Economic Geography and Spatial Economics

Seminar Series

The Economic Geography and Spatial Economics seminar series brings together scholars that work at the intersection between spatial and urban economics and the more institutionally-oriented fields of economic geography.

Irrespective of the specific methodological approach, research presented in the series is anchored in a shared culture and core research values, which place strong emphasis on theoretically-informed, policy-relevant and evidence-based research.

Some of the seminars are co-hosted by the Department of Geography and Environment and the Centre for Economic Performance.

The series is organised by Dr Felipe Carozzi, Prof Riccardo Crescenzi, Dr Davide Rigo and Prof Olmo Silva. Please contact the organisers with any questions.

These research seminars are a series of expert-led discussions. Unless otherwise noted, they take place on Thursdays, 12.30pm-2pm in CKK.3.15.

If you wish to attend any of the seminars, please email geog.research@lse.ac.uk

Winter Term 2024

Thursday 8 February
Ana Varela Varela (LSE)

Thursday 15 February
Jesse Matheson (University of Sheffield)


Spring Term 2024

Thursday 2 May
Max Nathan (UCL)

Thursday 9 May
Carolin Hulke (LSE)

Thursday 16 May
Elena Renzullo (LSE)

 

Autumn Term 2023

Thursday 28 September
Philip McCann (University of Manchester)
'Capital Shocks in US and UK Cities and Regions'

Thursday 5 October 
Daniel Arribas-Bel (University of Liverpool)
'Decoding urban form and function in Great Britain'

Thursday 12 October
Enrico Vanino (University of Sheffield)
'Renewable Energy Transition and the Local Economic Development of Lagging-behind Regions: Evidence from Offshore Wind Energy in the UK'

Thursday 19 October
Maria Savona (University of Sussex)
'Nearshoring in Europe: Implications for Employment'

Thursday 26 October
*CANCELLED*

Carolin Hulke (LSE)
'Adjust, build, collaborate: Elastic governance for social upgrading in regional value chains by the example of Namibian horticulture production'

Thursday 16 November
Roberta Rabellotti (University of Pavia)
'Taking advantage of Global Value Chains to spread green energy technologies across countries'