Forthcoming Events

Lectures, Seminars & Book Launches

LSE hosts a wide and varied range of Middle East events, including public lectures, seminars, book launches and conferences. Events are open to the public and are free of charge, unless specified otherwise. This list of events includes all Middle East Centre events and other selected Middle East events at LSE.

Like our Facebook  page, follow us on Twitter, or join our mailing list to keep up to date with our latest events, publications and activities.

Almost all of our events are recorded. To catch up on the latest MEC podcasts and interviews, visit our SoundCloud  page or subscribe on iTunes or Stitcher.

 

Textile production in Morocco

European-North African Trade Relationship and Global Value Chains Workshop

Friday 17 January | 09:00 - 18:00 | Shamel Azmeh, LSE; Abeer Elshennawy, AUC and others

Registration will open on Friday 3 January

dagher 1200x1200

Assad Or We Burn the Country: How One Family's Lust for Power Destroyed Syria (Book Launch)

Tuesday 21 January | 18:00 - 19:30 | Sam Dagher, Journalist

Registration will open on Tuesday 7 January

Reuters Lebanon money 1200x800

Lebanon on the Brink: Prospects for the Country’s Economy

Monday 27 January | 18:00 - 19:30 | Alissa Amico, GOVERN Centre; Alain Bifani, Ministry of Finance, Lebanon; Raed Charafeddine, Banque du Liban

Registration will open on Monday 13 January

iranian women 1200x800

Women in Place: The Politics of Gender Segregation in Iran 

Wednesday 5 February | 18:00 - 19:30 | Nazanin Shahrokni, LSE Gender 

Registration will open on Wednesday 22 January

crony-capitalism-in-the-middle-east 1200x1847

Crony Capitalism in the Middle East: Business and Politics from Liberalization to the Arab Spring

Monday 10 February | 17:00 - 18:30 | Adeel Malik, University of Oxford; Ishac Diwan, Columbia University

Registration will open on Monday 27 January

Yardigi 2389x1778

The Political Economy of the Kurdish Question in Turkey

Thursday 13 February | 16:30 - 18:00 | Veli Yadirgi, SOAS

Registration will open on Thursday 30 January

yezid large report cover 1420x770

Owners of the Republic: An Anatomy of Egypt’s Military Economy

Monday 24 February | 18:00 - 19:30 | Yezid Sayigh, Carnegie Middle East Center

Registration will open on Monday 10 February

abdulkhaleq-abdulla-500-733

Decolonising Middle East Studies? (LSE Festival 2020)

Tuesday 3 March | 19:30 - 20:30 | Aula Hariri, Sara Salem & Marral Shamshiri-Fard, LSE

Full programme will be available in January 2020

black-wave 500x760

Black Wave: Saudi Arabia, Iran, and the Forty-Year Rivalry That Unraveled Culture, Religion, and Collective Memory in the Middle East

Thursday 5 March | 18:00 - 19:30 | Kim Ghattas, Journalist

Registration will open on Thursday 20 February

Ms Marvel

Can Muslim Comic Book Superheroes Change the World? (LSE Festival 2020)

Saturday 7 March | 12:45 - 13:15 | Manmit Bhambra & Jennifer Jackson-Preece, LSE; Dima Issa, Balamand University

Further information on project