LondonWestminsterBridge

Our people

Who's who

Senior Management Team

Giles Atkinson

Deputy Head of Department (Education and Teaching)

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Henry Overman

Deputy Head of Department (Research)

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Simon Dietz

Head of Environmental Economics and Policy Cluster

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

hyun shin

Head of Urbanisation, Planning and Development Cluster

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

olmo silva 2019 Cropped

Head of Economic Geography Cluster

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

SamColegate Cropped

Departmental Manager

Sam Colegate
s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Academic staff

A-Z

gabriel-ahlfeldt 2019 Cropped

Prof Gabriel Ahlfeldt
g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Economics & Land Development
Programme Director for MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

Felipe Carozzi

Dr Felipe Carozzi
f.carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Economics & Economic Geography
Programme Director for PhD Economic Geography 

ryan centner 2019 Cropped

Dr Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography
Programme Director for MSc Human Geography and Urban Studies   

paul cheshire 2019 Cropped

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

julia corwin 2019 Cropped

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment 

quentin 2020

Quentin Coutellier
q.coutellier@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

riccardocrescenzi 2019 Cropped

Prof Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Kate Dawson

Dr Kate Dawson
K.E.Dawson@lse.ac.uk

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

marco-di-cataldo 2019 Cropped

Dr Marco Di Cataldo
m.di-cataldo@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate Post-doctoral Researcher

Simon Dietz

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

eugenie-dugoua 2019 Cropped

Dr Eugenie Dugoua
e.dugoua@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Economics

steve gibbons 2020

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

ian gordon 2019 Cropped

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

School Professor of Economic Geography

christian-hilber 2019 Cropped

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

simona iammarino 2019 Cropped

Prof Simona Iammarino
s.iammarino@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography

garethones2019 Cropped

Prof Gareth A. Jones
g.a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Geography
Programme Director for MSc Urbanisation and Development 

Lazzarini photo

Dr Alicia Hayashi Lazzarini
A.Lazzarini@lse.ac.uk


LSE Fellow in Human Geography

neil lee 2019 Cropped

Prof Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Programme Director for BSc Geography with Economics
Academic Programme Director for MSc Local Economic Development

Lois Liao

Lois Liao
y.liao10@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance
Deputy Director for MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

murray low 2019 Cropped

Dr Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Human Geography

alan mace 2019 Cropped

Dr Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning Studies

michael-mason 2019 Cropped

Dr Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

claire mercer 2019 Cropped

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography

susana-mourato 2019 Cropped

Prof Susana Mourato
s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment and Development

henry-overman2019 Cropped

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

charlie palmer 2019 Cropped

Dr Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environment and Development
Programme Director for MSc Environment and Development

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Local Economic Development and Planning
Programme Director for MSc Local Economic Development

 

kasiapaprocki 2019 Cropped

Dr Kasia Paprocki
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor in Environment

richard perkins 2019 Cropped

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

lindsay-relihan 2019 Cropped

Dr Lindsay Relihan
l.relihan@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Real Estate Economics and Finance

davide-rigo 2019 Cropped

Dr Davide Rigo

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

sefi roth 2019 Cropped

Dr Sefi Roth
s.j.roth@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change

cristobal ruiz-tagle

J. Cristobal Ruiz-Tagle 
j.c.ruiz-tagle@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

deen shariff sharp

Dr Deen Shariff Sharp 
D.S.Sharp@lse.ac.uk


LSE Fellow in Human Geography

hyun shin

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Geography and Urban Studies

olmo silva 2019 Cropped

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Real Estate Economics and Finance
Director of Postgraduate Studies

Thomas-Smith 2019 Cropped

Dr Thomas Smith
T.E.L.Smith@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor in Environmental Geography 

Programme Director for BSc Environment and Development and BSc Environmental Policy with Economics 
Departmental Tutor, Undergraduate Programmes

