CARR-people-banner 1400x300

People

The Centre for Analysis of Risk and Regulation | CARR is a major interdisciplinary research group based at LSE.   

Directorate

M-Lodge-Small

Professor Martin Lodge

Director of CARR

Professor of Political Science and Public Policy | Department of Government

Comparitive regulation and public administration; Government and politics of the EU and of Germany; Railway regulation in Britain and Germany; Regulatory reform in Jamaica.

Personal Page

 

2Andrea_200x200

Dr Andrea Mennicken

Deputy Director of CARR

Associate Professor of Accounting | Department of Accounting

Global accounting and audit regulation and standardisation; Processes of professionalisation Accounting; Economic transition and social transformation in post-Soviet Russia; The sociology of calculative practices; Accounting in the public sector

Research Staff

Mr Jose Bolanos  | CARR - FSA Research Officer | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: j.bolanos@lse.ac.uk

Dr Andrei Guter-Sandu | CARR - Research Officer | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: a.guter-sandu@lse.ac.uk

Senior Research Associates

Bridget_Hutter_62x71_200x200

Professor Bridget Hutter

Professor of Risk Regulation | Department of Sociology

Regulation of economic life; Corporate responses and non-state forms of regulation

1peter_200x200

Professor Peter Miller

Professor of Management Accounting | Department of Accounting

Accounting and advanced manufacturing systems; Investment appraisal and capital budgeting; Accounting and the public sector; Social and institutional aspects of accounting.

power_200x200

Professor Mike Power 

Professor of Accounting | Department of Accounting

Role of internal and external auditing; Risk reporting and communication; Financial accounting and auditing regulation.

Research Associates

 

Professor Michael Barzelay

Professor of Public Management | Department of Management | LSE

E: m.barzelay@lse.ac.uk 

Professor Elena Becalli

Professor of Banking | Faculty of Banking, Finance and Insurance | Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore | Milan

E: elena.beccalli@unicatt.it  W: Link

Dr Matthias Benzer

Lecturer in Sociology | Department of Sociological Studies University of Sheffield

E: m.benzer@sheffield.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Daniel Beunza

Associate Professor | CASS Business School | London and Copenhagen Business School

E: daniel.beunza@city.ac.uk  

Professor Gwyn Bevan

Professor of Policy Analysis | Department of Management | LSE

E: r.g.bevan@lse.ac.uk

Professor Julia Black

Pro Director for Research and Professor of Law | Department of Law | LSE

E: j.black@lse.ac.uk 

Dr Adam Burgess

Professor of Risk Research | School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research | University of Kent

E: a.burgess@kent.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Jeremy Brice

Fellow in Economy, Risk and Society | Department of Sociology | LSE

E: j.brice@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Dr Madalina Busuioc

Associate Professor | Government and Global Affairs | University of Leiden

E: e.m.busuioc@fgga.leidenuniv.nl  W: Link

Dr Lydie Cabane

Assistant Professor | Governance and Global Affairs | University of Leiden

E: l.d.cabane@fgga.leidenuniv.nl W: Link

Dr Stefano Cascino

Associate Professor | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: s.cascino@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Dr Yasmine Chahed

Lecturer in Accounting | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: y.chahed@lse.ac.uk  W: Link

Professor Damian Chalmers

Professor of Law | National University of Singapore

E: d.chalmers@lse.ac.uk

Dr Maria Correia

Associate Professor | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: m.m.corria@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Dr David Demortain

Research Fellow | IFRIS | University of Paris-Est

E: demortain@inra-ifris.org W: Link

Dr Flavia Donadelli

Lecturer in Public Policy | School of Government | Victoria University of Wellington

E: flavia.donadelli@vuw.ac.nz W: Link

Dr John Downer

Senior Lecturer in Risk and Resilience | School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies | University of Bristol

E: john.downer@bristol.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Rebecca Elliott

Assistant Professor of Sociology | Department of Sociology | LSE 

E: r.elliott1@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Chase Foster

LSE Fellow | Department of Government

E: c.foster2@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Dr Hanan Haber 

LSE Fellow | Department of Government | LSE

E: h.y.haber@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Professor Matthew Hall

