People walking

People

 Who's who at LSE Sociology

Academic staff

Fabien Accominotti new_cropped 200x200

Accominotti, Fabien (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Sociology
Room STC S206
020 7955 7523
f.accominotti@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suki Ali

Ali, Suki (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
On research leave 2018-19
Room STC S307
020 7852 3781
s.c.ali@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Robin Archer

Archer, Robin (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Political Sociology
Room STC S114a
020 7955 7944
r.archer@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Tina Basi

Basi, Tina (Dr)
Guest Teacher (LT 2019)
t.basi@lse.ac.uk

Staff page


Chetan Bhatt 2018

Bhatt, Chetan (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Room STC S107
020 7955 6262
c.bhatt@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page
LSE Experts 

JB web profile pic (640x640)

Brice, Jeremy (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Economic Sociology
Room STC S104
020 7107 5007
j.brice@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

RB_1_2014 (640x640)

Burdett, Ricky (Professor)
Professor of Urban Studies, Director of LSE Cities and Urban Age
Room FAW 8.01J (formerly Tower 2)
020 7955 7706
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts
LSE Cities

Ayca Cubukcu_news

Çubukçu, Ayça (Dr)
Associate Professor in Human Rights, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
On research leave MT 2018
Room STC S113
020 7955 6787
a.cubukcu@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

AleDiaz

Diaz de Leon Cardena, Alejandra (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S308
a.b.diaz-de-leon-cardena@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Nigel Dodd

Dodd, Nigel (Professor)
Professor of Sociology, Head of Department
Room STC S106
020 7955 7571
n.b.dodd@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts 

Rebecca Elliott

Elliott, Rebecca (Dr)
Assistant Professor
Room STC S211
020 7955 6951
r.elliott1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Janet Foster

Foster, Janet (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
j.a.foster@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Sam Friedman

Friedman, Sam (Dr)
On leave MT 2018
Associate Professor in Sociology

Room STC S216
020 7955 6969
s.e.friedman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Carrie Friese

Friese, Carrie (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
Room STC S213
020 7955 7984
c.friese@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Ioanna-Gouseti 2018

Gouseti, Ioanna (Dr)
Course Tutor
Room STC S105a
020 7107 5560
i.gouseti1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suzi_teaching_pic_2015

Hall, Suzanne (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
Room STC S212
020 7955 7056 
s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts
Cities Programme

Ursula Henz

Henz, Ursula (Dr)
Associate Professor in Social Research Methods
Room STC 100B
020 7955 6139
u.henz@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page
LSE Experts

Tarquin Holmes (530x640)

Holmes, Tarquin (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S108
t.holmes1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Bridget Hutter

Hutter, Bridget (Professor)
Chair of Risk Regulation at LSE
On research leave MT 2018 and LT 2019
Room STC S119E
020 7955 7287
b.m.hutter@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Irit_Katz

Katz, Irit (Dr)
Course Tutor (Cities Programme)
i.katz@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Martina Klett-Davies_ cropped 200x200

Klett-Davies, Martina (Dr)
Guest Teacher
m.k.davies@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Monika Krause

Krause, Monika (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Sociology, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S207
020 7955 7283
m.krause@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

David Madden

Madden, David (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
On leave MT 2018
Room STC S209
020 7955 6593
d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
Cities Programme

Pat McGovern

McGovern, Patrick (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Sociology
Room STC S214
020 7955 6653
p.mcgovern@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Michael McQuarrie

McQuarrie, Michael (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
Room STC S217a
020 7955 7373
m.mcquarrie@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Claire Moon_2018 200x200

Moon, Claire (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
On research leave January 2018 - October 2019
STC S109
020 7955 7006
c.moon@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Clive Nwonka 2017

Nwonka, Clive (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Film Studies
STC S105
020 7955 6837
c.j.nwonka@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

 

Liene Ozolina Fitzgerald

Ozoliņa, Liene (Dr)
Course Tutor
On leave MT 2018
Room STC S104
020 7107 5007
l.ozolina@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

female silhouette

Paidipaty, Poornima (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Inequalities
STC 313
p.paidipaty@lse.ac.uk

 

Ian Patel new_cropped

Patel, Ian (Dr)
BJS LSE Fellow
Room STC S114
020 7955 7964
i.patel4@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sara Salem_200x200

Salem, Sara (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Sociology
Room STC S218
020 7852 3712
s.salem3@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Mike Savage

Savage, Mike (Professor)
Martin White Professor of Sociology
PAN.8.01H (formerly Tower 1)
020 7955 7356
m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts 

Don Slater

Slater, Don (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Sociology
Room STC S310
020 7849 4653
d.slater@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Charis Thompson

Thompson, Charis (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Room STC S102
020 7955 6729
c.m.thompson@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Fran Tonkiss colour_cropped 200x200

Tonkiss, Fran (Professor)
Professor of Sociology, Deputy Head of Department
Room STC S205
020 7955 6601
f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Judy Wajcman 2016

Wajcman, Judy (Professor)
Anthony Giddens Professor of Sociology
Room STC S203
j.wajcman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts  

Leon Wansleben

Wansleben, Leon (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Sociology
On research leave MT 2018
Room STC S208
020 7955 6793
l.j.wansleben@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Emeritus

Chris_Badcock

Badcock, Christopher (Dr)
c.badcock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

EBarker

Barker, Eileen (Professor) OBE, FBA
Room STC S115
e.barker@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Giddens

Giddens, Anthony (Professor Lord) 
ax.giddens@lse.ac.uk

Staff page 

Frances Heidensohn

Heidensohn, Frances (Professor)
Visiting Professor
Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Room STC S115
f.heidensohn@lse.ac.uk

