banner image people

Population at LSE

Researchers in population studies at LSE bring a range of disciplinary and methodological approaches to bear on population research.

Demography is the study of human populations, past, present and future. It is concerned with how births, deaths, and migration determine change, and so determine key trends such as rapid population growth and population ageing. It includes the analysis of characteristics that determine the components of change and/or are affected by population structure, such as age, sex, marital and health status, and the composition of families and households.

Formal demography is concerned with the measurement of the size, composition, and spatial distribution of human populations. Social demography (or population studies) explores the explanation and consequences of population trends and differentials, drawing on insights from a number of relevant disciplinary perspectives, including sociology, economics, anthropology, human geography, epidemiology and human biology.

LSE has a long-standing interest in population studies. An MSc in Demography was instituted at LSE in 1965, and LSE continues to provide demographic training at MSc and PhD level. The Population Investigation Committee, a small independent research group, was founded in 1936 and since World War II has been housed at LSE, and publishes the journal, Population Studies. LSE also houses the British Society for Population Studies.

The PhD programme in Demography (Social/Formal) is currently located within the department of Methodology.  

Current researchers in population studies at LSE bring a range of disciplinary and methodological approaches to bear on population research. They are based across departments at the LSE to include Social Policy, International Development, Gender, Sociology, Economic History, Methodology and Psychological and Behavioural Sciences. Geographical focus is also diverse, encompassing developed, developing and transitional countries. Population researchers include those with training in anthropology, economics, biology, physics, sociology and statistics.

Contact: population@lse.ac.uk

Population researchers

Shuang Chen

Dr Shuang Chen

Department of Social Policy

s.chen114@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Coast_Ernestina

Professor Ernestina Coast

Department of International Development

e.coast@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Cummins-Neil

Dr Neil Cummins

Department of Economic History

n.j.cummins@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Gjonca_Black_White_1 (00000002)

Dr Arjan Gjonca

Department of International Development

a.gjonca@lse.ac.uk

 

 

green_Elliot

Dr Elliott Green

Department of International Development

e.d.green@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Ursula Henz

Dr Ursula Henz

Department of Sociology

u.henz@lse.ac.uk

 

 

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Department of Social Policy

s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Jouni_Kuha 2021_3

Professor Jouni Kuha

Department of Statistics

j.kuha@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Leone_Tiziana

Dr Tiziana Leone

Department of International Development

t.leone@lse.ac.uk

 PhD topics for supervision: lifecourse and women's health in LMICs, Ageing, reproductive health, biometrics and biomarkers

 

LordanGrace

Dr Grace Lordan

Department of Psychological and Behavioural Sciences

g.lordan@lse.ac.uk 

 

 

MurphyMichael

Professor Michael Murphy

Department of Social Policy

m.murphy@lse.ac.uk

No PhD supervision

 

 

BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Department of Social Policy

b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

 

 

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Department of Social Policy

l.platt@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Schneider-Eric

Dr Eric Schneider

Department of Economic History

e.b.schnieder@lse.ac.uk

 

 

WendySigle

Professor Wendy Sigle

Department of Gender Studies

w.sigle@lse.ac.uk

 

 

PhD Researchers

 

Carter

Isabelle Carter

Department of Methodology

I.G.Carter@lse.ac.uk

 

Grace-CHANG

Grace Chang

Department of Social Policy

g.c.chang@lse.ac.uk

 

Cui

Qi Cui

Department of Methodology

q.cui1@lse.ac.uk

 

FOOTMAN

Katy Footman

Department of Social Policy

k.footman@lse.ac.uk

 

Nick Fitzhenry Photo 2

Nick Fitzhenry

Department of Economic History

n.a.fitzhenry@lse.ac.uk

 

HRISTOVA

Ivilina Hristova

Department of Social Policy

i.hristova@lse.ac.uk

 

Le Voir

Rosanna Le Voir

Department of Methodology

r.h.le-voir@lse.ac.uk

 

 

SEDOVIC

Michaela Šedovič

Department of Social Policy

m.sedovicova@lse.ac.uk

 

 

SIMMONS

Sally Sonia Simmons

Department of Social Policy

s.simmons1@lse.ac.uk

 

 

SPASENOSKA

Dijana Spasenoska

Department of Social Policy

 

 

STRONGJoe

Joe Strong

Department of Social Policy

j.strong3@lse.ac.uk

 

TORRISI

Orsola Torrisi

Department of Social Policy

o.torrisi@lse.ac.uk

 

 

VANDEMOORTELE

Milagros (Milo) Vandemoortele

Department of Social Policy

m.vandemoortele@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

Alumni Researchers

 http://etheses.lse.ac.uk/view/sets/LSE-SA.html

ALBUREZGUTIERREZ

Dr. Diego Alburez-Gutierrez

Beyond excess mortality: the demographic life of a Mayan community after a war of massacres

 

 

 

 

 

Bouanchaud

Dr Paul Bouanchaud

Male sex work in China: understanding the HIV risk environments of Shenzhen’s migrant money boys

 

 

DONNALOJA

Victoria Donnaloja

What is it to become a citizen? The perspective of immigrants and natives

 

 

 

 

Hessel

Dr. Philipp Hessel

Long-term effects of economic fluctuations on health and cognition in Europe and the United States

 

 

KANANURA

Dr. Rornald Kananura

Child health and mortality in resource-poor settings: a life-course and systemic approach

 

Jones

Dr Eleri Jones

Care-seeking for birth in urban India

 

 

 

 

SOCHAS

Dr. Laura Sochas

 Context and heterogeneity: a novel approach to explaining maternal health inequalities in Zambia

 

vaisanen

Dr. Heini Vaisanen

 A life course perspective to abortion in Finland

 

 

Wilson

Dr. Ben Wilson

Origin, destination and convergence: understanding the fertility of international migrants and their descendants

 

 

 

 

Twitter

pop@LSE pop_LSE

After the great pilot seminars this summer, we are starting the MT 2022 with @ruettenauer seminar on Immigrant mino… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

5 days ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

pop@LSE pop_LSE

RT @rishie_: Super excited for this fantastic lineup- and so pleased to have been invited to share my work. 🙏🏾

2 weeks ago

Reply Retweet Favorite