Professor of Accounting | Department of Accounting | Monash Businesss School, Monash University

E: Matthew.Hall2@monash.edu  

Dr Eva Heims

Lecturer in Public Policy | Department of Politics | University of York

E: eva.heims@york.ac.uk W: Link

Professor Michael Huber

Professor of Sociology | Faculty of Sociology | Bielefeld University

E: michael.huber@uni-bielefeld.de  

Professor Will Jennings

Professor of Political Science and Public Policy | University of Southampton

E: w.j.jennings@soton.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Silvia Jordan

Associate Professor in Accounting | Department of Accounting, Auditing and Taxation | Innsbruck University

E: silvia.jordan@uibk.ac.at  W: Link

Professor Bjorn Jorgensen

Professor of Accounting and Financial Management | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: b.n.jorgensen@lse.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Saipriya Kamath

Assistant Professor of Accounting | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: s.kamath2@lse.ac.uk  W: Link

Professor Roger King

Visiting Professor | School of Management | University of Bath

E: roking@talk21.com

Dr Mathias Koenig-Archibugi

Associate Professor of Global Politics | Department of Government | LSE

E: m.koenig-archibugi@lse.ac.uk

Dr Christel Koop

Senior Lecturer in Political Economy | Department of Political Economy | King's College London

E: christel.koop@kcl.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Liisa Kurunmäki

Associate Professor of Accounting | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: l.kurunmaki@lse.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr David E. Lewis

William R. Kenan Jr Professor | Department of Political Science | Vanderbilt University

E: david.e.lewis@vanderbilt.edu W: Link

Dr Javier Lezaun

Associate Professor in the School of Anthropology and Museum Ethnography | University of Oxford

E:  javier.lezaun@sbs.ox.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Xi Li

Associate Professor of Accounting

E: xi.li@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Professor Sally Lloyd-Bostock

Visiting Professor | Department of Sociology | LSE

E: s.lloyd-bostock@lse.ac.uk 

Dr Lukas Löhlein

Assistant Professor | Institute of Managenent Accounting and Control, WHU | Otto Beisheim School of Management 

E: lukas.loehlein@whu.edu

Professor Donald MacKenzie

Professor of Sociology | School of Social and Political Science | University of Edinburgh

E: d.mackenzie@ed.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Carl Macrae

Senior Associate | Nottingham University Business School

E: carl.macrae@psy.ox.ac.uk 

Dr Kira Matus

Assistant Professor | Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

E: kmatus@ust.hk W: Link

Dr Linsey McGoey

Reader in Sociology | Department of Sociology | University of Essex

E: lmcgoey@essex.ac.uk  W: Link

Professor Anette Mikes

Professor | Department of Accounting and Control | HEC Lausanne 

E: anette.mikes@unil.ch  W: Link

Professor Yuval Millo

Professor of Accounting | Warwick Business School | University of Warwick

E: yuval.Millo@wbs.ac.uk W: Link

Dr Julia Morley

Lecturer in Accouting | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: j.e.morley@lse.ac.uk W: Link

Professor Edward C Page

Sidney and Beatrice Webb Professor of Public Policy | Department of Government | LSE

E: e.c.page@lse.ac.uk 

Dr Tommaso Palermo

Lecturer in Accounting | Department of Accounting | LSE

E: t.palermo@lse.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Juan Pablo Pardo-Guerra

Assistant Professor of Sociology | Department of Sociology | University of California San Diego

E: jpardoguerra@ucsd.edu W: Link

Professor Nick Pidgeon

Professor of Environmental Psychology | School of Psychology | Cardiff University

E: PidgeonN@cardiff.ac.uk  W: Link

Professor Tony Prosser

Professor of Public Law, University of Bristol Law School

E: t.prosser@bristol.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Henry Rothstein

Reader in Risk and Regulation | Department of Geography and Deputy Director of King's Centre for Risk Management | King's College London

E: henry.rothstein@kcl.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Rita Samiolo

Lecturer in Accounting and Financial Management | King's Business School | King's College London

E: rita.samiolo@kcl.ac.uk W: Link

Dr Susan Scott

Associate Professor of Information Systems | Department of Management | LSE

E: s.v.scott@lse.ac.uk

Professor Nick Sitter

Professor of Public Policy | Department of Public Policy | Central European University

