As one of the world's leading social science institutions with an emphasis on postgraduate studies, LSE comprises departments covering all branches of the social sciences. The Centre works within this structure to promote innovatory interdisciplinary research and training on the region.  

Capitalising on LSE's exceptionally international body of students and staff, and London's proximity to Europe and the Middle East, the Centre greatly values intellectual relations with academic institutions in the region. The MEC places special emphasis on active and systemic collaboration with Middle Eastern universities, scholars, policy makers, and civil society, and speaks to a global audience about the region's strengths and challenges. 

The Centre has three levels of governance, all adhering to LSE Research Committee’s established policies and procedures related to management and advisory functions of research centres.

Management Committee

The Management Committee meets termly to discuss research strategy, general management and resource issues arising across the Centre, and progress on individual research themes and funded projects.


Dr Roham Alvandi 

Associate Professor of International History, Department of International History


Professor Nigel Ashton

Professor of International History and Head of Department, Department of International History


Dr Federica Bicchi

Associate Professor International Relations of Europe, Department of International Relations


Dr John Chalcraft

Associate Professor in the History and Politics of Empire and Imperialism, Department of Government


Dr Katerina Dalacoura

Associate Professor in International Relations, Department of International Relations


Professor Toby Dodge

Professor in International Relations, Department of International Relations and Director, LSE Middle East Centre


Professor George Gaskell

Professor, Centre for Analysis of Risk and Regulation (CARR) and Director, The Methodology Institute


Dr Steffen Hertog

Associate Professor, Department of Government


Robert Lowe

Deputy Director, LSE Middle East Centre


Dr Michael Mason

Associate Professor, Department of Geography and Environment


Dr Kirsten Schulze

Associate Professor in International History, Department of International History


Dr Hakan Seckinelgin  

Associate Professor, Department of Social Policy



Professor Peter Trubowitz

Professor of International Relations, Department of Internatioanl Relations and Director, the United States Centre at LSE

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides independent, external and income-orientated advice to the Middle East Centre. The Board’s role is purely advisory.

Advisory Board Members

  • Mustafa Abdel-Wadood, Chief Executive Officer, Partner, Head of Regional Fund Businesses, and Director of the Abraaj Group

  • Professor Lisa Anderson, President, American University in Cairo

  • Masood Ahmed, Director Middle East and Central Asia, IMF

  • Mohammad A.J. Al Fahim, Honorary Chairman, Al Fahim Group

  • Dr Bassem Awadallah, Secretary General,  Islamic Chamber of Commerce and Industry

  • Hind Bahwan, Chairperson, Bahwan Cyber Technologies

  • Dr Maleeha Lodhi

  • Azmi Mikati, Chief Executive Officer, M1 Group

  • Zaki Nusseibeh, Adviser, Presidential Court, UAE

  • Ferit F. Sahenk, Chairman, Doğuş Group

  • Dr Nasser Saidi, Chief Economist, Dubai International Financial Centre

  • Professor Avi Shlaim, St Antony’s College, University of Oxford

  • Professor Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies

Research Committee

The Research Committee oversees centre-wide levels of excellence in research and publications. Current members of the Committee include: Professor Toby Dodge, Professor Madawi Al-Rasheed and Dr Michael Mason. 



LSE Middle East LSEMiddleEast

Hi @caameelliaaa - sorry you couldn't make it! The talk is being recorded and we hope to publish the podcast tmrw. Will be tweeting it.

9 hours ago

Reply Retweet Favorite