Staff Page

Husbands

Husbands, Christopher (Reader) 
c.husbands@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Rock

Rock, Paul (Professor)
Room STC S115
p.rock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts 

Skaire 2.png

Sklair, Leslie (Professor)
Room STC S115
l.sklair@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Centennial

Craig_Calhoun_2012_big

Calhoun, Craig (Professor) 
Centennial Professor
c.calhoun@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Woody Powell

Powell, Walter (Woody) (Professor) 
Centennial Professor
Contact

Profile

 

Professional services staff

Kalynka Bellman

Bellman, Kalynka 
MPhil/PhD Programme Manager
Room STC S103
020 7955 7708
k.bellman@lse.ac.uk 

Nishanth Dharmaseelan_200x200

Dharmaseelan, Nishanth
Service Delivery Administrator
Room STC S119B
020 7107 5029
n.dharmaseelan@lse.ac.uk

Anna Johnston

Johnston, Anna Livia
Knowledge Exchange and Impact Officer
Room STC S119A
020 7955 6828
a.johnston@lse.ac.uk

Female silhouette

Khan, Shakila
MSc Programme Manager: Human Rights; Economy, Risk and Society; Political Sociology
Room STC S116
020 7955 7288
s.khan38@lse.ac.uk

Kylie Lawrence_cropped 200x200

Lawrence, Kylie
MSc Programme Manager: City Design and Social Science; Culture and Society; Sociology streams; International Migration and Public Policy
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5112
k.b.lawrence@lse.ac.uk

Louisa Lawrence

Lawrence, Louisa
Acting Department Manager
Room STC S119C
020 7849 4938
l.m.lawrence@lse.ac.uk

Clara Lyons

Lyons, Clara
Undergraduate Programme Manager
Room STC S116
020 7106 1426
c.lyons@lse.ac.uk

Research students

Al-Maadeed, Eman
Qatari Women’s practices, mobilities and free spaces in London

Amini, Babak 
A comparative study of workers’ control (1917-1921)

Baliga, Anitra
Making space for change: negotiating Mumbai’s urban land market

Beecham, Nell
A Suitable Match: A study of Cultural Production in Silicon Valley 

Concha Mendez, Paz Maria Eduarda
The Curation of the Street Food Scene in London

De Coss Corzo, Julio Alejandro
Making urban waters: state, nature, citizenship and expertise in the infrastructural politics of water production and valuation in Mexico City (1941-2016)

Fercovic Cerda, Malik
Becoming elites? The experience of long-range upward mobility in contemporary Chile

Gokmenoglu, Birgan
Social movements and political parties in Turkey

Gray, Selena
Sexually Exploited By My Boyfriend's Gang?

Hayes, Niamh
Trouble Seeing: Researching the production of visual knowledge and racial knowledge in ‘new’ and ‘old’ archive

Hecht, Katharina
A sociological analysis of economic inequality at the top end of the income distribution

James, Daniel
Modernity’s Empty Graveyard: A Study of Argentina’s Parque de la Memoria

Javed, Umair
Profit, Power, and Patronage: Bazaar Politics in Urban Pakistan

Kolbe, Kristina
Between diversity and elitism – Researching the sociocultural implications of contemporary cultural production

Kramer, Maria
Making “Healthy Families”: Kin Marriage and Genetic Risk in Contemporary Turkey

Li, Gordon
Stratification of Music Taste in Urban China

Lieutaud, Marion
Gendering Mixedness: a quantitative approach to inequalities in transnational families

Littlejohn, Naomi Maya
Post-16 Engagement and Achievement in inner-City London

Loup, Sophie
How organisations change the concept of international development: a comparison of consultancies and non-profit organisations in the UK

Mallett, Victoria
Informal Nominating Networks in American Local Elections

Matczak, Anna
Understandings of punishment and justice in the narratives of lay Polish people

McArthur, Daniel 
Inequality, economic position, and stigmatising stereotypes about people in poverty 

Naamneh, Haneen
Law and sociology in post-1967 Jerusalem

Osborne-Carey, Cassian
Sharing and the Digital Public Sphere: A critical analysis of political practice on Facebook

Pedersen, Linda Lund
On the Ambiguity of Attachment: The Danish Alien Act and Family Migration in a Time of Anti-Immigration Politics

Rong, A
Green Defenders in China: A ‘Better’ Society? A Research on Chinese Environmental Non-Governmental Organizations

Schwoerer, Lili
Inclusivity and feminist knowledges in the ‘global market for Higher Education’ – a case study of English universities

Sloane, Mona
Ethnography of Spatial Design Practice

Thornbury, Paul
The Social Construction of Boundaries in Military Private Security

Traill, Helen 
Community as idea and practice: tensions and consequences for urban community growing projects in Glasgow 

Tsang, Ling Tung
Lost in the Shadow: Investigating Racial Identities, Performativity and Ideologies of the Chinese Sporting Body

Upton-Hansen, Christopher Hover 
The Financialization of the Art Market

Vogkli, Maria-Christina
The Homeless City: Urban Space and Vulnerability in Athens and London (working title) 

Wall, Ed
PhD / Public space, master plans, daily routines, London

Wang, Yan
Welfare Delivery and State Legitimacy

Yang, Ka Ho
Dreaming of Nowhere: Class Identities and Place Belonging in Public Housing Estate in Hong Kong

Academic visitors

Bordonaro, Elettra (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
e.bordonaro@lse.ac.uk

Buehler, Martin (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
m.buehler1@lse.ac.uk

Dobeson, Alexander (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
a.dobeson@lse.ac.uk

Glucksmann, Miriam (Professor)
Visiting Professor
m.a.glucksmann@lse.ac.uk

Redd, Rozlyn (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
r.redd@lse.ac.uk