E: sittern@ceu.hu W: Link

Professor Kim Soin

Associate Professor of Accounting and Management | University of Exeter Business School

E: k.soin@exeter.ac.uk  W: Link

Professor Lindsay Stirton

Professor of Public Law | School of Law, Politics and Sociology | University of Sussex

E: l.stirton@sussex.ac.uk  W: Link

Dr Brendon Swedlow

Associate Professor of Political Science | Department of Political Science | Northern Illinois University

E: bswedlow@niu.edu  W: Link

Professor Peter Taylor-Gooby

Professor of Social Policy | School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research | University of Kent 

E: p.f.taylor-gooby@kent.ac.uk  W: Link

Professor Mark Thatcher

Professor of Comparative and International Politics | Department of Government | LSE

E: m.thatcher@lse.ac.uk  

Dr Zsuzsanna Vargha

Associate Professor of Management Control | ESCP Paris

E: zvargha@escpeurope.eu W: Link

Mr Frank Vibert

Senior Visiting Fellow | Department of Government | LSE

E: f.vibert@lse.ac.uk

Dr Leon Wansleben

Assistant Professor of Sociology | Department of Sociology | LSE

E: l.j.wansleben@lse.ac.uk 

Professor Kai Wegrich

Professor of Public Administration | Hertie School of Governance | Berlin

E: wegrich@hertie-school.org   W: Link

 

Visiting Fellows

Dr Elena Bechberger | Programme Director | South West London Sustainability & Transformation Plan

Charles Borden
 | Partner | Holland & Knight LLP | Washington DC

Dr Annelise Dodds | MP for Oxford East

Dr Julien Etienne | Managing Consultant | ICF International

Dr Sebastian Eyre | ESP Utilities Group

Dr Alex Griffiths | Statica Research 

Ed Humpherson | Director General for Regulation | UK Statistics Authority

Dr Jeremy Lonsdale | Director | National Audit Office

Lisa Quest | Partner | Oliver Wyman

Ed Richards | Managing Partner | Flint Global

Dr Inez von Weitershausen | Postdoctoral Associate | Industrial Performance Centre MIT

Dr Marcus Witzky | Governance of Research Institutions | Federal Ministry of Education and Research | Germany

Research Students

Ms Katerina Glyniadaki  | Research Student | European Institute | LSE 

Thesis: EU Migration and Daily Dilemmas among Street-Level Bureaucrats


This research focuses on the implementation of migration policies relating to asylum determination and to the migrants’ integration. Through extensive in-depth interviews with various categories of street-level bureaucrats (judges, lawyers, caseworkers, social workers, volunteers and activists) in the capital cities of Berlin and Athens, it investigates how these bureaucrats make decisions under conditions of very high pressure. More specifically, it looks at the micro-level tensions and the daily dilemmas these bureaucrats face, examining how these shape their decision-making, and ultimately how policy is put into practice.

E: a.glyniadaki@lse.ac.uk

Mr Philip Kessler | Research Student | Department of Political Economy | King's College London

Thesis: The Diffusion of Competition Policy in Western Europe

The spread of competition policy amongst EU member states is an important component of the ‘market turn’ in Europe. Yet, empirical evidence is scattered with regards to assessing what drove reform towards more comprehensive national competition regimes. This research project tries to shed light on this puzzle by examining the interdependent relationship between EU and member state competition policies.
E: philip.kessler@kcl.ac.uk  

Mr Alistair Marsden | Research Student | Department of Accounting | LSE

Thesis: How participants in a major research project engage with accounting schedules and how this influences the production of accounting and scientific knowledge.

The research motivation stems from earlier observations that attempts to resolve the complex social problems that major projects were established to solve in the first place were often ‘closed down’ before the problem was resolved and before the benefits could be realised. The time needed to generate the knowledge needed to solve the social complexity was usually foregone to meet unrealistic deadlines and to mitigate the risk of cost overruns. That major research projects have scientific discovery at their core is an important factor in the choice of field-work location.  It provides an ideal opportunity to study the tension between science, time and control. 

