Firoz Lalji PhD Thesis Prize

Learn about the prize



Awarded for an outstanding contribution to knowledge on Africa, the Firoz Lalji PhD Thesis Prize is awarded every two years to one first-place and one second-place PhD thesis hosted at LSE. The work will be promoted and successful researchers will receive £1,000 and £500 respectively.

Firoz Lalji PhD Thesis Prize 2022

The Firoz Lalji Institute for Africa is pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural Firoz Lalji PhD Thesis Prize for 2022. Four candidates were selected for a prize by an internal committee of LSE academics for producing high-quality work on the African continent.

Joint winner
Henry Musa Kpaka: Essays on Traditional Institutions and Their Impact on Economic and Political Outcomes (2021).

Joint winner
Richard Stupart: Bearing Witness: Practices of journalistic witnessing in South Sudan (2020).

Director's Prize 
Kate Dawson: Shifting Sands in Accra, Ghana: The Ante-Lives of Urban Form (2020).

Director's Prize 
Camille Pellerin: The Politics of Public Silence: Civil Society – State Relations Under the EPRDF Regime (2019).

How to enter the prize

The next PhD Thesis Prize will be launched on 2023 for announcement in 2024. Please see the eligibility and application criteria below.

Eligibility and application for the Prize

  • Dissertation awarded at LSE within the previous two years of submissions opening (date as shown on certificate)
  • Any subject from any department is permissible, focussed on Africa
  • Dissertation is submitted by the host LSE department, with a letter of recommendation from the PhD student’s supervisor (200 words max)
  • No more than 1 dissertation can be submitted per LSE department
  • Where a department has multiple eligible candidates, the Institute recommends a decision is made by the department's research committee
  • The Institute's decision will not evaluate the number of corrections a thesis required


For more information about the prize, please contact:

Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels