mural for people page

People


LSE Anthropologists are passionate about teaching and strive to maintain a warm and welcoming atmosphere in our department

Academic staff

Catherine Allerton

Dr Catherine Allerton  
Eastern Indonesia, East Malaysia; place and landscape, houses, kinship and marriage, childhood and youth, migration.
c.l.allerton@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.13

Rita Astuti

Professor Rita Astuti
[Director, PhD Academy]
Madagascar; kinship, gender, anthropology of death, cognitive development and cultural transmission; ethnographic and experimental research methods. 
r.astuti@lse.ac.uk 

Mukulika-head-shot

Dr Mukulika Banerjee
South Asia; Pakistan and India; political anthropology; election cultures, popular perceptions and democracy; citizenship and ritual; state and civil society; anthro-political histories of South Asia; Islam and Muslim societies; fashion, public culture and modernity; contemporary identity and life histories.
m.banerjee@lse.ac.uk 
OLD 5.09

Karin Barber 200x200

Professor Karin Barber [Centennial Professor]
Yoruba, Western Nigeria: Anthropology of texts, performance, popular culture, Yoruba language, print culture, oral genres, religion
k.barber1@lse.ac.uk

LB Profile 072019

Professor Laura Bear
[Head of Department]
South Asia; anthropologies of the economy; state; infrastructures, time.
l.bear@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.07

female silhouette

Dr Fenella Cannell
Lowland Philippines, United States; anthropology of Christianity, healing and mediumship, gender, Mormonism and kinship.
f.cannell@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6494
OLD 5.07

Clara Devlieger 200x200

Dr Clara Devlieger
Democratic Republic of Congo, Central Africa, disability, rights and responsibilities, identity and difference, distribution and welfare, personhood, humour, moralities and judgement, urban anthropology, borders, uncertainty
c.devlieger@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.08

Yazan Doughan profile

Dr Yazan Doughan
Jordan; the Middle East; corruption; social movements; social justice; human rights; precarity; welfare; the state; bureaucracy; law; ethical life; temporality; critique; postcoloniality; semiotics; language and culture; religion and secularism.
y.doughan@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.16

Katy Gardner 2020

Professor Katy Gardner
Bangladesh; globalisation, migration, economic change. 
k.j.gardner@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.12

James

Professor Deborah James FBA
South Africa; the UK; ethnography of advice; aspiration and indebtedness; civil society, citizenship and the state; economic anthropology; ethnomusicology; land reform and property regimes; migration and ethnicity.
d.a.james@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.06

Insa Koch

Dr Insa Koch
UK; Europe; political and legal anthropology; political economy; citizenship; state; class;  social housing; criminal justice; welfare state; politics; social reproduction; social theory.
i.l.koch@lse.ac.uk
NAB 7.17

Nicholas Long

Dr Nick Long
Indonesia and the Malay World; political change; psychological anthropology; affect; history and memory; achievement and motivation; education; the supernatural.
n.j.long@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6757
OLD 6.14

MathijsPelkmans

Professor Mathijs Pelkmans
Caucasus (Republic of Georgia), Central Asia (Kyrgyz Republic); anthropology of borders, political anthropology, anthropology of religion.
m.e.pelkmans@lse.ac.uk
OLD 5.08

Andrea Pia profile February 2019

Dr Andrea Pia 
China; law; collective action; water; common-pool resources; political economy; political ecology; development; critical agrarian studies; environmental humanities; environmental justice; prefigurative politics; rural sociology; infrastructure; digital ethnography; public anthropology; open access.
a.e.pia@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.09

MichaelScott

Dr Michael W. Scott
Oceania; Melanesia; anthropological approaches to questions of being (ontology); cosmology; religion; wonder; myth-making; indigenous Christianities; personhood, sociality, and relatedness; place-making; ethnogenesis. 
m.w.scott@lse.ac.uk
OLD 1.17

AlpaShah-Profile

Dr Alpa Shah
India and Nepal; political and economic anthropology; the state, citizenship and revolutionary struggle; indigeneity, ethnicity, caste and class; agrarian transitions and labour; inequality and poverty.
a.m.shah@lse.ac.uk

