Past Events 2013


Protest and Revolution Across the Arab World: Reflections Three Years On

Wednesday 4 December | Madawi Al-Rasheed, LSE; John Chalcraft, LSE; Ewan Stein, University of Edinburgh

Listen to the podcast


US Foreign Policy and the Iranian Revolution: The Dynamics of Engagement and Strategic Alliance

Monday 2 December | Christian Emery, University of Plymouth

Listen to the podcast


Iranian Foreign Policy after the Election of Hassan Rouhani

Wednesday 27 November | Anoush Ehteshami, Durham University

Listen to the podcast


The Syrian Civil War: The Resilience of Civil Society

Friday 22 November | Lina Sinjab, BBC

Listen to the podcast


Re-Negotiating the Terms of EU-Israel Partnership: Normative Power and International Law

Monday 11 November | Charles Shamas, Mattin Group

Listen to the podcast


Modern Middle East Studies as a Distinct Intellectual Field

Monday 21 October | Roger Owen, Harvard University

Listen to the podcast


The New Middle East: The World After the Arab Spring

Wednesday 16 October | Paul Danahar, BBC

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


A Most Masculine State: Gender, Politics and Religion in Saudi Arabia

Monday 7 October | Madawi Al-Rasheed, LSE

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


Startup Rising: The Entrepreneurial Revolution Remaking the Middle East

Wednesday 2 October | Christopher Schroeder

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


The Gaza Kitchen: Documenting a culinary heritage and a food system under stress

Wednesday 8 May | Laila El-Haddad and Maggie Schmitt

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


The Kurds and the Conflict in Syria

Friday 3 May | Saleh Muslim Mohamed, Democratic Union Party (PYD)

Listen to the podcast


A Panel Discussion on Palestine

Friday 26 April | Karma Nabulsi, University of Oxford; Ilan Pappe, University of Exeter; Rosemary Hollis, City University; Peter Kosminsky, Director of ‘The Promise’

Listen to the podcast


The Politics of Business in the Middle East After the Arab Spring

Thursday 21 March | Steffen Hertog, LSE; Giacomo Luciani, Science-Po; Marc Valeri, University of Exeter; and Khalid Almezaini, Qatar University

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


The Politics of Nationalism in Modern Iran

Monday 18 March | Ali Ansari, University of St Andrews

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


Energy Security and Shifting Global Power

Monday 11 March | Roland Dannreuther, University of Westminster

Listen to the podcast


Revolution as Gambling: Egypt Under the Muslim Brotherhood

Monday 4 March | Hazem Kandil, Cambridge University

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


The New Middle East: Protest and Revolution in the Arab World

Thursday 21 February | Fawaz Gerges, LSE

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book


In the Eye of the Storm: The History of Lebanon Revisited

Monday 18 February | Fawwaz Traboulsi, American University of Beirut

Listen to the podcast


Phyllis Bennis: In Conversation with Fawaz Gerges

Friday 8 February | Phyllis Bennis, New Internationalism Project, IPS

Listen to the podcast


Rethinking Diffusion: 1989, the Colour Revolutions, and the Arab Uprisings

Monday 4 February | Valerie Bunce, Cornell University

Listen to the podcast

Co-organised with the Society for Algerian Studies

Colonial Control in Algeria: the French Security and Intelligence Services between the Two World Wars

Monday 28 January | Rabah Aissaoui, University of Leicester

Listen to the podcast


Is Jordan Immune to the Arab Spring Uprisings?

Wednesday 23 January | Tariq Tell, American University of Beirut

Listen to the podcast


Islam and the Politics of Resistance: The Case of Women in Iran

Wednesday 16 January | Haleh Afshar, House of Lords

Listen to the podcast