Pirogues

People


LSE Anthropologists are passionate about teaching and strive to maintain a warm and welcoming atmosphere in our department

Academic staff

Catherine Allerton

Dr Catherine Allerton  
Eastern Indonesia, East Malaysia; place and landscape, houses, kinship and marriage, childhood and youth, migration.
c.l.allerton@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7212
OLD 6.13

Rita Astuti

Professor Rita Astuti
Madagascar; kinship, gender, anthropology of death, cognitive development and cultural transmission; ethnographic and experimental research methods. 
r.astuti@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7955 7206
OLD 6.11

Mukulika-head-shot

Dr Mukulika Banerjee
[Director, South Asia Centre]
South Asia; Pakistan and India; political anthropology; election cultures, popular perceptions and democracy; citizenship and ritual; state and civil society; anthro-political histories of South Asia; Islam and Muslim societies; fashion, public culture and modernity; contemporary identity and life histories.m.banerjee@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7955 7213
OLD 5.09

LauraBear

Professor Laura Bear
[Deputy Head of Department 2017-2018]
South Asia; anthropologies of the economy, state, time and urban/industrial enivironments.
l.bear@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7409
OLD 6.09

female silhouette

Dr Fenella Cannell
[Sabbatical leave MT17 and LT18]
Lowland Philippines, United States; anthropology of Christianity, healing and mediumship, gender, Mormonism and kinship.
f.cannell@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Professor Matthew Engelke
Zimbabwe, England; Christianity and the Bible, semiotics, materiality, public religion, history of anthropology, human rights.
m.engelke@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7955 6494
OLD 6.12

Prof Katy Gardner

Professor Katy Gardner
[Head of Department 2015-2018]
Bangladesh; globalisation, migration, economic change.
k.j.gardner@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5064
OLD 5.07 

David Graeber

Professor David Graeber
Madagascar, Europe, North America; Theories of value, money, debt, politics, manners, magic, class, social movements, social theory.
d.graeber@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7849 4637
OLD 6.10

James

Professor Deborah James
[Sabbatical leave 2017-2018]
South Africa; the UK; ethnography of advice; aspiration and indebtedness; civil society, citizenship and the state; economic anthropology; ethnomusicology; land reform and property regimes; migration and ethnicity.
d.a.james@lse.ac.uk

Nicholas Long

Dr Nick Long
Indonesia and the Malay World; political change; psychological anthropology; affect; history and memory; achievement and motivation; education; the supernatural.
n.j.long@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6757
OLD 6.14

MathijsPelkmans

Dr Mathijs Pelkmans
Caucasus (Republic of Georgia), Central Asia (Kyrgyz Republic); anthropology of borders, political anthropology, anthropology of religion.
m.e.pelkmans@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7862
OLD 5.08

MichaelScott

Dr Michael W. Scott
Oceania; Melanesia; anthropological approaches to questions of being (ontology); cosmology; religion; wonder; myth-making; indigenous Christianities; personhood, sociality, and relatedness; place-making; ethnogenesis. 
m.w.scott@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6057
OLD 6.16

AlpaShah-Profile

Dr Alpa Shah
India and Nepal; political and economic anthropology; the state, citizenship and revolutionary struggle; indigeneity, ethnicity, caste and class; agrarian transitions and labour; inequality and poverty.
a.m.shah@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7488
OLD 6.17A

Charles Stafford

Professor Charles Stafford
[Vice-Chair of Appointments Committee 2016-19]
China and Taiwan; learning, schooling and child development, cognitive anthropology, the relationship between learning and economic life.
c.stafford@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7207
OLD 6.02

hans_steinmuller

Dr Hans Steinmüller
[Sabbatical leave 2017-2018]
China; political and economic anthropology, moralities and ethics, irony, ritual, gambling.
j.steinmuller@lse.ac.uk

HarryWalker

Dr Harry Walker 
Amazonia, Latin America; subjectivity, shamanism, political morality, individualism, justice, happiness, the commons.
h.l.walker@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7208
OLD 5.06B

Gisa Weszkalnys

Dr Gisa Weszkalnys
Ethnographic study of natural resources, specifically oil in Africa; the politics of urban planning.
g.weszkalnys@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6242
OLD 6.08

Administrative staff

General enquiries: 
anthropology.enquiries@lse.ac.uk

Assessment enquiries (current students): 
anthro.admin@lse.ac.uk

As far as possible, the administrative staff in the department operate an "open door" policy: if one of us is not here, the others will try to help.

