32 Lincoln's Inn Fields building and its entrance


News of the current academic year

Recent news

Francesco Caselli and Ricardo Reis elected as Fellows of the Econometric Society

Francesco Caselli

Many congratulations to Professors Francesco Caselli and Ricardo Reis who have been elected Fellows of the Econometric Society

The Econometric Society is an international society for the advancement of economic theory in its relation to statistics and mathematics. Its main activities are:

  • Publication of the journals Econometrica, Quantitative Economics, and Theoretical Economics.
  • Publication of a research Monograph Series.
  • Organization of scientific meetings in six regions of the world.

Francesco Caselli is Norman Sosnow Professor of Economics at LSE.

Ricardo Reis is the A W Phillips Professor of Economics at LSE.

November 2019


Swati Dhingra wins the People's Choice Award at the ONS Research Excellence Awards 2019!


Congratulations to Dr Swati Dhingra for winning the People’s Choice Award in this year’s ONS Research Excellence Awards for her work on Brexit, trade, and labour markets: Trade and Worker Deskilling: Evidence from the Brexit vote. You can read Swati’s research here.

The Office for National Statistics (ONS) Research Excellence Awards ‘recognise and celebrate outstanding innovative research’ carried out using their data and/or data they make available on behalf of others, to deliver a public benefit to the UK, whilst protecting data confidentiality.

Swati Dhingra is an Associate Professor of Economics at LSE, researching globalisation and industrial policy and an Associate at CEP-Trade.

November 2019


Earlier in 2019/20

Department of Economics students receive LSE100 awards!


LSE100 2019 Winners

We are thrilled to announce that 10 students from the Department of Economics have received LSE100 awards for their excellent work and commitment to interdisciplinary learning in LSE100:

  • Lim Xiao Rong (pictured)
  • Anna Carruthers (pictured)
  • Yug Bhansali (pictured)
  • Aimilia Charitou (pictured)
  • Chin Kiat Chan (pictured)
  • Carmen Artime De Luis (pictured)
  • Nan Pwint Sabai (pictured)
  • Charlotte Ong Zhi Xin
  • Jie Chan
  • Hang Yin

LSE100 is LSE's flagship interdisciplinary course for undergraduate students. It is designed to broaden and deepen students' engagement with social scientific analysis by using pressing social issues as case studies for exploration of the ways different theories, methods and evidence can shape our understanding of events and phenomena. 

The 2019 LSE100 Prize Giving Dinner took place on Wednesday 16 October and was a celebration of the achievements of the top students from the 2018 cohort on LSE100. For more on this year’s prize giving dinner and awards, visit the LSE100 website.

October 2019


Professor Oriana Bandiera to become Econometrica editor


Oriana Bandiera

Professor Oriana Bandiera has been named as a new editor of the Econometrica journal and is due take on the role next summer.  

The Econometrica journal began in 1933 with the goal of advancing economic theory in its relation to statistics and mathematics. It publishes original articles in all branches of economics. 

Professor Steve Pischke, Head of Department, said “Congratulations to Oriana, and thanks to her for taking on such an important (and demanding) professional role.”

October 2019


Congratulations to Ben Moll and Xavier Jaravel, who are both winners of this year’s Philip Leverhulme Prizes!



We're thrilled to share the news that Dr Xavier Jaravel and Professor Ben Moll have both been awarded this year's Philip Leverhulme Prizes.

Since 2001, the Prizes have been awarded annually in commemoration of the contribution to the work of the Trust made by Philip Leverhulme, the founder of the Trust. The prizes recognise the achievement of outstanding researchers whose work has already attracted international recognition and whose future career is exceptionally promising. 

We spoke to Ben Moll about winning the award.

October 2019


Dr Dimitra Petropoulou wins at the Economics Network Development in Economics Education Conference


Dimitra Petropoulou

We take great pleasure in sharing the news that Dr Dimitra Petropoulou, Undergraduate Programme Director, has been selected as a winner of the Economics Network’s annual prize for her “Outstanding Contribution to Economics Education”.  

A BSc, MSc and PhD student at LSE and active in the Economics Network since 2001, Dimitra returned to the LSE Department of Economics last academic year as Associate Professorial Lecturer and Deputy Undergraduate Programme Director. 

The Economics Network’s call for nominations specified that “the judging panel will be looking for individuals who possess the following qualities":

  • A positive impact on the economics teaching community.
  • A demonstrable impact on students’ learning and interest in economics.

You can read Dimitra's nomination by a colleague here.

September 2019


Professor Robin Burgess to become President of B R E A D


Warmest congratulations to Professor Robin Burgess who is to become President of B R E A D (The Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development), a non-profit organisation ‘dedicated to encourage research and scholarship in development economics’. Their main activities are conferences, a working paper and policy paper series, and a summer school. 

Robin Burgess is Professor of Economics, Founder and Director of the International Growth Centre, and Director of the Economic Organisation and Public Policy Programme all at the London School of Economics. His areas of research interest include Development Economics, Environmental Economics, Political Economy, Public Economics and Labour Economics. 

August 2019

Dr Xavier Jaravel wins the Kiel Institute Excellence Awards in Global Economic Affairs


Congratulations to Dr Xavier Jaravel who is a winner of the Kiel Institute Excellence Awards in Global Economic Affairs 2019. These awards aim to ‘build a community of the brightest young researchers in the area of global economic affairs.’ Read more about the Excellence Awards.

Xavier received the award for his contributions to the field of Innovation and Inequality: ‘Jaravel’s findings include evidence that product innovations do not benefit all households equally, but rather disproportionately benefit high income households. In another contribution Jaravel shows that policies that increase exposure to innovation may have greater potential to spur innovation than traditional policies such as reducing tax rates.’ Source: Kiel Institute 

Two other economists also received the award: Joseph Shapiro (University of California at Berkeley) and Alexander Wolitzky (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Each of the winners will be awarded a Research Fellowship at the Kiel Institute. As Research Fellows, they’ll receive content-related and organizational support from a number of prominent researchers as well as the opportunity to participate in research projects at the Kiel Institute.

Xavier Jaravel is Assistant Professor of Economics at the LSE Department of Economics.

August 2019



LSE Department of Economics LSEEcon

'This important report shows planned levels of coal, oil and gas production are dangerously out of step with the go… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

6 hours ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

LSE Department of Economics LSEEcon

We’re pleased to announce the @LSEEcon 2019 job market candidates! You can find a complete list of the candidates a… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

9 hours ago

Reply Retweet Favorite

Contact us

Address View on Google maps

Postal, Department of Economics, London School of Economics and Political Science, Houghton Street, London WC2A 2AE

Location, 32 Lincoln's Inn Fields, London WC2A 3PH