The Endless City

At the turn of the twenty-first century, the world is faced with an unprecedented challenge. It must address a fundamental shift in the world’s population towards the cities, and away from mankind’s rural roots.Over the course of two years, a group of internationally renowned professionals from a variety of different disciplines and backgrounds gathered together in six world cities to take stock of the new urban condition and to offer an approach to dealing with it.

The Urban Age conferences – organised by the London School of Economics and Political Science and Deutsche Bank’s Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft– centred on six very different cities. In Shanghai and Mexico City, the urban population is experiencing rapid growth and change,while Berlin is coming to terms with shrinking expectations.The result was a sometimes passionate, always challenging and informed debate on how architects, urbanists, politicians and policy makers can constructively plan the infrastructure and development of the endless city, to promote a better social and economic life for its citizens.

34 contributors from across Europe, South America, China, Africa and the U.S. set the agenda for the city – detailing its successes as well as its failures. Authoritatively edited by Ricky Burdett and Deyan Sudjic, The Endless City presents the outcome of this pioneering initiative on the future of cities. It has a follow-up volume called Living in the Endless City (2011).

Publication date
Catalogue data
Phaidon Press; Hardback, 245 x 210 mm, 512 pages
Ricky Burdett, Deyan SudjicContributorsAndy Altman, Guy Battle, Sophie Body-Gendrot, Lindsay Bremner, Néstor Canclini, José Castillo, Xiangming Chen, Joan Clos, Frank Duffy, Franziska Eichstädt-Bohlig, Susan Fainstein, Gerald Frug, Nicky Gavron, Jacques Herzog & Pierre de Meuron, Sarah Ichioka, Miguel Kanai, Bruce Katz, Caroline Kihato, Hermann Knoflacher, Rem Koolhaas, Dieter Läpple, Wolfgang Nowak, Enrique Peñalosa, Anne Power, Philipp Rode, Saskia Sassen, Richard Sennett, Ed Soja, Geetam Tiwari, Tony Travers, Alejandro Zaera Polo