people-banner-2020

People

You can find contact details for everyone working in our department by clicking on the relevant heading below.

Senior Management Team

Photo of Patrick Wallis

Professor Patrick Wallis - Head of Department

Research interests: early modern European economic and social history; human capital and training, especially apprenticeship; health and medicine.

Email: p.h.wallis@lse.ac.uk


Gardner_Leigh_2020

Dr Leigh Gardner - Deputy Head for Teaching

Research interests: Africa; economic development; institutions; local government; monetary policy; public finance.

Email: l.a.gardner@lse.ac.uk


Horrell_Sara_2020

Professor Sara Horrell - Deputy Head for Research

Research interests: Gender, Labour, Living standards. Modern British and European economic history

Email: s.h.horrell@lse.ac.uk


Jennie Stayner

Jennie Stayner - Department Manager

Email: j.c.stayner@lse.ac.uk

 


Faculty, Fellows and Teachers

Accominotti_Olivier_2020

Professor Olivier Accominotti 

Associate Professor, Economic History

Research interests: 19th and 20th century monetary and financial history; international financial instability during the Great Depression; financial crises and contagion.

Email: o.accominotti@lse.ac.uk

 


Dudley_Baines

Mr Dudley Baines

Emeritus Reader in Economic History

Research interests: 19th and 20th century European demographic history; international and internal migration; development of the international economy; development of British labour market in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Email: d.e.baines@lse.ac.uk


GBakker

Dr Gerben Bakker

Associate Professor, Economic History

Research interests: creative industries, especially motion pictures, live entertainment, music, and news; the financing of early-stage R&D; the industrial origins of US productivity growth in the 20th century.

Email: g.bakker@lse.ac.uk 


Jordan_Claridge

Dr Jordan Claridge (on leave LT 2021-22)

Assistant Professor

Research interests: medieval economic history; agriculture; regional and urban history; financial markets and institutions; monetary economics; labour and consumers; government.

Email: j.claridge@lse.ac.uk


Cummins_Neil_2020

Dr Neil Cummins (on leave 2021-22)

Associate Professor, Economic History

Research interests: the origin of modern economic and demographic behaviour; fertility decline; social mobility.

Email: n.j.cummins@lse.ac.uk 


KDeng2019-crop

Professor Kent Deng 

Professor of Economic History

Research interests: China’s economic and social history, especially peasantry and literati; maritime economic history; merchants; pre-modern and early modern history; state formation.

Email: k.g.deng@lse.ac.uk 


Gardner_Leigh_2020

Dr Leigh Gardner 

Associate Professor, Economic History

Research interests: Africa; economic development; institutions; local government; monetary policy; public finance.

Email: l.a.gardner@lse.ac.uk


Ian Gazeley

Professor Ian Gazeley

Professor in Economic History

Research interests: Modern British history; labour market; poverty and inequality; food consumption; nutrition.

Email: i.gazeley@lse.ac.uk 


Gibbs_Spike_2020

Dr Alex 'Spike' Gibbs

LSE Fellow

Research interests: rural history, medieval history, legal history, power relations and social structures.

Email: a.s.gibbs@lse.ac.uk


Horrell_Sara_2020

Professor Sara Horrell

Professor in Economic History

Research interests: Gender, Labour, Living standards. Modern British and European economic history.

Other titles: Deputy Head of Department (Research), PHD Tutor)

Email: s.h.horrell@lse.ac.uk


JHumphries-crop

Professor Jane Humphries

Centennial Professor

Research Interests: Labour markets, industrialization, links between the family and the economy, gender, the family, the history of women's work, causes and consequences of economic growth and structural change.

Email: j.humphries@lse.ac.uk


JHunter

Professor Janet Hunter

Emeritus Professor in Economic History

Research interests: Modern Japanese history, the female labour market, the history of economic relations between Britain and Japan, development of communications, business ethics in Japan

Email: j.e.hunter@lse.ac.uk



Dr Maria Alejandra Irigoin

Dr Alejandra Irigoin

Associate Professor in Economic History

Research interests: early modern global economic and monetary history; economic history of Latin America, especially in the colonial period; comparative political economy of empire.

Other titles: Departmental Tutor

Email: m.a.irigoin@lse.ac.uk


2020_Stefania_Galli

Dr Stefania Galli

LSE Fellow

Research interests: Economic and Social Inequality, Institutions, Colonialism, Slavery, Development, Persistency, African Economic History.

