luis-llerena-15500

People

Find a member of staff in the Department of Statistics

We offer a unique opportunity to study Actuarial Science, Data Science, Financial Statistics, Insurance and Risk and Social Statistics in a university with a world class reputation of academic excellence in the social sciences.

Department staff

Academic faculty

James1

Dr. James Abdey
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

More information

 

Dr Beatrice Acciaio

Dr. Beatrice Acciaio
Associate Professor

More information

 

Dr Matteo Barigozzi

Dr. Matteo Barigozzi
Associate Professor

More information

 

Prof Pauline Barrieu

Professor Pauline Barrieu
Professor

More information

 

Erik

Dr. Erik Baurdoux
Associate Professor

More information

 

Wicher1

Dr. Wicher Bergsma
Associate Professor

More information

 

Dr Luciano Campi

Dr. Luciano Campi
Associate Professor

More information

 

Dr Umit Cetin

Professor Umut Cetin
Professor

More information

 

Dr Yining Chen

Dr. Yining Chen
Assistant Professor

More information

 

Yunxiao2

Dr. Yunxiao Chen
Assistant Professor 

More information 

Angelos1

Professor Angelos Dassios
Professor 

More information

 

Piotr1

Professor Piotr Fryzlewicz
Professor, Deputy Head of Department (Teaching)

More information

 

Dr Sara Geneletti

Dr. Sara Geneletti
Associate Professor

More information

 

Dr Kostas Kalogeropoulos

Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos
Associate Professor

More information

 

Professor Kostas Kardaras

Professor Kostas Kardaras
Professor, Deputy Head of Department (Research) 

More information

 

Dr Jouni Kuha

Professor Jouni Kuha
Professor

More information

 

Dr Clifford Lam

Dr. Clifford Lam
Associate Professor

More information

 

Gelly2

Dr Gelly Mitrodima 
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

More information 

Professor Irini Moustaki

Professor Irini Moustaki
Professor

More information

 

Dr Xinghao Qiao

Dr. Xinghao Qiao
Assistant Professor

More information

 

Chengchun Shi

Dr Chengchun Shi 
Assistant Professor 

More information 

 

 

Professor Chris Skinner

Professor Chris Skinner
Professor

More information

 

Professor Leonard Smith

Professor Leonard Smith
Professor, Director of CATS

More information

 


 Fiona2

Professor Fiona Steele
Professor, Head of Department 

More information

 

George Tzougas

Dr. George Tzougas
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

More information

Professor Milan Vojnovic

Professor Milan Vojnovic
Professor, Director of SEDS 

More information

 

Dr Hao Xing

Professor Hao Xing
Professor

More information

 

Professor Qiwei Yao

Professor Qiwei Yao
Professor 

More information

 

Academic associates - Emeritus Professors, Guest Lecturers, Fellows and Visiting staff

AtkinsonA75x100

Professor Anthony Atkinson
Emeritus Professor in Statistics

More information

 

Dr Young Lee

Dr. Phil Chan
Guest Lecturer

More information

Nicholas1

Dr. Nicholas Cron
Guest Lecturer

More information

Daniela (4) (3)

Dr Daniela Escobar 
LSE Fellow 

More information 

Stella Hadjiantoni

Stella Hadjiantoni
Guest Teacher

More information

Anastasia

Dr. Anastasia Kakou
Guest Lecturer and GTA Mentor

More information

 

Dr Eleni Katirtzoglou

Dr. Eleni Katirtzoglou
Guest Teacher and GTA Mentor

More information

Meena Kotecha

Meena Kotecha
Guest Teacher

More information

Dr Martin Knott

Dr. Martin Knott
Emeritus Associate Professor in Statistics

More information

 

Milt_Mavrakakis_5351

Dr. Milt Mavrakakis
Guest Lecturer

More information

colm

Professor Colm O’Muircheartaigh
Visiting Professor 

University of Chicago 

 

Dr Roel Oomen

Dr. Roel Oomen
Visiting Senior Fellow

Deutsche Bank

 

Professor Thorsten Rheinlander

Professor Thorsten Rheinlander
Visiting Professor

More information

 

