People walking

People

 Who's Who at LSE Sociology

Sociology Hub Office Hours

Term time: Monday - Friday, 9:30-16:30

Outside of term time: Monday-Friday, 10:00-12:00 and 14:00-16:00

 

Please note that the Sociology Hub is sometimes closed for team or department meetings during our published opening hours. If this is the case, we will provide information on alternative ways to contact us.

Academic staff

Fabien Accominotti new_cropped 200x200

Accominotti, Fabien (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Sociology
Room STC S206
020 7955 7523
f.accominotti@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suki Ali

Ali, Suki (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
On research leave 2018-19
Room STC S307
020 7852 3781
s.c.ali@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Robin Archer

Archer, Robin (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Political Sociology
Room STC S114a
020 7955 7944
r.archer@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page

Tina Basi

Basi, Tina (Dr)
Guest Teacher (LT 2019)
t.basi@lse.ac.uk

Staff page


Chetan Bhatt 2018

Bhatt, Chetan (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Room STC S107
020 7955 6262
c.bhatt@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page
LSE Experts 

JB web profile pic (640x640)

Brice, Jeremy (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Economic Sociology
Room STC S104
020 7107 5007
j.brice@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

RB_1_2014 (640x640)

Burdett, Ricky (Professor)
Professor of Urban Studies, Director of LSE Cities and Urban Age
Room FAW 8.01J (formerly Tower 2)
020 7955 7706
r.burdett@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts
LSE Cities

Ayca Cubukcu_news

Çubukçu, Ayça (Dr)
Associate Professor in Human Rights, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S113
020 7955 6787
a.cubukcu@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

AleDiaz

Diaz de Leon Cardena, Alejandra (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S308
a.b.diaz-de-leon-cardena@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Nigel Dodd

Dodd, Nigel (Professor)
Professor of Sociology, Head of Department
Room STC S106
020 7955 7571
n.b.dodd@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts 

Rebecca Elliott

Elliott, Rebecca (Dr)
Assistant Professor
Room STC S211
020 7955 6951
r.elliott1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Janet Foster

Foster, Janet (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
j.a.foster@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Sam Friedman 2018 (427x640)

Friedman, Sam (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
Room STC S216
020 7955 6969
s.e.friedman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Carrie Friese

Friese, Carrie (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
Room STC S213
020 7955 7984
c.friese@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Ioanna-Gouseti 2018

Gouseti, Ioanna (Dr)
Course Tutor
Room STC S105a
020 7107 5560
i.gouseti1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Suzi_teaching_pic_2015

Hall, Suzanne (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
Room STC S212
020 7955 7056 
s.m.hall@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts
Cities Programme

Ursula Henz

Henz, Ursula (Dr)
Associate Professor in Social Research Methods
Room STC 100B
020 7955 6139
u.henz@lse.ac.uk 

Staff page
LSE Experts

Tarquin Holmes (530x640)

Holmes, Tarquin (Dr)
Research Officer
Room STC S108
t.holmes1@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Bridget Hutter

Hutter, Bridget (Professor)
Chair of Risk Regulation at LSE
On research leave MT 2018 and LT 2019
Room STC S119E
020 7955 7287
b.m.hutter@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Irit_Katz

Katz, Irit (Dr)
Course Tutor (Cities Programme)
i.katz@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Martina Klett-Davies_ cropped 200x200

Klett-Davies, Martina (Dr)
Guest Teacher
m.k.davies@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Monika Krause

Krause, Monika (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Sociology, Co-Director of LSE Human Rights
Room STC S207
020 7955 7283
m.krause@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

David Madden (1)

Madden, David (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology, Co-Director of the Cities Programme
Room STC S209
020 7955 6593
d.j.madden@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
Cities Programme

Pat McGovern

McGovern, Patrick (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Sociology
Room STC S110
020 7955 6653
p.mcgovern@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Michael McQuarrie

McQuarrie, Michael (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
Room STC S217a
020 7955 7373
m.mcquarrie@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Claire Moon_2018 200x200

Moon, Claire (Dr)
Associate Professor in Sociology
On research leave January 2018 - October 2019

c.moon@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Clive Nwonka 2017

Nwonka, Clive (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Film Studies
STC S105
020 7955 6837
c.j.nwonka@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

 

Liene Ozolina Fitzgerald

Ozoliņa, Liene (Dr)
Course Tutor
Room STC S104
020 7107 5007
l.ozolina@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

female silhouette

Paidipaty, Poornima (Dr)
LSE Fellow in Inequalities
STC 313
p.paidipaty@lse.ac.uk

 

Ian Patel new_cropped

Patel, Ian (Dr)
BJS LSE Fellow in Human Rights
Room STC S114
020 7955 7964
i.patel4@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Sara Salem_200x200

Salem, Sara (Dr)
Assistant Professor in Sociology
Room STC S218
020 7852 3712
s.salem3@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Mike Savage

Savage, Mike (Professor)
Martin White Professor of Sociology
PAN.8.01H (formerly Tower 1)
020 7955 7356
m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts 

