LSE Human Rights People



Academic Staff

Ayca Cubukcu_news

Dr Ayça Çubukçu
Co-Director of LSE Human Rights; Associate Professor in Human Rights 
Room STC 113
020 7955 6787

Staff page

Monika Krause

Dr Monika Krause
Co-Director of LSE Human Rights; Associate Professor in Sociology
Room STC S207
020 7955 7283

Staff page

Ian Patel new_cropped

Dr Ian Patel
BJS LSE Fellow
Room STC 114
020 7955 7964

Staff page

LSE Human Rights Members

Louise Arimatsu

Dr Louise Arimatsu
LSE Human Rights Executive Courses Convenor, Visiting Senior Fellow, Centre for Women Peace and Security

Staff page

Bronwen Manby

Dr Bronwen Manby
Part-time Lecturer and Visiting Senior Fellow

Staff page


Claire Moon_2018 200x200

Dr Claire Moon 
Associate Professor in Sociology
On research leave from January 2018 - October 2019
Room STC 109
020 7955 7006

Staff page

Margot Salomon

Dr Margot Salomon
Associate Professor (Department of Law);
Director, Laboratory for Advanced Research on the Global Economy

Room NAB 6.16
020 7955 6922

Staff page

Research Staff


Mr Andrey Kuvshinov
Research Officer

Staff page

Ed Pertwee

Mr Edward Pertwee
Research Assistant
Profile page

Visiting Fellows

Current Visiting Fellows

Francesca Klug

Francesca Klug OBE is Visiting Professor. From 2001-2015 Francesca directed the Human Rights Futures Project.


Bronwen Manby

Bronwen Manby is Visiting Senior Fellow and an independent consultant in the field of human rights, democracy and good governance, with a focus on sub-Saharan Africa.



Andrea Saldarriaga (Visiting Fellow) was joint co-lead of the LSE LAB Investment and Human Rights Project 2013 - 2016.  She is an international lawyer and her practice has focused on international investment law and business and human rights.



Andrea Shemberg (Visiting Fellow) was joint co-lead of the LSE LAB Investment and Human Rights Project 2013 - 2016. She is a common law and international human rights lawyer with more than 13 years of experience in business and human rights focusing on investment.


Past Visiting Fellows

  • Teshale Aberra
  • Dr Anna Alomes
  • Dr Géraldine André
  • Dr Chidi Anselm Odinkalu
  • Dr Claire Charters
  • Dr Francesco Cherubini
  • Dr Joshua Curtis
  • Professor Caroline Fennell
  • Steve Crawshaw
  • Eyob Ghilazghy
  • Jane Gordon
  • Stefanie Grant
  • Professor Estrella Gualda
  • Professor Colin Harvey
  • Trish Hiddleston
  • Janet Hiebert
  • Professor David Hiley
  • Sajid Iqbal
  • Nkem Izuako
  • Dr Radha Ivory
  • Nancy Johnson
  • Vineet Kapoor
  • Dr Jenny Kuper
  • Dr Lin Lerpold
  • Gráinne Mellon
  • Professor Lydia Morris
  • Dr Gerd Oberleitner
  • Dr Claire O'Brien
  • Donncha O'Connell
  • Margo Picken
  • Carol Prendergast
  • Andrew Puddephatt
  • Dr Linda Rabben
  • Dr Julie Ringelheim
  • Alexis Rwabizambuga
  • Susana Sánchez Ferro
  • Phil Shiner
  • Faisal Siddiqi
  • Dr Joseph Slaughter
  • Prof Muthucumarswamy Sornarajah
  • Hilary Stauffer
  • Pamela Tate SC
  • Dorothy Q Thomas
  • Dr Javier Treviño Rangel
  • Dr Oscar Vergara
  • Dr Leslie Vinjamuri
  • Benjamin Ward
  • Professor Michael Welch
  • Professor Zhang Yonghe
  • Matthew Zagor

MPhil/PhD Students

Though academics based in LSE Human Rights supervise PhD students, they do this via their home department (e.g. Law, Sociology etc) as LSE Human Rights does not have a formal doctoral programme.

We actively encourage registered LSE doctoral students, from any department, with a human rights interest to affiliate to LSE Human Rights and to join the LSE Human Rights Doctoral Network

MPhil/ PhD students currently affiliated:

Former MPhil/ PhD students:

  • Rita Augestad Knudsen
  • Annie Bird
  • Viviane Dittrich
  • Trish Hiddleston
  • Katya Ivanova
  • Tamlyn Monson
  • Imara Ajani Rolston*
  • Anne Saab
  • Susannah Willcox
  • Maria Norris (Werdine)*

* Frederick Bonnart-Braunthal PhD Scholarship holders.