Political Theory Group

Researching political theory and philosophy

Research Pillar(s): Political Theory and Philosophy

About: LSE is a leading centre for the study of political theory and philosophy, constituting one of the UK's largest concentrations of researchers in this area and related fields. The Political Theory Group in the Department of Government maintains close relations with political theorists and philosophers in other parts of the School, for example in the Departments of Law, Philosophy, and International Relations.

The Group is characterised by a vibrant research culture, centred around an active doctoral programme and a highly regarded external speaker series. Members of the group also deliver research-led teaching on the Department’s programmes of study at undergraduate, postgraduate and research-level.

One of the Group's key assets is the breadth and diversity of interests and expertise, including:

  • Contemporary moral philosophy and political theory
  • History of political thought
  • Comparative political theory
  • Philosophy of social science
  • Rational and social choice theory

Members: Prof Paul Apostolidis, Prof Leigh Jenco, Prof Paul Kelly, Dr Mathias Koenig-Archibugi, Dr Bruno Leipold (affiliated), Dr Zeynep Pamuk, Prof Anne Phillips (emeritus), Prof Kai Spiekermann, Prof Lea Ypi

Political Philosophy Seminar Series: The Political Theory Group invites domestic and international guest speakers to present and discuss papers. The seminar is attended by staff members, and PhD students from the Department of Government. Visitors are welcome to attend. 

All seminars take place Thursday 4.00pm to 6.00pm in CKK.1.07 unless otherwise stated.

Speakers will have the option to pre-circulate their papers; if you would like to receive a copy of the paper, subscribe to the mailing list. To subscribe, see the instructions below.

Seminar Convener(s): Prof Kai Spiekermann

The Political Theory Research Group also run a Doctoral Research workshop for the Department’s MRes/PhD students: Political Theory Doctoral Workshop

Upcoming Seminars

Autumn Term

Thursday 28 September
Speaker: Alejandra Macilla (Oslo)

Thursday 12 October
Speaker: Lewis Ross (LSE)

Thursday 26 October
Speaker: Lucas Stanczyk (Harvard)

Thursday 16 November
Speaker: Ndidi Nwaneri (Loyola)

Thursday 23 November
Speaker: Rahel Jaeggi (HU Berlin)

Winter Term

Thursday 18 January
Speaker: Hagar Kotef (SOAS)

Thursday 15 February
Speaker: Kal Kalewold (Leeds)

Thursday 14 March
Speaker: Samuel Freeman (U Penn) 

Thursday 28 March
Speaker: Jakob Huber (FU Berlin)

Summer Term

Thursday 16 May
Speaker: Samuel Bagg (University South Carolina) PAR.LG.03 

Mailing List

To receive the latest information on our seminar and selected other political theory events please subscribe to our mailing list.

Email with this text in the body of your message (not the subject line):


for instance: SUBSCRIBE GOV-POTY-ANNOUNCE-L Edgar Example

And to unsubscribe:

Email from the email address you want to unsubscribe with this text in the body of your message (not the subject line):