Don Slater

Slater, Don (Dr)
Associate Professor (Reader) in Sociology
Room STC S310
020 7849 4653
d.slater@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Charis Thompson

Thompson, Charis (Professor)
Professor of Sociology
Room STC S102
020 7955 6729
c.m.thompson@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Fran Tonkiss colour_cropped 200x200

Tonkiss, Fran (Professor)
Professor of Sociology, Deputy Head of Department
Room STC S205
020 7955 6601
f.tonkiss@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

Judy Wajcman 2016

Wajcman, Judy (Professor)
Anthony Giddens Professor of Sociology
Room STC S203
j.wajcman@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts  

Emeritus

Chris_Badcock

Badcock, Christopher (Dr)
c.badcock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page

EBarker

Barker, Eileen (Professor) OBE, FBA
Room STC S115
e.barker@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Giddens

Giddens, Anthony (Professor Lord) 
ax.giddens@lse.ac.uk

Staff page 

Frances Heidensohn

Heidensohn, Frances (Professor)
Visiting Professor
Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Room STC S115
f.heidensohn@lse.ac.uk

Staff Page

Husbands

Husbands, Christopher (Reader) 
c.husbands@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Rock

Rock, Paul (Professor)
Room STC S115
p.rock@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts 

Skaire 2.png

Sklair, Leslie (Professor)
Room STC S115
l.sklair@lse.ac.uk

Staff page
LSE Experts

Centennial

Craig_Calhoun_2012_big

Calhoun, Craig (Professor) 
Centennial Professor
c.calhoun@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 

Professional services staff

Kalynka Bellman

Bellman, Kalynka 
MPhil/PhD Programme Manager
Room STC S103
020 7955 7708
k.bellman@lse.ac.uk 

Nishanth Dharmaseelan_200x200

Dharmaseelan, Nishanth
Service Delivery Administrator
Room STC S119B
020 7107 5029
n.dharmaseelan@lse.ac.uk

Maddie 200x200

Giles, Maddie
Communications and Events Officer
Room STC S116
m.giles1@lse.ac.uk

 

Anna Johnston

Johnston, Anna Livia
Knowledge Exchange and Impact Officer
Room STC S119A
020 7955 6828
a.johnston@lse.ac.uk

Male silhouette

Khan, Numaan
MSc Programme Manager: Human Rights; Economy, Risk and Society; Political Sociology
Room STC S116 
020 7955 7288
n.khan13@lse.ac.uk

Male silhouette

Killin, Leon
Student Engagement and Experience Coordinator
Room STC 116
020 7107 7309
l.killin@lse.ac.uk

Louisa Lawrence

Lawrence, Louisa
Department Manager
Room STC S119C
020 7849 4938
l.m.lawrence@lse.ac.uk

Clara Lyons

Lyons, Clara
Undergraduate Programme Manager
Room STC S116
020 7106 1426
c.lyons@lse.ac.uk

Kylie Lawrence_cropped 200x200

Patterson, Kylie
MSc Programme Manager: City Design and Social Science; Culture and Society; Sociology; Inequalities and Social Science
Room STC S116 
020 7107 5112
k.b.patterson@lse.ac.uk

Male silhouette

Pellico, Melissa
Undergraduate Programme Administrator
Room STC S116 
m.pellico@lse.ac.uk

Research students

A, Rong
Green Defenders in China: How to Create A Better Society? A Research on Chinese ENGOs
R.A@lse.ac.uk

Akdag, Muhammed
Social Determinants of International Competitive Advantage: The Case of Turkish Contractors
M.Akdag1@lse.ac.uk 

Aksakal, Özgün
Violence in the Situations of Political Contestation: The Case of the Turkish Right. 
O.Aksakal@lse.ac.uk

al-Maadeed, Eman
Another London: Walking Through Qatari Women’s Practices of Making the City
E.S.Al-Maadeed@lse.ac.uk               

Al Sudairy, Jawaher
Urban and social regeneration: The case of Makkah’s Redevelopment
J.Al-Sudairy@lse.ac.uk

Amini, Babak
The Development of 'Council Communist' Movements in Germany and Italy in the World War I Era: Towards a Strategic-Relational Approach to Revolutionary Contentions
B.Amini@lse.ac.uk

Andrawos, Nader
Rights in Revolutionary Times: The Antinomies of Human Rights and the Egyptian Uprising 
N.O.Andrawos@lse.ac.uk

Baliga, Anitra
Negotiating the urban land market: How developers overcome uncertainties to (not) produce new real estate in Mumbai
A.Baliga@lse.ac.uk

Beecham, Nell
A Suitable Match: A study of Cultural Production in Silicon Valley
E.Beecham@lse.ac.uk

Brundu-Gonzalez, Benjamin
Mixing and mingling in French liberal art colleges 
B.Brundu-Gonzalez@lse.ac.uk

Carmichael, Donna
Challenges and Opportunities in the British Private Equity Industry
D.Carmichael@lse.ac.uk 

De Coss Corzo, Julio Alejandro
Making urban waters: state, nature, citizenship and expertise in the infrastructural politics of water production and valuation in Mexico City (1941-2016)
J.De-Coss-Corzo@lse.ac.uk

