Who is who 

The Hellenic Observatory is built around the Eleftherios Venizelos Chair on Contemporary Greek Studies and comprises a small team of academic staff,  researchers, visiting fellows, and research associates, who are supported by a dedicated professional services team.

 Hellenic Observatory Core Academic Staff


Featherstone Kevin 200x200

Professor Kevin Featherstone 

Head of the European Institute; Eleftherios Venizelos Professor of Contemporary Greek Studies and Professor of European Politics



Economides Spyros 200x200

Dr Spyros Economides

Director of the Hellenic Observatory; Associate Professor of International Relations and European Politics



Monastiriotis-Vasilis 200x200

Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis

Associate Professor of Political Economy

Visiting Staff

Economidou Claire

Dr Claire Economidou

Visiting Senior Fellow

Irene Martin

Dr Irene Martín Cortés

Visiting Fellow


Dr Platon Monokroussos

Visiting Professor in Practice


 Research Fellows

Nicole_Lampropoulou 200x200

Dr Nikolitsa Lampropoulou

Hellenic Bank Association Postdoctoral Research Fellow


Professional Services


Ismini Demades
Senior Manager 

Room COW 2.04
+ 44 (0) 20 7955 6066

Polly Liouta

Polly Liouta
Events & Communications Manager

Room COW 3.11
+ 44 (0) 20 7107 5326

Vyzantiadou Sofia 1

Sofia Vyzantiadou

Room COW 2.01
+ 44 (0) 20 7107 5096

 Research Associates

alogoskoufis-george cropped

Professor George Alogoskoufis

Professor of Economics, Athens University of Economics &  Business; 
Former Greek Minister of Economy and Finance, 2004-2009
Personal Page

Nicos_Christodoulakis cropped

Professor Nicos Christodoulakis

Professor of Economics, Athens University of Economics & Business;
Former Greek Minister of Economy & Finance, 2001-2004 
Personal Page

Elias_Dinenis cropped

Professor Elias Dinenis

Former Visiting Professor at the Hellenic Observatory and Former Rector of Neapolis University, Cyprus

Effie-Forkas cropped

Dr Effie Fokas

Research Fellow, Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy (ELIAMEP)
Principle Investigator, European Research Council GRASSROOTSMOBILISE project
Personal Page

Panayiotis Ioakimides cropped

Professor Panayotis C. Ioakimidis

Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science and Public Administration, University of Athens
Personal Page

Paschalis_M__Kitromilides cropped

Professor Paschalis M. Kitromilides

Professor of Political Science, Department of Political Science and Public Administration, University of Athens
Personal Page  

Eleni Louri_cropped

Professor Eleni Louri-Dendrinou

Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, Athens University of Economics and Business
Personal Page

costas meghir cropped

Professor Costas Meghir

Professor of Economics, University College London; 
Douglas A. Warner III Professor, Yale University; 
Co-Director ESRC Research Centre, Institute for Fiscal Studies
Personal Page

mitsos cropped

Professor Achilleas Mitsos

Professor of International Economic Relations, University of the Aegean, Greece

Dimitris Papadimitriou

Professor Dimitris Papadimitriou

Professor of Politics, University of Manchester; 
Director of the Manchester Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence 
Personal Page

Pagoulatos Cropped

Professor George Pagoulatos 

Professor of European Politics and Economy, Athens University of Economics and Business 
Personal Page

sotiropoulos dimitris cropped

Dr Dimitris Sotiropoulos

Associate Professor of Political Science, Department of Political Science and Public Administration, University of Athens
Personal Page

tsakloglou cropped

Professor Panos Tsakloglou

Professor of International & European Economic Studies,  Athens University of Economics & Business;
Research Fellow, Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA, Bonn)
Personal Page


Professor Dimitri Vayanos

Professor of Finance, LSE; 
Director of the Paul Woolley Centre for the Study of Capital Market Dysfunctionality
Personal Page