OBLSE

Economic Geography

Seminar Series

Research Seminars in Economic Geography take place throughout term time. They are regularly led by PhD students in Economic Geography from LSE, and occasionally play host to external speakers. The seminars take place in a hybrid format with most sessions taking place in person with hybrid delivery via Zoom.

If you are a student or staff member based at LSE you are welcome to attend seminars in person. Seminars take place on Wednesdays in 32L.G.06 and occasionally on Fridays in FAW.3.02. If you are not based at LSE, you are welcome to watch the seminar online via Zoom. 

If you wish to attend any of the below seminars, please reach out to o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Summer Term 2022

Wednesday 4 May, 4-5pm 
M. Yorga Permana (LSE)
'A Typology of Labour Agency in the Gig Economy: Experiences of ride-hailing drivers struggles in Indonesia during the Covid-19 pandemic’

Wednesday 11 May, 4-5pm
Till Meissner (LSE)

Wednesday 18 May, 4-5pm
Natalie Pruett (LSE)

Wednesday 25 May, 4-5pm
M. Adil Sait (LSE)
‘Linking mining for ‘conflict minerals’ and conflict events across Africa: A cross-country spatial empirical analysis’

Wednesday 1 June, 4-5pm
Jen-Hsuan (Paul) Yu (LSE)

Wednesday 8 June, 4-5pm
Han Wang (LSE)

Wednesday 15 June, 4-5pm
Juan Soto-Díaz.(LSE)

Wednesday 22 June, 4-5pm
Gabriele Piazza (LSE)

Lent Term 2022

Wednesday 19 January, 4-5pm 
Antonio Avila-Uribe (LSE)
'The effect of Low Emission Zones in local production: the case of German cities'

Wednesday 26 January, 4-5pm 
Sandro Provenzano (LSE)
'The Local Economic Impact of Mineral Mining in Africa: Evidence from Four Decades of Satellite Imagery'

Wednesday 2 February, 4-5pm
Martina Pardy (LSE)
'Multinationals & Innovation Concentration'

Wednesday 9 February, 4-5pm 
Capucine Riom (LSE)
'urbanization and flood risks - choice or necessity?'

Wednesday 16 February, 4-5pm
Louise Bernard (LSE)
'The impact of floods on retrospective votings during local elections in England’

Wednesday 2 March, 4-5pm 
Giulia Romani (LSE)
'Efficiency cuts: the local impact of closing undersized schools'

Wednesday 9 March, 4-5pm 
Ignacio Aravena (LSE)
'Rezoning New York: studying the impacts of publicly initiated land-use changes in the last two decades'

Wednesday 16 March, 4-5pm 
Lukas Makovsky (LSE)

Wednesday 23 March, 4-5pm
Tea Gamtkitsulashvili (LSE) and Vivian Liu (LSE)

Wednesday 30 March, 4-5pm
Jingyuan Zeng (LSE) and Shaonlee Patranabis (LSE)

Michaelmas Term 2021

Wednesday 6 October, 4pm-5.30pm 
Sachayan Bannerjee (LSE)
Job Market Presenation 
'Choice Architecture 2.0: Embedding reflection in behavioural cues to promote low carbon diets' 

Friday 8 October, 4pm-5.30pm 
Tanner Reagan (LSE)
Job Market Presenation 
'Eliciting demand for public goods from community leaders'

Wednesday 13 October, 4pm-5pm 
Pedro M. Llanos (LSE)
'Fraunhofer centres across Europe: Effects of Applied Research Institutes on Regional Innovation'

Friday 15 October, 4pm-5.30pm 
Dzhamilya Nigmatulina (LSE) 
Job Market Presenation 
'Misallocation and State Ownership. Evidence from the Russian Sanctions'

Wednesday 20 October, 4-5.30pm
Margarida Madeleno (LSE)
Job Market Presenation 
'Mortgages and marriages: evidence from redlining'

Friday 22 October, 4-5.30pm
Anshuman Tiwari (LSE)
Job Market Presenation 
'Aggregate Productivity Consequences of Crop Residue Burning in India'

Wednesday 27 October, 4pm-5pm 
Rebecca Mari (LSE)
'Incentivising Capital Development under Collateral Constraints. Do Investment Subsidies Work?'

Wednesday 10 November, 4pm-5pm 
Xiaolun Yu (LSE)
'Why Delay? Understanding the Construction Lag, AKA the Build Out Rate'

Wednesday 17 November, 4pm-5pm 
Elena Lutz (LSE)
'The local Effects of Upzoning on Housing Supply and Rents'

Wednesday 24 November, 4pm-5pm 
Augustin Boey (LSE)
'Do open networks foster high-tech growth?'

Wednesday 1 December, 4pm-5pm 
Beatriz Jambrina Canseco (LSE)
'Plant closures, unemployment and political polarization’ 

Wednesday 8 December, 4pm-5pm 
Margarida Bandeira Morais (LSE)

Lent Term 2022

Wednesday 19 January, 4-5pm 
Antonio Avila-Uribe (LSE)

Wednesday 26 January, 4-5pm 
Sandro Provenzano (LSE)

Wednesday 2 February, 4-5pm
Martina Pardy (LSE)

Wednesday 9 February, 4-5pm 
Capucine Riom (LSE)

Wednesday 16 February, 4-5pm
Louise Bernard (LSE)

Wednesday 2 March, 4-5pm 
Giulia Romani (LSE)

Wednesday 9 March, 4-5pm 
Ignacio Aravena (LSE)

Wednesday 16 March, 4-5pm 
Lukas Makovsky (LSE)

Wednesday 23 March, 4-5pm
Tea Gamtkitsulashvili (LSE) and Vivian Liu (LSE)

Wednesday 30 March, 4-5pm
Jingyuan Zeng (LSE) and Shaonlee Patranabis (LSE)

 

Summer Term 2022

Wednesday 4 May, 4-5pm 
M. Yorga Permana (LSE)

Wednesday 11 May, 4-5pm
Till Meissner (LSE)

Wednesday 18 May, 4-5pm
Natalie Pruett (LSE)

Wednesday 25 May, 4-5pm
M. Adil Sait (LSE)

Wednesday 1 June, 4-5pm
Jen-Hsuan (Paul) Yu (LSE)

Wednesday 8 June, 4-5pm
Han Wang (LSE)

Wednesday 15 June, 4-5pm
Juan Soto-Díaz.(LSE)

Wednesday 22 June, 4-5pm
Gabriele Piazza (LSE)