Karsten Shaw

Karsten Shaw
Guest Lecturer

More information

Professor Howell Tong

Professor Howell Tong
Emeritus Professor in Statistics

More information

 

Professor Henry Wynn

Professor Henry Wynn
Emeritus Professor in Statistics

More information

 

Zouros

Dr George Zouros
Guest Teacher

More information

Research staff

Cheng Qian

Cheng Qian 

More information 

Siliang Zhang 1

Siliang Zhang 

More information 

Graduate teaching assistants

Cheng_Chen

Cheng Chen

More information

Hyeyoung Maeng

Hyeyoung Maeng

More information

Jose1

José Manuel Pedraza

More information

Christine Yuen

Christine Yuen

More information

Professional services staff

Kayleigh

Kayleigh Brewer
Office Co-ordinator

More information 

 

Steve Ellis

Steve Ellis
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

More information

 

Sarah McManus

Sarah McManus
MSc Programmes Manager

More information

 

Penny Montague

Penny Montague
Research and Finance Manager

More information

 

Imelda Noble

Imelda Noble Andolfo
Department Manager

More information

 

Padalia_Dolly06

Dolly Padalia
Events and Communications Officer

More information

 

Penelope Smith200x200

Penelope Smith
Communications Officer

More information

 

PhD students

Probability in Finance and Insurance group

Patrick Aschermayr 
Bayesian inference in hidden semi-Markov models
P.Aschermayr@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors:  Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos / Professor Pauline Barrieu

Zezhun Chen
z.chen58@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisors: Professor Angelos Dassios / Dr. Erik Baurdoux

Quoc Viet Dang 
Optimal Transport and the Principal-Agent Problem
q.v.dang@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.06
Supervisors:  Professor Hao Xing / Professor Pauline Barrieu

Davide De Santis
Dynkin Games with Information Asymmetry
d.de-santis1@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 7.03
Supervisors: Dr. Luciano Campi / Professor Hao Xing

Reinhard Fellmann
Risk and stability in complex economic & financial systems
r.fellmann1@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors: Dr. Erik Baurdoux /  Dr. Andrea Vedolin (Department of Finance)

Eduardo Ferioli-Gomes
e.ferioli-gomes@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisors: Professor Umut Cetin / Dr Luciano Campi

Junchao Jia 
Stochastic Differential Equations, Mean Field Games, Optimal Transport
J.Jia4@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors: Dr Beatrice Acciaio / Professor Kostas Kardaras

Despoina Makariou 
Catatrophe Bond Pricing
D.Makariou@lse.ac.uk, COL 5.02
Supervisors: Professor Pauline Barrieu / Dr. Beatrice Acciaio

Jose Manuel Pedraza Ramirez 
Levy Processes and Optimal Stopping
j.m.pedraza-ramirez@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 7.03
Supervisors: Dr Erik Baurdoux / Dr Beatrice Acciao

Alice Pignatelli Di Cerchiara
Multidimensionality problems in the financial and actuarial settings
a.pignatelli-di-cerchiara@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.06
Supervisors: Dr. Erik Baurdoux / Dr. Angelos Dassios

Yan Qu
Exact simulation mean reverting processes driven by subordinators
y.qu3@lse.ac.uk Room COL 5.06
Supervisors: Dr. Angelos Dassios / Dr. Erik Baurdoux

Jing Han Tee 
Interrupted Brownian Motion
J.Tee@lse.ac.uk, Room 5.02
Supervisors: Professor Angelos Dassios / Dr. Luciano Campi

Alexandra Tsimbalyuk 
Distribution of a perpetuity in an ergodic Markov model
a.tsimbalyuk@lse.ac.uk, Room 7.03
Supervisors: Professor Kostas Kardaras / Professor Umut Cetin

Diego Zabaljauregui
Optimal Market Making in FX / Stochastic Optimization & Control
d.zabaljauregui@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisors: Dr. Luciano Campi / Dr. Beatrice Acciaio

Junyi Zhang 
First hitting time and Parisian time of Brownian motion on a graph
J.Zhang100@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors: Professor Angelos Dassios/ Dr. Beatrice Acciaio