Ms Yanina Hinrichsen
Departmental Manager
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7202 
OLD 6.03

Vacancy
Administrative Officer
+44 (0)20 7107 5037
OLD 6.04A 

Mr Tomas Hinrichsen
Administrator (Tuesday and Wednesday)
t.a.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6775
OLD 6.04A 

Ms Camilla Kennedy Harper
Administrative Officer (Quality Assurance and Year Abroad)
c.kennedy-harper@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5867
OLD 6.04A

Ms Renata Todd
Administration and Communications Officer
anthropology.enquiries@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7852 3709
OLD 6.04A

Ms Demeter Chanter
Research Co-ordinator (Departmental Research Units)
d.v.chanter@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7480
OLD 6.06A

Research and LSE Fellows

Natalia-profile-pic

Dr Natalia Buitrón Arias [LSE fellow]
Latin America and Amazonia: state formation; egalitarianism, collective-making and the political imagination; cooperation and the commons; indigenous democracy and justice; schooling and sociality; childhood and youth.
n.buitron-arias@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7106 1300
POR 4.01

male-silhouette

Dr Ryan Davey [Postdoctoral fellow]
England; political and economic anthropology; class, debt, subjectivity.
r.davey@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7955 7480
OLD 6.06A

Augustin Diz

Agustin Diz [LSE fellow]
Latin America and the Gran Chaco: political economy; labour and unemployment; welfare; surplus populations; abundance; collectivity; gender
a.diz@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7955 7215
OLD 6.06

Tobias Eule

Dr Tobias Eule [Postdoctoral fellow]
Law and anthropology, the state, migration, human rights, social history.
t.g.eule@lse.ac.uk

Nick Evans

Dr Nicholas Evans (LSE Fellow)
South Asia; India; Islam; leadership and hierarchy; ethics; doubt and uncertainty; anthropologies of epidemics and contagion; zoonosis; historical anthropology
n.h.evans@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6306
OLD 6.09

AnaGutierrez

Dr Ana Gutierrez Garza [Postdoctoral fellow]
London; Latin America; migration; labour; economic anthropology; gender; middle class.
a.p.gutierrez-garza@lse.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7955 7480
OLD 6.06A 

Geoffrey-Hughes

Dr Geoffrey Hughes 
[LSE fellow]
Jordan and the Middle East: Kinship and Personhood; Marriage; Gender; The Anthropology of Islam; Political Economy; The State; Institutions; Infrastructure; Science and Technology Studies
g.f.hughes@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6933
OLD 5.06A

Anni Kajanus

Dr Anni Kajanus 
[Leverhulme Trust early career fellow] 
China; Culture and cognition, cooperation, migration, education, gender and kinship.
a.e.kajanus@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7106 1209
POR 2.02

Chloe Nahum-Claudel

Dr Chloe Nahum-Claudel 
[Leverhulme Trust early career fellow]
Amazonia (Brazil) and Melanesia (Papua New Guinea); kinship and gender relations; cosmologies of livelihood (hunting, fishing, and agriculture); culinary systems and eating; ritualization and diplomacy; eschatology and the invisible; resource exploitation and frontier relations; theories of comparison; material-semiotics.
c.nahum-claudel@lse.ac.uk

Andrea Pia

Dr Andrea Pia 
[LSE fellow - China]
China, rural sociology, water, common-pool resources, political economy, environmental justice, prefigurative politics, infrastructure.
a.e.pia@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7614
KGS 3.07

Alice Tilche

Dr Alice Tilche 
[Leverhulme Early career fellow]
India; art, indigeneity, development, agrarian change, migration, social inequality.
a.tilche@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7435
KGS 1.06

Anna Tuckett

Dr Anna Tuckett 
[Postdoctoral fellow]
Italy, the UK, migration, documents, bureaucracy, political and legal anthropology, citizenship and the state.
a.l.tuckett@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7480
OLD 6.06A

Jean Wencelius

Dr Jean Wencélius 
[Postdoctoral fellow]
Cameroon; Zimbabwe; ecological anthropology; ethnobiology; anthropology of life; kinship; social network analysis; domestication; crop diversity.
J.Wencelius@lse.ac.uk

