Home > Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method > KarlPopperMemorialFund > The Sir Karl Popper Memorial Fund
How to contact us

Dept of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method
London School of Economics
Houghton Street, London,


Email: philosophy-dept@lse.ac.uk|

Fax: +44 (0)20 7831 9045

The Sir Karl Popper Memorial Fund

Popper Memorial Lecture 2013:

The Cunning of Uncertainty

We are delighted to announce that Helga Nowotny has agreed to give our 2013 Memorial Lecture. Professor Dr Nowotny is President of the ERC, the European Research Council, and Professor emerita of Social Studies of Science, ETH Zurich. This event, Chaired by Professor John Worrall, is open to all and will be followed by a reception just outside the lecture theatre.

Here are the key details, with more information to follow in due course:

  • Tuesday, October 15 2013, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
  • Sheikh Zayed Theatre, New Academic Building, WC2A 3LJ
  • All welcome, no ticket required

One of the leading philosophers of the 20th century, Sir Karl Popper founded the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method in 1946. Critical rationalism was the cornerstone not only of his political philosophy but also of his views on the method and practice of the natural and the social sciences. It was through Popper's efforts that falsifiability entered public consciousness as the defining criterion of the method of science. In addition to being instrumental in shaping 20th century philosophy of science, Popper was one of the century's foremost defenders of democratic liberalism in political philosophy.

After Popper's death in 1994, the School established the Sir Karl Popper Memorial Fund. The aim of the present Management Committee is to organize a Sir Karl Popper Memorial Lecture every second year, and in the intervening years to award a Sir Karl Popper Prize for distinguished achievement in graduate work in an area of philosophy to which Popper made significant contributions. Details can be found below of previous winners and previous lectures.

The Sir Karl Popper Memorial Lectures


Thursday, 15 March 2012
Speaker: Professor Abdulkarim Soroush
Lecture: Critical Rationalism and Religious and Political Reform in Iran

A recording of the lecture is available here|.

The Sir Karl Popper Memorial Fund would like to thank the Austrian Cultural Forum| for the generous support they have offered toward the 2012 Lecture.



6 November 2007

Speaker: Professor Michael Baum
Lecture: 'Popperian Pathways: the demarcation between quack cancer cures and scientific remedies'|


10 February 2004

Speaker: Professor Marcello Pera
Lecture: 'Multiculturalism and the "Open Society"; a Popperian Approach'|


The Centenary Symposium in Honour of Sir Karl Popper|

4 December 2002

Speaker: Professor Isaac Levi
Lecture: 'Abduction with or without Induction: How Peircean is Popper?'

Speaker: Professor Michael Redhead
Lecture: 'Popper and the Einstein–Podolsky–Rosen Experiment'

Speaker: Professor John Worrall
Lecture: 'Popper and the Logic of Scientific Discovery'

Finally, the Symposium also featured a discussion 'A Dialogue on the Intellectual Impact of Popper's The Open Society and Its Enemies' with speakers Lord Dahrendorf, Professor Anthony O'Hear, and Professor Edward F. McClennen.


1 December 1998

Speaker: Lord Dahrendorf
Lecture: 'The Open Society: Useful Project or Empty Concept?'


23 November 1995

Speaker: Professor Patrick Suppes
Lecture: 'The Nature of Freedom'

The Sir Karl Popper Memorial Prize

The Sir Karl Popper Memorial Prize is awarded for distinguished achievement in graduate work in an area of philosophy to which Karl Popper made significant contributions.


The Popper Prize was awarded to Susanne Burri for her paper 'The Fair Distribution of Bad Luck'.


The Popper Prize was awarded to Mauro Rossi for his work on 'Interpersonal Comparisons of Utility' and Peter Ainsworth for work on 'The Spin-Echo Experiment and Statistical Mechanics'.


The winner of the inaugural Popper Prize was Eleftherios Farmakis for his paper 'Fuchs and Realism: A Reply to Hagar'.


Management Committee

The Management Committee for the Fund currently consists of:

Tom Chivers is the Secretary of the Fund (email|).

Popper Archive

The LSE Library Archive has a microfilm copy of the Popper Archive held at the Hoover Institute, Stanford. The LSE Archive for Philosophy is here|; the Hoover Institute page here|.

popperbustPopper Statue

Professor Josef Pillhofer's bust of Sir Karl Popper can be found on the third floor of the Lakatos Building at the LSE. It was donated on the occasion of the visit of Dr Thomas Klestil, President of Austria, on February 9th 1995. Here is a photograph of the statue.


Karl Popper