Space Policy journal banner

Space Policy Journal

The LSE IDEAS Space Policy Project houses Space Policy: An International Journal, published by Elsevier four times a year. The editor-in chief of the journal is Dr Dimitrios Stroikos, who heads the LSE IDEAS Space Policy Project. The journal is co-edited by North American Editor Marcia Smith (Space and Technology Policy Group LLC, Arlington, Virginia, United States of America) and the European Editor Dr Xavier Pasco (Foundation for Strategic Research, Paris, France).


About the Journal

Space Policy is an international, interdisciplinary journal which draws on the fields of international relations, economics, history, aerospace studies, security studies, development studies, political science and ethics to provide discussion and analysis of space activities in their political, economic, industrial, legal, cultural and social contexts.

Alongside full-length papers, which are subject to a double-blind peer review system, the journal publishes opinion pieces, case studies and short reports and, in so doing, it aims to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and opinions and a means by which authors can alert policy makers and international organizations to their views. Space Policy is also a journal of record, reproducing, in whole or part, official documents such as treaties, space agency plans or government reports relevant to the space community. Views expressed in the journal are not necessarily those of the editors or members of the editorial board.


Space Policy publishes articles on space use, activities and developments in their industrial, economic, political, legal and social contexts. It aims to provide both scholarly analysis and a forum for the discussion of ideas and opinions. Book reviews are also welcomed.

Please see the journal’s Guide for Authors for information on article submission.

Manuscripts for consideration may be submitted by clicking here.

View the Space Policy Journal Article Collections here.

Editorial Board


Dimitrios Stroikos, The London School of Economics and Political Science, London, United Kingdom

North American Editor

Marcia Smith, Space and Technology Policy Group LLC, Arlington, Virginia, United States of America

European Editor

Xavier Pasco, Foundation for Strategic Research, Paris, France

International Editorial Board

Richard Boudreault, Polar Knowledge Canada, Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, Canada

Frances Brown, Seabank Associates, Ayrshire, United Kingdom

David Chen, CENTRA Technology Inc Arlington, Arlington, Virginia, United States of America

Frans von der Dunk, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, Nebraska, Nebraska, USA/Leiden, Netherlands

Joanne Gabrynowicz, University of Mississippi, University Park, Mississippi, United States of America

Christina Giannopapa, European Space Agency, Paris, France 

Stephen Hobe, University of Cologne Institute of Air and Space Law, Koln, Germany 

Thomas Hoerber, ESSCA School of Management EU-Asia Institute, Angers, France

Jeff Kingwell, Scientific Writing and Consulting, Curtin, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

John Logsdon, The George Washington University Elliott School of International Affairs, Washington, District of Columbia, United States of America

Peter Martinez, Secure World Foundation, Broomfield, Colorado, United States of America

Elina Morozova, Intersputnik International Organization of Space Communications, Moscow, Russian Federation

Johannes Ortner, International Space University, Vienna, Austria

Mazlan Othman, International Science Council Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Joseph N. Pelton, International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety at George Washington University, Washington, D.C., District of Columbia, United States of America

Mukund Rao, National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore, India

Eligar Sadeh, Astroconsulting International LLC, Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States of America 

Kai-Uwe Schrogl, European Space Agency, Paris, France

Michael Sheehan, Swansea University Department of Political and Cultural Studies, Swansea, United Kingdom

Heinz Stoewer, Space Associates SAC, Bonn, Germany 

Jill Stuart, The London School of Economics and Political Science, London, United Kingdom 

Kazuto Suzuki, Public Policy School, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan

Ray Williamson, Seven Horizons, Inc., Cortez, Colorado, United States of America

News and Announcements

Announcement: In Memory of Mr. Nicholas L. Johnson

In memory of Mr. Nicholas L. Johnson, Space Policy wanted to share again his first-hand account of Operation Burnt Frost as NASA's Chief Scientist for Orbital Debris, which was recently published by this journal.  The article entitled Operation Burnt Frost: A View From Inside has been made freely available for one year by Elsevier.

A tribute to Mr. Johnson by Marcia Smith, our North American editor, can be found here.