Queen’s Birthday Honours at LSE

Nick has shown himself to be an outstanding public servant, an inspiring academic colleague and a dedicated member of the LSE global community.
Professor Nicholas Stern

Nicholas Stern, John Hardman Moore, Emily Jackson, Christine Chinkin and Andrew Webb have all been recognised in the 2017 Queen's Birthday Honours.

Nicholas Stern, IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government at LSE, has been made a Companion of Honour, one of the most prestigious awards for a civilian, limited to just 65 people at any one time. The title is granted to those who have made a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine, or government over a long period.

Professor Stern - who is also Chair of the Grantham Research Institute at LSE and the outgoing President of the British Academy - was given the title in recognition of his contributions to economics, international relations and tackling climate change. Only three other academic economists have ever held the award – Lionel Robbins, Friedrich Hayek and Amartya Sen, all former LSE professors.

Among his many distinguished roles in academic and public life, Professor Stern was previously Chief Economist at the World Bank, Second Permanent Secretary to the UK Treasury and head of the Stern Review on the Economics of Climate Change, published in 2006. He was knighted for services to economics in 2004 and made a cross-bench life peer as Baron Stern of Brentford in 2007.

Commenting on the announcement, Professor Stern said he was, “delighted and deeply honoured.”

Professor Julia Black, Interim Director of LSE, said: “This is richly deserved. Time and time again Nick has shown himself to be an outstanding public servant, an inspiring academic colleague and a dedicated member of LSE’s global community. The achievement is even more remarkable when you consider he is only the fourth ever academic economist to be made a Companion of Honour."

John Hardman Moore, Professor of Political Economy at the University of Edinburgh and Professor of Economic Theory at LSE has been awarded a CBE for his services to economics.  Professor Hardman Moore was first appointed to LSE in 1983, becoming a Professor of Economic Theory in 1990.  In 1999, he and his collaborator Nobuhiro Kiyotaki received the Yrjö Jahnsson Award from the European Economic Association and won the Stephen A. Ross Prize in Financial Economics for their paper "Credit Cycles" in 2010.

Emily Jackson, Professor of Law and Vice Chair of the LSE Academic Board, has been awarded an OBE for her services to higher education. Professor Jackson first joined LSE in 1998, though she has also taught at Birkbeck College and Queen Mary, University of London. She is a leading expert in the field of medical law, serving as Deputy Chair of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority from 2008 to 2012. She is a member of the British Medical Association Medical Ethics Committee and, since 2014, has been a Judicial Appointments Commissioner.

Christine Chinkin, founding Director of the Centre for Women, Peace and Security at LSE, has been made a Companion of the Order of St Michael and St George (CMG) for services to advancing women’s human rights worldwide. The Order of St Michael and St George is awarded to British subjects who have rendered extraordinary and important services abroad or in the Commonwealth. Professor Chinkin is a leading expert on international law and human rights law, especially the international human rights of women.

Andrew Webb, LSE School Secretary, has been awarded an MBE for his services to higher education and to the community in East Anglia. Andrew is a long-time servant of LSE, having worked in different areas of the School's professional services since 1985.

Professor Black added: “Many congratulations to Christine, Emily, John and Andrew and to all the members of the LSE community who have been recognised for their contributions to public life. At LSE we focus on research and teaching which helps to tackle real world problems, and here are some great examples of colleagues who have put this into practice.”

Details of the all the awards for the LSE community will be updated soon.