People

People

Teaching faculty

2019/20

Permanent academic staff

Alvandi3

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor

Research interests:
Iran; Modern Middle East; Cold War

Other titles:
LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director; Co-cordinator of LSE-Columbia University Double Degree Dissertations (HY458); Director of the LSE IDEAS Cold War Studies Project.

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk



Ashton

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2019/20*

Research interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk



Professor Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Coordinator of MSc Dissertations (HY498/HY499)

Research interests:
Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7849 4975
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk



Dr Antony Best

Dr Antony Best
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Tutor

Research interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk



Dr Megan Black

Dr Megan Black
Assistant Professor
*U.S. Foreign Policy and International Security Fellow at the John Sloan Dickey Centre for International Understanding, Dartmouth College, 2019/20*

Research interests:
US and the World; Environmental History; Political Economy; Nineteenth and Twentieth Century US History

Room: SAR.3.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7906
Email: m.a.black@lse.ac.uk



Anna Cant

Dr Anna Cant
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Programmes Admissions Advisor; Co-cordinator of LSE-Columbia University Double Degree Dissertations (HY458);

Research interests:
Mass communication; Modern Latin American History; Rural Development

Room: SAR.3.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7724
Email: a.cant1@lse.ac.uk



casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Coordinator of BA/BSc Dissertations (HY300)

Research interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7543
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk



Gusejnova

Dr Dina Gusejnova
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Coordinator of International Partnerships

Research Interests:
Modern European History; Intellectual and Cultural History; History and Social Theory

Room: SAR.M.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7119
Email: TBC



Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor

Other titles:
PhD Programme Director and Admissions Advisor

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5401
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk



hochstrasser

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7092
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk



matthewjones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Head of Department

Research interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3791
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk



keenan

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor

Other titles: 
Coordinator of Teaching and Learning; Student Survey Coordinator

Research interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6654
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk



Lewis1

Dr Joanna Lewis
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Modern African History

Room: SAR.3.03
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7924
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk



Professor Piers Ludlow

Professor N. Piers Ludlow
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2019/20*

Research interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration; Cold War Transatlantic Relations; Britain in the EC/EU

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk



Motadel

Dr David Motadel
Associate Professor
*on research leave 2019/20*

Research interests:
Modern Europe; Europe’s Relations with the Wider World

Room: SAR.3.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7112
Email: d.motadel@lse.ac.uk



Ronald C. Po

Dr Ronald C. Po
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research interests:
History of China; Maritime Studies; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: SAR.2.18
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5378
Email: c.y.po@lse.ac.uk



Prazmowska

Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Deputy Head of Department

Research interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk



Dr Svetozar Rajak

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor
*on sabbatical leave 2019/20*

Other titles:
Senior Fellow, LSE IDEAS Centre

Research interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: SAR.3.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6404
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk



SchulzeA

Dr Kirsten E. Schulze
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Arab-Israeli Conflict; Indonesian History; Militant Islam; Ethnic and Communal Conflict; Insurgency and Counter-Insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.2.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7105
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk



sherman

Dr Taylor C. Sherman
Associate Professor

Other titles:
MSc Empires, Colonialism and Globalisation
Programme Director; Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Chair; TEF Coordinator

Research interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk



Sood

Dr Gagan D. S. Sood
Assistant Professor

Research interests:
The Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Colonialism in the Middle East and South Asia

Room: SAR.2.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6025
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk



Spohr

Dr Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Associate Professor
*Helmut Schmidt Distinguished Chair at Johns Hopkins SAIS, 2019/20*

Research interests:
Germany after 1945; Cold War Summitry; the Global Ending of the Cold War; Theory and Practice of Contemporary History

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk



stevenson

Professor David Stevenson
Stevenson Professor of International History

Other titles:
Research Committee Chair; REF Coordinator

Research interests:
Modern European international Relations; First World War

Room: SAR.3.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7115
Email: d.stevenson@lse.ac.uk



stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
Intellectual and Cultural History; Long Eighteenth Century; Britain; Idea of Europe; Spatial History; History of Cartography; Travel and Tourism

Room: SAR.2.15
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6039
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk



Dr Imaobong Umoren

Dr Imaobong Umoren
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Cumberland Lodge Weekent Event Organiser; Student Experience Enhancement Coordinator

Research interests:
Race and Gender in the Caribbean; 19th and 20th Century Wider African Diaspora

Room: SAR.3.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 4974
Email: i.umoren@lse.ac.uk



Zubok1

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2019/20*

Research interests:
Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5370
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

Teaching fellows and visiting staff

Laura Almagor

Dr Laura Almagor
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Jewish Political History; Nationalism Studies; Religion and Politics

Room: SAR.3.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7112
Email: l.m.almagor@lse.ac.uk



Una Bergmane

Dr Una Bergmane
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Cold War; Soviet Union; US foreign policy; Baltic states; Transnational Memory

Room: SAR.2.17
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7103
Email: u.bergmane@lse.ac.uk



Ellis

Dr Thomas Ellis
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
US Foreign Policy; US-Russian Relations; Cold War; Aerospace History; Cultural History; Utopianism

Room: TBC
Tel: TBC
Email: t.ellis@lse.ac.uk



herbert

Professor Ulrich Herbert
2019/20 Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor

Research interests:
20th Century German and European History; Nazi Dictatorship and Holocaust; Migration History

Room: TBC
Tel: TBC
Email: TBC



Raghav Kishore

Dr Raghav Kishore
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Modern South Asian History; Histories of Empire; Colonial Urbanism; Health and Environmental Histories; Planning Histories

Room: SAR.M.13
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7789
Email: r.kishore@lse.ac.uk



lieven

Professor Dominic Lieven
Visiting Professor and Chair of The Paulsen Programme at LSE

Research interests:
Russian History

Room: SAR.1.03G
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5006
Email: TBC



Mason

Dr Andrea Mason
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
British Foreign Policy; Poland; Eastern Europe; Wartime Exile Governments; Cold War; Post-World War II Refugee Crisis

Room: SAR.M.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7601
Email: a.g.mason@lse.ac.uk



millwood

Dr Pete Millwood
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Chinese International History; Transnational History; US-China Relations; Cold War

Room: SAR.3.14
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7923
Email: p.millwood@lse.ac.uk



Panreck

Dr Isabelle-Christine Panreck
Konrad Adenauer Stiftung Fellow in Modern European History

Research interests:
History of Knowledge/Intellectual History; War and Peace; Populism and Democratic Theory

Room: TBC
Tel: TBC
Email: i.christine-panreck@lse.ac.uk



Webber

Dr Oscar Webber
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Environmental History; Caribbean History; The British Empire; Nature-Induced Disasters

Room: TBC
Tel: TBC
Email: TBC

Graduate teaching assistants and guest teachers

 

Coming soon