Email: s.galli@lse.ac.uk


Lennard_Jason_2020

Dr Jason Lennard

Post-Doctoral Researcher

Research Interests: economic policy, financial crises and national accounting in a historical perspective

 Email: j.c.lennard@lse.ac.uk


CLewis

Professor Colin Lewis

Emeritus Professor, Economic History

Research Interests: political economy of development and state-formation, fiscal and monetary history, social policy and welfare, industrial growth and industrialisation, and Latin American business history

Email: c.m.lewis@lse.ac.uk


Minns_Chris_2020

Professor Chris Minns 

Professor of Economic History

Research interests: North American economic history; labour market history, particularly migration and education; price history.

Email: c.minns@lse.ac.uk


MMorgan

Professor Mary S Morgan

Albert O. Hirschman Professor

Research interests: economics and statistics; philosophy and history of econometrics.

Email: m.morgan@lse.ac.uk 

 


Postel_Vinay_Natacha_2020

Dr Natacha Postel-Vinay (on leave 2021-22)

Assistant Professor

Research interests: financial history of the 19th and 20th centuries; financial, banking and monetary crises, especially the Great Depression and the Great Recession; mortgage and household debt; public finance: the impact of fiscal policy on the business cycle. 

Email: n.m.postelvinay@lse.ac.uk


AORitschl

Professor Albrecht Ritschl 

Professor of Economic History

Research interests: debt crises; financial crises; historical business cycles; macroeconomic history; monetary history. Modern European history, especially Germany.

Email: a.o.ritschl@lse.ac.uk


Photo of Professor Joan Roses

Professor Joan Roses (on leave 2021-22)

Professor of Economic History

Research interests: economic geography; economic growth; economic history; housing; human capital; regional inequality. Modern European history, especially Spain.

Email: j.r.roses@lse.ac.uk 


Roy_Tirthankar2020

Professor Tirthankar Roy 

Professor of Economic History

Research Interests: History and development of South Asia, global history, empires, environmental history.

Email: t.roy@lse.ac.uk


Ruderman_Anne_2020

Dr Anne Ruderman (on leave 2021-22)

Assistant Professor

Research interests: early modern Europe and the Atlantic world; race and slavery; social and economic history.

Email: a.e.ruderman@lse.ac.uk 


Schulze_Max_2020

Professor Max Schulze 

Professor of Economic History

Research interests: 19th Century European economic history; continental European history, especially Austria; industrialization, trade, and economic development.

 Email: m.s.schulze@lse.ac.uk


Schneider_Eric_2020

Dr Eric Schneider (on leave 2021-22)

Associate Professor, Economic History

Research interests: living standards and health; real wages; children’s growth.

Email: e.b.schneider@lse.ac.uk 


Volckart_Oliver_2020

Professor Oliver Volckart

Professor of Economic History

Research interests: Economic History; New Institutional Economics; late medieval and early modern Continental European History, especially constitutional history.

Other titles: UG Programmes Director

Email: o.j.volckart@lse.ac.uk

PWallis

Professor Patrick Wallis

Professor in Economic History 

Research interests: early modern European economic and social history; human capital and training, especially apprenticeship; health and medicine.

Other titles: Head of Department

Email: p.h.wallis@lse.ac.uk


MelanieXue

Dr Melanie Meng Xue

Assistant Professor, Economic History

Research interests: political economy, gender, folklore, and early modern and modern Chinese history.


GYon-crop

Dr Guillaume Yon

LSE Fellow

Research interests: History, Philosophy and Sociology of Economics and Engineering; numbers, formulas and formalization in History of Science and Technology; History of Capitalism; Industrial History; pricing, public utilities and regulation; Science and Technology Studies.

Email: g.yon@lse.ac.uk

Guest Lecturers and Teachers

 

Peter_Cirenza

Dr Peter Cirenza

EH240 Guest Lecturer

Research interests: Migration, financial markets and institutions, and business history.

Email: p.t.cirenza@lse.ac.uk


grey_2020

Dr Mina Ishizu

EH240 Guest Teacher

Email: m.ishizu@lse.ac.uk

 

TLeunig

Dr Tim Leunig

EH101 Guest Lecturer

Research interests: Effects of new technology on productivity in Britain 1800-2000; links between learning-by-doing, labour turnover and labour productivity; effects of industrial structure on the British cotton industry; the determinants of heights in Britain; the performance of railways in Britain, 1840-2009; economic geography.

Email: t.leunig@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Graduate Teaching Assistants

grey_2020

Laura Channing

Guest GTA, EH101

 

Cuenda Garcia-crop

 Mario Cuenda Garcia

Research interests: Regional economics, inequality and development economics.

