Old Bailey statue of Justice

Public Law

Throughout the twentieth century LSE led the way in the development of public law scholarship in Britain. The pioneering work was undertaken during the interwar era by H.J. Laski, W.I. Jennings and W.A. Robson; many of the ground-breaking texts covering the range of constitutional and administrative law and promoting a distinctively 'modern' or 'functionalist' approach to the subject were written by these leading scholars. This distinctive approach was built upon and extended after 1945 by such scholars as S.A. de Smith, J.A.G. Griffith, J.D.B. Mitchell and Carol Harlow. In short, most of the leading scholarly texts in British public law have been written by LSE scholars. This tradition of innovation is today carried on by a strong team of scholars working on questions of both theory and practice in constitutional and administrative law (Martin Loughlin, Jo Murkens, Thomas Poole, Grégoire Webber, Mike Wilkinson), regulation (Robert Baldwin, Julia Black, Andrew Scott), and human rights law (Conor Gearty, Kai Möller).


Professor Robert Baldwin (Emeritus)

Professor Julia Black

Professor Conor Gearty

Professor Carol Harlow KC

Dr Devika Hovell

Professor Martin Loughlin

Dr Richard Martin

Dr Maame Mensa-Bonsu (LSE Fellow)

Dr Kai Möller

Professor Jo Murkens

Professor Thomas Poole

Dr Andrew Scott  

Dr Grégoire Webber

Professor Michael Wilkinson

Research Students

Shree Agnihotri

Deniz Gedik

Nakul Nayak

Pedro Pereira de Morais Pacheco

Shukri Shahizam

Winluck Wahiu

Recent publications