Matt Wilde

Dr Matt Wilde 
[Postdoctoral fellow]
Venezuela; UK; popular politics, democracy and egalitarianism, the state, urban life, political economy
m.w.wilde@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7480
OLD 6.06A

Visiting staff

male-silhouette

Dr Brendan Donegan [Visiting fellow]
Industrialisation, health initiatives, marginality.
b.donegan@lse.ac.uk

Katharine Fletcher

Dr Katharine Fletcher [Visiting Fellow]
Christianity, ritual and aesthetics, and communitarianism.
k.c.fletcher@lse.ac.uk

Dena Freeman

Dr Dena Freeman  [Senior visiting fellow]
Ethiopia; cultural transformation; happiness and wellbeing; culture, cognition and emotion; international development; Pentecostalism.
d.g.freeman@lse.ac.uk

John Harriss

Professor John Harriss [Visiting professor]
South Asia; politics of development; political anthropology; state and civil society; agrarian transitions and labour; inequality and poverty; social policy.
jharriss@sfu.ca

Pablo Jaramillo

Dr Pablo Jaramillo [Visiting senior fellow]
Colombia, Venzuela; materiality and temporality of natural resources; transformation of indigeneity.
p.jaramillo@lse.ac.uk

Ellen Judd

Professor Ellen R. Judd [Visiting senior fellow]
China; political economy, gender, kinship, agrarian social organization, social movements, societies in transition, development, cultural production, mobility and migration, anthropology of care, inequality and mutuality.
e.judd1@lse.ac.uk

AdamKuper

Professor Adam Kuper [Visiting professor]
South Africa; intellectual history of anthropology, kinship, Southern Africa.
adam.kuper@gmail.com

Mu Peng

Dr Mu Peng [Visiting fellow]
China; Chinese popular religion, ritual, traditional Chinese medicine and folk medicine, body, and history of folklore studies.
m.peng2@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Dr Denis Regnier [Visiting fellow]
Madagascar, Borneo, East Africa, Indian Ocean, Austronesian world; slavery and post-slavery; kinship and marriage; memory and identity; learning and cognition; religion (ancestors); death and funerary practices; healing; naming; ethnohistory; environment.
d.a.regnier@lse.ac.uk

Carlos Salazar

Professor Carles Salazar [Visiting professor]
Ireland, Catalonia; cooperation, kinship, new reproductive technologies, sexual morality, religion.
c.salazar1@lse.ac.uk

Zimran Samuel

Zimran Samuel [Visiting fellow]
Children law, mental health, human rights

male-silhouette

Dr Mitchell W Sedgwick  [Senior visiting fellow]
Japan (mainland SE Asia, France, Tex-Mex border); economic anthropology, globalisation; anthropology of organisations, multinational corporations, cross-cultural relations/ethnicity and work; minorities and marginality in Japan; disaster anthropology, post-tsunami Japan.
m.sedgwick@lse.ac.uk

Retired academic staff

MauriceBloch

Professor Maurice Bloch
Madagascar; religion and politics, cognition and culture, kinship.
m.e.bloch@lse.ac.uk

stephan-feuchtwang

Professor Stephan Feuchtwang
China and Taiwan, Germany; Chinese popular religion, the anthropology of history, life stories, family myths and responses to catastrophic loss, comparison of civilisations and empires.
s.feuchtwang@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6241
SHF 3.01

male-silhouette

Professor Jean La Fontaine
East Africa, United Kingdom; kinship, children, incest, ritual, witchcraft and Satanism.
j.la-fontaine@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7708 4496

chris-fuller

Professor Chris Fuller
South Asia; India and Hinduism, South Indian temples, religion and politics, globalisation and information technology, Tamil Brahman society and history.
c.fuller@lse.ac.uk

female silhouette

Professor Martha Mundy
Arab societies; law, agrarian systems, sociology of Islam, historical anthropology, kinship.
m.mundy@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Professor Jonathan Parry
South Asia; sociology of Hinduism, caste and other forms of inequality, industrialisation, labour and the anthropology of work.
j.p.parry@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Dr James Woodburn
Sub-Saharan Africa; hunting and gathering societies, egalitarian political systems.
james@woodburn.org.uk

Current research students

Read a detailed list of current research students.