E: a.w.marsden@lse.ac.uk

Ms Daphnee Papiasse | Research Student | European Institute | LSE

Thesis: Regulation of financial innovation in the European Union.

Research interests: Since the global financial crisis, the financial services sector has been marked by an unprecedented development of FinTech or financial technologies, which harness technologies (data technology, mobile technology, DLT, artificial intelligence, etc.) to provide a plethora of financial services and products. My research focuses on the question of EU regulation and innovation in the context of FinTech. More globally, I am interested in EU financial regulation and the EU's growing influence in global financial governance.

E: d.s.papiasse@lse.ac.uk

Mr Philip Schleifer | Research Student | International Relations Department | LSE

Thesis: Same Same but Different: The Diffusion and Variation of Multi-Stakeholder Sustainability Governance

In the early 1990s, a new organisational model emerged on the stage of global sustainability governance, combining multi-stakeholder participation with market-based regulation. It spread rapidly and widely in the global economy. Because of their transparency and inclusiveness, multi-stakeholder initiatives (MSIs) have been praised for their deliberative capacity and potential to reduce the democratic deficit of global governance institutions. However, empirical evidence suggests that the diffusion of the model has given rise to variation in these key dimensions of organisational design. With a focus on three MSIs in the agriculture industry – the most dynamic site of diffusion in recent years – this project examines the causes of this variation. Combining an in-depth case study design with a comparative analysis, its preliminary findings point to the background and lessons-learned of institutional entrepreneurs and the key role they play in the formation of dominant organisational coalitions.
E: p.schleifer@lse.ac.uk

Ms Maria Zhivitskaya | Research Student | Department of Accounting | LSE

Thesis: The Practice of Risk Oversight

In light of the recent financial crisis, there are many academic, consulting and regulatory statements about risk governance and oversight. Maria’s research presents a taxonomy of risk oversight within the UK financial system and aims to develop an understanding of what oversight means to different actors. The focus is on (1) micro-prudential oversight of financial institutions by the Bank of England’s PRA (and historic regulatory practices by the FSA), (2) board-level oversight of risk management, and (3) oversight of risks performed within organisations. The way these types of risk oversight articulate with each other is rapidly evolving, especially since the crisis revealed many flaws in the way risk was understood and managed.
E: m.zhivitskaya@lse.ac.uk

Visitors

Jonathan Boston | Professor of Public Policy | School of Government | Victoria Wellington University

E: jonathan.boston@vuw.ac.nz  W: Link

Alison Harcourt | Director of the Centre for European Governance | Univeristy of Exeter

E: a.harcourt@exeter.ac.uk  W: Link

Andrew Lodge | Bank of England 

Administrative Staff

yvonne_g

Yvonne Guthrie - Centre Manager

Contact details: Room OLD 3.19, +44(0)20 7955 6408
y.guthrie@lse.ac.uk

louise profile 300x300

Louise Newton-Clare - Project Manager

Contact details: Room KSW 3.11, +44(0)20 7107 5040
L.Newton-Clare@lse.ac.uk

IMG_0348

Gary Crow - Centre Administrator

Contact details: Room OLD 3.20, +44(0)20 7852 3780
g.crow@lse.ac.uk

Policy Advisory Committee

The Policy Advisory Committee advises CARR on risk and regulation research as well as on the overall direction of CARR’s research and knowledge exchange oriented activities.

Suzanne McCarthy is a board member of the Fundraising Regulator and has been involved with many UK regulators and other public sector bodies.

Tracy Cohen is Director of Business Development at Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr and was formerly a CARR postdoctoral fellow before becoming Telecommunications Commissioner in South Africa. 

David Wilson is freelance public policy expert, formerly Deputy Director, International Knowledge and Innovation Unit (EU), at the Department for Business, Innovation & Skills.

Geoffrey Myers is a Visiting Professor in Regulation at the LSE and Director of Competition Economics at Ofcom.

Peter Ladegaard is the Global Lead for Regulatory Policy and Management at the World Bank’s Governance Practice.

Interns

The Carr Interns are junior members making an important contribution to the running and research life of CARR

Rory Gillis

Trishna Kurian

Nualprang Sa-Nguansak