Future of Eurozone

The Future of Eurozone: what reforms are needed

In this lecture Professor De Grauwe analysed the fragility of the Eurozone. He posed a question about whether the Eurozone governance has been sufficiently reformed to deal with future crisis? Concluding this is not the case he outlined what the required reforms are to make the Eurozone sustainable in the long run.


Speaker: Paul De Grauwe, John Paulson Chair in European Political Economy, LSE
Chair: Kevin Featherstone, Eleftherios Venizelos Professor of Contemporary Greek Studies; Hellenic Observatory Director
Discussant: Helen Louri-Dendrinou, Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, Athens University of Economics and Business
Date: Thursday 14 March 2019
Time: 18:45-20:30
Venue:  Karatzas Auditorium, Eolou 82, 105 51 Athens, Greece


de-grauwe 200x200

Paul De Grauwe is John Paulson Professor at the London School of Economics, He was a member of the Belgian parliament from 1991 to 2003. He is honorary doctor of the University of Sankt Gallen (Switzerland), the University of Turku (Finland), the University of Genoa ,the University of Valencia and Maastricht University. He was a visiting professor at various universities: Paris (Dauphine), Amsterdam, Berlin (Freie Universität and Humboldt), Genoa, Kiel, Milan, Pennsylvania (Wharton School) and Michigan. He obtained his Ph.D from the Johns Hopkins University in 1974. He is an associate research fellow at the Centre for European Policy Studies in Brussels and CEPR fellow in London. He is Vice-President of the Portuguese Fiscal Council. 
His research interests are in the economics of monetary unions  and behavioural macroeconomics. His book publications include: “The Limits of the Market”, Oxford University Press, 2017,  “The Economics of Monetary Union”, Oxford University Press, 12th Edition, 2018, and “Lectures on Behavioral Macroeconomics”, Princeton University Press, 2012




Eleni Louri_cropped

Eleni Louri-Dendrinou was born in Athens. She studied at the Athens University of Economics and Business, (B.Sc. Econ), London School of Economics (M.Sc. Econ) and University of Oxford (D.Phil. Econ).Her research interests are in the areas of Industrial Organization and Market Dynamics, Foreign Direct Investment and International Economics, Finance and Banking Strategy. She is Professor at the Department of Economics of the Athens University of Economics and Business since 2001 and has been the Chair of the Department since November 2015.She has worked as Assistant and Associate Professor at the same Department and as Visiting Fellow at Oxford University and Visiting Professor at the Hellenic Observatory, LSE, where she remains as Research Associate.  From June 2008 to June 2014 she was Deputy Governor of the Bank of Greece responsible for monetary policy, bank resolution, statistics, the national mint and cash management. She was also president of the Hellenic Deposit Guarantee Fund. She served as member of the International Relations Committee of the ECB. Currently she is a board member of IOBE and ELIAMEP and she chairs the Bank of Greece Cultural Centre Advisory Committee. She is also an alternate member of the Appeal Panel of the Single (Bank) Resolution Board in Brussels.


Featherstone Kevin 200x200

Kevin Featherstone is Eleftherios Venizelos Professor in Contemporary Greek Studies and Professor in European Politics. He is the Director of the Hellenic Observatory and Co-Chair of LSEE: Research on South-East Europe within the European Institute. He has held visiting positions at the University of Minnesota; New York University; and Harvard University.  Before LSE, he held academic posts at the universities of Stirling and Bradford.  In 2009-10 he served on an advisory committee to Prime Minister George Papandreou for the reform of the Greek government.  He was the first foreign member of the National Council for Research and Technology (ESET) in Greece, serving from 2010-2013.  He is Vice-Chair of the Academic Council of 'Atomium Culture', Brussels, a not-for-profit promoting collaboration within the European Research Area.  In 2013 he was made ‘Commander: Order of the Phoenix’ by the President of the Hellenic Republic.  In 2014, the European Parliament selected one of his books (co-authored with Kenneth Dyson) as one of its ‘100 Books on Europe to Remember’. He has contributed regularly to ‘Kathimerini’.