Notable alumni in London

LSE alumni have gone on to pursue careers in various London-based industries

Central Government

  • Richard Bacon, MP for South Norfolk
  • Karen Buck, MP for Westminster North
  • Sharmishta Chakrabarti, Peer, House of Lords
  • Dan Carden, MP for Liverpool, Walton 
  • Rt Hon Greg Clark, MP for Tunbridge Wells, Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Rt Hon Yvette Cooper, MP for Normanton, Pontefract & Castleford
  • Mary Creagh, MP for Wakefield
  • Stella Creasy, MP for Walthamstow
  • Anneliese Dodds, MP for Oxford East
  • Rt Hon David Evennett, MP for Bexleyheath and Crayford
  • Rebecca Harris, MP for Castle Point, Lord Commissioner (HM Treasury) (Whip)
  • Sir Jeremy Heywood, Cabinet Secretary (retired October 2018)
  • Rt Hon Dame Margaret Hodge, MP for Barking
  • Margot James, MP for Stourbridge, Minister of State (Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport) (Digital)
  • Ranil Jayawardena, MP for North East Hampshire
  • Catriona Laing, British High Commissioner Designate to Nigeria, Foreign & Commonwealth Office (October 2018)
  • Christian Matheson MP, City of Chester, Shadow Minister (Cabinet Office)
  • Rt Hon Edward (Ed) Miliband, MP for Doncaster North
  • Rt Hon Maria Miller, MP for Basingstoke
  • Jeremy Moore, Director, Department for Work and Pensions
  • Robert (Bob) Neill, MP for Bromley and Chislehurst
  • Una O'Brien, Permanent Secretary, Department of Health
  • Matthew Pennycook, MP for Greenwich and Woolwich, Shadow Minister (Exiting the European Union)
  • Christopher Pincher, MP for Tamworth, Treasurer of HM Household (Deputy Chief Whip, House of Commons)
  • Stephen Pound, MP for Ealing North, Shadow Minister (Northern Ireland)
  • Menna Rawlings, British High Commissioner to Australia
  • Rachel Reeves, MP for Leeds West
  • David Rutley, MP for Macclesfield, Lord Commissioner (HM Treasury) (Whip)
  • Andrew Selous, MP for South West Bedfordshire
  • Virendra Sharma, MP for Ealing, Southall
  • Barry Sheerman, MP for Huddersfield
  • Baroness Altmann, former Governor at London School of Economics (1988-2017)
  • Rt Hon Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone, former MP for South West Surrey (1984-2005) 
  • Lord Gold, founder David Gold & Associates
  • Rt Hon Lord Moore of Lower Marsh, former MP for Croydon Central
  • Lord Saatchi, businessman, former Governor at London School of Economics (2003-2013)
  • Baroness Rawlings, former MEP for Essex South West
  • Rt Hon Baroness Blackstone, former Lecturer at London School of Economics
  • Lord Alli, former Chancellor of De Montford University and media entrepreneur
  • Lord Livermore, strategy and communications professional
  • Lord Desai, former Lecturer at London School of Economics (1965-2003)
  • Lord Giddens, former Director of London School of Economics (1997-2003)
  • Lord Grabiner QC, Barrister and former Chairman of Governors at London School of Economics (1998-2007)
  • Lord Irvine of Lairg, former Lord Chancellor (1997-2003)
  • Lord Judd, former Minister and MP for 1966-1979, Emeritus Governor at London School of Economics
  • Lord Layard, Director of LSE Centre for Economic Performance (2003- present)
  • Lord Parekh, former Lecturer at London School of Economics
  • Rt Hon Baroness Quin, former MP for Gateshead East and Washington West
  • Baroness Thornton, Emeritus Governor at London School of Economics
  • Jo Swinson, MP for East Dunbartonshire
  • Baroness Falkner of Margravine, Chair of European Union Committee
  • Lord Wallace of Saltire, Emeritus Profess in Department of International Relations at LSE, former Chair of LSE IDEAS Advisory Board (2008-2010)
  • Baroness Ludford, Barrister and former MEP for London (1999-2004)
  • Lord King of Lothbury, former Governor of the Bank of England (2003-2013) and Professor of Economics at London School of Economics
  • Lord Turner of Ecchinswell, former Director of the CBI (1995-1999) and Chair of the Institute for New Economic Thinking
  • Baroness Howe of Idlicote, former Chair of Broadcasting Standards Commission
  • Lord Balfe, former member of Greater London Council (1973-1977) and MEP (1979-2004)
  • Rt Hon Baroness Corston, former MP for Bristol East (1992-2005)
  • Lord Finkelstein, former executive editor of The Times and fomer chairman of Policy Exchange


  • Baroness Chakrabarti, Shadow Attorney General 
  • Sir Nicholas Partridge, former Chief Executive at Terrence Higgins Trust (1991-2013)


  • Andrew Sentence, Senior Economic Adviser to PwC and former Member of MPC (2006-2011)


  • Ashley Mitchell, Director, Planet Fitness
  • Gita Patel, Director, StarGate Capital
  • Lance Uggla, Chairman and CEO HIS Markit
  • Iqbal Wahhab, restauranteur, founder of The Cinnamon Club and Roast


  • Martin Lewis, journalist and television presenter, founder of website
  • Stuart Roden, former Chair of Lansdowne Partners (until December 2018) and Chairman Unlocking Potential
  • Sundeep Tucker, Director of Communications at Thames Water 
  • Sushil Wadhwani, founder Wadhwani Asset Management and former member of MPC at the Bank of England (1999-2002)


  • Ian Bell, Head of PCS Secretariat (Prime Collateralised Securities)
  • Dame Laura Cox QC, former high court judge (2002-2016) and author of Dame Laura Cox Report on bullying and harassment in House of Commons (October 2018)
  • Anthony Grabiner, Queen's Counsel, Head of One Essex Court, Chambers of Lord Grabiner QC
  • Lucy Scott-Moncrieff, Member of Judicial Appointments Commission

Local government

  • Randolph Otter, former Chief Inspector British Transport Police (retired) 


  • Brendan Barns, Founder London Business Forum

Media & Arts

  • Peter Barber, Deputy Map Librarian, British Library
  • Jonathan Blair, Film Producer, founder of The Jon Blair Film Company and Academy Award Winner
  • Daniel Finkelstein, Journalist, House of Lords
  • Loyd Grossman, author, television presenter and gastronome 
  • Sally Habbershaw, General Manager MTV
  • Allister Heath, Editor of Sunday Telegraph
  • David Lan, former artistic director of the Young Vic (2000-2018)
  • Edward Lucas, author and senior vice-president at the Centre for European Policy Analysis (CEPA) 
  • Joanna Natasegara, film director and producer, Academy Award Winner 
  • Ed Richards, former Chair of Ofcom (2003-2014)
  • Maurice Saatchi, Peer, House of Lords
  • Orlando Ernle Von Einsiedel, Best Documentary Short for The White Helmets, 2017

Public policy

  • Robert Cassen, former Director of International Development Centre, author and research associate at CASE
  • Lucy de Groot, Chair of Audit Committee NHS Islington and former Chief Executive of Bristol City Council