Senior Advisory Board

The Centre is priviledged to have on its board, members who are deeply invested in the activities of the Centre, and have worked hard with us to raise the profile of the Centre.

LSE-SAC composite_on white grnd

Nasser Munjee (Chair, Advisory Board) (LSE BSc Econ. 1971-74; MSc Econ. 1974-75) has served on 30 Company Boards in India over the last 2 decades, and is currently Chairman of TATA Motor Finance, and Audit Chair of Indian Hotels (Taj Chain of Hotels) and Cummins (India), amongst others. Nasser is also an active member of many non-profit organisations including being Chairman of The Aga Khan Foundation India & The Aga Khan Rural Support Programme India, and Trustee of Charles Correa Foundation (Panaji), Welham Girls' School (Dehradun) and CanCare Hospital (Mumbai).


Kaushik Basu (LSE PhD Econ. 1976) is Professor of Economics and the C. Marks Professor of International Studies at Cornell University. Basu has served as the Senior Vice-President and Chief Economist of the World Bank and as Chief Economic Advisor to the Government of India (2009-2012). He founded Centre for Development Economics in Delhi and is the President of the International Economic Association. He was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 2008 by the Government of India. 



Craig J Calhoun is University Professor in Social Sciences at Arizona State University. Prior to this, he was President of the Berggruen Institute in Los Angeles, CA (2016-18); and Director & President of LSE (2012-16) where he remains Centennial Professor. Craig has also been President of the Social Science Research Council in New York (1999-2012), and University Professor at NYU (2004-12).



A Mushtaque R Chowdhury (LSE MSc Demography 1978-79) was until recently Vice Chairperson of BRAC, Dhaka where he started his career more than 40 years ago. He was the founding Director of BRAC’s Research & Evaluation Division, was previously its Executive Director, alongside serving in several international organisations including The Rockefeller Foundation (2009-12) and the UN, teaching at Columbia (2002-04), and was MacArthur Fellow at Harvard (1992-93).



M Ali Jameel (LSE BSc Econ. 1991) is CEO TPL Corp Limited, Pakistan’s leading tech-driven conglomerate. He is also CEO of TPL Properties, and on the board of TPL IM, which is regulated by Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM). Ali is Founder and Board Member of several TPL companies, four of which are listed on the Pakistan Stock Exchange (PSX). He has served on the Board of the State Bank of Pakistan, and is currently on the Board of Patients’ Aid Foundation of Jinnah Hospital, Karachi. He is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England & Wales.



Lata Krishnan (LSE BSc Econ. 1981) is Chief Financial Officer for Shah Capital Partners. She co-founded SMART Modular Technologies (WWH) Inc. in 1989 and also held corporate accounting and finance positions at Montgomery Securities, Arthur Andersen LLP, and Hill Vellacott & Company in London, England. She has also held Director and Advisor posts to several boards in the Finance and Accounting sector. She is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.



Ratan N Tata is a businessman, philanthropist, investor and Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons, the holding company of the Tata Group, the Mumbai-based global business conglomerate. He has been awarded the Padma Bhushan (2000) and Padma Vibhushan (2008) by the Government of India, and The Honorary Knight Cross of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (2014) by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II for his lifelong services to business and community.