Jessie Speer

Dr Jessie Speer
j.s.speer@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Human Geography

michael-storper 2019 Cropped

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

jayaraj-sundaresan 2019 Cropped

Dr Jayaraj Sundaresan
J.Sundaresan@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

sylvander_picture

Dr Nora Sylvander
N.Sylvander@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment 

austin-zeiderman 2019 Cropped

Dr Austin Zeiderman
a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Geography
Deputy Director of Postgraduate Studies

 

Economic Geography

Gabriel Ahlfeldt

Prof Gabriel Ahlfeldt
g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Economics & Land Development
Programme Director for MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

Felipe Carozzi

Dr Felipe Carozzi
f.carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Economics & Economic Geography

Paul Cheshire

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

Riccardo Crescenzi

Prof Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Marco Di Cataldo

Dr Marco Di Cataldo
m.di-cataldo@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate Post-doctoral Researcher

steve gibbons 2020

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

School Professor of Economic Geography

Christian Hilber

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

simona iammarino 2019 Cropped

Prof Simona Iammarino
s.iammarino@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Neil Lee

Prof Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Lois Liao

Lois Liao
y.liao10@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance
Deputy Director for MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis
v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Associate Professor of Political Economy

Henry Overman

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Local Economic Development and Planning
Programme Director for MSc Local Economic Development

Lindsay Relihan

Dr Lindsay Relihan
l.relihan@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Real Estate Economics and Finance

 

davide-rigo 2019 Cropped

Dr Davide Rigo
d.rigo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

Olmo Silva

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Real Estate Economics & Finance

Michael Storper

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

 

Environmental Economics and Policy 

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

julia corwin 2019 Cropped

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment 

quentin coutellier

Quentin Coutellier
q.coutellier@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

Simon Dietz

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

eugenie-dugoua 2019 Cropped

Dr Eugenie Dugoua
e.dugoua@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Economics

Matteo-Galizzi-8961-cropped

Dr Matteo M Galizzi
m.m.galizzi@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Associate Professor of Behavioural Science

nancy holman 2020

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning

David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography

Michael Mason

Dr Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

susana mourato July 2018

Prof Susana Mourato

s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development

charlie palmer 2019 Cropped

Dr Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environment and Development
Programme Director for MSc Environment and Development

kasiapaprocki 2019 Cropped

Dr Kasia Paprocki
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor in Environment

Richard Perkins

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

sefi roth 2019 Cropped

Dr Sefi Roth
s.j.roth@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change

cristobal ruiz-tagle

J. Cristobal Ruiz-Tagle 
j.c.ruiz-tagle@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

Ganga Shreedhar new

Dr Ganga Shreedhar
G.S.Shreedhar@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Assistant Professor in Behavioural Science

Thomas-Smith 2019 Cropped

Dr Thomas Smith
T.E.L.Smith@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor in Environmental Geography 

sylvander_picture

Dr Nora Sylvander
N.Sylvander@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment 

meredtih 2020

Dr Meredith Whitten
M.Whitten@lse.ac.uk

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

Urbanisation, Planning and Development 

ryan centner 2019 Cropped

Dr Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography
Programme Director for MSc Human Geography and Urban Studies  

Kate Dawson

Dr Kate Dawson
K.E.Dawson@lse.ac.uk

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

Ian Gordon

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography

garethones2019 Cropped

Prof Gareth A. Jones
g.a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Geography
Programme Director for MSc Urbanisation and Development 

murray low 2019 Cropped

Dr Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Human Geography


alan mace 2019 Cropped

Dr Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning Studies

claire mercer 2019 Cropped

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Local Economic Development and Planning

