The Department of Mathematics' PhD Prize for Outstanding Academic Performance

The Department of Mathematics’ PhD Prize for Outstanding Academic Performance was created in 2017, to be considered annually by a panel for the best PhD performance from a student completing in the previous academic year.

Awards will be made once per academic year, in the following December, with a view to presenting the award during the winter graduation festivities.

Bodies of work suitable for submission will normally be theses but, to allow flexibility in the nature of noteworthy work our students undertake, other original and promising contributions to research in Mathematics will be permissible.

A prize will not necessarily be awarded every year, and occasionally more than one award may be made.

Nominations are made by supervisors and a faculty panel (to include representatives from all research areas of the department, as well as the Head of Department, the Doctoral Programme Director, and the Deputy Head of Department – Research) will select the winner/s of the prize.

Cyril Offord Prizewinners




Bento Natura (Discrete Mathematics, graduated 2022)


Nóra Frankl (Discrete Mathematics, graduated 2020)

Weiguan Wang (Financial Mathematics, graduated 2021)


Ewan Davies (Discrete Mathematics, graduated 2017)


Matthew Jenssen (Discrete Mathematics, graduated 2017)

Barnaby Roberts (Discrete Mathematics, graduated 2017) 

Yavor Stoev (Financial Mathematics, graduated 2015)