Charles Stafford

Professor Charles Stafford FBA
Pro-Director Faculty Development (PDFD) and Professor of Anthropology
China, Taiwan and the USA; learning; schooling and child development; cognitive anthropology; the relationship between learning and economic life.
c.stafford@lse.ac.uk
CBG.11.10

hans_steinmuller

Dr Hans Steinmüller
China; political and economic anthropology, moralities and ethics, irony, ritual, gambling.
j.steinmuller@lse.ac.uk
OLD 5.06A

HarryWalker

Dr Harry Walker 
Amazonia, Latin America; subjectivity, shamanism, political morality, individualism, justice, happiness, the commons.
h.l.walker@lse.ac.uk
OLD 5.06B

Gisa Weszkalnys

Dr Gisa Weszkalnys
Ethnographic study of natural resources, specifically oil in Africa; the politics of urban planning.
OLD 6.14
g.weszkalnys@lse.ac.uk

Administrative staff

General enquiries: 
anthropology.enquiries@lse.ac.uk

Assessment enquiries (current students): 
anthro.admin@lse.ac.uk

As far as possible, the administrative staff in the department operate an "open door" policy: if one of us is not here, the others will try to help. Currently we are all working remotely but will be happy to arrange a Zoom call if you wish to have a face to face meeting.  Further details can be found here

Ms Yanina Hinrichsen
Departmental Manager
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7202 
OLD 6.03

Ms Chloe Davies 
Administrative Officer (Quality Assurance and Year Abroad)
+44 (0)20 7107 5867
OLD 6.04A

Mr Tomas Hinrichsen
Administrative Officer (Research)
[Monday and Wednesday]
t.a.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6775
OLD 6.06A 

Mr James Johnston
Administrative Officer (Exams and Assessments)
j.e.johnston@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5037
OLD 6.04A 

Ms Renata Todd
Administration and Communications Officer
anthropology.enquiries@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7852 3709
OLD 6.04A

Research and LSE Fellows

Becky Bowers Profile

Dr Rebecca Bowers [LSE fellow]
India; UK; gender; informal labour; the household; inequality; precarity; Covid-19; labour migration; pragmatism.
r.e.bowers@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.17A

Gregory

Dr Grégory Deshoullière [Postdoctoral research fellow]
Amazonia, Ecuador, Latin America; linguistic and political anthropology; shamanism, witchcraft, sorcery; morality, justice, conflict; state, ethnicity and cultural heritage; writing, personhood and history; theories of social changes.
g.a.deshoulliere@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.06A

Jan David Hauk

Dr Jan David Hauck [Newton International fellow]
Lowland South America; Paraguay; hunter-gatherers; language socialization; anthropology of childhood; ethics and morality; cooperation; phenomenology; conversation analysis; narrative; language ideologies; language contact and change.
jandavidhauck(at)protonmail.com
OLD 6.06A

Leo Hopkinson

Dr Leo Hopkinson [LSE fellow]
Ghana; West Africa; Violence; Care and Intimacy; Gender and Masculinity; Sport; Place and Belonging.
l.g.hopkinson@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5064
OLD 6.11

Megan Laws 22 x 200

Dr Megan Laws [LSE fellow]
Namibia, Botswana, South Africa; informal economies and egalitarianism; communal lands, biodiversity, and climate change; trust and uncertainty; shamanism; language; digital ethnography; citizen science.
m.laws1@lse.ac.uk
OLD 1.13

William Matthews profile pic

Dr William Matthews [LSE fellow]
China; cosmology; divination; anthropology of ontology; reasoning; cognition and classification; analogy and metaphor; science and traditional cosmology; Chinese religions; Yijing (I Ching).
w.matthews1@lse.ac.uk
OLD 1.16 

Fuad Musallam 200 x 200

Dr Fuad Musallam [LSE fellow]
Middle East; Lebanon; activism; social movements; political subjectivity; migrant and precarious labour organising; time and temporality; affect and emotion; narrative and storytelling; the political imagination; space and the city; participatory archiving.
f.m.musallam@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.08

Giulio profile Feb 2021

Dr Giulio Ongaro [ESRC fellow]
Laos; upland Southeast Asia; medical anthropology; shamanism; animism; ritual efficacy; placebo effects; magic; healing; rationality; global history of medicine; history of science; cognitive science; philosophy of mind.
g.ongaro@lse.ac.uk

