50-75_All-borders-PageBanners_747 x 420_white


Special events to mark 75 years of independence 

MM_book size1


Saturday 24 June | 10.30am UK onwards | Alumni Theatre, Cheng Kin Ku (New Academic) Building, LSE

A day-long conference to mark the 75th anniversary of Burma/Myanmar's independence. 

10:30am: PANEL 1: 'Looking Ahead

Speakers: Minn Tent Bo, Michael Charney, Thet Ko Ko, Theingi Lynn 

Moderator: Dominique Dillabough-Lefebvre

Chair: Nilanjan Sarkar


1.30pm: PANEL 2: 'Humanitarian Aid' 

Speakers: Nyan San Lwin, Zoya Phan, Kota Watanabe, Kyaw Win Tun.        

Moderator: Stephen Huard 

Chair: Nilanjan Sarkar 

4pm: KEYNOTE ADDRESS: Professor James Scott, Sterling Professor in Political Science, Yale University (online): 'Federalism crafted from below in Burma's war on the Junta', followed by Q&A. (This lecture was cancelled.)

This event was not recorded.

MM_book size1

Aung San and Independent Burma

Thursday | 26 January | 3pm UK / 9.30pm Myanmar 

A special lecture to mark 75 years of Myanmar's independence & the complex history of its anti-colonial struggle, focusing on Aung San.

SPEAKER: Angelene Naw is Professor Emerita in History at Judson University (@JudsonU), Illinois. She is author of Aung San and the Struggle for Burmese Independence (2001), an academic biography of Aung San, and very recently, of The History of the Karen People of Burma (ed. J. Cain; 2023).

DISCUSSANT: Michael W. Charney is Professor in the Department of History & the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy, SOAS(@SOAS), University of London, and a specialist in the history of Southeast Asia. He is author of A History of Modern Burma (2009), and more recently, Imperial Military Transportation in British Asia: Burma, 1941-1942 (2019).

CHAIR: Dr Nilanjan Sarkar is Deputy Director, LSE South Asia Centre (@SAsiaLSE).

Banner imageThe ‘Myanmar @ 75’ logo is copyrighted by the LSE South Asia Centre, and may not be used by anyone for any purpose. It shows the national flower of Myanmar, Padauk (Pterocarpus macrocarpus), framed in a design combination adapted from Burmese textile weaves and sacral architectural motifs. The logo has been designed by Oroon Das.

Please click here to watch a recording of the event.