Xiaolin Zhu
The hitting time of Ornstein-Uhlenbeck process and more complicated mean-reverting type process
x.zhu15@lse.ac.uk Room COL 5.06
Supervisors: Professor Angelos Dassios / Professor. Hao Xing

Social Statistics group

Camilo Cardenas-Hurtado
c.a.cardenas-hurtado@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors: Professor Irini Moustaki / Dr. Wicher Bergsma 

Sahoko Ishida
Use of Gaussian Process in Spatial Analysis
S.Ishida@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 7.03
Supervisors: Dr. Wicher Bergsma / Professor Fiona Steele

Yan Lu
Latent variable models, cheating detection, outlier detection
Y.Lu62@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors: Professor Irini Moustaki / Dr. Wicher Bergsma 

Tianlin Xu
Model-based Reinforcement Learning
T.Xu12@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors: Dr. Wicher Bergsma  / Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos

Time Series and Statistical Learning group

Rico Blaser
Machine learning for high-dimensional data
r.blaser@lse.ac.uk
Personal homepage
Supervisors: Professor Piotr Fryzlewicz / Dr. Angelos Dassios

Wenyu Cheng
w.cheng14@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisors: Dr Clifford Lam / Dr Yining Chen

Tomasz Dubiel-Teleszynski
Bayesian inference for diffusion processes in finance and a hidden Markov model for load forecasting
t.dubiel-teleszynski1@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisors: Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos / Professor Qiwei Yao  

Qin Fang
Function-on-Function Linear Lagged Regression in High Dimensions/ Functional time series
Q.Fang3@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.06
Supervisors: Dr. Xinghao Qiao/ Professor Qiwei Yao

Shakeel Gavioli-Akilagun
S.A.Gavioli-Akilagun@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 1.0
Supervisors: Professor Piotr Fryzlewicz / Dr Clifford Lam

Gianluca Giudice
Dynamic Conditionally Heteroschedastic Factor Models
G.Giudice@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 7.03
Supervisors: Dr. Matteo Barigozzi / Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos

Anica Kostic
Change-point detection for high-dimensional time series
A.Kostic@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors: Professor Piotr Fryzlewicz / Dr. Yining Chen

Yirui Liu
Conditional Variational Inference for Hierarchical Bayesian Nonparametric Models
Y.Liu110@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 7.03
Supervisors: Dr. Xinghao Qiao / Dr Yining Chen

Hyeyoung Maeng
Change point detection in functional time series
h.maeng@lse.ac.uk
Personal Homepage
Supervisors: Professor Piotr Fryzlewicz / Dr. Clifford Lam

Filippo Pellegrino
Asynchronous and incomplete multidimensional dependent data
F.Pellegrino1@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.06
Supervisors:  Dr. Matteo Barigozzi / Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos

Ragvir Sabharwal
Sequential Changepoint Detection in Factor Models for Time Series
r.sabharwal2@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.06
Supervisors: Dr. Matteo Barigozzi / Professor Irini Moustaki

Konstantinos Vamourellis
Bayesian Inference
k.vamvourellis@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 7.03
Personal homepage
Supervisors: Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos / Professor Pauline Barrieu

Toby Wade
Natural Language Processing utilizing Aspect Based Sentiment combined with Attention Mechanism Deep Learning techniques applied to financial texts
T.Wade1@lse.ac.uk
Supervisors:  Dr. Clifford Lam / Dr. Kostas Kalogeropoulos

Yiliu Wang
Representation learning for relational data
Y.Wang295@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors:  Professor Milan Vojnovic / Dr. Xinghao Qiao

Shuhan Yang
s.yang28@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.06
Supervisors: Professor Piotr Fryzlewicz / Dr Yining Chen

Jialin Yi
Learning for Assignment Problems under Uncertainty
J.Yi8@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Supervisors:  Professor Milan Vojnovic / Dr. Clifford Lam

Lok Ting (Christine) Yuen
Automatic model selection
yuenl@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 5.02
Personal homepage
Supervisors: Professor Piotr Fryzlewicz / Dr. Matteo Barigozzi 

Kaifang Zhou
Statistical Methods for Social Network Data Analysis
K.Zhou3@lse.ac.uk, Room COL 7.03
Supervisors:  Professor Milan Vojnovic / Dr. Yining Chen