• *new* We are pleased to announce the following new faculty hires, starting 2010/11: Kristina Musholt (LSE Fellow), Armin Schulz (Lecturer), and Charlotte Werndl (Lecturer).
  • Lakatos MSc Scholarship. The Department offers the Lakatos MSc Scholarship for a student enrolling into the MSc in Philosophy of Science. The scholarship is worth £5,000. The scholarship is available both for Home UK/EU and Overseas students.All students whose application has been received by the department by March 19 will automatically considered. For further information visit here or write to 
  • The LSE Choice Group has been awarded a £37K grant by the AHRC to fund a series of interdisciplinary workshops, master classes and seminars in the area of individual and social decision making, with the aim of developing an international network of researchers in the field. The award recognises the Choice Group's international reputation for philosophically informed decision theory and the contribution that the development of such a research network can make to furthering research in the field.
  • Nancy Cartwright, Ph.D., Professor of Philosophy has been awarded the 2009 Chancellor's Associates Faculty Excellence Award for excellence in research in arts, humanities and social sciences:
  • Franz Dietrich is appointed Lachmann Fellow for 2009-2012 in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method:         
  • Professor Christian List and Dr Franz Dietrich have been awarded the Social Choice and Welfare Prize:
  • Professor Christian List joins the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method from 2009
  •  Dr Katie Steele joins the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method from 2008-9.
  • Philosophy ranked 3rd in Sunday Times Education guide
  • The 2007/8 Graduate Teaching Prize has been awarded to Foad Dizadji-Bahmani. Congratulations to Foad!
  • LSE Philosophy climbs even higher in the Good University Guide's Rankings, published in association with The Independent. We are now ranked 2nd for Philosophy in the UK and 3rd overall best university in the UK.
  • The department would like to congratulate Dean Peters on being awarded a PhD studentship for 2008/9.
  • New LSE PhD Scholarships. For 2008 entry, the School is offering 20 full scholarships for new PhD students. The scholarships cover fees and living expenses of £13,000 each year for three years. They are available for Home UK/EU and Overseas students undertaking research in any LSE discipline, with annual renewal subject to satisfactory academic performance at the School.
  • Hear Professors Nancy Cartwright and John Worrall discuss Karl Popper on BBC Radio 4's 'In our Time'