The Lakatos Award is given annually for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, widely interpreted, in the form of a book published in English during the current year or the previous five years.

Most recent winners

The 2014 Lakatos Award for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, has been won jointly by Gordon Belot of the University of Michigan for his book Geometric Possibility (Oxford University Press, 2011) and by David Malament of the University of California, Irvine for his book Topics in the Foundations of General Relativity and Newtonian Gravitation Theory (Chicago, 2012). Each will win a prize of £7500.

About the Lakatos Award

The Lakatos Award is in memory of Imre Lakatos and has been endowed by the Latsis Foundation. It is administered by the following committee: Hasok Chang (Convenor, Cambridge), Nancy Cartwright (Durham), Roman Frigg (LSE), Kostas Gavroglu (Athens), Philip Kitcher (Columbia), Elliott Sober (Wisconsin-Madison), and John Worrall (LSE).

The Committee accepts and responds to nominations, creates a shortlist, and makes the Award on the advice of an independent and anonymous panel of Selectors, who are asked to read and comment on all of the shortlisted books.

The value of the Award is £10,000. To take it up, a successful candidate must visit the LSE and deliver a public lecture. The Award may be shared if there are deemed to be two candidates of equal merit. The Committee reserves the right to make no award should it be decided that none of the shortlisted works meets the level of impact and significance required to merit the Award.

— John Worrall
Convener, Lakatos Award Committee

Lakatos Award Administrator:

Tom Hinrichsen,