summer Term 2018*

Research interests:
British Empire; Slavery and Emancipation; Bureaucracy; Economic Life

Room: SAR.3.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5075
Email: p.x.scanlan@lse.ac.uk



SchulzeA

Dr Kirsten E. Schulze
Associate Professor

Research interests:
Arab-Israeli Conflict; Indonesian History; Militant Islam; Ethnic and Communal Conflict; Insurgency and Counter-Insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.2.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk



sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman
Associate Professor

Other titles:
LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director; Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Chair

Research interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk



Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programme Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Premodern India and the Islamic Heartlands; the Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Modern Colonialism

Room: SAR.2.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6025
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk



Spohr

Dr Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Associate Professor
*on research leave 2017-2018*

Research interests:
Germany after 1945; Cold War Summitry; the Global Ending of the Cold War; Theory and Practice of Contemporary History

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk



stevenson

Professor David Stevenson
Stevenson Professor of International History

Other titles:
Research Committee Chair; REF Coordinator

Research interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: SAR.3.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7115
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk



stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2017-2018*

Research interests:
Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Intellectual and Cultural History

Room: SAR.2.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6039
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk



umoren

Dr Imaobong Umoren
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Programme Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Race and Gender in the Caribbean; 19th and 20th Century Wider African Diaspora

Room: SAR.3.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 4974
Email: i.umoren@lse.ac.uk



Zubok1

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other titles:
PhD Programme Director

Research interests:
Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5370
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

Teaching fellows and visiting staff

Bauerkamper

Professor Arnd Bauerkämper
Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor

Research interests:
19th and 20th c. Civil Society in Europe, Interwar Fascism in Europe, Post-1945 Germany Social and Cultural History, Post-1945 British-German Relations, World War II and Holocaust in post-1945 Europe

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5107
Email: a.bauerkaemper@lse.ac.uk



Brier

Dr Robert Brier
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Cold War, Human Rights, East-West Relations, Central and Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: r.brier@lse.ac.uk



hogan

Dr Jack Hogan
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Precolonial and Early Colonial African History, Central and Southern Africa

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: J.Hogan2@lse.ac.uk



Kibita

Dr Nataliya Kibita
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Soviet Union, 20th Century Ukraine, History of Soviet Institutions, Soviet Economic History, Cold War

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: n.kibita@lse.ac.uk



Mason

Dr Andrea Mason
LSE Teaching Fellow
*on leave until Lent Term 2018*

Research interests:
British Foreign Policy; Poland; Eastern Europe; Wartime Exile Governments; Cold War; Post-World War II Refugee Crisis

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.g.mason@lse.ac.uk



Mulich

Dr Jeppe Mulich
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Comparative Empires; Global History; Law and Colonialism

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: j.mulich@lse.ac.uk



Dr Andreas Rose

Dr Andreas Rose
Konrad Adenauer Stiftung Fellow in Modern European History

Research Interests:
19th and 20th C. European Political, Cultural and Military History; International Relations; Intellectual History; Media, Public and Politics

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5107
Email
: a.rose2@lse.ac.uk



Strieff

Dr Daniel Strieff
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
History of U.S. Foreign Relations; Arab-Israeli Dispute; Modern Middle East; Journalism History; Transnational American History; Post-1945 U.S.

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: d.p.strieff@lse.ac.uk

Graduate teaching assistants and guest teachers

Abraham

Dr Philip Abraham
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: SAR.2.08
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6121
Email
: p.abraham@lse.ac.uk



LSELogo

Dr Sara al-Qaiwani
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.2.08
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6121
Email:
TBA



carrington

Ms Grace Carrington
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.2.06
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6366
Email
: g.carrington@lse.ac.uk



LSELogo

Dr Rosalind Coffey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.2.06
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6366
Email
: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk



Collins

Dr John Collins
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace, 1914-2003

Room: Tower 3.9.01B
Email
: j.collins@lse.ac.uk



Fried

Dr Marvin Fried
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY226 - The Great War, 1914-1918

Room: SAR.2.06
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6366
Email
: m.b.fried@lse.ac.uk



gohel

Dr Sajjan Gohel
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY435 - Political Islam: From Ibn Taymiyya to ISIS

Room: SAR.2.12
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email
: s.m.gohel@lse.ac.uk



Graglia

Dr Giovanni Graglia
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International History since 1890
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace, 1914-2003

Room: SAR.2.05
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6716
Email
: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk



LSELogo

Mr Seung Mo Kang
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Room: SAR.2.05
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6716
Email:
s.kang7@lse.ac.uk



keating

Dr Jennifer Keating
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY221 - The History of Russia, 1682-1825

Room: SAR.2.06
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6366
Email
: j.m.keating@lse.ac.uk



LSELogo

Mr William King
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Room: SAR.2.08
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6121
Email
: w.king1@lse.ac.uk



LSELogo

Dr Konstantina Maragkou
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: SAR.1.03G
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 5006
Email
: k.maragkou@lse.ac.uk



LSELogo

Dr Corina Mavrodin
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890
HY206 - The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Room: SAR.2.05
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6716
Email
: c.mavrodin@lse.ac.uk



milani

Dr Tommaso Milani
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890
HY238 - The Cold War and European Integration, 1947-1992

Room: SAR.2.08
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6121
Email
: t.milani@lse.ac.uk



Moesch

Dr Sophia Mösch
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: SAR.1.03G
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 5006
Email
: s.c.moesch@lse.ac.uk



 Mulvey

Dr Paul Mulvey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY226 - The Great War, 1914-1918
HY240 - From Empire to Commonwealth: War, Race and Imperialism in British History, 1780 to 1979

Room: SAR.1.03G
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 5006
Email
: p.m.mulvey@lse.ac.uk



LSELogo

Ms Marina Pérez de Marcos
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International History since 1890
HY238 - The Cold War and European Integration, 1947-1992

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email
: m.perez-de-arcos@lse.ac.uk



riding

Mr Tim Riding
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email
: t.riding@lse.ac.uk



scarborough

Mr Isaac Scarborough
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY242 - The Soviet Union: Domestic, International and Intellectual History

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email
: i.scarborough@lse.ac.uk



stewart

Dr Ian Stewart
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email:
i.b.stewart@lse.ac.uk



dijk

Mr Boyd van Dijk
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.M.15
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6861
Email
: TBA



van Ommen

Ms Eline van Ommen
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: SAR.2.06
Tel:
+44 (0)20 7955 6366
Email
: e.van-ommen@lse.ac.uk