North-east student presented with award at LSE

I hope to inspire younger students to contribute to their society.
Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize
Mohammed Dagher with Jonathan Slater, Permanent Secretary DfE LSE

A pupil from the north-east of England has been awarded a prize for his success at school and contribution to the wider community at a ceremony at LSE earlier this week.

Mohammed Dagher, a student from Heaton Manor School in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, received the Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize from the Education Secretary Damian Hinds MP in recognition for his outstanding academic achievements and voluntary work.

This voluntary work included providing one-to-one support and guidance to younger students who speak English as an additional language, producing an anti-bullying video and volunteering at a disability centre.

The annual prize – which is now in its sixth year - recognises sixth form students from the North-East who have excelled in their studies while making contributions to their school or wider community.

The Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize was created in memory of former MP for Newcastle Central, Ted Short. The winner and nine runners-up spent their day at LSE touring the campus and engaging with  student ambassadors who shared their experiences of undergraduate life.  They also had the opportunity to meet the Education Secretary, Permanent Secretary of the Department for Education and LSE Director Minouche Shafik. 

The 2018 award winner Mohammed Dagher said: “To be even nominated for this highly regarded award was a blessing, but to come out as a winner is something I will be forever grateful for.

"I hope to inspire younger students to contribute to their society, whilst also maintaining excellent grades. This in itself will be a great achievement for me.”

Behind the article

The 2018 Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize runners-up were:

Mohammed Baroudi, John Spence Community High School

Emily Brown, Conyers School

Kate Cowan, Carmel College

Niamh Hughes, St Thomas More Roman Catholic Academy

Devika Jayan, St Anthony’s Girls’ Catholic Academy

Sarah Knight, St Anthony’s Girls’ Catholic Academy

Emily McKerill, St Wilfrid’s R.C. College

Emmet O’Leary, St Robert of Newminster Catholic School and Sixth Form College

Ellie Rylance, Grindon Hall Christian School