Email: m.cuenda-garcia@lse.ac.uk

grey_2020

Mina Ishizu

Email: m.ishizu@lse.ac.uk 

grey_2020

Zane Jennings

 

Liu_Ziang_2020

Ziang Liu

Research interests: Fiscal Monetisation in the Late Imperial China; State Capacity; Chinese Economic History; History of Quantification.

Email: z.liu36@lse.ac.uk

Luo_Xizi_2020

Xizi Luo

Research interests: Chinese Economic History; social mobility in China, Quantitative Economic History; Women in Imperial China.

 Emailx.luo10@lse.ac.uk

Morshed_Safya_2020

Safya Morshed

Research interests: state capacity development within Mughal India (1555-1707), Asian economic development.

Email: s.morshed@lse.ac.uk

Pugh_Sheila_2020

Sheila Pugh

 

 

Yitong 'Nora' Qiu

Research interests: Long-run Economic Growth, Consumption Pattern, Material Culture, Wealth Accumulation, Institution and Law, Global Trade.

Email: y.qiu14@lse.ac.uk


grey_2020

Juan José Rivas Moreno

Research interests: Financial & business history; accounting history; economic history of the Spanish empire; new institutional economics

Email: j.j.rivas-moreno@lse.ac.uk


grey_2020

Charles Udale

Email: c.w.udale@lse.ac.uk

 

Zhu-Ziming-2020

Ziming Zhu

Research interests:Roccupational mobility in Victorian and Edwardian England.

Email: z.zhu11@lse.ac.uk 

 

 

Visiting Academics

Olga_Christodoulakis

Dr Olga Christodoulaki

Visiting Fellow

Research interests: Monetary and Financial History; Evolution of Central Banking; Public Finance; Public Debt; Economic History. 

Email: chr_olga@otenet.gr

YoussefCassisCrop200x200

Professor Youssef Cassis

Visiting Professor

Research interests: banking and financial history, business history.

Email: y.cassis@lse.ac.uk

clark1 crop

Professor Greg Clark

Visiting Professor

Research interests: demography; long run economic growth.

Email: gclark@ucdavis.edu

Terry Gourvish

Terry Gourvish

Research interests: Business history of UK; US and Europe; especially in public sector; including privatisation; railways; infrastructure projects [Channel Tunnel]; brewing

Image of April Haynes

Dr April Haynes

Visiting Fellow

Research interests: History of women, gender, and sexuality in the early United States (1790-1860)

Email: a.haynes2@lse.ac.uk

Shigeru-Sato-200x200

Dr Shigeru Sato

Visiting Fellow

Research interests: Public finance and fiscal history, especially Japan and the UK); history of tax and social security policy in Japan and the UK.

Email: s.sato2@lse.ac.uk

Professor Andrew Seltzer

Professor Andrew Seltzer

Visiting Professor

Research interests: 19th and 20th century labour markets, impact of public policy. 

Email: a.seltzer@lse.ac.uk

Professional Support Staff

JCStayner

Jennie Stayner

Department Manager
Room: SAR 3.06
email: j.c.stayner@lse.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7857

 

 


Tracy Keefe

MSc Programmes and Special Projects Manager
Room: SAR 3.07
Email: t.j.keefe@lse.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7860 | 

Areas of responsibility include: Management of the MSc admissions process; MSc Programmes Manager (all aspects of administration excluding exams); Management of special projects within the Department



Helena Ivins

Undergraduate Administrator
Room: SAR 3.05
Email: h.ivins@lse.ac.uk
Tel:  +44 (0)20 7955 7110 

Areas of responsibility include: EH undergraduate programmes administration, website management, VLE management.



Loraine Long

PhD Administrator
Room: SAR 3.03
Email: l.long@lse.ac.uk
Tel:+44 (0)20 7955 7046  

Areas of responsibility include: PhD administration; Academic Visitor programme



Darren Townsend

Assessment and Regulations Officer
Room: SAR 3.04
Email: d.a.townsend@lse.ac.uk
Tel: tbc

Areas of responsibility include: Assessment and Regulations

PhD students

JBanerjee

Joshua Banerjee

Research interests: British economic history; macroeconomic history; time series econometrics; history of economic and econometric though. 

Email: j.banerjee@lse.ac.uk

Betteridge_Simon_2020

Samuel Betteridge

Research interests: intra-Asian trade in the 19th century, economic history of China, economic history of Southeast Asia.

Email: s.r.betteridge@lse.ac.uk

Oliver_Bush

Oliver Bush

Research interests: Financial history, financial stability, international finance, macroprudential policy, monetary economics.

Email: o.bush@lse.ac.uk 

YChen

Yuhua Chen

Email: y.chen28@lse.ac.uk

 

Cheng_Tang_2020

Chung-Tang Cheng

Research interests: History and methodology of economics, philosophy of science, sociology of scientific knowledge.

