research-river-thames-view-1400x300

Political Science and Political Economy

Research Pillar(s): Political Economy and Institutional Analysis

About: The Political Science and Political Economy (PSPE) research group at LSE brings together faculty and PhD students who do quantitative and/or formal research on political institutions, political behaviour, public policy, and political economy.

We also hold an annual conference (jointly with the Department of Politics at New York University).

Our activities are supported by the Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD) and the LSE Government Department.

Members: Dr Sarah Brierley, Dr Rafael Hortala-Vallve, Dr Ryan Jablonski, Dr Mathias Poertner, Dr Joachim Wehner

Political Science and Political Economy Seminar Series:

Seminar Convener(s): Dr Mathilde Emeriau, Dr Stephane Wolton

The PSPE Research Seminar provides a venue for researchers (mostly from outside of the LSE) to present their work.

Location: 32L.3.05 and online
Time: 2.00 to 3.30pm

Contact gov.comms@lse.ac.uk to be added to the mailing list.

Upcoming Seminars

Lent Term

Tuesday 25 January
Online only, via Zoom
Speaker: Alberto Simpser

Tuesday 1 February
32L.3.05
Speaker: Alex Hartman

Tuesday 8 February
32L.3.05
Speaker: Julia Cagé

Tuesday 15 February
32L.3.05
Speaker: Horacio Larreguy

Tuesday 22 February
32L.3.05
Speaker: Anna Maria Wilke

Tuesday 1 March
32L.3.05
Speaker: Massimo Morelli

Tuesday 8 March
32L.3.05
Speaker: Dawn Teele

Tuesday 15 March
32L.3.05
Speaker: Nicola Mastrorocco

Tuesday 22 March
32L.3.05
Speaker: Stuti Khemani

Tuesday 29 March
32L.3.05
Speaker: Moses Shayo

Michaelmas Term 

Tuesday 5 October 2021
32L.3.05
Speaker: Tugba Bozcaga 

Tuesday 12 October
32L.3.05
Speaker: Helios Herrera 

Tuesday 19 October
32L.3.05
Speaker: Zuheir Desai

Tuesday 26 October
32L.3.05
Speaker: Monica Martinez-Bravo

Tuesday 2 November
32L.3.05
Speaker: Davide Cantoni

Tuesday 9 November
32L.3.05
Speaker: Agnes Cornell

Tuesday 16 November
32L.3.05
Speaker: Arianna Ornaghi

Tuesday 23 November
32L.3.05
Speaker: Jan Zapal

Tuesday 30 November
32L.3.05
Speaker: Ekaterina Zhuavskaya

Tuesday 7 December
32L.3.05
Speaker: Dylan Glover 

PSPE Doctoral Workshop / Work in Progress Seminar

The PSPE Doctoral Workshop/Work in Progress Seminar is intended as an informal setting in which LSE PhD students and LSE staff, and visiting scholars can present and receive feedback on early stage and ongoing research. The Seminar aims to foster a strong and lively research community within the PSPE group and beyond. We welcome empirical or theoretical work linked in any way to politics or political economy. Anyone in the LSE community is welcome to attend. The seminar meets Wednesdays 13:00-14:00 in CBG.4.17. 

Seminar Convener(s): Dr Mathilde Emeriau (m.emeriau@lse.ac.uk).

Student Chair(s): Luis Bosshart (l.s.bosshart@lse.ac.uk)

Upcoming Seminars

Michaelmas Term

Wednesday 6 October 2021
Sacha Dray (LSE)

Wednesday 13 October 2021
Emiel Awad (LSE)

Wednesday 20 October 2021
Felix Schaff (LSE)

Wednesday 27 October 2021
Clement Minaudier (Vienna) 

Wednesday 3 November 2021
Reading week - no seminar 

Wenesday 10 November 2021
Alberto Parmigiani (LSE) 

Wednesday 17 November 2021
Daniel Goldstein (Yale) - Online seminar

Wednesday 24 November 2021
Andrew McNeil (LSE)

Wednesday 1 December 2021
Martin Haus (LSE)

Wednesday 8 December 2021
Luis Bosshart (LSE)

Lent Term 2022 

Wednesday 2 February  
Chris Dann (LSE)

Wednesday 9 February
Adam Brzezinski (Oxford)            

Wednesday 16 February
Omar Hammoud Gallego (LSE)

Wednesday 2 March
Florian Foos (LSE)            

Wednesday 9 March
Joan Costa-Font (LSE)     

Wednesday 16 March
Asli Ceren Cinar (LSE)     

Wednesday 23 March
Alvaro Zuniga-Cordero (LSE)       

Wednesday 30 March
Mariaelisa Epifanio (Liverpool)   

Wednesday 6 April
Luis Bosshart (LSE)