research-hp

Probability in Finance and Insurance

The beauty of Statistics is that if you can take a large enough group of people, you can predict really well what the outcome will be overall

Our research in Probability in Finance and Insurance covers diverse aspects in quantitative modelling in finance, insurance, and risk management. Current areas include robust models on option pricing; model-uncertainty in decision making; valuation financial derivatives with exotic features; equilibrium with market constraints and informational asymmetry; optimal trading with micro-structure noise; insurance securitisation; contagion in financial and insurance markets; modelling energy and commodity markets.

Academic staff

Pauline Barrieu - Professor

Staff page

Erik Baurdoux - Associate Professor

Staff page

Umut Cetin - Professor

Staff page

Angelos Dassios - Professor

Staff page

Kostas Kardaras - Professor

Staff page

Andreas Søjmark - Assistant Professor

Staff page

Yufei Zhang - Assistant Professor

Staff page

Research students

Patrick Aschermayr 

Research topic/title: Bayesian inference in hidden semi-Markov models
Contact details: P.Aschermayr@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisor(s): Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos / Professor Pauline Barrieu


Zezhun Chen

Contact details: z.chen58@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisor(s):Professor Angelos Dassios / Dr. Erik Baurdoux / Dr. George Tzougas


Eduardo Ferioli-Gomes

Contact details: e.ferioli-gomes@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisor(s): Professor Umut Cetin / Dr Luciano Campi


Junchao Jia

Research topic/title: 
Contact details: 
J.Jia4@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisor(s): 
Dr Beatrice Acciaio / Professor Kostas Kardaras 


Mingwei Lin

Research topic/title: 
Contact details: 
m.lin20@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.06
Supervisor(s): 
Professor Umut Cetin / Dr Yufei Zhang 


Despoina Makariou

Research topic/title: 
Contact details: D.Makariou@lse.ac.uk, COL 5.02
Supervisor(s): Professor Pauline Barrieu / Dr. Beatrice Acciaio  


Alexandros Pavlis

Research topic/title: 
Contact details: A.Pavlis@lse.ac.uk, Room 5.02
Supervisors: Professor Kostas Kardaras / Professor Umut Cetin


Jing Han Tee

Research topic/title:  
Contact details: J.Tee@lse.ac.uk, Room 5.02
Supervisor(s):  Professor Angelos Dassios / Dr. Luciano Campi


Alexandra Tsimbalyuk

Research topic/title:  Distribution of a perpetuity in an ergodic Markov model
Contact details: a.tsimbalyuk@lse.ac.uk, Room 7.03
Supervisor(s): Professor Kostas Kardaras / Professor Umut Cetin