Christopher Webb profile cropped

Dr Christopher Webb
[Canadian Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Postdoctoral research fellow]
South Africa; labour and livelihoods; financial inclusion; cash transfers; economic geography; childhood and youth; urban im/mobilities; higher education in Africa; debt; land reform
christopherwebb123@gmail.com

Visiting staff

Harriet Evans

Professor Harriet Evans  [Visiting Professor]
Expertise details: Gender and sexuality; feminist movements of the twentieth century; political posters, visual culture and legacies of the Mao era; oral history, memory and urban neighbourhood life; localities, cultural transmission and gendered contestations of heritage.
h.evans5@lse.ac.uk

Nick Evans

Dr Nicholas Evans [Visiting fellow]
South Asia; India; Islam; leadership and hierarchy; ethics; doubt and uncertainty
n.h.evans@lse.ac.uk

Dena Freeman

Dr Dena Freeman  [Senior visiting fellow]
Globalisation; inequality; religion; development; Ethiopia
d.g.freeman@lse.ac.uk

Sandhya Fuchs

Dr Sandhya Fuchs [Visiting fellow]
Law, India, inequality, caste, embodiment, translation, human rights, antidiscrimination law, hate crime legislation, structural violence
s.i.fuchs@lse.ac.uk

Luke Heslop

Dr Luke Heslop [Visiting fellow]
South Asia; trade and mercantile kinship; infrastructure and connectivity; political economy
l.heslop@lse.ac.uk

Loretta Lou

Dr Loretta Lou [Visiting fellow]
Environment, well-being, morality and ethics, social movements, responsibility, victimhood, technologies of the self, China, Hong Kong.
l.lou@lse.ac.uk

Miriam Madsen profile pic

Dr Miriam Madsen [Visiting fellow]
Higher education, quantification, governance and administration of public education, performance indicators, budgeting, accounting.
mirm@edu.au.dk

Chloe Nahum-Claudel

Dr Chloe Nahum-Claudel [Visiting fellow]
Brazil and Papua New Guinea; indigenous diplomacy; ritual innovation; technology and livelihood; kinship; semiotics and evolution; witchcraft; torture; postcolonial and feminist theory.
c.nahum-claudel@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.06A

Doris Okenwa

Dr Doris Okenwa [Visiting fellow]
East and West Africa; political economy; African politics; development; natural resources and the extractives industry; distributive politics; inequalities; social mobility and social movements of economic inclusion; livelihoods; pastoralism and “informal” economies; visual anthropology.
d.a.okenwa@lse.ac.uk

Charlie Rumsby

Dr Charlie Rumsby [Visiting fellow]
Mainland Southeast Asia, indentity, belonging, children and youth, statelessness, visual methodologies 
c.m.rumsby@lse.ac.uk 

Zimran Samuel 2019 pic

Zimran Samuel [Visiting fellow]
Children law, mental health law, public international law
z.samuel@lse.ac.uk
z.samuel@doughtystreet.co.uk

Marina Sapritsky Nahum new profile

Dr Marina Sapritsky-Nahum [Visiting Fellow]
The former Soviet-Union; Ukraine; Jewish identity; religious revival and transformation of traditions; ethnicity; philanthropy, migration and return migration.
m.sapritsky@lse.ac.uk

Mitch Sedgwick

Dr Mitchell W Sedgwick  [Senior visiting fellow]
Japan (mainland SE Asia, France, Tex-Mex border); economic anthropology, globalisation; anthropology of organisations, multinational corporations, cross-cultural relations/ethnicity and work; minorities and marginality in Japan; disaster anthropology, post-tsunami Japan.
m.sedgwick@lse.ac.uk

