Studying LSE

Current research students

 List of students conducting research at the Department of Anthropology

A-E

Ajibade, Kat (in the field)
Area of interest: Senegal
Anthropology of Catholicism, African Catholicism, Catholic inculturation and vocation
K.Ajibade@lse.ac.uk

Alcalde, Miguel (post- field)
Area of interest: Urban Croatia
Interests: Cognition and culture; Christianity, healing; subjective experience; the self.
M.L.Alcalde@lse.ac.uk 

Bahceci, Sergen (post-field)
Area of interest: Northern Cyprus
Interests: Violence, subjectivity, sovereignty
S.Bahceci@lse.ac.uk

Bazambanza, Caroline (pre-field)
Area of interest: London
Interests: reproductive health, motherhood and race
C.K.Bazambanza@lse.ac.uk

Bhogal, Kiran (post-field)
Area of interest: UK
Interests: Ritual theory; publicity; religious radicalisation and education; Sikh faith
J.K.Bhogal@lse.ac.uk

Cabana-Alvear, Gabriela (post-field)
Area of interest: Chile
Interests: bureaucracy; policy-making; energy; natural resources
G.R.Cabana-Alvear@lse.ac.uk

Cottrell, Hannah (post-field)
Area of Interest: Japan
Interests: Childhood; Anthropology of aspiration; Education policy; Gender and globalisation 
H.Cottrell@lse.ac.uk

del Gallo, Marco (pre-field)
Area of interest: Indonesia
Interests: Urban Ecology, political anthropology, infrastructure, social justice
M.del-Gallo@lse.ac.uk

Dillabough-Lefebvre, Dominique (in the field)
Area of interest: Burma/Myanmar
Interests: Environmental anthropology, political and economic anthropology, agrarian transitions
D.Dillabough-Lefebvre@lse.ac.uk

Donnelly, Meghan Rose (post-field)
Area of interest: Indonesia
Interests: Catholic nuns; performance ethnography; pluralism
M.Donnelly4@lse.ac.uk

Doherty, Jonathan (post-field)
Area of interest: Bali, Indonesia
Interests: Animism and magic; cosmologies; ritual theory
J.V.Doherty@lse.ac.uk

Doi, Hikaru (pre-field)
Area of interest: Okinawa, Japan
Interests: Anthropology of death, human bones, ancestors, care, ontology and cosmology
H.Doi@lse.ac.uk 

F-J

Faure, Agathe (post-field)
Area of interest: Colombia
Interests: Indigenous forced displacement; anthropology of mobility and urban anthropology; time/space and social/political reconstruction
A.Faure@lse.ac.uk

Figueroa-De-La-Ossa, Giselle (pre-field)
Area of interest: UK and Colombia
Interests: gold mining, financial markets, political economy of accumulation and speculation
G.Figueroa-De-La-Ossa@lse.ac.uk

Flatau, Sasha (post-field)
Area of interest: Colombian Amazon
Interests: Anthropology of Amazonia, Anthropology of Childhood, Justice, Morality
S.C.Flatau@lse.ac.uk

Garcia-Briceno, Luis (post-field)
Area of interest: Venezuelan Amazonia
Interests: Anthropology of Amazonia, Amerindian Christianities, lines/paths, music, rhythms and repetition.
L.Garcia-Briceno@lse.ac.uk 

Gheewala Lohiya, Anishka (post-field)
Area of Interest; India, Gujarat and the UK
Interests: Anthropology of Religion,  India, Hinduism, Prayer
A.Gheewala-Lohiya@lse.ac.uk

Giattino, Angela (post-field)
Area of interest: Peruvian Amazon
Interest: Higher indigenous intercultural education; Amazonian youth; educational inequality; subjectivity and cognition
A.Giattino@lse.ac.uk

Gonzalez Rosas, Arturo (post-field)
Area of interest: Peruvian, Colombian and Brazilian tri-border region in Amazonia
Interests: Social movements; Indigenous identity; State-making
A.Gonzalez-Rosas@lse.ac.uk 