Niranjana profile photo 2019

Dr Niranjana Ramesh 
N.Ramesh@lse.ac.uk

Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow

Romola Sanyal

Dr Romola Sanyal
r.sanyal@lse.ac.uk 

Associate Professor of Urban Geography

kath Cropped

Kath Scanlon
K.J.Scanlon@lse.ac.uk

Distinguished Policy Fellow at LSE London

deen shariff sharp

Dr Deen Shariff Sharp
D.S.Sharp@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

hyun shin

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Geography and Urban Studies

Jessie Speer

Dr Jessie Speer

Assistant Professor in Human Geography

jayaraj-sundaresan 2019 Cropped

Dr Jayaraj Sundaresan
J.Sundaresan@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

meredtih 2020

Dr Meredith Whitten
M.Whitten@lse.ac.uk

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

austin-zeiderman 2019 Cropped

Dr Austin Zeiderman
a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Geography

  

Teaching staff

Graduate Teaching Assistants and Guest Teachers/Lecturers A-Z

antonio

Antonio Avila-Uribe

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

margarida morais

Margarida Bandeira Morais

Graduate Teaching Assistant

Sanchayan Banerjee

Sanchayan Banerjee

Graduate Teaching Assistant

louise bernard

Louise Bernard 

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

 

filippo boeri

Filippo Boeri

Graduate Teaching Assistant

 

maud borie

Maud Borie

Guest Teacher

dattani gta

Kavita Dattani

Guest Teacher 

ina drouven

Ina Drouven

Graduate Teaching Assistant

lucie glasheen

Dr Lucie Glasheen

Guest Teacher

glen december 2020

Glen Gostlow

Graduate Teaching Assistant

marian jacobs

Marian Jacobs

Guest Teacher

bea

Beatriz Jambrina-Canseco

Graduate Teaching Assistant

NAB building

Woong Ki Lee

Graduate Teaching Assistant

iris lim

Iris Lim

Guest Teacher


manuel_minsk

Manuel Linsenmeier

Graduate Teaching Assistant

lukas makovsky

Lukas Makovsky

Graduate Teaching Assistant

 

peter mcgowran

Peter McGowran

Guest Teacher

yarden manelzon 2020 (2)

Yarden Manzelzon

Graduate Teaching Assistant

 

Till Meisner

Till Meissner 

Graduate Teaching Assistant

Jonathan Mille

Jonathan Mille

Guest Teacher

NAB building

Gabriela Neves De Lima

Graduate Teaching Assistant

NAB building

Gabriele Piazza

Graduate Teaching Assistant

julien picard

Julien Picard

Graduate Teaching Assistant

 

natalie pruett

Natalie Pruett

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

lindiwe rennert Cropped

Lindiwe Rennert

Graduate Teaching Assistant

anna smith

Anna Smith

Guest Teacher

 

frida 2019

Frida Timan

Graduate Teaching Assistant

Ran Wei-Department Page Headshot

Ran Wei

Graduate Teaching Assistant

zsofia zador

Zsofia Zador

Guest Teacher

 

yang zheng

Yang Zheng
Graduate Teaching Assistant

 

   

PhD students

Economic Geography

Environmental Economics and Policy

Urbanisation, Planning and Development

  

Professional Services Staff

Our Professional Services Teams

Operations Team

SamColegate Cropped

Sam Colegate
Departmental Manager

Room: STC 4.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6089
Email: s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

Ivanilza Da Mata

Ivanilza Da Mata 
Office Co-ordinator

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3636
Email: I.Da-Mata@lse.ac.uk

lee mager

Lee Mager 
Deputy Departmental Manager

Room: STC 4.12
Email: a.l.mager@lse.ac.uk

william stein Cropped

William Stein
Student Community and Experience Administrator 

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6175
Email: W.Stein2@lse.ac.uk

Programmes Team 

martha clarke

Martha Clarke
Undergraduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
BA Geography
BSc Geography with Economics
BSc Environment and Development
BSc Environmental Policy with Economics

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5406 
Email:  M.K.Clarke@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: Geog.ug@lse.ac.uk

evie clarke

Evie Clarke
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Environment and Development
MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change
MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

Room: STC 4.05
Email: e.clarke4@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: geog.env@lse.ac.uk

mark jenkin cropped

Mark Jenkin 
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Local Economic Development
MSc Urbanisation & Development

