Past Events 2015

IranNuclearDeal

After the Nuclear Deal: Iranian Foreign Policy in the Middle East

Wednesday 9 December | Dina Esfandiary, King's College London

Listen to the podcast

BahrainFlag
Social Movements and Popular Mobilisation in the MENA Seminar

Revisiting the Arab Spring in Bahrain

Tuesday 8 December | Abdulhadi Khalaf, Lund University

Listen to the podcast

IranGreenRevolution

The Revival of Nationalism and Secularism in Modern Iran

Tuesday 1 December | Pejman Abdolmohammadi, LSE

Listen to the podcast | Download the paper

SyriaMap

Why is Syria so Statist? Revisiting Ideas and Economic Change in Historical Institutionalism

Thursday 29 October | Daniel Neep, Georgetown University

Listen to the podcast

TheOtherSaudisCover

The Other Saudis: Shiism, Dissent and Sectarianism

Wednesday 28 October | Toby Matthiesen, University of Oxford

Listen to the podcast

Algeria1970s

Algeria's Belle Epoque: Memories of the 1970s

Wednesday 21 October | Ed McAllister, University of Oxford

Listen to the podcast

BenAli
Social Movements and Popular Mobilisation in the MENA Seminar

Between Hegemony and Resistance: Towards a Moral Economy of the Tunisian Revolution

Tuesday 20 October | Sami Zemni, MENA Research Group

Listen to the podcast

BeirutGentrificationPortrait

Other 'Gentrifications': Remaking Ras Beirut

Thursday 1 October | Fran Tonkiss, LSE; Mona Khechen, AUB

Listen to the podcast

Sinay

And What if one Spoke of the Land? Labour, food and the making of space in modern South Lebanon

Tuesday 29 September | Martha Mundy, LSE; Rami Zurayk and Cynthia Gharios, AUB

Listen to the podcast

OsloAccord

From the River to the Sea: taking the pulse of Palestine-Israel 20 years after Oslo

Wednesday 2 September | Mandy Turner, Cherine Hussein, Mansour Nsasra, Toufic Haddad, Dimi Reider, Raja Khalidi, Diana Buttu

Listen to the podcast (Part 1) | Listen to the podcast (Part 2)

APSA
Co-organised with the University Mohammed V in Rabat

The Ethics of Political Science Research and Teaching in MENA

10–11 June 2015, Rabat, Morocco

Read the memos

BahrainActivists
Social Movements and Popular Mobilisation in the MENA Seminar

Bahraini Activism in Exile: Legacies and Revolutionary Ruptures

Wednesday 3 June | Claire Beaugrand, Institut Français du Proche Orient

Listen to the podcast

DivinePolitics

Saudi Islamists on Peaceful Revolution: Divine Politics Reconsidered

Tuesday 2 June | Madawi al-Rasheed, LSE Middle East Centre

Download the paper

SalafiEgypt

Being Salafi under Sisi: The Strategy of the Egyptian al-Nour Party

Tuesday 26 May | Stéphane Lacroix, Sciences Po

Listen to the podcast

MoroccoProtest
Social Movements and Popular Mobilisation in the MENA Seminar

How Self-Limiting Mobilisations Work: The Case of Morocco

Wednesday 20 May | Frédéric Vairel, University of Ottawa

Listen to the podcast 

MoroccoKingMohammed
Social Movements and Popular Mobilisation in the MENA Seminar

Of Regime and Movements: Authoritarian Reform and the 2011 Popular Uprisings in Morocco

Tuesday 19 May | Frédéric Vairel, University of Ottawa

Listen to the podcast

IranNuclear

An Impending Nuclear Deal With Iran?

Tuesday 5 May | Mark Fitzpatrick, International Institute for Strategic Studies

Listen to the podcast

TurkeyProtest

Democracy in Turkey: institutions, society and foreign relations

Thursday 19 March | Deniz Kandiyoti, SOAS; Ali Çarkoğlu, Koç Üniversitesi; Berna Turam, Northeastern University

Listen to the podcast

Atrash

Empire, Revolt, and State Formation in the Middle East and North Africa in the 1920s

Tuesday 17 March | Jonathan Wyrtzen, Yale University

Listen to the podcast

Bouteflika

Algeria: A State and its Discontents

Tuesday 10 March | Lahouari Addi, Sciences Po Lyon

Listen to the podcast

EgyptLabour
Social Movements and Popular Mobilisation in the MENA Seminar

The Non-Contentious Politics of Labour Protests in Egypt

Wednesday 25 February | Marie Duboc, University of Tübingen

Listen to the podcast

IraqMap

Middle East Border Geopolitics: Established and Emerging Themes

Tuesday 24 February | Richard Schofield, King's College London

Listen to the podcast

IraqAfterAmerica

Iraq after America: Strongmen, Sectarians, Resistance

Tuesday 17 February | Joel Rayburn, National Defense University

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book

Egypt

Recalibrating Authoritarianism after the Arab Spring

Thursday 12 February | Steven Heydemann, United States Institute of Peace

Listen to the podcast

FSA

Syria and the Future of the State Order in the Levant

Wednesday 11 February | Steven Heydemann, United States Institute of Peace

Listen to the podcast

WBReport

Jobs or Privileges: unleashing the employment‎ potential of the Middle East and North Africa

Friday 6 February | Marc Schiffbauer; Hania Sahnoun, World Bank

Download the report | Watch the video

DionigiBook

Hezbollah, Islamist Politics, and International Society

Monday 2 February | Filippo Dionigi, LSE Middle East Centre

Listen to the podcast | Buy the book

Nusra

Foreign Fighters in Syria and Iraq: Motivations and Implications

Tuesday 27 January | Peter Neumann, King's College London

Listen to the podcast

FadiBardawil
Social Movements and Popular Mobilisation in the MENA Seminar

Theorising Revolution, Anticipating Civil War: Class, State and Political Practice in 1960s Lebanon

Wednesday 21 January | Fadi Bardawil, University of North Carolina

Listen to the podcast | Download the paper

Berber

Berber Government: The Kabyle Polity in Pre-colonial Algeria

Monday 12 January | Hugh Roberts, Tufts University

Listen to the podcast