Jaede, Riccardo (post-field)
Area of interest: West Bengal, India
Interests: Anthropology of ethics; urban anthropology
R.Jaede@lse.ac.uk

Jivraj, Naseem (post-field) 
Area of interest: UK
Interests: Migrant South Asian women, transnational family breakdown, UK asylum process, legal, social and emotional precarity, mental health, domestic abuse, Psychological Anthropology and Anthropology of Personhood 
N.N.Jivraj@lse.ac.uk

K-R

Kong, Pengyin (post-field)
Area of interest: China, Tibet
Interests: Infrastructure; labor; ethnic identity
P.Kong@lse.ac.uk 

Lai, Fred (pre-field)
Area of interest: China
Interests: Dementia, kinship, politics and ethics of care
H.Lai5@lse.ac.uk

Lamare, Gertrude (in the field)
Area of interest; India and Bangladesh
Interests: Colonial infrastructure, ruins, roads and markets
G.D.Lamare@lse.ac.uk

Li, Dan (in the field)
Area of interest: China
Interests: informal economy; technology; market
D.Li34@lse.ac.uk

Madden, Rhys (in the field)
Area of interest: Guyana, Mauritius
Interests: Ambivalence, uncertainty and doubt; Indian indenture; flooding; material culture 
R.A.Madden@lse.ac.uk

McMahon, Tierra (in the field) 
Area of Interest: Morocco
Interests: Sacrifice, sport, street art, mutuality and negotiations of modernity
T.McMahon@lse.ac.uk

Milano, Annaliese (post-field)
Area of interest: UK/US
Interests: cryptocurrencies, blockchain technology and open source software; value, digital labor and capitalism; digital ethnography
A.Milano@lse.ac.uk

Osborn, Nick (in the field)
Area of interest: Guatemala
Interests: christianity; ethics; memory and migration, anthropology of plantations
N.Osborn@lse.ac.uk 

Rose, Rahul (in the field)
Area of interest: Northern India
Interests: the anthropology of attention; political economy; social media 
R.Rose1@lse.ac.uk

Ruzol, Clarissa (pre-field)
Area of interest: Philippines
Interests: pragmatic knowledge; dam and development; Chinese funding
C.D.Ruzol@lse.ac.uk

S-Z

Sandoval Marmolejo, Ignacio (post-field)
Area of interest: Chile
Interests: State-making; political practices; social classes 
I.Sandoval-Marmolejo@lse.ac.uk 

Shehata, Eman  (in the field)
Area of interest: France
Interests: professional training; work; affect theory 
E.Shehata@lse.ac.uk

Stahl, Laura  (in the field)
Area of interest: China, Taiwan
Interests: Economic subjectivity, information technology, artificial intelligence, software, entrepreneurship, innovation, creativity
L.A.Stahl@lse.ac.uk

Tengprawat, Thanakrit (post-field)
Area of interest: Thailand
Interests: Cultural Heritage; Thai State and its Local Politics; Globalization; Kinship; Cosmopolitanism; Kui Ethnic
T.Tengprawat@lse.ac.uk

Watt, Connor (post-field)
Area of interest: North East Scotland
Interests: oil, work, time
C.J.Watt1@lse.ac.uk

Whittle, Catherine (in the field)
Area of interest: UK
Interests: Extinction Rebellion; climate crisis; existential fear; religion and spirituality
C.A.Whittle@lse.ac.uk

Wilby, Sam (post-field)
Area of interest: South Asia
Interests: Agrarian change, swidden cultivation, ritual, sacrifice, value, scale, and inequality
S.R.Wilby@lse.ac.uk

Zhou, Yufei (post-field)
Area of interest: Tibetan areas in China
Interests: Ethics; human-animal relations; ethnicity; ontology and cosmology; value; pastoralism; consumerism; dogs
Y.Zhou43@lse.ac.uk

Zhu, Tongyue (pre-field)
Area of interest: China
Interests: scarcity and insecurity, presence and absence, good life, refrigerator
T.Zhu7@lse.ac.uk