Room: STC 5.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7496
Email: m.jenkin@lse.ac.uk

For MSc U&D enquiries: geog.ud@lse.ac.uk
For MSc LED enquiries: geog.led@lse.ac.uk

tom jones

Thomas Jones
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Human Geography and Urban Studies (Research)
MSc Real Estate Economics & Finance
MSc Regional & Urban Planning Studies

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5689
Email: T.Jones5@lse.ac.uk

For MSc REEF enquiries: geog.reef@lse.ac.uk
For MSc RUPS enquiries: geog.rups@lse.ac.uk
For MSc HGUS enquiries: geog.hgus@lse.ac.uk

 

maxime vp

Maxime van-Poeteren

PhD Programmes Coordinator for:

  • MPhil/PhD Economic Geography
  • MPhil/PhD Environmental Economics
  • MPhil/PhD Environmental Policy and Development
  • MPhil/PhD Human Geography and Urban Studies
  • MPhil/PhD Regional and Urban Planning Studies 

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5689
Email: m.van-poeteren@lse.ac.uk

For MPhil/PhD programme enquiries, please visit our MPhil/PhD frequently asked questions page first.

If you cannot find an answer to your question via this page, please contact geog.phd@lse.ac.uk.

Communications and Events Team

catherine mitchell Cropped (1)

Catherine Mitchell
Communications and Events Manager

Room: STC 5.10

Currently on maternity leave

Isobel_Jones2019

Isobel Jones
Communications and Events Officer

Room: STC 5.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6453
Email: I.P.Jones1@lse.ac.uk

For communications enquiries: geog.comms@lse.ac.uk

emily douglas pss

Emily Douglas 
Graduate Intern

Room: STC 5.10
Email: E.Douglas1@lse.ac.uk

For communications enquiries: geog.comms@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Affiliate staff

A-Z

Matteo-Galizzi-8961-cropped

Dr Matteo M Galizzi
m.m.galizzi@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Behavioural Science

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis
v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Political Economy

Ganga Shreedhar new

Dr Ganga Shreedhar
G.S.Shreedhar@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Behavioural Science

 

Visiting staff

A-Z

andrea ascani Cropped

Dr Andrea Ascani

Visiting Fellow

 

NAB building

Dr Maarten Bosker

Visiting Fellow

patrizia casadei Cropped

Patrizia Casadei 

Visiting Fellow

Tom Cowan

Dr Tom Cowan

Visiting Fellow

Lewis Dijkstra Cropped

Lewis Dijkstra

Visiting Professor

 

NAB building

Luisa Gagliardi

Visiting Fellow

Mara Giua Cropped

Mara Giua 

Visiting Fellow

 

 

kirk hamilton Cropped

Prof Kirk Hamilton

Visiting Professor in Practice

 

 

Michael Harloe Cropped

Michael Harloe

Visiting Professor

 

Yohan

Yohan Iddawela

Visiting Fellow

 

 

peter john 1 (2)

Prof Peter John

Visiting Fellow

ann-kathrin koessler

Dr Ann-Kathrin Koessler

Visiting Fellow

andreas mense

Dr Andreas Mense

Visiting Fellow

Guy Morrell Cropped

Guy Morrell

Visiting Senior Fellow

 

Antoine Paccoud  Cropped

Dr Antoine Paccoud

Visiting Fellow

 

julie ren 2019

Dr Julie Ren

Visiting Fellow

francis Salway Cropped

Francis Salway
Visiting Professor in Practice

olivier-schoni (2)

Olivier Schöni 

Visiting Fellow

 

michael spackman Cropped

Michael Spackman
Visiting Senior Fellow 

NAB building

Nigel Spence
Visiting Professor

jason_wong

Dr Jason Wong

Visiting Fellow

 

 

Job opportunities

Graduate Intern - Programme Support and Process Innovation - Apply by 21 September (23.59 UK time). Apply here.