Email: c.cheng9@lse.ac.uk

Cuenda Garcia-crop

Mario Cuenda Garcia

Research interests: Regional economics, inequality and development economics.

Email: m.cuenda-garcia@lse.ac.uk

 

Photo of Deng Hanzhi, PhD student

Hanzhi Deng

Research interests: Public finance; state capacity and local governance; institutional transitions and economic development; political economy of modern and contemporary China.

Email: h.deng8@lse.ac.uk

Don-Siemion_Thea_2020

Thea Don-Semion

Research interests: Macroeconomics; financial history; the Great Depression; hyperinflations. 

Email: t.d.don-siemion@lse.ac.uk

Photo of Alex Green, PhD student

Alexander Green

Research interests: Global Commodity Markets, the energy use and industrialisation.

Email: a.j.green@lse.ac.uk

Hinrichsen_Simon_2020

Simon Hinrichsen

Research interests: Sovereign debt and defaults, open economy macroeconomics, international finance, war finance, war reparations.

Email: s.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk

Phot of Hu Sijie

Sijie (Jessie) Hu

Research interests: Chinese economic history, historical demography, economic growth and inequality over the long run.

Email: s.hu8@lse.ac.uk

Jaramillo_Juliana_2020

Juliana Jaramillo

Research interests: Latin America, social mobility, demography, social change.

Email: j.jaramillo1@lse.ac.uk

grey_2020

Zane Jennings

 

jKohler 2019

Jennifer Kohler

Research interests: African economic history; colonial history; social capital and the economic history of women’s empowerment.

Email: j.kohler@lse.ac.uk

Photo of Julius Koschnick, PhD student

Julius Koschnick

Research interests: long-run development of new knowledge and its economic impact.

Email: j.koschnick@lse.ac.uk

 

Kolosov-Mikhail-2020

Mikhail Kolosov

Email: m.kolosov@lse.ac.uk

Liu_Ziang_2020

Ziang Liu

Research interests: Fiscal Monetisation in the Late Imperial China; state capacity; Chinese economic history; history of quantification.

Email: z.liu36@lse.ac.uk

Luzardo_Luna_Ivan_2020

Ivan Luzardo-Luna

Research interests: Labour economics and quantitative economic history, financial economics, development economics and Latin America.

Email: i.luzardo-luna@lse.ac.uk

Luo_Xizi_2020

Xizi Luo

Research interests: Chinese economic History; social mobility in China, quantitative economic history; women in Imperial China.

 Email: x.luo10@lse.ac.uk

Morshed_Safya_2020

Safya Morshed

Research interests: state capacity development within Mughal India (1555-1707), Asian economic development.

Email: s.morshed@lse.ac.uk

Photo of Aurelius Noble

Aurelius Noble

Research Interests: Role of community and social capital in banking during the first globalisation.

Email: a.j.noble@lse.ac.uk

 

Victor-Perez-Sanchez-200x200

Victor Perez Sanchez

Email: v.perez-sanchez@lse.ac.uk

 

Pugh_Sheila_2020

Sheila Pugh

Email: s.m.pugh@lse.ac.uk

 

Yitong (Nora) Qiu

Research interests: Long-run economic growth, consumption pattern, material culture, wealth accumulation, institution and law, global trade.

Email: y.qiu14@lse.ac.uk

Raman_Alka_2021

Alka Raman

Research interests: First Industrial Revolution; British cotton industry; technological change; evolution of technology; global history; textile history.

Email: a.p.raman@lse.ac.uk

 

Ramazzotti_Andrea_2020

Andrea Ramazzotti

Research interests: Italian economic history; technical change; political economy; labour economics; economic geography.

Email: a.ramazzotti@lse.ac.uk

grey_2020

Juan José Rivas Moreno

Research interests: Financial & business history; accounting history; economic history of the Spanish empire; new institutional economics

Email: j.j.rivas-moreno@lse.ac.uk

Felix-Schaff-crop

Felix Schaff

Research interests: economic inequality, political economy, and applied econometrics.

Email: f.s.schaff@lse.ac.uk 

 

grey_2020

Charles Udale

c.w.udale@lse.ac.uk

 

Vicquery_Roger_2020

Roger Vicquery

Research interests: Economic history, international economics, European economic and monetary integration

Email: r.h.vicquery@lse.ac.uk

Vipond_Hilary_2020

Hillary Vipond

h.g.vipond@lse.ac.uk

Zhu-Ziming-2020

Ziming Zhu

Research interests: occupational mobility in Victorian and Edwardian England.

Email: z.zhu11@lse.ac.uk