Ergün-Hamaz, Mutlu
Dominance & Resistance: Racialisation and Empowerment in Germany
M.Ergun@lse.ac.uk

Fercovic Cerda, Malik
Between success and dislocation. The experience of long-range upward mobility in contemporary Chile
M.Fercovic-Cerda@lse.ac.uk

Gokmenoglu, Birgan
Temporality and Social Movements: An Ethnography of Activism in Contemporary Turkey
B.Gokmenoglu@lse.ac.uk

Gray, Selena
Understanding girl’s perspectives on child sexual exploitation
S.Gray1@lse.ac.uk

Harris, Gaby
Using brands to create distinction. A critical exploration of young people’s embodied experiences of class, race and gender through clothing brands
G.J.Harris@lse.ac.uk

Hayes, Niamh
Trouble Seeing: Researching the production of visual knowledge and racial knowledge in ‘new’ and ‘old’ archive
N.Hayes1@lse.ac.uk

Hilhorst, Sacha
Place, politics and populism: A qualitative investigation into the appeal of populist narratives in the East Midlands in England
S.Hilhorst@lse.ac.uk

John-Baptiste, Belinda
Understanding Young Children’s Racialisation of Deviance and Morality
B.John-Baptiste@lse.ac.uk

Kampmann,David
Imagined futures of Artificial Intelligence 
D.Kampmann@lse.ac.uk

Kolbe, Kristina J.
"Performing 'interculture' - Issues of inequality, difference and distinction in contemporary music production in Berlin"
K.J.Kolbe@lse.ac.uk

Kramer, Maria
Making “Healthy Families”: Kin Marriage and Genetic Risk in Contemporary Turkey
M.Kramer@lse.ac.uk

Lally, Amraj
A study of PrEP campaigns for ‘at-risk’ MSM in England
A.Lally@lse.ac.uk

Li, Gordon
Stratification of Music Taste in Urban China
G.C.Li@lse.ac.uk

Lieutaud, Marion
Gender through Migration, Migration through Gender
M.Lieutaud@lse.ac.uk

Loup, Sophie
How and why do governments pick specific partners to implement official development assistance?
S.I.Loup@lse.ac.uk

Mallett, Victoria
Informal Nominating Networks in American Local Elections
V.F.Mallett@lse.ac.uk

McArthur, Dan
Inequality, economic position, and stigmatising attitudes towards the poor and welfare recipients in British and European public opinion
D.McArthur@lse.ac.uk

Monteath, Timothy
Elites, Capital and the City: Exploring the High End of London’s Housing Market
T.Monteath@lse.ac.uk

Naamneh, Haneen
Law and sociology in post-1967 Jerusalem
H.Naamneh1@lse.ac.uk

Osborne-Carey, Cassian
Sharing and the Digital Public Sphere: A critical analysis of political practice on Facebook
C.Osborne-Carey@lse.ac.uk

Partyga, Dominika
“Society as an Experiment” - Reading Nietzsche on the Margins of Social Theory
D.Partyga@lse.ac.uk

Pedersen, Linda Lund
On the Ambiguity of Attachment: The Danish Alien Act and Family Migration in a Time of Anti-Immigration Politics
L.L.Pedersen@lse.ac.uk

Pérez Aguilar, Daniela
Wage inequality in the Chilean labour market: Beyond human capital in a neoliberal economy
D.C.Perez-Aguilar@lse.ac.uk

Schwoerer, Lili
Inclusivity and feminist knowledges in the ‘global market for Higher Education’
L.N.Schwoerer@lse.ac.uk

Taylor, Emma
Confidence as Symbolic Capital? A case study of an elite independent day school in London
E.S.Taylor@lse.ac.uk

Thornbury, Paul
The Social Construction of Boundaries in Military Private Security
P.C.Thornbury@lse.ac.uk

Tsang, Ling Tung
Identity and Sport in Late Modern China: Collectivism vs. Individualism 
L.Tsang@lse.ac.uk

Vogkli, Maria-Christina
The Homeless City: Urban Space and Vulnerability in Athens and London (working title)
M.Vogkli@lse.ac.uk

Wang, Yan
Manufacturing Consent: Social Policy, State Legitimacy, and Strategic Actors
Y.Wang149@lse.ac.uk

White, Tim
'Living in the 'flexible' city: understanding the socioeconomic implications of corporatized co-living' 
T.White3@lse.ac.uk

Ka Ho Yang
Dreaming of Nowhere: Class Identities and Place Belonging in Public Housing Estate in Hong Kong
K.H.Yan@lse.ac.uk

Academic visitors

Bordonaro, Elettra (Dr)
Visiting Fellow (Configuring Light project)
e.bordonaro@lse.ac.uk

Configuring Light webpage

Buehler, Martin (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
m.buehler1@lse.ac.uk

Dobeson, Alexander (Dr)
Visiting Fellow
a.dobeson@lse.ac.uk

Glucksmann, Miriam (Professor)
Visiting Professor
m.a.glucksmann@lse.ac.uk

Roberts, Ronald Suresh
Visiting Senior Fellow
r.roberts4@lse.ac.uk

Profile