Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows

Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows spend up to three years at CPNSS to do research on philosophical, foundational or conceptual aspects of economics.

The endowed research fund supporting the fellows was established at the School in honour of Professor Ludwig M Lachmann (MSc Economics 1935), in accordance with the wishes of his late wife Margot Lachmann.

Professor Lachmann was a German economist who studied and worked at LSE, where he was taught by, and later worked alongside, Friedrich Hayek. He is seen as a key contributor to the "Austrian School" of economic thought that developed over the early 20th century. 

Current and Former Lachmann Fellows


Juliana Bidadanure (April 2022 - June 2022)

Juliana Bidadanure is an Assistant Professor of Philosophy and, by courtesy, of Political Science, at Stanford University, and the Faculty Director of the Stanford Basic Income Lab. She joined the Stanford Philosophy department in 2015 after completing a PhD in the School of Politics, Economics and Philosophy at the University of York in the UK and a Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Max Weber Program at the European University Institute in Italy.  



Matthew D. Adler (September 2017 – June 2022)

Matthew D. Adler is the Richard A. Horvitz Professor of Law and Professor of Economics, Philosophy and Public Policy at Duke University.  His scholarship is interdisciplinary, drawing from law, welfare economics and normative ethics. Adler is the author of numerous articles and several books, including New Foundations of Cost-Benefit Analysis (Harvard, 2006; co-authored with Eric Posner); and Well-Being and Fair Distribution: Beyond Cost-Benefit Analysis(Oxford 2012) which systematically defends the “social welfare function” as a framework for policy analysis.  He is the editor (with Marc Fleurbaey) of the Oxford Handbook of Well-Being and Public Policy(2016).   Starting this year, Adler will be an editor of the journal Economics and Philosophy.

Prior to joining the Duke Law faculty in July 2012, Adler was the Leon Meltzer Professor of Law at the University of Pennsylvania School of Law. He holds a B.A. and J.D. from Yale University. Adler also received an M. Litt. in modern history from St. Antony’s College at Oxford University, where he was a Marshall Scholar. He clerked for Judge Harry Edwards of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit in 1991-1992 and for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor during the 1992-1993 term. 



Daniel M. Hausman (September 2017 – September 2018)

Daniel M. Hausman is the Herbert A. Simon and Hilldale Professor of Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. A founding editor of the journal, Economics and Philosophy, his research has centered on epistemological, metaphysical, and ethical issues lying at the boundaries between economics and philosophy. His most recent books, are Preference, Value, Choice and Welfare (2012), Valuing Health: Well-Being, Freedom, and Suffering (2015), and Economic Analysis, Moral Philosophy, and Public Policy, 3rd ed. (co-authored with Michael McPherson and Debra Satz, 2017).



Koen Decancq (2016 – September 2017)

I am an economist with a PhD from Leuven University (2009). Currently I am Associate Research Professor at the University of Antwerp and a Lachmann Fellow at CPNSS. I have been a visiting Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson School of Princeton University in 2015-2016. My main research interests are in the area of welfare economics, with a focus on the measurement of (multidimensional) inequality and poverty. My recent research focuses on the question how multidimensional well-being can be measured without relying on a paternalistic perspective on the relative weights of the dimensions. I am also interested in the driving forces of changing income distributions and the evaluation of redistributive policies in general. My research at CPNSS will focus mainly on interpersonal well-being comparisons in a multidimensional framework. 



Bruce Caldwell (2012–2015)


Franz Dietrich (2009–2011)


Marc Fleurbaey (2006–2008)


Wulf Gaertner (2006–2008)


Roger Backhouse (2006–2007)


Rajiv Prabhakar (2006–2007)


Margaret Schabas (2006–2007)


Philippe Fontaine (2003–2005)


Jack Vromen (2003)


Philippe Mongin (1998–2000)