Michaelmas term 2014 Issue

If this email is not displayed correctly, please click here.

Full Calendar of Events Follow us on Twitter @LSEPhilosophy



The London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE
United Kingdom


Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method:


Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science: PhilCent@lse.ac.uk

Forum for European Philosophy: Philosophy-Forum@lse.ac.uk

Mailing Lists: You can join the Forum’s mailing list here. To join the Centre’s mailing list write to PhilCent@lse.ac.ukTo join the department’s mailing list please write to T.A.Hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk

To join the Sigma Club mailing list write to R.P.Frigg@lse.ac.uk

To join the Choice Group mailing list write to A.Marcoci@lse.ac.uk

To join the Managing Severe Uncertainty mailing list write


CPNSS welcomes its new visitors: Torbjørn Gundersen, Hlynur Orri Stefánsson, Na Wang, Francesco Webster de Luca, John Wigglesworth, Adrian Wuethrich and Romina Zuppone.

It renews its welcome to its continuing and returning visitors: Bruce Caldwell, Conrad Heilmann, Ben Ferguson, Roberto Fumagalli, Stephan Guettinger, Hykel Hosni, Stefan Schubert, Esha Senchaudhuri and Christopher Thompson. For further information on our visitors please see here.


The Department would like to congratulate Jonathan Birch and Anna Mahtani on their appointments as new Assistant Professors.

Events this Term

The CPNSS would like to invite attendees and
submissions for the 
Scientific Discovery in the Social Sciences
workshop, on
Friday 30th – Saturday 31st January 2015, LAK 2.06.

Submissions are invited from a range of disciplines
including the behavioural and social sciences, computer science,
philosophy and statistics. Papers and posters covering all relevant techniques and approaches within this broad area are welcome. Deadline for submission of abstracts of up to 500 words: 1 October 2014, to be emailed to:


Prof. Jason Alexander (LSE): Inaugural Professorial lecture,
speaking on Game Theory and the Evolution of Language. Wednesday 15th October, 5:30pm, LAK2.06. Choice Group seminars.

The Forum for European Philosophy would like to
invite you to the following event: Cass Sunstein (Harvard Law
School) and Tali Sharot (University College London & FEP) will discuss ‘Rationality and Irrationality in Government‘,
Thursday 16th October, 6:30 – 8pm in the Sheikh Zayed Theatre, New Academic Building.

Forum for European Philosophy lecture series.

The Philosophy Department would like to announce the Lakatos Award lecture events to take place on Tuesday 21st October and on Wednesday 22nd October.

The Lakatos Award Conference on Philosophy of Physics, 21st October in LAK 2.06, with talks by Gordon Belot (Michigan), Eleanor Knox (KCL), Laura Ruetsche (Michigan), Nicholas Teh (Cambridge/Notre Dame) and David Wallace (Oxford). Conference webpage.

Laura Ruetsche (Michigan): Developing the Scientific Image: The Quantum Darkroom, and David Wallace (Oxford): The Emergent Multiverse, Wednesday 22 October, 6:30-8pm, Hong Kong Theatre, Clement House. A reception will follow in the Senior Common Room, 5th floor Old Building.

Kazia Rezner (York): Causality in the modern approach to foundations of quantum field theory. Monday 27 October, 5.15-6.45pm, LAK.206. Sigma Club seminar series.

Bryan W. Roberts (LSE): Curie’s hazard: From electromagnetism to symmetry violation. Monday 24 November, 5:15-6:45pm, LAK 2.06. BSPS talks.

Catherine Elgin (Harvard): Fallibilism. Tuesday 9 December, 2-4pm, LAK.206. Popper Seminar series.


The new CPNSS office hours are 10:15am – 2:15pm, Monday through to
The new Dept office hours are 2:30pm – 5pm, Monday through to Friday.