Prizes and Honours


2015 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards Gold Award for Television: In-Depth/Feature Reporting. Professor Leonard Smith and Dr Erica Thompson were science consultants for the BBC programme 'Climate Change by Numbers'.


Dr Joseph Daron and Dr David Stainforth were awarded the 2014 Lloyd's Science of Risk runner-up Prize in the category of Climate Change for their paper 'Assessing pricing assumptions for weather index insurance in a changing climate', published in Climate Risk Management.


CATS Visiting Professor Keith Beven was awarded the 2013 President's Prize from the British Hydrological Society, awarded every two years in recognition of work which has advanced hydrology significantly.


Dr Nicola Ranger’s paper with Dr Falk Niehoerster ‘Deep uncertainty in long-term hurricane risk: Scenario generation and implications for future climate experiments’ was shortlisted for the Lloyd’s Science of Risk Prize 2012. Nicola gave a presentation entitled ‘What do we really know about US Hurricane Risk in 2020?’ at the prize event on 29 November 2012. The conference programme can be found here.

CATS Visiting Professor Keith Beven was awarded the 2012 American Geophysical Union Horton Medal for outstanding contributions to hydrological research. The award was presented at the Union Medal Ceremony in San Francisco in December. This is one of the most prestigious awards for hydrological research, with this being only the second in Europe of the 27 previous awardees since 1976.


Professor Henry Wynn was awarded the Exzellenzstipendium des Landes Oberösterreich by the Governor of Upper-Austria for a visit to the University of Linz in 2012. 

Dr Nicola Ranger was awarded a prize in the climate change category of the Lloyd's Science of Risk Prize for her Climatic Change paper on flood risk in Mumbai.

Professor Henry Wynn was awarded a Leverhulme Emeritus fellowship. The award is for a two year project entitled 'Advances in Algebraic Statistics'.

Professor Henry Wynn was awarded the Box Medal by the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS). The Box Medal is named after George Box and "recognises each year an extraordinary statistician who had remarkably contributed with his or her work to the development and the application of statistical methods in European business and industry". Further details of the award can be found here:


Dr Leonard Smith was awarded the Fitzroy Prize 2003 by the Royal Meteorological Society. The award is named after Captain Fitzroy who founded the Met Office in 1854 to provide meteorological and sea information to mariners. The prize is awarded every two years to members of the Royal Meteorological Society for distinguished work in applied meteorology.