University status

Old Building 4x3
Old Building. Nigel Stead

The passing of the University of London Act 2018 enables the member institutions of the federal University of London to seek university status in their own right, while remaining part of the federation.

The London School of Economics and Political Science intends to do so, along with the institutions named below. There are no planned changes to any of our legal names but the Department for Education has nonetheless requested a public consultation as part of its normal process for the grant of university status. A statement has been published in the London Gazette, also inviting any organisations or individuals with concerns or questions to contact the University of London. 

The grant of university status for the member institutions of the federal university makes no difference at all to degrees awarded, existing or past relationships, programmes of study, contracts or any other undertakings or activities of the London School of Economics and Political Science or the other institutions.

If you have concerns or questions about this process, please contact Rosalind Frendo, Director of Compliance and Secretary to the Board, University of London, Senate House, Malet Street, London, WC1E 7HU or email by 4 March 2019.

Birkbeck College

City, University of London

Goldsmiths’ College

King’s College London

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Queen Mary University of London

The Royal Veterinary College

Royal Holloway and Bedford New College

School of Oriental and African Studies

St George's Hospital Medical School

University College London