Thandika-banner3

People

Meet our staff

 


People-TimAllen

Professor Tim Allen
Director

Email: T.Allen@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Headshot of Natasha Commissiong

Natasha Commissiong
Grants Programme Officer

Email: N.K.Commissiong@lse.ac.uk

 

 


 

profile_marthageiger

Martha Geiger
Manager, Centre for Public Authority and International Development

Email: M.Geiger@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Headshot of Stephen Johnson

Stephen Johnson
Programme Officer, Programme for African Leadership

Email: S.D.Johnson@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Headshot of Yovanka Paquete Perdigao

Yovanka Paquete Perdigao
Communications and Events Officer

Email: y.paquete-perdigao@lse.ac.uk

 


 

 

Profile Photo of Gerald Purcell

Gerald Purcell
Manager, Programme for African Leadership 

Email: G.P.Purcell@lse.ac.uk

 

 

People-SyerramiaWilloughby

Syerramia Willoughby
Communications and Events Manager
Editor, Africa at LSE blog

Email: S.Willoughby@lse.ac.uk

 


 

VISITING FELLOWS

LSE Visiting Fellow, Michael Amoah

Dr Michael Amoah
Visiting Fellow

Dr Michael Amoah specializes in African Politics, International Politics of Africa, Foreign Policy, Conflict and Security. He also has interests in International Political Economy, Development Studies and International Development. 

His publications include ‘Nationalism Globalization, and Africa’ (Palgrave Macmillan 2011) and 'A Decade of Ghana: Politics, Economy and Society 2004-2013' (Brill 2015). His forthcoming research monograph is entitled ‘The New Pan-Africanism: Globalisation and the Nation-State in Africa’ (I B Tauris 2018).

Email: M.Amoah@lse.ac.uk

 


 

 

Expert-RochelleBurgess_300x300

Dr Rochelle Burgess
Visiting Fellow

Dr Rochelle Burgess is a community health psychologist who specialises in community mobilisation in global health, with an emphasis on gender, ethnicity and power dynamics. Over the past 10 years her projects have focused community participation, gender and mental health in South Africa. Previous projects include work on HIV in Kenya, South Africa and Swaziland. Her current research interests include: the role of health systems in supporting community mobilisation; Structural violence and mental health in post-conflict settings; and transformative research methods in global health.

Email: R.A.Burgess@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Profile photo of Rebecca Tapscott

Dr Rebecca Tapscott
Visiting Fellow

Dr Rebecca Tapscott is a post-doctoral research fellow at the Albert Hirschman Centre on Democracy at the Graduate Institute in Geneva, focusing on the relationship between violence and governance in illiberal democratic regimes.

Her current project examines strategic unpredictability as a non-traditional mode of state governance in Uganda through a study of citizens’ lived experiences of (in)security. Rebecca also has extensive field experience, having worked since 2010 on projects in Benin, Cameroon, Ghana, Senegal, Niger, and Nepal, for several development non-government organizations and research projects.

Rebecca holds a PhD from the Fletcher School at Tufts University and previously worked as a researcher for the Justice and Security Research Programme at the LSE.