Retired academic staff

MauriceBloch

Professor Maurice Bloch
Madagascar; religion and politics, cognition and culture, kinship.
m.e.bloch@lse.ac.uk

stephan-feuchtwang

Professor Stephan Feuchtwang
China and Taiwan, Germany; Chinese popular religion, the anthropology of history, life stories, family myths and responses to catastrophic loss, comparison of civilisations and empires.
s.feuchtwang@lse.ac.uk

female silhouette

Professor Jean La Fontaine
East Africa, United Kingdom; kinship, children, incest, ritual, witchcraft and Satanism.
j.la-fontaine@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7708 4496

chris-fuller

Professor Chris Fuller
South Asia; India and Hinduism, South Indian temples, religion and politics, globalisation and information technology, Tamil Brahman society and history.
c.fuller@lse.ac.uk

female silhouette

Professor Martha Mundy
Arab societies; law, agrarian systems, sociology of Islam, historical anthropology, kinship.
m.mundy@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Professor Jonathan Parry
South Asia; sociology of Hinduism, caste and other forms of inequality, industrialisation, labour and the anthropology of work.
j.p.parry@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Dr James Woodburn
Sub-Saharan Africa; hunting and gathering societies, egalitarian political systems.
james@woodburn.org.uk

Current research students

Read a detailed list of current research students.

Student Representatives 2020/21

Undergraduate Programmes

Samira Ahmed

Samira Ahmed
Anthropology and Law, 3rd year
S.Ahmed45@lse.ac.uk

Male silhouette

Dan Azam
Anthropology and Law, 3rd year
D.Azam@lse.ac.uk

 

Female silhouette

Myra Binti-Mohamad-Redza
Anthropology and Law, 3rd year 
E.M.Binti-Mohamad-Redza@lse.ac.uk


Faraz Faraz

Muhammad (Faraz)  Faraz
Social Anthropology, 3rd year
M.Faraz1@lse.ac.uk

Guilia Paxton

Giulia Paxton
Social Anthropology, 3rd year
g.a.paxton@lse.ac.uk

 

Male silhouette

Yisrael Arthur
Anthropology and Law, 2nd year
y.arthur@lse.ac.uk

 

Suhani Chaudhary

Suhani Chaudhry
Social Anthropology, 2nd year
S.Chaudhry3@lse.ac.uk

 

Female silhouette

Yinka Daniels
Anthropology and Law, 2nd year
o.m.daniels@lse.ac.uk


Kaia Sollie

Kaia Sollie
Social Anthropology, 2nd year
k.b.sollie@lse.ac.uk

 

Cherie Kwong

Cherie Kwong
Anthropology and Law, 1st year
K.Y.Kwong@lse.ac.uk

 

Male silhouette

Francisco Marques-Guedes
Social Anthropology, 1st year
F.G.Marques-Guedes@lse.ac.uk

 

Female silhouette

Alice Nicoli
Anthropology and Law, 1st year
A.Nicoli@lse.ac.uk

 

Abby Sze

Abby Sze
Social Anthropology, 1st year
N.Y.Sze@lse.ac.uk

 

Female silhouette

Zara Kahn Thirlwell
Social Anthropology, 1st year
S.K.Thirlwell@lse.ac.uk

 

 Postgraduate Taught Programmes 

Rithika Abraham

Rithika Abraham
MSc Social Anthropology
R.Abraham3@lse.ac.uk 

 

Luisa Banchoff

Luisa Banchoff
MSc Social Anthropology (Religion in the Contemporary World) 
L.C.Banchoff@lse.ac.uk

 

Ryan Cook

Ryan Cook
MSc Anthropology & Development
R.A.Cook@lse.ac.uk 

 

Calvin Edward

Calvin Edward
MSc Social Anthropology
C.B.Edward@lse.ac.uk

 

Mimi Healy

Mimi Healy 
MSc Social Anthropology
M.Healy@lse.ac.uk

 

Female silhouette

Jiarong Jiang
MSc Social Anthropology (Religion in the Contemporary World)
J.Jiang12@lse.ac.uk

 

Female silhouette

Amine Lamti 
MSc Anthropology & Development Management
A.Lamti@lse.ac.uk 

 

Amarachi Nkata

Uloma Amarachi Nkata 
MSc Anthropology & Development Management
U.A.Nkata@lse.ac.uk 

 

Maeve Pages

Maeve Pages 
MSc Anthropology & Development
M.Pages@lse.ac.uk 

 

Jingyu Shi

Jingyu Shi
MSc China in Comparative Perspective
J.Shi33@lse.ac.uk

 Postgraduate Research Programme 

Male silhouette

Riccardo Jaede
MRes/PhD (post-field)
R.Jaede@lse.ac.uk 

female silhouette

Laura Stahl
MRes/PhD (in the field)
L.A.Stahl@lse.ac.uk